We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House

199 Pine St, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1C6 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (115)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 7 B&Bs in Gananoque
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Historic Luxury, Beds like Clouds, On-site Antique Gallery, Sumptuous Breakfast and English Cream Tea. The Bullock House is a beautiful one of a kind 30 room mansion. Beautifully appointed suites with spacious balconies and beds with private en suites. Catering exclusively to lovers of architecture, antiques and objects d'art. Our goal is to make your stay with us in the 1000 Islands Gananoque a memorable one! Conveniently positioned between Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal and New York. Just steps from the St. Lawrence River and close to: Lansdowne Thousand Islands Bridge, 1000 Islands Playhouse/Firehall Theater, Gananoque Boat Lines 1000 Islands Cruises and Shoreline 1000 Islands Casino to name a few. Enjoy peace and tranquility in a elegant and mature setting. A truly delightful way to spend a weekend in Ontario!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Boating
Free shuttle or taxi services
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Casino and Gambling
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Water sport equipment rentals
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Taxi service
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
100Reviews3Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Navigator31098165747 wrote a review Jan 2024
Toronto, Canada2 contributions
excellent historical house with many antiques and clearly a well managed bed and breakfast. everything is 100% as advertised, the morning custom breakfast is simply amazing and unbelievable, must see if you stay in Gananoque.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gananoque Bed Breakfast, Owner at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House
Responded Jan 6, 2024
Thank you kindly for your wonderful review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Danielle G wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
We were scheduled to go one night in October but unfortunately had to cancel - their policy states that refunds are given if the cancellation is done 7 days prior to the stay, but we were cancelling 5 days prior. So we were looking at getting a credit - ok, but the kicker is, we have to book a 2-night stay in order to get back our 1-night stay booking. So basically, we get one night credit ONLY if we book 2 nights - how is that right? very disappointed dg
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gananoque Bed Breakfast, Owner at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House
Responded Oct 25, 2023
I am sorry. We have a cancellation policy in effect for a reason. I tried to work with you so we both could benefit. To give me a one star rating because you canceled, how is that right?!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shin-Han W wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
Stayed in King George suite. Very spacious suite, great for a family! Love the Gilded Age decor mixed in with modern amenities. Breakfasts were delicious and very filling - had egg soufflé for one of the mornings and would have to say was my family’s fave! Michelle was a very friendly host. Reasons for 4/5: Room could be cleaner given the price for the room. Saw some cobwebs in corners of room, don’t think the bath mats were washed as when I stepped bare feet on it after a shower there were blondish/brown hair stuck under my feet (I am not a blonde). The towel rack near the shower fell off when I placed my towel on it. Water pressure in the shower was fairly weak, not sure why since the pressure for the shower head on the claw tub was fine.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gananoque Bed Breakfast, Owner at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House
Responded Sep 30, 2023
So very sorry for the cob web! Will take that up with the cleaning staff. Also the blond hair. I think she will be mortified when she hears this. Of course we have repaired the towel rack. My deepest apologies for these issues. We really do try to keep our suites in pristine condition. The water pressure is not usually an issue as we discussed. But it is a big Victorian mansion and water pressure if many showers are on at the same time could perhaps cause a pressure issue? Thank you kindly for your kind words and taking the time to write this review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jamie-Lee P wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
Michele, our hostess, was amazing! She was so kind, and paid particular attention to anyone’s special needs. Her breakfasts were spectacular and she ensured everyone’s preferences and dietary requirements were met. The property was beautiful, the room so cozy and well set up. Particular attention to details for comfort, snacks, drinks, and any dishes or room accessories were available. I highly recommend and plan on going back!!!! A reat weekend getaway, great activities to do around the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Free parking!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gananoque Bed Breakfast, Owner at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House
Responded Sep 10, 2023
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful town of Gananoque. Thanks for your kind words. Until we meet again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lkwdtraveler23 wrote a review Aug 2023
Lakewood, OH64 contributions25 helpful votes
Loved our one night stay in Gananoque and this B and B. Best breakfast ever. Cheese souffle! We walked around the corner to the main street for dinner at a pub. In the morning, we walked to the waterfront and enjoyed the architecture of the homes and beautiful gardens. The local museum was very interesting.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We stayed the smallest room. No tables or dressers, but we were only staying one night. The bed...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gananoque Bed Breakfast, Owner at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House
Responded Aug 24, 2023
It was a pleasure. Thank you so much for taking the time to review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
montrealartist2014 wrote a review Jul 2023
Montreal, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
Our bedroom was simply sumptuous - I was traveling with my sister and there was plenty of room and privacy with 2 balconies, and closed in toilet area, big screen tv, air conditioning, and the comfiest chairs to lounge in. The mattress was like sleeping on feathers with the softest linen. The hotel is beautifully decorated with antique furniture, each room is a feast for the eyes. Michelle, the owner, prepares a breakfast which I would rate 5 star with the freshest ingredients (we had the best egg soufflé) you will not leave the table hungry. A memorable overnight trip which I would absolutely recommend and wish I had the time to stay longer. Michelle makes sure that everyone is comfortable and very knowledgeable about the history of Gananoque. I will be back! Thank you, Michelle , I had lots of fun touring the neighbourhood with its quaint stores and restaurants and pretty water views and mostly staying at your bed and breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gananoque Bed Breakfast, Owner at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House
Responded Jul 14, 2023
Thank so much for your kind words. I’m so happy you enjoyed the Bulloch House. Your review made my day. The beds are great aren’t they? :) Thanks again for staying with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JanisHR wrote a review Jul 2023
banstead17 contributions19 helpful votes
We were so grateful to Michelle at The Bulloch House for accommodating us at very short notice. We stayed in the Bulloch Suite which was very large and also had a balcony. The breakfasts were lovely and different each morning. Great location and close to everything.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gananoque Bed Breakfast, Owner at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House
Responded Jul 10, 2023
So nice to meet you. Thank you very much for the review. So happy to be able to accommodate you and hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cruiser23173868502 wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
Hostess: friendly, knowledgeable about the house's history, respectful of your privacy, great to visit with, so glad to have met Michelle House: gorgeous, decor is stunning, tastefully done and emmaculately clean Room: lovely, very comfortable King bed, ensuite BR has a blend of old and new. Food: delicious, nutritious. We felt quite full after our breakfast. Recommendations: absolutely will recommend this stunning B&B. Hope we can come again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gananoque Bed Breakfast, Owner at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House
Responded Jun 9, 2023
We are so honoured with this lovely review. Thank you for your kind words. Much appreciated
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michele H wrote a review May 2023
2 contributions
We were two couples and stayed 4 nights. We had the Gananoque Suite and the Bulloch Suite 3 nights and both were lovely with walk-outs to the balcony. We all enjoyed our rooms and slept well. The last night we shared the King George Suite. Very nice and roomy with a large bathroom with clawfoot bathtub and separate shower. This suite is better for a family vs two couples due to the room set up and only one bathroom. Michele was delightful and very accommodating and help my husband out when he unexpectedly need to do some business. Breakfasts were delicious and different each morning. You will not leave the table hungry!! We had a wonderful time in Gananoque.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking was great and walking distance to everything.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gananoque Bed Breakfast, Owner at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House
Responded May 29, 2023
Thank you very much for your review and I am so happy to have helped with your business needs! It was a pleasure to host you all!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Regine C wrote a review May 2023
Ottawa, Canada2 contributions
Wonderful experience! The house is very well located near to the cruises pier and restaurants. The owner is very nice. We recommend the Bulloch House for its nice atmosphere with antique furniture, very confortable bed, and great homemade breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gananoque Bed Breakfast, Owner at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House
Responded May 21, 2023
We are very blessed to own this lovely piece of history and are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind words.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gananoque area.
PRICE RANGE
C$212 - C$240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioGananoque
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Gananoque, Ontario) - B&B - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House
Which popular attractions are close to 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House?
Nearby attractions include Drawing Room Vintage, & General Shoppe (0.1 km), St. John's Catholic Church (0.3 km), and Royal Theatre Thousand Islands (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sushi Sun, 1000 Curry, and Maple Leaf Restaurant.
Is 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 km away from the centre of Gananoque.
Are there any historical sites close to 1000 Islands Bed and Breakfast - The Bulloch House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gananoque Clock Tower (0.2 km) and Gananoque Town Hall (0.4 km).