Windborne Bed and Breakfast

Windborne Bed and Breakfast

3900 Broadwater Rd, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 4V4 Canada
Traveller (80)
Im Bad
Room & Suite (27)
Breakfast starter
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 2 B&Bs in Castlegar
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Bed and Breakfast. Many of our guests, both business and holiday travellers, have expressed how comfortable and welcome they feel at Windborne B&B. We've heard appreciation for the luxurious surroundings and casual atmosphere, plus for the great breakfasts. That about sums up why we are in business! It's all about people and providing a great place to stay. Temperature regulated by a heat pump for your comfort. Soft water system. Post and beam construction. Purpose built in 2007.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Hiking
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
390Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 368
  • 15
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dintyl wrote a review Jul 2020
Victoria, Canada59 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Wimborne BnB has a wonderful garden but that is due in its entirety to Marc who bought the site 12 years ago when it was a field. And he worked in the municipal gardens of Surrey, Vancouver. That is not to underestimate the artistry that his wife, who is a professional painter, put into the house and garden.
We were welcomed with a pot of tea (it being COVID-19 time) and shown into our well appointed room. Great bathroom.
Marc does the cooking and for each of our three mornings we began with a pot of coffee, thereafter a different cooked breakfast each day.
The basement of the house is an artist’s studio where Meara not only paints but teaches. It was an eye opener to see it.
We were in Castlegar to fish for a couple of days. Our fishing meant we returned home around 10pm and the double bath was a pleasure to sink into. That finished each day on the tight note.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clint and Kanya P wrote a review Aug 2021
Campbell River, Canada3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was lucky enough to recently spend 14 nights at the Windborne Bed & Breakfast. Windborne B&B is located in Robson just outside of Castlegar BC. When I checked in, I was greeted by the owners Marc and Mirja. The B&B is located in a big spacious home with each of the three rooms has a private bathroom, and large comfortable beds, and flat screen TVs. When you wake up, I hope you are hungry, as you will be greeted with an amazing home cooked beakfast. The house is also adorned with beautiful paintings by local artist (and owner) Mirja Vahala.

