We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandman Inn Cranbrook

Expedia.comUS$103*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sandman Inn Cranbrook
See the most recent reviews
Showing 95: English reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2016

The facility is run down and not maintained. There is no elevator. The staff were rude and seemed inconvenienced to check us in. We only stayed one of the three nights reserved. The rooms were sub-standard - we could barely get into the bathroom to use the toilet. We checked out early the next morning and the staff did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Being that we only have two floors, we do not have an elevator. We welcome guests to request the main floor if they have difficulty negotiating the stairs. Admittedly, the bathrooms are small and that is why we have the sink area outside of the bathroom. Also, I am sorry you found our staff and...

Edmonton
Reviewed 13 June 2016

I don't know what all the bad reviews are about. This is a nicely renovated hotel with a clean, comfortable bed. It was a good stopover for the night. I also appreciate that they allow pets. A continently breakfast would be good for the price, but this was a good place to stay overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
Sandmandan, Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your statement: "I don't know what all the bad reviews are about." We strive to run a property that offers excellence in service and cleanliness in rooms and common areas. Of course, there are negative reviews that are legitimate, however, others appear to be downright personal and malicious which can lead to misleading information. Once again, thank...

Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Wonderful stay front desk staff very welcoming and saved me money by booking direct. Excellent weekend rate. Walking distance to everything we live in our semi truck up to 8 weeks at a time room was clean and tidy beds lovely and great to be able to park truck there so we could see it. Pet friendly as well. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garren P
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Now this is the type of review that makes all the time and effort put into excellent service, rewarding. We are thrilled that you found your stay to be so enjoyable. We have pet rooms set aside as we know that most travellers who have a pet, love to take that pet with them on their trip. We hope to...

Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

It's an older 2 level hotel. Stayed for 3 nights in a one queen bed room. Room size was good for myself. I think it would also be sufficient for 2 people. It had a mini fridge, microwave, and modern flat screen TV. Also equipped with a desk big enough for working with laptop and paperwork. Although the room looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VV20070518
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your reply. I know what you mean about those railway tracks. We prefer to put people away from the tracks, however, sometimes high occupancy prevents this from happening. Thank you for all of your kind words and we sure hope you will pay us a return visit and we can give you a room further from the railroad...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 16 March 2016

This was by far the worst hotel stay I have ever had, but at least it has made for a good story to tell our friends. My fiancée and I checked in on a road trip/business trip. We booked a queen room. Check in was nothing out of the ordinary. When we got our room keys we proceeded to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We definitely apologize for checking you into an occupied room. This can be disconcerting to both the guest residing in the room and the person checking in. The beds are not actually twin beds, they are oversized doubles, which are only slightly less spacious than a queen bed. We are sorry for your unpleasant experience and...

Creston, Canada
Reviewed 18 December 2015

The wind whistled into our room the whole time (could see outside right next to the air conditioner). The mattress sagged towards the middle quite badly. The sign outside the motel said "Bed and Breakfast Special". We inquired about breakfast and were told by the night clerk as well as the clerk the next morning that there was no breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmkenny
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It sounds like we missed insulating the area around your air conditioner. Thanks for the heads up. Regarding the mattress, we do take special care to replace our mattresses in a timely manner, so sagging does not happen. I believe there was some miscommunication around the Bed and Breakfast situation. It sounds like you were not...

Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 17 December 2015

This place needs a renovation or to be torn down in the worst way! It's old, dirty, smelly, and not well looked after. The bathrooms are super small, you need to put one foot in the tub to close the door behind you. The only reason I was here is because this is where work put me up. Here is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteamRestoration
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed in your accommodation. Like most of the hotels in Cranbrook, we have certain units that are located near the tracks. For some people, the tracks do not pose a problem. For others, they do and we will happily try and move them further from the tracks, if they let...

Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

We are usually impressed with a sandman hotels, but won't stay at this one again. Our room was cold, as we could see outside through the wall mounted air conditioner unit. The rooms, while clean, had a musty smell, and the pool was little more than a rectangular hole in the ground.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We welcome all types of reviews. I am happy that you enjoy staying at Sandman Hotels. Earlier in November, we were insulating our air conditioners, however, it sounds like we overlooked your room. We take pride in our clean rooms, so thanks. Regarding the pool, I am sorry you did not like it. We have had...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2015

This is the second year in a row that our family chose the Sandman Inn for our annual trip to Cranbrook and we are never disappointed. The rate is excellent and the staff are all so helpful. While the rooms could use some updating, the price, location, amenities and staff make up for it. Dan, the Manager, is always around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelinjack64
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. Comments such as yours help validate the hard work the staff does at the property to ensure excellence in service. We are currently in the process of updating rooms. We have numerous families that love to have their gathering at the Sandman, as it is so convenient and close to many restaurants...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Only been here for 1 night. The room was very small. I requested a room on the top floor but was not offered one and ended up on the bottom floor. At 11 at night a diesel pick up backed into a parking spot right outside my window. He was there a few minutes before he shut of the engine....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carsten S
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, some of our rooms are smaller than others. It is unfortunate that we did not grant your request for a second floor room. Regarding the diesel truck and it's foul odor, we have now positioned cement barricades across the area closest to the main floor windows. This means the trucks can no longer park...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
0.3 km away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#4 of 17 in Cranbrook
215 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
7.8 km away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Model A Inn
Model A Inn
#10 of 17 in Cranbrook
65 reviews
1.4 km away
Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort and Convention Centre
2.6 km away
Super 8 Cranbrook
Super 8 Cranbrook
#7 of 17 in Cranbrook
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boasting more sunshine hours annually than any other city in BC, Cranbrook is surrounded by miles of lush forest and many glacier-fed lakes. Comfortable guest rooms, a relaxing indoor pool in addition to modern conveniences like high-speed Internet access, a business centre and on-site dining, make this Sandman property the perfect destination for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Inn Cranbrook

Address: 405 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3R5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Price Range: $134 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Inn Cranbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Inn Cranbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Inn Cranbrook staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like the room by the exit for my dog.”
simonsage, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If all you need is a one night stay for sleep, this place will do. Staying for two nights or more and you may want to try somewhere else.”
looseink, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
  • Mold in shower
  • Screw about to fall out adn obvious dirt from many many days.
O8324LDjanetc, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the front. The back is around 70 feet from a very active rail line.”
SteamRestoration, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Don't pick ones on the side of the train tracks. Don't choose Room 289.”
LorneInKelowna, 28 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$103* /night
View Deal
Sandman HotelsUS$103
PricelineUS$103
Hotels.comUS$102
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates