Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House

Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House

1306 Selkirk Dr, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H6 Canada
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (7)
Breakfast table and kitchen
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#4 of 11 B&Bs in Golden
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House was operating as a 3-room B&B before the pandemic. The Auberge now operates as a Guest House Vacation rental only. This is the perfect home away from home. The Auberge is located within walking distance of restaurants and pubs. Our guests have access to a fully equipped kitchen. You will enjoy the open concept large cozy house with an outdoor Jacuzzi tub set on an elevated deck, garage to store safely your sport equipment with a drying rack for ski boots and wet accessories. The house also offers a long driveway that can accommodate up to 4 cars and free wifi. Only 15 minutes from the ski slopes of Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, the Auberge will accommodate up to a maximum of 6 guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Bathrobes
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

1306 Selkirk Dr, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H6 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 39 out of 100
39
Calgary Intl Airport
206.4 km
See all flights
415Reviews0Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 365
  • 43
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joanne E wrote a review Feb 2020
10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Marie-France knows the area very well and is an excellent resource for outdoor adventure, skiing and dining ideas. We also found out great ideas for summer. Can't wait to bring the bikes when the snow leaves. The property is really inviting. Each tidy room has its own bathroom and there is room in the garage to dry ski boots! Even though there was a giant living room full of comfy chairs, we spent the entire evening at the kitchen table chatting with other guests. Breakfast was hearty and healthy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AubergeKickingHorse, Owner at Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Thank you Joanne for the wonderful review. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Auberge in the near future. Your host, Marie-France
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
13travellingmike wrote a review Aug 2020
Detroit, Michigan117 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Marie-France is an outstanding hostess, providing comfortable, cozy accommodations, with extensive, freshly cooked delicious breakfast, and a fountain of local information.
Hope to use the hot tub next time.
Highly recommend this BnB!
Merci et à la prochaine!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marie-France Lessor, Owner at Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House
Responded Aug 31, 2020
Thank you so much for the positive review. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Auberge in the near future. Marie-France
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bean643 wrote a review Aug 2021
Calgary, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This house was the perfect place for our mountain bike trip. Every bedroom had its own bathroom. The kitchen was equipped with everything, it was great for entertaining, loved the open concept. Having a Hot Tub after biking was the icing on the cake. The house was in a perfect location, could ride to the trailhead and also very close to town. Thanks MF for your hospitality!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revelstokefamily wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I took time to reflect as I have never negatively posted feedback
but still feel the owner lacked compassion given an unprecedented situation. Our family booked this house for 5 days for my son's pee wee hockey provincials from march 14 to march 19th. We booked the house with another family last minute on March 2nd vs a hotel to make it a family vacation. On the 11th we were notified that BC hockey had cancelled the tournament. The world was shutting down. We informed the host ASAP. We were later told we would not be entitled to any refund at all, we were eventually able to get half back after informing her the site we booked on "strongly encouraged" FULL refunds for cancellations due to the coronavirus (the rental was $2,400 so we forfeited $1,200) Both AirBnB and VRBO backed this refund policy and all other families on our team who booked houses got full refunds, but we were screwed and had only held the rezo for 9 days ... Karma
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AubergeKickingHorse, Owner at Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House
Responded Jun 13, 2020
I just saw this. It is now June 2020 and I am reopening the B&B. Perhaps I can understand after our first conversation resulted in this feeling. however, after obtaining further information on how to proceed in this unique situation, we did reach an agreement for a 50% refund which we all seemed to be happy about. Especially after showing your appreciation and providing me and my daughter with complimentary ski lift tickets for Revelstoke Mountain Resort. Please correct this review to reflect how you felt after providing a refund to your stay. Marie-France Lessor Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marc L wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This beautiful home is an excellent choice for mountain biking in Golden. Lots of room for secure bike storage in the garage, very well equipped kitchen and lots of space to relax after a post-ride soak in the hot-tub. Merci beaucoup, Marie-France!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marie-France Lessor, Owner at Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House
Responded Feb 19, 2022
Thank you for your great review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lena wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my boyfriend stayed at the auberge for couple nights during the winter. It was beautiful having an outside hot tub in the snow after a day of skiing. They had amazing boot dryers and great storage for the ski and snowboard equipment.
The kitchen and living room is very nice, big and very clean. Every bedroom has its one bedroom. We really enjoyed our stay. The location was great as well. 10/10 would recommend!
Thank you Marie-France for your great hospitality!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marie-France Lessor, Owner at Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House
Responded Aug 24, 2023
Thank you thank you! :) Having a private bathroom is greatly appreciated by all the guests. Thank yo for the great review. Your host Marie-France
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brielle R wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My young daughter and I stayed here on a mother-daughter trip to Kicking Horse and it was perfect. So homey and comfortable; we very much enjoyed relaxing in the living room and in the hot tub, and the breakfasts were fantastic! I really appreciated the tea selection that was available 24/7, and the advice on runs for my daughter and I to try at KH. Great location, great host, great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AubergeKickingHorse, Owner at Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House
Responded Feb 27, 2020
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. I appreciate the positive and kind words. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Auberge in the near future Your host MF
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ramon K wrote a review Feb 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place! Marie is a lovely host, she’s really helpful if needed. Beds are nice and comfy, big kitchen and the hot tub after a day of powder is a real treat :). Would recommend staying here to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marie-France Lessor, Owner at Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House
Responded Feb 23, 2023
Thank you for your kind review Your host Marie-France
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracey011 wrote a review Jul 2011
Rangiora, New Zealand443 contributions161 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
we booked into a B&B because we enjoy the personal hosted experience. We were therefore surprised and very disappointed when we arrived at Auberge Kicking Horse to find the owner was away.