As much as I enjoyed my stay, I enjoyed my mornings greeting to know both Marc and Mirja. If you are looking for a place to stay in the Castlegar area, you must check out the Windborne B&B, you will not be disappointed if you do.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marc Conacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast
Responded Aug 10, 2021
Thank you for the excellent comments. You were an absolute delight for the entire stay. You are welcome here anytime. We hope you have a great fall season.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Casey F wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was so amazing that when we were done our trip we came back to stay again! The property is right on the water and filled with all kinds of flowers and trees. Marc and Mirja were fantastic hosts and really went above and beyond to make sure our stay was the best experience. Breakfast was absolutely delicious with the best homemade pancakes I have ever eaten. If we are ever in Castlegar again we will definitely be back! Highly recommend this place! 5 stars for sure
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VimesFan wrote a review Aug 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom137 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sadly we had only planned a one night stay but we'd have been very happy to stay longer. We greatly appreciated the warm welcome that Mark showed us after a very long day's drive and the lovely showers and comfortable beds didn't hurt either!
We enjoyed a delicious freshly-cooked breakfast the next morning and thoroughly enjoyed the stunning artworks all around the house. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Marc and Mirya were great hosts. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Although we were restricted from the rest of the house due to COVID, Marc served us fabulous breakfasts on the patio. Location was central to all our day trips. We would definitely return if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian S wrote a review Dec 2021
Victoria, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best B&B we have ever stayed at. Best breakfast in the Kootenays! We really enjoyed the state of the art showers. Owners are very engaged in giving the best customer service and it shows. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marc Conacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast
Responded Dec 27, 2021
Thank you for this wonderful review of |Windborne B&B. You are both too kind. We enjoyed your company over the holidays, and you re welcome here anytime. We hope you have a safe return trip and a great New year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LV89052 wrote a review Jul 2023
Henderson, Nevada33 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you Marc and Mirja for a wonderful weekend. My wife and I had never been to Castlegar or the surrounding area and your home was a perfect "home base" (pun intended). We managed, golf, mountain biking and sightseeing to Castlegar and Nelson during our two day stay. It was wonderful to be able to come back to our beautiful and comfortable room. Everything thing was clean and comfortable. Marc's breakfast were a treat. The landscaping around the B&B should not be missed. Treat yourself to at least an hour stroll around the grounds - everything was selected, planted and impeccably maintained by Marc.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marc Conacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jul 11, 2023
Thank you for all your kind words. We are glad you were able to enjoy all our area has to offer. You were a joy to have in our home and are welcome here anytime.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sgordon67 wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely stay at this unique B & B in the Castlegar area. Mark and Mirja were fantastic hosts and welcomed us into their beautiful home. Beautiful paintings by Mirja are hanging all around the house. Room was comfortable with nice outdoor space. Mark looked after our breakfasts with great detail and they were so filling and set us up for the day. Great location for the town and for exploring Syringa Park. Would definitely recommend for anyone wanting to stay near Castlegar.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marc Conacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast
Responded Aug 10, 2021
Thank you for taking your time to post this excellent review. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfasts. we look forward to any trips in your future. Have a great summer.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michel G wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our host Mark greeted us with a friendly smile and showed us the facilities. The grounds were immaculate and Mark gave us a quick horticultural lesson of the grounds. We stayed in the king suite with spa bath and large shower. We enjoyed cocktails on the deck and had an awesome sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Enjoy the early time for breakfast and Mark’s company while you eat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne W wrote a review Jun 2014
Winnipeg, Canada2 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Paper mill right across the river; when we attended mill was shut down but some industrial noise. Meals were average; unfortunately received decaf coffee unknown to us ( as another guest requested decaf and we were served from the same coffee pot); requested a key to the room upon settling in and Marc advised for us "don't worry about it". Security is important to us and we were taken aback from his comment as how would we secure our valuables such as jewelery, cameras and electronics. We felt we had to secure such items in our car which isn't necessary the ideal situation. We would describe the B&B as "river view" rather than "river front" even though Marc's property extends to the river front, one must cross the main road way and through an undeveloped pathway to access the river which is directly across from the pulp mill. For the money we paid (in excess of $160 per night) our expectations were not met. We were on a retirement tour of the Western and Eastern Kootenay area and this was the most expensive B&B/hotel that we stayed in. We do questioned the value for our money. Marc approached us upon departure and asked us our rating of his establishment. When he heard it was not 5/5 he stated for us not to make a review on TripAdvisor as it would hurt his business. Therefore, we question his "excellent" rating from his customers.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jun 24, 2014
Thank you for all of your helpful suggestions. Feedback is very important to us. We now have 2 coffee pots and keys hang in all three of our guest room doors. We also appreciate value for our money. That is why we have 1 room and 2 suites. Each with a different value. $120, $135, and our most luxurious suite, which you booked for 2 nights at $160 per night. Unfortunately there is nothing I can do about the Mill across the river. We are also sorry you misunderstood our explanation of how any rating system operates. This practice will stop immediately.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan R asked a question Aug 2016
Butte, Montana22 contributions26 helpful votes
Do you accept service dogs?
Answer from MarcConacher
Castlegar, Canada32 contributions54 helpful votes
Yes we do
wknight0691 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Devon17 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you're a pet lover you'll like it even more "
Read full review
Michel G wrote a tip Jul 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the early time for breakfast and Mark’s company while you eat."
Read full review
Derek D wrote a tip Oct 2019
Vatican City, Italy3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Incredibly quiet and dark sky viewing."
Read full review
Rebecca V wrote a tip Mar 2019
Robson23 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are lovely, but we get the one with the jacuzzi tub."
Read full review
Skiergirl5 wrote a tip Mar 2018
Kenmore, WA4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Any of the rooms are GREAT"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Castlegar area.
PRICE RANGE
C$195 - C$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesCastlegar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Windborne Bed and Breakfast - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Windborne Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Windborne Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Castlegar Sculpturewalk (5.0 km), Zuckerberg Island Heritage Park (5.8 km), and Millennium Park & Ponds (5.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Windborne Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Windborne Bed and Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Windborne Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Windborne Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Windborne Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lions Head Smoke & Brew Pub, Black Rooster Bar and Grill, and The Grateful Table.
Are there any historical sites close to Windborne Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Brilliant Bridge (6.7 km).
All Castlegar HotelsCastlegar Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CastlegarHotels near Windborne Bed and Breakfast
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars