We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

587 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 577: English reviews
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We were quite satisfied staying at the Westerly. The check-in / check-out was quick & pleasant. The king sized bed was very comfortable although I felt the duvet was warm. We slept with the door open the 2nd night & it was much better. The room overlooked the back parking lot & walking trail along the river but was pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedRose55
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RedRose55 Thank you for taking time to write about us. You covered a lot of topics regarding our services and product; all complimentary and we love that! For your information you can use the vouchers for any meal or beverage. I hope you had a chance to walk the river trail. It is quite scenic and takes you to...

victoria, Canada
Reviewed 22 February 2016

I have stayed at this particular Best West probably 50 times at least over the past 5 or 6 years, Always with great service, friendly people and great accommodations. I would suggest asking to stay in the Mountain Wing (building) I find it a newer nicer room.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Hello David We appreciate your loyalty and are so glad you stay with us. Compliments to our hard working staff is always appreciated. We look forward to your next visit!

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Place was convenient, there was a pool. The gym is sub-par, and they're not great for vegan options, though the curry was killer. The check in is easy and efficient, and it's pretty much what you expect from a hotel. Missing a tea kettle (coffe-focused hotels drive me crazy), but they even have hot chocolate. I love that they have...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miranda H
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Miranda H Our hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the River walk as you mentioned. I am sorry you experienced the hotel when it was understaffed. It isn't usually and certain circumstances led to that when you were there. We hope you come for another visit!

Victoria, BC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

As a family of two young children, my husband and I had a positive experience at this hotel. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was one of the better ones we'd had in various hotels - a good variety! The only unfortunate thing was that the pool was occupied with 4 young travelers (early 20s?), who paid little attention to other guests-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nijntje-hime
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ski Family We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your ski vacation with us. Because of our proximity to My Washington we have a lot of people stay with us who come for a ski/snow board vacation. We even have a storage room for all your ski equipment. There is also a games room for the younger children...

Victoria, BC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

We've stayed at a few different places in Courtenay just as a quick overnight stop, but thought we'd give a new-to-us place a try, since we'd be staying for three days and wanted more of a relaxing base. Check-in was great, and we were able to get a decent rate of $95 a night over three mid-week nights for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie F
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review of our hotel and services. We are glad you decided to give us a try. I happen to agree with you on the room choice. The older rooms are larger than the newer ones and have the nice balcony over the green space. You mentioned the river. There is a River walk directly behind...

Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 11 February 2016

My husband and son arrived to check into their pre-paid room and were told that they could not check in without a credit card deposit. We don't use credit cards as you can pay for everything now online by Visa Debit or Paypal. We frequently stay at a variety of hotels and have never had a problem leaving a deposit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CooksontheRoad I am very sorry you encountered a problem by not having a credit card. That is the way our system works. Our apologies!

Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 11 February 2016

The staff is very friendly. The room decor could use some up grading the room we pretty dark. My room was quoted at 110.00 by the time i paid the taxes and fees it was 143.00. Crazy.....They should be telling you the final price.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnbE8695JC
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about us. Our staff is the best!! It is crazy (I agree) that all the taxes are significant. Unfortunately we can do nothing about that. I have the same problem at all hotels and read the extra costs and taxes when making a decision. I hope you will stay with us again.

Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 8 February 2016

So ... First impressions are good. Nice lobby, plenty of parking. However being in the original hotel is not that great. The rooms are dated, although the bathrooms had very nice showers. The balcony is no selling point as its paint was peeling off the concrete floor and we looked over the other hotel wing. The family restaurant was dated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raquelle1
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you had some positive feelings and comments about us. People love staying with us for their ski vacation as we have a pool, games room, ski storage and on site dining. I am sorry overall you didn't feel it was the right choice for you.

Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My wife and I came to Courtenay to visit family. We are in the area 2-3 times per year, and our regular stay wasn't going to work. There were a few glitches over the three nights, but we'd give it another try. The room was clean and most of the staff we interacted with were outstanding. That goes a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mbsaul Thank you for writing about us on TripAdvisor. I am happy you were pleased with our hot breakfast. Coupons for the food are a promotion through BW and other booking agents such as Expedia do not give those. The pub is fun and it has great food as well as a Forno oven to make real pizzas. The...

Delta
Reviewed 3 February 2016

I love to stay here! the staff is friendly and efficient and always acknowledge the fact that I'm back, I get a nice room facing the parking lot rather than the street which I like. the rooms are very clean and have housecoats another like! includes a breakfast voucher value toward either continental breakfast or for a couple $ more...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelly W Thanks for staying with us again. We love our loyal customers and it is always a pleasure for staff to see people returning and getting to know them. You pretty much mentioned all our amenities and on site services. We are glad you enjoy staying with us as much as we love having you! Cheers

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
759 reviews
3.9 km away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
489 reviews
1.2 km away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
373 reviews
8.0 km away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Flying Canoe West Coast Pub
Flying Canoe West Coast Pub
Cuisines: International, American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
Westerly Restaurant
Westerly Restaurant
Cuisines: International, Canadian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel

Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Price Range: $116 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suggest asking for a westerly room if you want a nice view of the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles Colin1062, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from Chalks side if you have kids. There are drunks everywhere and you have to get past them to get to your room”
 of 5 bubbles 66karlau, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Gramma57, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra to get a renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles Victoria_BCTall_Guy, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try Kingfisher Resort or Old House Hotel for a relaxing experience”
 of 5 bubbles Y8221QQkims, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5