My husband and I were travelling with my parents and there was another couple staying at the B&B. Very strange to be staying in someone else's house when they were not present. Even more strange when we couldn't get hold of anyone when the other guests locked themselves out of their room. The had to door-knock around the neighbours to find someone who could help. Fortunately they found someone who knew where the spare keys were kept. This is not what you expect from hosted accommodation.

Apart from that, the young woman who initially met us and who prepared breakfast was polite and friendly enough and the room, was comfortable. The bathroom was in need of some maintenance as the shower door hinges needed replacing.

Breakfast was served at 8 - no choice on time and was continental only - no cooked breakfast offered.

OK for one night but not the best B&B experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gerry M wrote a review May 2015
Toronto,ON/Canada153 contributions137 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When my wife and I arrived at the "Auberge" on a rainy day back in Sept. 2014,we right away realized,that we should have reserved more than 1 night.Unfortunately we were booked right through to the "Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites" in Sooke,Vancouver Island (see separate review). This B & B is located on a very quiet,tree-lined street at the edge of Golden,BC. And this means good news for all the travelers,who are not train enthusiasts/train spotters,and who are bothered by the train whistles,that you can hear almost everywhere,no matter where you might be in the Rockies. Marie France,the owner,told us about the many trails,the golf courses and skiing during the winter months.The "Auberge" is a bungalow-style house,with only three basic,but very cosy rooms,all with small but well laid-out and clean bathrooms.The rooms are located on a corridor,angled off from the living room.We heard no noises from the living room,nor the other guests.Due to the miserable weather we were unable to enjoy the hot tub,located outside on a wooden deck.Marie France also told us about a black bear,that occasionally drifts by the hot tub.Many reviewers commented and raved about the out-of-this-world breakfast spread.And that includes my wife and myself.Do yourself a favour and do not rush off in the morning.Take your time and enjoy.Marie France even gave us freshly baked muffins for the road.Free WiFi too.For great burgers,beer,etc. head down the hill back toward Golden,where you will find the "Wolf's Den" (a loghouse) on the right side of 9th street.They even have a live band on Sunday nights (see separate review).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marie-France L, Owner at Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House
Responded Jun 2, 2015
Wow what a wonderful review. Thank you so much. Our travelers will sure benefit to read a review like the one you wrote. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Auberge in the near future. Your host Marie-France Lessor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
geiersteffi wrote a tip Sep 2019
Ankum, Germany1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Queen bed with private bathroom"
Read full review
Daryl N wrote a tip Aug 2019
Saskatoon, Canada83 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Each room has an ensuite and at least a queen bed."
Read full review
Ansup wrote a tip Jul 2019
United Kingdom59 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Think all rooms are nice. "
Read full review
Sightseer36173331520 wrote a tip Jun 2019
Kalvehave, Denmark1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice bedroom with own bathroom. There is access to use kitchen and livingroom in the house. "
Read full review
Relax62262718283 wrote a tip Jun 2019
Edmonton, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A small bedside table on the other side of the bed with a light would be helpful. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Golden area.
PRICE RANGE
C$523 - C$584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesGolden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Golden & District Museum (0.5 km), Cedar Lake (0.4 km), and Zoe's Colour Cove (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eleven22 Restaurant, The Turning Point Restaurant, and The Wolf's Den.
Is Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Golden.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
All Golden HotelsGolden Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GoldenHotels near Auberge Kicking Horse Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars