Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River

Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River

462 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5 Canada
Traveller (266)
Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River
Dining (13)
Neptune's World. Human & Mer-people interactions.
Pool & Beach (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Join Wyndham Rewards Free
C$109
C$96
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#11 of 15 hotels in Campbell River
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Campbell River, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Free wifi is offered to guests, and all rooms at Ramada Campbell River have free in-room coffee and some rooms have kitchenette facilities. During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including indoor pool and hot tub, the courtyard mini-golf area, and our Bar-B-Que picnic area. Guests of Ramada Hotel are also welcome to enjoy the complimentary continental breakfast, located on site. For travelers arriving by car, free parking is available. While visiting Campbell River, you may want to try some of the many local restaurants, such as the 50 Parallel Tap and Grill right next door. Should time allow, a visit to Elk Falls Provincial Park, and/or the Campbell River Museum, are highly recommended. And the Rotary Sea Walk directly across the road from the hotel is one of the most popular and scenic attractions in the area. Enjoy your stay in Campbell River!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Mini golf
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

462 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 38 out of 100
38
Campbell River Airport
Comox Airport
39.7 km
See all flights
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles863 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River is situated near the ocean, offering potential for picturesque views, though it's noted by guests that the hotel would benefit from significant updates. The establishment receives mixed reviews: on one hand, some guests commend the cleanliness and amiable staff; on the other hand, criticisms are directed at the lack of amenities, maintenance problems, and an atmosphere deemed outdated. Room condition is a concern, with reports of poor cleanliness and insufficient soundproofing. The value proposition is questioned, with many feeling that the cost does not align with the quality of facilities provided.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Neglected
Rooms
Neglected
Value
Pricey
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
863Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 173
  • 297
  • 188
  • 93
  • 112
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tamara S wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff was great and I felt at home during my two week stay. No real complaints. The hotel could use a few updates and be more careful with cleanliness, Providing disinfectant wipes and hand sanitizers would be good too.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John H wrote a review Jul 2020
Maple Ridge, Canada6 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Ok...so this is an older hotel, which the pictures show but the rooms have been updated and are pretty typically a standard room in a chain hotel. The rooms aren’t why you book here—-the location is amazing. I had a fire on the beach tonight which was fantastic. The beach is directly across the street from the hotel. There is a walkway that runs right beside the beach, and there is a great little hut about a km away that serves coffee and pastries in the morning. I didn’t have any issues with bugs, my room didn’t smell.....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Trevor S wrote a review Jul 2021
Port McNeill, Canada2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For my family cleanliness is our gold standard, and the Campbell River Ramada doesn't disappoint. The rooms are kept very clean, the beds are firm- but comfortable. The staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful, and parking was conveniently located right next to our rooms. As an older building it lacks some of the bells and whistles a newer hotel might have- but the rooms contain everything you need and everything is kept in good condition. Overall it's just a comfortable and very reasonably priced place to hang your hat while away.
The only thing keeping this from a full five stars is for anyone sensitive to heat. Be aware that, as an old building, none of the rooms have A/C. Fans are provided, and being located across the highway from the ocean, leaving windows open as it turns to dusk will cool your room. We stayed during a massive heat wave and still manage to sleep quite comfortably. But it could be an issue for some, hence giving it the mention
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane Doe wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Called phone number listed on Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River. Booked room for 2 nights. Received 3 confirmations! I am a 73 year old woman who had just had a huge blow up with my husband, felt threatened, so left house. Book a Room for 2 nights (hoping for a safe place). Arrived and was told "We don't take locals." Needless to say I was very upset, started crying and explained situation. "Sorry we don't take locals. It's posted in our lobby." Really! I was so upset, just asked if I was still going to be charged. He said. No there would be no charges. I left. I was shocked when I looked at my credit card and discovered a $12.99 charge for booking! They booked me a room they would not rent out without the knowledge they don't take locals and charge me for it. Fed UP.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IslandVibes1389 wrote a review Jan 2020
Port Alberni, Canada3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly staff. Great location. That's where the positives end.

All staff I dealt with were friendly and seemed eager to help me enjoy my stay.

I was very disappointed to find (and photograph) several dirty things in the first room I was given that made me uncomfortable and after getting a sanitizer bottle and cloth from the front desk I still decided not to risk a bath. I was moved(and upgraded-thank you !) but it was dirty too and had someone's used towel in the washroom, dead bugs and hair. Nice view of ocean. After seeing the rooms i didn't use the sauna/pool/hot tub so I can't comment.

The breakfast was decent actually with waffle, eggs, apples, cereal, yoghurt, pastries and beverages.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Inspire11972702827, General Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River
Responded Jan 28, 2020
We are very sorry to hear that your experience was unsatisfactory. And while the front desk tried to help by supplying the cleaner and cloth you requested, we certainly do not expect our guest to have to do any cleaning. I am certain that if you were to visit again you would have a much better experience. Thank-you for the kind comments about the breakfast and the staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kootzgirl wrote a review Aug 2022
Nelson, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Grossly overpriced we paid > $300 a night- not worth more than $150.

1. No breakfast. No warning that this would not be offered.
2. Website misrepresentation of location of hotel /rooms. There is no swimming beach nearby. The water is across a very busy highway- cross at your own peril.
3. Stuck in the 1970s - desperately needs a renovation.
4. No air conditioning
5. Very Noisy !
6. No smoking room smells like used cigarettes.
7. Pool was available the first afternoon then closed again. (Without notice)

Do not book here. Do not stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay at Heron’s Landing. Much nicer and half the price.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
etremb156414 wrote a review May 13
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
In general, I am satisfied with this hotel. Good service with a welcome, very good, so -called. The weak points of this establishment. It's been a long time since the whirlwind and the sauna are broken. It is very disappointing because it is always mentioned that it is a service included on the Bookings website and in front of the hotel! The bedroom floor is a room. No nettanating maintenance is done during the stay except to empty the trash cans, redo the bed and the change of towels. And I noticed a lack of hygiene on the side of the staff in lunch. The staff were preparing frozen products without washing their hands, touching everything and returning to the preparation of food products again without washing hands or did not use disposable gans. To offer muffins to children, by directly touching the muffin with these hands after having touched everything that the public touched to use lunch.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lrowe475224 wrote a review Sep 2021
Sidney, Canada1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel was under staffed therefore issues getting linens towels and garbage removal. The kitchenette was a great feature short on a few items. Reasonable price for holiday weekend and nice to be next door to a great restaurant. Nice to have the loft and balcony features.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greg L wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Kim who worked the front desk for us was incredible. She accomodated a tricky last minute room accommodation for us and was always willing to provide helpful information/services. Our stay was seamless and our room was clean and had everything we needed. This hotel is not glamorous, but it is extremely practical and offers a wide variety of services for it's pricepoint.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aaron H wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An amazing price for such a spacious room. The room had two levels, bedroom seperate from living area with an ocean view. The breakfast, despite being included in the stay, was better than most premium restaurants with eggs, bacon, waffles, etc, all freshly cooked.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elijah U asked a question Aug 2020
British Columbia, Canada
How many room of three beds do you have?
Answer from astalavistababy
canada18 contributions30 helpful votes
No Idea you will have to ask the Hotel.
Answer from LorriDP
Red Deer, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
They do have kitchenette rooms. Yes, you would have to request specifically.
asked a question Sep 2015
Victoria, Canada
Is there a balcony and restaurant's
Answer from Audrey S
Devon, Canada25 contributions16 helpful votes
Yes there are balconies on the top floor, patios on the bottom, we stayed in both but prefer bottom level which allowed us to walk out to grass area. There is no restaurant on site, but the pub next door was quite enjoyable. Some food was great, other not so great - all depends on what you like. It's simply a quaint little pub, good prices, a bit noisy.
Victor221 asked a question Jun 2015
Grand Junction, Colorado140 contributions24 helpful votes
What is the hotel's cancellation policy?
Serena R wrote a tip Nov 2023
20 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool's water temperature is warm enough for general comfort. Enjoyable."
Read full review
Tony B wrote a tip Nov 2023
Edmonton, Canada3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"The restaurant ( 50 Parralel) adjacent to the hotel is great!"
Read full review
Oceansidegal2 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Parksville, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would ask for room set back further from Highway"
Read full review
lindamF5446JQ wrote a tip Jul 2023
Sequim, Washington251 contributions86 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't Stay Here! - Even if you have kids who like mini-golf!"
Read full review
T S wrote a tip Jun 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The place next door is much, much better. Old building but meticulously clean. Unfortunately for us they were full. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Campbell River area.
PRICE RANGE
C$115 - C$301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western plus austrian chalet hotel campbell river, best western campbell river, campbell river best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Austrian Chalet
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandCampbell River
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River
Which popular attractions are close to Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River?
Nearby attractions include Elk Falls Provincial Park (1.0 km) and Landmark Cinemas 5 Campbell River (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River?
Conveniently located restaurants include Foggdukkers Coffee and Roasting, Fifty Parallel Tap & Grill, and Wasabiya Japanese Sushi Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Ramada by Wyndham Campbell River accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Campbell River HotelsCampbell River Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Campbell River
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars