We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fern Resort

Save
Share
4432 Fern Resort Rd, Orillia, Ontario L3V 0Z1 Canada
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
CheapTickets
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (193)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (356)

About

#4 of 14 hotels in Orillia
Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern are located along the shores of Lake Couchiching in the city of Orillia. We offer all inclusive packages for both family vacation stays as well as meeting and conference stays. All meals, use of facilities and at specific times of the year, we offer activity programs for all ages, children supervision and nightly entertainment. Established in 1895, Fern has a long tradition of offering our guests with good olde fashion hospitality in a professional and friendly manner. Whether it's the traditional family vacation, a little getaway weekend or a sales meeting or corporate seminar, Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern should be your venue of choice.
Read more

Location

Full view
Contact
4432 Fern Resort Rd, Orillia, Ontario L3V 0Z1 Canada
Getting there
Toronto Pearson Intl Airport107 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
382Reviews12Q+A77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 171
  • 122
  • 50
  • 30
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Anna Maria C wrote a review Aug. 2021
Maple, Canada1 contribution
With 5 grandchildren, ages, 3, 5, 9, 12, and 13, and 7 adults. There was definitely a variety of events, for each age level. The food was also good. The staff very friendly and accommodating. The activities, varied and appropriate. The only comment that I would make, is that perhaps, the buildings need a little loving care. Such as the electric plugs, need to be updated, in that when we tried to plug our electronics, etc., into them, the plug would fall out. Also, perhaps, the front door needs a "hands free" opening device. These are a few small items that would bring it to a 5 STAR RESORT.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Lake front, for the sunset views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
bk19 wrote a review Jul. 2021
T.o.166 contributions94 helpful votes
Went to Fern Resort for the first time with family. Overall the resort is ok, a little dated with some of the buildings and due to covid, some restrictions and precautions. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful While the kids program is a good option for parents to get some R and R time, I was a little disappointed with the food. Especially the dinners. Had the steak one night and the Veal Marsala another night. Both were a bit chewy for my taste. The Caesar Salads for those two days were a bit wilted and not crisp as I had expected. Not sure I will be coming back as I think I can find a better value $ overall at a different resort for the family based on what I had paid. This is similar to some of the other reviews that I had read prior to coming here
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Randy C wrote a review Jul. 2021
London, Canada1 contribution
We had to cancel our reservation due to health reasons. It was disappointing enought that it was our 50th Wedding celebration. We were told our full deposit refund would be sent by cheque. It is now 5 weeks later and no money.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Collens, General Manager at Fern Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
I hope you and your wife were able to celebrate your 50th wedding anniversary in some capacity this summer Randy. 50 years is an incredible accomplishment. I apologize you have been waiting this long for your refund. Please feel free to contact me if you are still waiting. Take care and all the best. Cordially, Scott Collens General Manager Fern Resort
Read more
CorrinasTravels wrote a review Sep. 2020
Toronto, Canada24 contributions20 helpful votes
We recently held a corporate dinner at Fern Resort with incredible success. The staff have instituted thoughtful COVID protocol and we felt very safe. The food, the location and the view were wonderful but it was really the staff that made everything go so well. Huge thanks to Jennifer Demuth.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Collens, Owner at Fern Resort
Responded Nov. 20, 2020
Thank you for your review and thank you for visiting us recently for your corporate dinner. Safety, comfort, friendly staff and atmosphere have always topped the values list here at Fern. We look forward to seeing your group again soon. Cordially, Scott Collens General Manager Fern Resort
Read more
Marisol A wrote a review Sep. 2020
1 contribution
Stayed at edge water cottage labour day weekend. First off, check in was a breeze, efficient and friendly staff. Covid safety measures are in place, hand sanitizers all over the place, staff are all wearing mask- appreciate that a lot. Place needs a little updating but clean and comfortable enough. Loved that the deck is right on the lake. Meal service is a bit hectic but no complains as our server is very attentive and made sure we have everything we needed and more. Lots of activities to do and plenty of relaxing time as well. Overall- a great weekend to end the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Collens, Owner at Fern Resort
Responded Sep. 28, 2020
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us this summer. I am glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves and felt safe and comfortable with our safety protocols and processes. There are some amazing sunsets that you can see from the Edgewater Cottages decks as the sun goes down over Bird island. Thank you for your wonderful comments about your server. Our staff truly want our guests to have a memorable getaway experience that has an emphasis on quality service. Take care and I hope to see you and your family again soon. Cordially, Scott Collens General Manager Fern Resort
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOrillia
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fern Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Fern Resort?
Nearby attractions include Couchiching Beach Park (4.4 km), Tudhope Park (7.2 km), and Orillia Opera House (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fern Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Fern Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fern Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Fern Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fern Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mariposa Market Stores, Apple Annie's Cafe, and Era 67 Restaurant & Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fern Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fern Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Fern Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Fern Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mnjikaning Fish Weirs (2.4 km).
Does Fern Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.