We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Painter's Lodge

PricelineUS$103*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Painter\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

971 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Painter's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 895: English reviews
Soenderborg, Denmark
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Beautiful placed hotel at the waterfront just a short car ride outside Campbell River city center. The hotel has big rooms, a nice little balcony, pool, and some very good restaurants - we had dinner at the bar both nights and even watched a whale meanwhile. Very friendly and helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katrine A
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

What better entertainment is there than watching whales during dinner? It is great to hear these positive comments and thanks for taking the time to write this review. Sincerely, Dean Prentice General Manager, Painter’s Lodge

North Vancouver
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Skip the dining here - you won't miss a thing. Our meals in the dining room - all five us- did not enjoy. We were repeat customers but now find rooms are old and rough around the edges. Beds comfy tho.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank iangZ4308EN
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to return to Painter’s Lodge. I am sorry to hear that on this occasion your dining experience did not match the standards of your previous visit and have reviewed your comments with our chef. We hope that you will return to Painter’s Lodge in the future and thanks for your feedback. Sincerely, Dean Prentice General Manager,...

Milton
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I was here recently for a couple of nights on business. The location is great, scenery magnificent and staff all very attentive and friendly. Rooms are long overdue for some TLC and the common areas are really not much better. My room smelled strongly of mould/mildew and they were unable to move me to another room as they were fully...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesmO9572XB
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your comments which are under review for the next renovations, and have been passed to the restaurant team. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Dean Prentice General Manager, Painter’s Lodge

Abbotsford
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Amazing view, Rustic Manager Suite in need up repair & update. Fishing was not good. Apparently worst fishing in 8 years. Bruce is an awesome guide. There are no trails or beach access to go for a walk. The resort is amongst houses. You do see Cruise ships, float planes and helicopters almost daily.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathymN245XW
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

The fishing has been slower this year and that has been reported all over the coast, but it is great to hear that you had a great time with Bruce regardless. There are many amazing trails and beaches including the Elk Falls Provincial Park within a short driving distance from the lodge and I hope you had a great time...

Millarville
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Mistakes made on our bill, garbage left in our room from previous customer, missing snack bag that no one admitted to - all left a bad taste to us, especially paying over $1400 for 3 nights and 2 mornings of fishing. Our fishing guide ,Tom, was excellent so at least that was good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R58FNsandrap
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about the issues during your stay and will review your comments with the Crew. I will pass your compliments along to Tom and thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Dean Prentice General Manager, Painter’s Lodge

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Great place to get away. I recommend the bear watching tours, they were well run, safe, and we saw a number of brown and grizzly bears. While the salmon catching wasn't great, the trip was really enjoyable and we learned a great deal about the native folklore and history.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnwP9095WU
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

Grizzly season is always an exciting time for us and we are pleased to work in cooperation with the Homalco First Nations Band and Campbell River Whale Watching for another year! The bears even showed up a little earlier than usual so we were even able to open up the tours sooner than planned.. and guests haven’t been disappointed! Thanks...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

The best time Whale watching with Brad. We saw humpbacks, orcas, seals, sea lions, Dolphins and bald eagles!! Our family all agreed it was the most exciting day of our whole holiday. My husband also went fishing and caught a chinnook which we had for dinner.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S1713DUpaulah
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

That’s awesome that you had such a memorable time out on the water and it certainly sounds like the wildlife was good to you! Thanks for the review and we hope to see you again. Sincerely, Dean Prentice General Manager, Painter’s Lodge

Moncton
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We just ended up with a very poor experience at Painter's Lodge during our brief stay. I'm not a negative person by nature so I won't say anything more. Breakfast on the patio in the early morning overlooking the bay was wonderful ~ warm & friendly service with great food

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P3102QYjohnj
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay and thank you for the feedback you provided in the Guestfolio survey. I have reviewed your comments and will follow up with the relevant teams. The patio really is a fantastic place to sit and admire the ocean view and I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast with...

Friday Harbor, Washington
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Our waiter in the lounge was especially helpful with our family. when our autistic son had a meltdown at dinner, he asked how he could help and make it right for our son. He saved our evening by working out something with the kitchen that looked like what our son was expecting (ASD kiddos tend to have a picture in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne B
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

It is wonderful to hear these specific examples when our crew go the extra mile for our guests. The server and the chefs have been recognized for living our ‘Yes I Can’ service values. We hope you had a great stay at Painter’s Lodge and we hope to see you again. Sincerely, Dean Prentice General Manager, Painter’s Lodge

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Painters Lodge is located in a beautiful setting. Our room was pretty average but had a nice deck that provided a great view. Lawn chairs old and not very comfy. We purchased whale watching and fishing excursions. The guides were super and although we didn't catch any fish, I have no complaints. My main complaint about the lodge is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hagonanag
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

I am delighted that our ‘Yes I can’ service ethos was evident during your stay and it sounds like you fully embraced your West Coast fishing experience. I am saddened to hear that you were disappointed with the standard of food and will review your comments with our chef. We do hope to see you again. Sincerely, Dean Prentice General...

238 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (229)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
3.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
254 reviews
3.7 km away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
309 reviews
6.7 km away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
381 reviews
53.3 km away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
114.6 km away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the pristine shores of Vancouver Island, Painter's Lodge offers world-class salmon fishing, breathtaking wildlife and scenery and full amenities. When you're not fighting a mighty salmon on the line, soak in the outdoor pool, refine your serve on the tennis courts, or watch marine life play as you tour the coastline on a Wildlife Adventure Tour. Connected by water taxi, guests enjoy all the amenities including new Aveda Spa at April Point Resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Painter's Lodge

Address: 1625 McDonald Rd, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 4S5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Price Range: $155 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Painter's Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Painter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painter`s Hotel Campbell River
Painters Hotel Campbell River
Painters Resort Campbell River
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Painter's Lodge staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Painter's Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Terrible service at the bar for Gluten Free Guests, ordering food.”
816smileyk, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Extra charge for ocean view room was worth it to us. Room was quiet.”
carolmK3397WF, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Main hotel is renovated, but the oceanfront suites are amazing.”
Y3914XGtracyc, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Water view is beautiful.”
sixstoriesBC, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Go for an ocean view as it's not much more”
Karen1032, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$103* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$103
Booking.comUS$103
Orbitz.comUS$103
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates