We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandman Inn Cranbrook

Sandman HotelsUS$103*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sandman Inn Cranbrook
See the most recent reviews
Showing 95: English reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I would not recommend this hotel. The rooms are dirty and the service was not great. I was in a room beside a pet designated room and a dog was barking nonstop for 2 hours. When I called the front desk the women pretty much said to bad and did not offer to switch my room. Not impressed‼️

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jojokane
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. A person who has had a negative experience at our property is always a concern to me. A dog left unattended in a room and as a result continues to bark is not acceptable. The offer to move rooms is an instruction I clearly give to staff and will reiterate this directive as a result...

Kalispell
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Good motel for a restful night's sleep but do be sure to ask for a room that is not alongside the railroad track. The other side of the motel is very quiet. Rooms are comfortable, clean and somewhat smaller than rooms in the U.S. for the same price. Halls are in need of new carpet. No breakfast included but there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KalispellMontanan
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Oh, those railroad tracks. As you say in your review, "ask for a room away from the tracks." Comfortable rooms and cleanliness are definitely high on our priority list in maintaining an excellent property in which to spend some time . I am happy you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back and visit us in Cranbrook....

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Sandman in Cranbrook during our motorcycle trip. We had wonderfully friendly service together with a very comfortable room. Everything was clean and fresh. It was a great stop and we will definetely stop here on our next trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JDFehr
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Friendly, comfortable and clean are definitely three words we love to hear when a guest describes the Sandman Inn in Cranbrook. We are a favourite spot for motorcyclists and are happy that your stay was a pleasant one. See you on your next stop in Cranbrook. Your review is appreciated. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I have staid in many hotels and this one is by far the worst I'll never recommend this hotel for anyone they start bothering you before check out time I've called the night before to explain I wanted to stay another night and buddy was at my door and calling from about 9 am on after I explained I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica H
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank your for your review. I make it a practice to respond to all reviews, both positive and negative. It surely sounds like you had a horrible experience at our property. We always strive to provide the best service and that includes granting a late check out if at all possible. It sounds like the front desk was able to...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family was gathering in Cranbrook for an overdue family reunion. The plan was to fish, hike and enjoy the Cdn Rockies. As many were coming from long distances, we needed to keep the costs down where possible while not sacrificing quality and comfort. We booked rooms at the Sandman and were thankful we did. They offered exceptional rates for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelinjack64
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We are a popular spot for family gatherings and in your case, that certainly rings true according to your positive review. Our rates are definitely competitive. Also, there are numerous activities in which to partake in our general vicinity. We hope you have another gathering at our property and we will extend the same...

RedDeer
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It's okay, we arrived late and tired, the rooms nothing special. The bathroom you have to go in , reach behind , shut the door then back up, to use the toilet. The girl at the front desk was very nice. Over priced, thats for sure. But I'm finding anything in cranbrook is high.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThePolisher
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Admittedly, our bathrooms are small and that is why we have the sink, etc. located in a separate area. Thanks for your kind comments on the front desk girl. We hope you will decide to stay with us on your next visit. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager

Sherwood Park, Alberta
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Typical old hotel. Rooms were very small, bathrooms were even smaller. First room we were checked into was "supposed" to be a king suite with a pull out couch. Got up to room and only found 1 queen bed and a small chair....no couch. The inside access door to the adjoining room was broken as well. The deadbolt lock was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gator71
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The Cranbrook property was built in 1973 and as you say, it is not as bright and modern as some of our other properties; however, we are continuing to make renovations to bring the property up to more current standards. The first room you described is not our typical "king room" as it did not contain...

Edmonton
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here one night in July on our way to the US. The hotel has a good sized parking lot out back where we could park our truck and trailer for the night. The rooms at this hotel could use some updating but overall it was comfortable enough for a night. Everything was functional but dated. The hotel backs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nothatsyou
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for providing a room tip for others regarding asking to be situated away from the train tracks. We are continuing to renovate the property in order to bring it up to more modern standards. I am happy that you did have comfortable night and we hope to see you again. Thanks for the review. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I recently had to travel to Cranbrook, British Columbia to assist a friend in hospital after an accident. I had no clue where to stay but decided to chance the Sandman Inn and I am so very glad I did! The gentlemen on the phone was very polite when taking my reservation and friendly as well. The hotel was easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. "Friendly, Accommodating and Spotless" are definitely encouraging and rewarding words to see when reading a review. I am glad that your experience was a good one. We at the Sandman Inn Cranbrook do promote excellence in service to the guest. Also, we want to be empathetic, especially to those who are experiencing a...

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend and her kid we're on our way through town Sandman got recommended to us by somebody in town I'm very glad that I ran into that person in town because it was a great hotel great stay great people management when above and beyond to make sure we were happy and they were also very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerm M
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

It is very rewarding to read such a review as yours. We endeavour to provide excellent service, as we believe this action is the cornerstone of the hospitality industry. We pride ourselves in going above and beyond in providing service. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you, soon. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
0.3 km away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#4 of 17 in Cranbrook
217 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
7.8 km away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Model A Inn
Model A Inn
#10 of 17 in Cranbrook
65 reviews
1.4 km away
Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort and Convention Centre
2.6 km away
Super 8 Cranbrook
Super 8 Cranbrook
#7 of 17 in Cranbrook
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boasting more sunshine hours annually than any other city in BC, Cranbrook is surrounded by miles of lush forest and many glacier-fed lakes. Comfortable guest rooms, a relaxing indoor pool in addition to modern conveniences like high-speed Internet access, a business centre and on-site dining, make this Sandman property the perfect destination for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Inn Cranbrook

Address: 405 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3R5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Price Range: $132 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Inn Cranbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Inn Cranbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Inn Cranbrook staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like the room by the exit for my dog.”
simonsage, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If all you need is a one night stay for sleep, this place will do. Staying for two nights or more and you may want to try somewhere else.”
looseink, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
  • Mold in shower
  • Screw about to fall out adn obvious dirt from many many days.
O8324LDjanetc, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the front. The back is around 70 feet from a very active rail line.”
SteamRestoration, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Don't pick ones on the side of the train tracks. Don't choose Room 289.”
LorneInKelowna, 28 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Sandman Hotels
US$103* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$103
Hotels.comUS$103
Booking.comUS$103
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates