We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

SunSquare Montecasino

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
SunSquare Montecasino
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

749 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SunSquare Montecasino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 729: English reviews
Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 2 November 2016

My wife, mum in law, niece and myself had a great weekend stay at Sunsquare hotel for my wife's 40th birthday on 22nd October. Thank you once again to John Maddison & his team for the amazing help in surprising my wife at breakfast with champagne, rose petals on the breakfast table and a delicious chocolate cake for her 40th...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Ashley, Belated Happy Birthday to your Wife! I will be sure to let John and his team know how much of an impact they made on your experience. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Pretoria
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I was excited and satisfied about the hotel and it's facilities and the professionalism of staff, even though the fridge in the room was not working fine. I will definitely recommend the hotel to all the people I know and all my friends on social networks. I definitely enjoyed my wedding anniversary.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank caswell2016
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Caswell2016, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive and that you would recommend us to friends.I am disappointed to hear that your fridge was not working and will address it with the relevant management. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 November 2016

the staff are always so friendly, we went there for our anniversary and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay! the breakfast at the Aarya is always amazing with so many options. the only problem i had was my husband asked for champagne and rose petals when we came back from dinner which they did but they could have made the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JennaB2_11
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear JennaB2_11, Happy anniversary to you and your husband! I am so delighted that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us. We hope to have you back in the near future and take part in more of your life's celebrations and milestones.

Reviewed 31 October 2016

We were upgraded to third floor with a balcony overlooking the food courtyard and children playing in puddles of water .The highlight of this was various colors was displayed at the same time.The food was exciting .I will visit again when i leave for the East.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Pat, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one!We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Rooms are enough for the purpose of travelling on business. Breakfast is good. Wide range of eats. Standard breakfast fare. I would stay here again. Room overlooked the theatre square. Nice atmosphere in the square.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leeleethehostess
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Leeleethehostess, I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel.We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Reviewed 31 October 2016

I stayed at SunSquare MonteCasino for 12 nights for a business trip. Being so close to one of SA's premier destinations was great... Everything is on your doorstep and accessable almost all the time... Saved me a load on travelling and most of the people I had meetings with were happy to come to me!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Langenrohr
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Nice Hotel in a Casio complex, secure, clean but nothing special, good food. Very effizient room cleaning. Good Breakfast. The Taxiservice was extraordinary and the organisation of Sightseeing was very efficent.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfred B
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Alfred B, I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We to take pride in catering to our guests needs the best way we can. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We visited Sunsquare Monte Casino recently and had the best experience in a long time. Our objective was to see tyhe Show Annie (Highly recommended. Unfortunately the show clashed with our package and John Maddison, the manager made arrangement to meet our needs resulting in a great experience. We give John and his team 11 out of 10

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan P
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Johan P, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will let John know that you were pleased with his service. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kimberley
Reviewed 24 October 2016

As usual I have always found it delightful to stay at Sun Square at Monti Casino. Mostly I attend shows whilst there, and it is just so convenient to just walk across to the area where the shows are being held.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 558lesleyn
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear 558lesleyn, I am please that you to hear that you find our location to your liking.We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 October 2016

What an amazing experience for myself and my girlfriend! It was her birthday and just walking into the hotel room and seeing balloons and a cake on behalf of the hotel was heart warming! It was a night to remember.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 124tevind
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear 124tevind, Belated Happy Birthday to you! I am glad to hear that our hotel and our staff were instrumental to make your celebration memorable. Hopefully, we can celebrate your birthday with you again next year. All the best.

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.3 km away
The Palazzo Montecasino
The Palazzo Montecasino
#1 of 7 in Fourways
927 reviews
0.2 km away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
0.5 km away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
5.1 km away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
2.7 km away
Gooderson Fabz Garden Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fourways, north of Johannesburg and only 20 minutes from Sandton, is home to the famous Montecasino Entertainment Complex offering a variety of entertainment options including theatres, movies, shopping, restaurants, ten-pin bowling and a world class casino. Integral to this entertainment mecca is the contemporary SunSquare hotel. Each of the 179 rooms sports a funky design and all the modern conveniences that today’s travellers could possibly need. An Italian-style piazza and restaurant adds that extra something special to the hotel which is the only place to stay for those wanting to be at the centre of all the action. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SunSquare Montecasino

Address: Montecasino Boulevard | Sandton, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Price Range: $223 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Montecasino 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your SunSquare Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Sunsquare Montecasino Johannesburg
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
SunSquare Montecasino South Africa/Fourways
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SunSquare Montecasino staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Springfield, Ohio
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from SunSquare Montecasino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good, it depends on what type of view you would like to have.”
 of 5 bubbles marcmusdu, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Baggywrinkle75, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dont get a room near to Aarya restaurant. Very noisy in that area.”
 of 5 bubbles wendyb4146, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the third floor”
 of 5 bubbles 921patg, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High Up Floors don't have food smells from restaurant and square facing has nice view of Montecasino Piazza”
 of 5 bubbles SinclairNVanessaL, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5