We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels

1103 Highway 9 South, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y0 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 9 hotels in Drumheller
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
If you’re looking for a family-friendly hotel in Drumheller, look no further than the Canalta Jurassic. Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Canalta Jurassic offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a kitchenette. During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a 24 hour front desk and baggage storage. Guests of the Canalta Jurassic are also welcome to enjoy a free hot breakfast, located on site. For travelers arriving by car, free parking is available. While visiting Drumheller, you may want to try some ribs at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Athens Greek Restaurant or O'Shea's Eatery And Ale House. Should time allow, the Atlas Coalmine and 3rd Avenue Arts are some popular attractions. The staff at the Canalta Jurassic looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Green
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1103 Highway 9 South, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y0 Canada
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
274Reviews3Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 114
  • 107
  • 41
  • 9
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mike T wrote a review Oct 2023
Kamloops, Canada2 contributions
Good solid hotel. Not the cheapest in town. Good breakfast, lots of parking. Not really walking distance from anywhere. Pool and hot tub permanently closed but no indication of that in either the price or the website. Came here mid Oct when it was cooler outside and the room was always too hot.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid summer high season. Many places are already booked up for 2024.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Canalta Jurassic, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Responded Oct 18, 2023
Oh no, that is not what we want to see! We never want any guest leaving our hotel to be unhappy with their stay. This property never had a pool. We had a 20 person hot tub 4 years ago, but we do not advertise on any of our websites that we have any water features. The ptac units in every room is excess able to the guest to set at desired temperature.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dadena wrote a review Aug 2023
Central Coast, CA51 contributions75 helpful votes
The room was large and comfortable. The sofa was nice for relaxing. The room was very clean with all the usual amenities such as refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was good with lots of choices, the staff was friendly, and the price was reasonable. There is no pool, which wasn't a problem for us but just mentioning it in case that's important to you. I would stay here again when visiting Drumheller.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Canalta Jurassic, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Responded Aug 14, 2023
Hello and thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review! We are glad that you loved our services. Our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise and this provides us great encouragement to keep doing what we are doing. you, once again, for your kind words and we hope to serve you well again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dawn A wrote a review Jul 2023
Tofield, Canada8 contributions
The room was perfect, the bed comfy, but most of all, the staff were superior. Breakfast was delicious and the scrambled eggs very fluffy, which was a wonderful surprise. A special shout-out to Jenna, who went above and beyond for us. Thank you so much!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Get down to breakfast early! It’s very popular.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Canalta Jurassic, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Responded Jul 19, 2023
Thank you for the awesome review of the Canalta Jurassic Hotel! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we are happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Come back and see us soon. Cheers!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ken wrote a review Jul 2023
London, Canada43 contributions3 helpful votes
I stay at a lot of hotels for work all over the country. I was really impressed with Catalina. Super clean, very spacious. The staff was amazing! In particular, Annette in the continental breakfast. We’re gluten free and she brought us out a loaf of bread specifically for us. More importantly, her cheer and demeanour started our day off with a smile. If you’re coming to Drumheller, I highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Canalta Jurassic, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Responded Jul 5, 2023
Hello and thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review! We are glad that you loved our services. Our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise and this provides us great encouragement to keep doing what we are doing. Thank you, once again, for your kind words and we hope to serve you well again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Madeline W wrote a review Jun 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Staff are all very welcoming and friendly, we felt very well looked after. The place is very well kept and very clean. The breakfast offered was great. We even opted to stay an extra night. The only downside was the door banging in the morning being very loud which I put down more to uncourteous neighboring guests coming and going early in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be kind and close your doors softly when coming and going from your room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Canalta Jurassic, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Responded Jun 14, 2023
I would like to extend my sincere gratitude regarding the positive review you left about your experience about your stay. Our staff continuously strive to improve and deliver the best hospitality service possible! Have a great day and please come back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
A C wrote a review May 2023
Edmonton, Canada4 contributions9 helpful votes
**We stayed at this hotel for 1 night April 2021** Very basic hotel, friendly staff and we had a bagged breakfast. Good location. Nothing about it stood out but we would stay there again if the price is right. At the time, this was the most affordable in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Canalta Jurassic, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Responded Jun 14, 2023
Oh no, that is not what we want to see! We never want any guest leaving our hotel to be unhappy with their stay. We have to announce that our hot breakfast is back and we do have a large selection of breakfast items with the hot items served. The covid restrictions was lifted over a year ago so we operate to the full like we use to.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Terry M wrote a review May 2023
Hamilton, Canada4647 contributions705 helpful votes
Just past the ‘Welcome to Drumheller’ given by a golden dinosaur on Hwy 9 East is this nice property on the left. Check-in was seamless. The room was of good size, equipped with coffee/tea facilities, a microwave and a fridge. The temperature setting was nicely cool on a warm day. There is a suitcase rack plus three chairs and two desks. Nice to see toiletries at the sink. The shower was good, equipped with sqeeze bottles [shampoo, conditioner and body wash]. There are fast food options within walking distance if so inclined. The room was quiet. The breakfast room opens at 0800, late for me but I got some pre-breakfast touring in. I had scrambled eggs, potatoes and small sausages, java and a yogurt. Staff here was very friendly. It’s a family run hotel and it had that feel about it. I was happy with my choice for a night in Drumheller.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Canalta Jurassic, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Responded Jun 14, 2023
I would like to extend my sincere gratitude regarding the positive review you left about your experience about your stay. Our staff continuously strive to improve and deliver the best hospitality service possible! Have a great day and please come back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rumalu wrote a review Nov 2022
Edmonton, Canada112 contributions48 helpful votes
This hotel is exactly as advertised. It’s clean, staff is efficient and friendly. As with most accommodations in Drumheller it’s not in the center of town but nothing is very far. Breakfast was tasty and the breakfast room was kept immaculate. Terrific value
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Louw, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Responded Nov 19, 2022
Hello and thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review! We are glad that you loved our services. Our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise and this provides us great encouragement to keep doing what we are doing. Thank you, once again, for your kind words and we hope to serve you well again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AK8397 wrote a review Oct 2022
Ontario, Canada885 contributions674 helpful votes
Sorry, I just had to stick a dinosaur pun in the title, this being the land of the dinosaurs. The Jurassic Inn is a decent, family-friendly hotel with reasonable rates. The rooms were clean and a good size. Service at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking, free WiFi and a hot breakfast are all included. We stayed two nights and were very satisfied. P.S. No dinosaurs were harmed in the preparation of this review.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms in the back face away from the highway.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Louw, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Responded Oct 27, 2022
Hello and thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review of the Canalta Jurassic Hotel! We are glad that you loved our services. Our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise and this provides us great encouragement to keep doing what we are doing. Thank you, once again, for your kind words and we hope to serve you well again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cavirost wrote a review Aug 2022
North Vancouver, Canada27 contributions6 helpful votes
Friendly staff, great breakfast, clean comfortable rooms, quiet location, beds were very comfortable. A bit dated and internet is spotty at times. A decent hotel to stay at for visit to Drumheller and surrounding areas.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Louw, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Responded Nov 19, 2022
Hello and thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review! We are glad that you loved our services. Our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise and this provides us great encouragement to keep doing what we are doing. Thank you, once again, for your kind words and we hope to serve you well again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Drumheller area.
PRICE RANGE
C$166 - C$185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jurassic inn by canalta hotel drumheller, best western drumheller, best western jurassic hotel, drumheller best western
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaDrumheller
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Wayne (1.1 km), Rotary Splash Park (1.1 km), and Mcmullen Island Day Use Area (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include O'Shea's Eatery And Ale House, Chopped Leaf, and A&W Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jewel Mine Historical Site (8.1 km).
Is Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.