Kingsbrae Arms

Kingsbrae Arms

219 King Street, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1Y1 Canada
cream cheese (probably frozen and thawed)
Traveller (70)
View of the hotel lawn from room balcony
Room & Suite (35)
Library Lounge
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
C$389
Get rewarded with One Key
C$388
C$388
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#7 of 7 inns in Saint Andrews
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Kingsbrae Arms in St. Andrews, New Brunswick, a resort town kissed by the Bay of Fundy in the North Atlantic. Explore a maritime culture. Indulge in the local food scene. Learn the language. Canada!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Tennis court
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private balcony
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

219 King Street, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1Y1 Canada
164Reviews2Q+A34Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 120
  • 13
  • 7
  • 13
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sandra M wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Normally I do not write many reviews. But we were really wowed by our stay. Before arrival we asked for recommendations on restaurants and things to do, and staff arranged reservations for us for dinner. Check in was at 3 but we arrived at 1 and they were able to accomodate us. The two staff we saw were so lovely and had a wonderful conversation.

The inn really feels like old world charm and there are so many really interesting decorations and beautiful furniture. Our suite had a big sitting room with a balcony looking over the Kingsbrae Gardens. And a four poster bed! So chic. For breakfast we had eggs benedict with lobster, really yummy. The waitress was really sweet and chatted us to us about the history of the building.

We were super impressed and will definitely be back! I have recommended to family who will be visiting soon. Worth every penny!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from William Ramsdell, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Oct 6, 2021
Being that you don't write many reviews, we are thrilled that you had taken the time to write about your stay., we Diane and Pam were delighted in your interest of our historical property and look forward in seeing you again soon. Be safe!.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patti K wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Kingsbrae Arms for 2 nights for our anniversary. The Inn is very unique and beautiful both inside and outside. The new patio and landscaping is breathtaking. The staff go above and beyond to make you feel special and are very welcoming as they greeted us upon arrival. Even during breakfast the chef made a point to come out and talk with us. I loved each breakfast and thought the food & the atmosphere was incredible. The staff definitely add an extra special touch to this experience. I would highly recommend staying here, it is like no other place we have visited. We hope to return some day!!

Patti & Kurt Kelley
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from William Ramsdell, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Oct 6, 2021
We are so happy you enjoyed our stay. We too hope for your return. Be safe in your journey.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vacationer607529 wrote a review Jun 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I generally do not write reviews however I had a good laugh about what I read online. I stayed here 2 times last year, coming and going from PEI and already once this year. The staff have been nothing but professional, the continental breakfast was great which even included a complimentary mimosa. I had croissants, pastries, a fruit cup and an omelette with smoked salmon. I agree they have basic cable but that is not why I visit. I enjoyed the sherry and treats. Sat outside and enjoyed the gardens. It is not busy this time of the year so it is my preferred time. Just go.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Make sure you use the staff for restaurant and activity selection. They are from the area and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
canadianchristin2017 wrote a review Jul 2021
Moncton, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Main building, booking our visit based on all the descriptions on the website. Being an Inn, we have found those usually have more personalized service. The biggest issue we had was (albeit a beautiful spot) the staff there is mostly NOT present. Other than at breakfast and check in, we foud ourselves completely alone with no one available to address any needs, which were simple. It was a rainy day so we stayed in part of it and were completely alone. Though our room was nice, it had issues that were surprising for an Inn at the price and caliber. When we did want to get someone, we had no access. There was a bell on a desk that we rang and upon check in there were 2 hand written phone #s to call. Neither were answered. Much of what was described on the website to sound “special and luxurious” was far from it. When you read there is afternoon sherry service, this is actually a bottle of sherry in a decanter that is oxidized that sits in the same spot day and night…. Pastries in the afternoon are the same category. You are paying a premium and we couldn’t even get ice. There were only two staff members who were so meek and mild you were certain even a frown in their direction would cause them to break. So we left after our stay and tried to address our concerns after the fact. The manager, Diane, did not take any accountability for any concerns and all correspondence was accusatory towards us. (we are not high maintenance). Lastly, she ignored my emails without resolve. There is no way to find out who the owners are much less get in touch. We are appalled at our experience and hope to save someone the trouble. You pay a premium and get nothing but a roof over your head. Don’t get me started on breakfast which they say is high value and gourmet. My husband asked for over easy eggs which came out served with a crispy black brown exterior. When I sent a photo of that to the Manager she accused me of only photographing the “worst of it”... when its bacon and eggs, what else is there? Should never have been served… but the Manager did not apologize, simply was angered we photographed it. There are so many nice places to stay for far less. These people DO NOT Care about guests. Hospitality is not their business. They want money. With doing the bare minimum. Don’t waste your money!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from William Ramsdell, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Hello canadianchristin2017, Thank you for spending your time with us. We appreciated having you. We are glad that you found our accommodations to be beautiful and that we were able to offer you an upgrade at no charge. However, we are very disappointed to hear that your experience was unpleasant for you. That was not our intent. I do, however, want to clarify a few things about your review. The Main Inn manager resides beside the inn. . So you were never alone. Cookies and breads are baked fresh daily every afternoon, so they are always fresh. The port, never last more than 3 days as it is consumed by our guests on a regular basis, so it is never oxidized or stale. We do not serve ordinary Bacon and eggs, but have a menu showcasing our gourmet breakfast. If you received Ordinary bacon and eggs, it is only because you requested it, just as you yourself had stated. We double-checked our phone lines to see if they were working properly, and they were. Having clear and open communications with our guest is as important to us as it is to our guests. Unfortunately, we were not aware of most of these concerns until after your stay. Had we been aware of your concerns while you were here, we would have attended to them instantly, thereby improving your experience, which is our primary goal. Our staff are well trained and not mild and meek. We have appreciated everything they do for us. In addition, We did not appreciate being threatened after the fact. Demanding 50% off the already discounted room rate or you will post bad reviews ..... We wish you well in your future travels. Sincerely, Dureall Ramsdell, Property Manager, Kingsbrae Arms Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Inger F wrote a review Jul 2022
Oslo, Norway7 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the weirdest place I have stayed in. I am an experienced traveller, but this place is weird. It is beautiful and very, very expensive. However, the service is non-existent. The woman answering emails bordered on being rude and there is one person who is there every morning for a couple of hours, who is very sweet. Otherwise, I had the Inn almost to myself. Although a friend of mine asked if she could stay there, she was told it was full, in spite of the fact that I only observed three families who stayed there one night I was there. I stayed there for three nights. Most of the evenings, I came back to an empty Inn, which was kind of spooky. I will never return to this place and it was not worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
karissa w wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT BOOK HERE. The people who run this place are not honest people.

I booked a room for my husband and I hoping to have a getaway before our baby arrived. A few months before our planned trip, I decided to email Diane (2022) and ask if I could reschedule due to the pregnancy not going as planned. She told us (I still have the email) that due to covid, they would let us reschedule and we had up until September of 2023.
We had already made a down payment for our stay but did not ask for a refund since we new we would we coming the next year.
Once it came time to make new reservations as promised by Diane herself, after asking if we could book for June, she wrote me a very condescending email telling me I had no rights to re-book and that they don't offer rescheduling over a year... Despite me showing her the emails she sent me, she still kept our 530$ deposit and never got back to us again!

She showed NO compassion for our situation and was very rude about the entire thing. Not only are we out half a grand, we did not get to go on our getaway we had been looking forward to for over a year.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
amackflumps wrote a review Sep 2021
Fredericton Junction, Canada12 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I eloped this summer, and the Kingsbrae Arms was the perfect choice for our garden ceremony. Our room - the Pinnacle Suite - was spacious and well-appointed, with a private balcony offering a beautiful view. The staff was very accommodating, and did everything possible to make our day special. We are looking forward to going back for our anniversary!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from William Ramsdell, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Oct 6, 2021
We were absolutely honored that you chose us for your anniversary. And look forward to sharing that with you again. It would be a start to a great tradition! We wish you all the best in your new endeavours, be safe and travel well. Cheers,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IheartNutella wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York16 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our stay at the Kingsbrae Arms. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and very comfortable. My mother grew up in England and was so delighted with the inn’s old world charm. Breakfast was delicious and the staff are so thoughtful and kind. We walked to town in less than 10 min and we loved the garden next door. The fragrance in the air was heavenly!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from William Ramsdell, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Oct 6, 2021
And we had such lovely guests in having you stay with us. It is people like you that makes our place so magical. Bringing it to life with your charm and your history. It's really special, when we are reminded of the good things we remember, growing up. When we come to a place that has the ability to bring those memories to light.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexander wrote a review Jun 2022
Bar Harbor, Maine50 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The inn is a lovely old historic building immediately next to the gardens. Downtown is a minute or two away. It was acquired by a new (Canadian) owner recently, and is very kind and friendly. The room we stayed in was quaint, clean, and comfortable, and they took great care of us. Breakfast was also excellent. Thanks for having us!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Al M wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful room. Great location right beside gardens and only a few blocks to downtown. Freshly baked croissants each morning along with delicious breakfast. Staff went out of their way to make our anniversary extra special.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cutebacon asked a question Aug 2016
Eaton, New Hampshire
Are you open all year ?
rtybc asked a question Apr 2016
trinidad and tobago42 contributions18 helpful votes
is ths this the same as Kingsbrae cottage?
Vacationer607529 wrote a tip Jun 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you use the staff for restaurant and activity selection. They are from the area and great. "
Read full review
Dave M wrote a tip Jun 2023
Fredericton, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay here!"
Read full review
barbaraa569 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Freeport, Maine31 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check it out before you give them your money because if it has the problems I experienced you will have to fight to get your money back."
Read full review
Vacationer607529 wrote a tip Jul 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"End rooms with big balconies so you can see the water and scenery"
Read full review
Sylvia R wrote a tip Nov 2019
Munich, Germany8 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay there - even though the rooms are really very nice"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint Andrews area.
PRICE RANGE
C$435 - C$717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kingsbrae arms relais & chateaux hotel saint andrews, kingsbrae arms relais and chateaux
LOCATION
CanadaNew BrunswickSaint Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Kingsbrae Arms - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Kingsbrae Arms
Which popular attractions are close to Kingsbrae Arms?
Nearby attractions include Kingsbrae Garden (0.1 km), St. Andrews Blockhouse (1.1 km), and Oppenheimer-Prager Museum at Dayspring (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kingsbrae Arms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Kingsbrae Arms?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Kingsbrae Arms?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Kingsbrae Arms?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kingsbrae Arms?
Conveniently located restaurants include Honeybeans Coffee, Tea and Treats, The Garden Cafe & Savour In The Garden, and Niger Reef Tea House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kingsbrae Arms?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kingsbrae Arms?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kingsbrae Arms?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kingsbrae Arms?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
All Saint Andrews HotelsSaint Andrews Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Saint AndrewsHotels near Kingsbrae Arms
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars