We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
219 King St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1Y1 Canada
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (18)

About

#8 of 13 in Saint Andrews
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Kingsbrae Arms in St. Andrews, New Brunswick, a resort town kissed by the Bay of Fundy in the North Atlantic. Explore a maritime culture. Indulge in the local food scene. Learn the language. Canada!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Tennis court
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private balcony
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, French
158Reviews2Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 118
  • 13
  • 7
  • 13
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
amackflumps wrote a review Sep. 2021
Fredericton Junction, Canada13 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband and I eloped this summer, and the Kingsbrae Arms was the perfect choice for our garden ceremony. Our room - the Pinnacle Suite - was spacious and well-appointed, with a private balcony offering a beautiful view. The staff was very accommodating, and did everything possible to make our day special. We are looking forward to going back for our anniversary!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from William Ramsdell, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Oct. 6, 2021
We were absolutely honored that you chose us for your anniversary. And look forward to sharing that with you again. It would be a start to a great tradition! We wish you all the best in your new endeavours, be safe and travel well. Cheers,
Read more
IheartNutella wrote a review Aug. 2021
New York City, New York16 contributions18 helpful votes
We loved our stay at the Kingsbrae Arms. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and very comfortable. My mother grew up in England and was so delighted with the inn’s old world charm. Breakfast was delicious and the staff are so thoughtful and kind. We walked to town in less than 10 min and we loved the garden next door. The fragrance in the air was heavenly!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from William Ramsdell, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Oct. 6, 2021
And we had such lovely guests in having you stay with us. It is people like you that makes our place so magical. Bringing it to life with your charm and your history. It's really special, when we are reminded of the good things we remember, growing up. When we come to a place that has the ability to bring those memories to light.
Read more
Patti K wrote a review Aug. 2021
1 contribution
We stayed at the Kingsbrae Arms for 2 nights for our anniversary. The Inn is very unique and beautiful both inside and outside. The new patio and landscaping is breathtaking. The staff go above and beyond to make you feel special and are very welcoming as they greeted us upon arrival. Even during breakfast the chef made a point to come out and talk with us. I loved each breakfast and thought the food & the atmosphere was incredible. The staff definitely add an extra special touch to this experience. I would highly recommend staying here, it is like no other place we have visited. We hope to return some day!! Patti & Kurt Kelley
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from William Ramsdell, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Oct. 6, 2021
We are so happy you enjoyed our stay. We too hope for your return. Be safe in your journey.
Read more
Sandra M wrote a review Jul. 2021
1 contribution
Normally I do not write many reviews. But we were really wowed by our stay. Before arrival we asked for recommendations on restaurants and things to do, and staff arranged reservations for us for dinner. Check in was at 3 but we arrived at 1 and they were able to accomodate us. The two staff we saw were so lovely and had a wonderful conversation. The inn really feels like old world charm and there are so many really interesting decorations and beautiful furniture. Our suite had a big sitting room with a balcony looking over the Kingsbrae Gardens. And a four poster bed! So chic. For breakfast we had eggs benedict with lobster, really yummy. The waitress was really sweet and chatted us to us about the history of the building. We were super impressed and will definitely be back! I have recommended to family who will be visiting soon. Worth every penny!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from William Ramsdell, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Oct. 6, 2021
Being that you don't write many reviews, we are thrilled that you had taken the time to write about your stay., we Diane and Pam were delighted in your interest of our historical property and look forward in seeing you again soon. Be safe!.
Read more
Vacationer607529 wrote a review Jul. 2021
1 contribution
This is our second mini vacation this year to KA Inn. Enjoy the mansion, love the staff and the beautiful location beside the gardens. Say hi to the girls for us. Only problem is gaining weight with yummy breakfast.I have to diet when we get home. If you have not been to St Andrews go
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: End rooms with big balconies so you can see the water and scenery
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from William Ramsdell, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Aug. 5, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted you had a great time here. Looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
canadianchristin2017 wrote a review Jul. 2021
Moncton, Canada4 contributions
We stayed in the Main building, booking our visit based on all the descriptions on the website. Being an Inn, we have found those usually have more personalized service. The biggest issue we had was (albeit a beautiful spot) the staff there is mostly NOT present. Other than at breakfast and check in, we foud ourselves completely alone with no one available to address any needs, which were simple. It was a rainy day so we stayed in part of it and were completely alone. Though our room was nice, it had issues that were surprising for an Inn at the price and caliber. When we did want to get someone, we had no access. There was a bell on a desk that we rang and upon check in there were 2 hand written phone #s to call. Neither were answered. Much of what was described on the website to sound “special and luxurious” was far from it. When you read there is afternoon sherry service, this is actually a bottle of sherry in a decanter that is oxidized that sits in the same spot day and night…. Pastries in the afternoon are the same category. You are paying a premium and we couldn’t even get ice. There were only two staff members who were so meek and mild you were certain even a frown in their direction would cause them to break. So we left after our stay and tried to address our concerns after the fact. The manager, Diane, did not take any accountability for any concerns and all correspondence was accusatory towards us. (we are not high maintenance). Lastly, she ignored my emails without resolve. There is no way to find out who the owners are much less get in touch. We are appalled at our experience and hope to save someone the trouble. You pay a premium and get nothing but a roof over your head. Don’t get me started on breakfast which they say is high value and gourmet. My husband asked for over easy eggs which came out served with a crispy black brown exterior. When I sent a photo of that to the Manager she accused me of only photographing the “worst of it”... when its bacon and eggs, what else is there? Should never have been served… but the Manager did not apologize, simply was angered we photographed it. There are so many nice places to stay for far less. These people DO NOT Care about guests. Hospitality is not their business. They want money. With doing the bare minimum. Don’t waste your money!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from William Ramsdell, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Aug. 5, 2021
Hello canadianchristin2017, Thank you for spending your time with us. We appreciated having you. We are glad that you found our accommodations to be beautiful and that we were able to offer you an upgrade at no charge. However, we are very disappointed to hear that your experience was unpleasant for you. That was not our intent. I do, however, want to clarify a few things about your review. The Main Inn manager resides beside the inn. . So you were never alone. Cookies and breads are baked fresh daily every afternoon, so they are always fresh. The port, never last more than 3 days as it is consumed by our guests on a regular basis, so it is never oxidized or stale. We do not serve ordinary Bacon and eggs, but have a menu showcasing our gourmet breakfast. If you received Ordinary bacon and eggs, it is only because you requested it, just as you yourself had stated. We double-checked our phone lines to see if they were working properly, and they were. Having clear and open communications with our guest is as important to us as it is to our guests. Unfortunately, we were not aware of most of these concerns until after your stay. Had we been aware of your concerns while you were here, we would have attended to them instantly, thereby improving your experience, which is our primary goal. Our staff are well trained and not mild and meek. We have appreciated everything they do for us. In addition, We did not appreciate being threatened after the fact. Demanding 50% off the already discounted room rate or you will post bad reviews ..... We wish you well in your future travels. Sincerely, Dureall Ramsdell, Property Manager, Kingsbrae Arms Inn
Read more
Al M wrote a review Jun. 2021
1 contribution
Beautiful room. Great location right beside gardens and only a few blocks to downtown. Freshly baked croissants each morning along with delicious breakfast. Staff went out of their way to make our anniversary extra special.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Sylvia R wrote a review Nov. 2019
Munich, Germany8 contributions4 helpful votes
I am copying below my email to Pamela, the "manager", whom we saw exactly once: when we checked in, for less than ten minutes. She never responded despite several reminders I sent since. In summary: the owners (we understand they live in the US, hardly spend time at Kingsbrae Arms and are trying to sell it) fail their customers and staff alike, and even though the inn is lovely, one cannot enjoy it in lack of service, heat and a decent breakfast. The garden obviously has also been neglected , which is also a shame. Dear Pamela, I am referring to our telephone conversation on Thursday morning, during which I told you that we very much liked our room and had indeed slept very well, but also brought to your attention to what was not ok in our room (no soap – that was fixed the 2nd day, and empty containers for amenities in our bathroom where cotton balls, etc. obviously were meant to be - still empty on day 2), and described our awful breakfast experience: the serving dishes were filthy and/or empty (at 8 30!) – when replenished, the same dirty dish that had been dirty the day when you showed us around was used; there was a completely moldy plum on the fruit dish, which consisted of a grand total of 2 oranges, 2 apples and 5 overripe plums – and some cut up melon that looked awful; all the containers with almonds, cereal, etc. were dirty and all the fingerprints could not have come from the elderly couple who were the only people who had breakfast before us; the crumbs from the breakfast the day before were still on chairs and tables, and the entire buffet table was dusty; the so-called quiche was cold and sagging (at 8 30!). When I showed your chef the moldy plum he took it and said “oh yes”; when I mentioned that I was surprised there were no placemats and that I knew that what was wrapped around the silverware were napkins, but would use them as placemats he said “lots of our guests do that”. When I asked whether he could do something about the freezing temperature (15 C on my thermometer) he said “the heat is on”. The only place we could sit and not freeze was in the buffet room as the sun thankfully was shining in. After you promised that all of the above would change, you would do something to compensate us for the first day’s experience and we would see you in the afternoon, I trusted that our 2nd day would be much better. Never been so wrong. Not only did we never get to see you, even though we came looking a few times. When we returned in the afternoon, there were cleaning utensils (rags, vacuum cleaner) in the downstairs room, but we saw nobody. Breakfast yesterday morning was worse (the chef was off): the toast bread was frozen and had obviously been frozen AFTER it had turned stale, as it was barely edible; the quiche was the same as the day before and had obviously been microwaved; the few cherry tomatoes were shriveled up; ALL the jam packages were so old that the jam had turned so hard that you could hardly cut it (certainly would not want to eat it); the Philadelphia chees was not edible; the fruit offering was worse than the day before; most of the glass containers were as dirty as the day before – but at least the melon and the tomatoes were covered with cellophane, unlike the 1st day when everything was open. I will send a few photos (by separate mail as I have not been able to send this mail with attachments) as I am afraid you did not have a look yourself. While all of this is unacceptable, we really do not blame the staff, but management. The chef obviously can only put on the buffet what he is allowed to buy or make and the housekeeper cannot possibly keep everything clean all by herself. It is such a shame that such a beautiful property – which we chose because of your mention in 1000-Places-to-See and the pictures on your website – was such a disappointment. Needless to say, I still expect that Kingsbrae will reimburse us an equitable amount for the above shortcomings (to use a mild term). As I told you, I do not believe in complaining on the Internet but instead talk to management if something is wrong, but I certainly have no problem doing just that when there is no reaction to my effort to have these shortcomings rectified. Looking forward to your response I remain With kind regards Sylvia Reul
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay there - even though the rooms are really very nice
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry C, Owner at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Nov. 18, 2019
Dear Ms. Reul We are delighted you found our place beautiful and notwithstanding some of your comments, the peaceful and undisturbed nature of your late season stay. Best regards
Read more
375bonnief wrote a review Oct. 2019
Toronto41 contributions49 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights right at the end of the season and in fact were among the very last guests before the hotel closed for the year. While our room was spectacular with a patio, indoor seating area, fireplace and little kitchenette the breakfast was very minimalist. This may have been due to the imminent closure as it certainly did not measure up to the in room write up about the 'sumptuous' breakfasts. St Andrews is very small so everything is within walking distance but the Arms is right next door to the Kingsbrae Gardens. I imagine that at the height of season the overall experience might be different.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry C, Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Nov. 9, 2019
Dear 375bonnief, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at season's end. Best regards, Pamela
Read more
theirmom wrote a review Oct. 2019
1 contribution
We had a magnificent stay at the Kingsbrae Arms. This restored home is elegant without being precious, beautifully decorated and thoughtfully cared for. Our stay couldn’t have been better, and because we were at the very end of “the season” we almost had it to ourselves. (Just note that the town gets a bit empty starting in October!)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry C, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Oct. 13, 2019
Dear "theirmom123" We can't express our appreciation for your appreciation of the inn. While we do agree that the town starts to rest after a busy season and begins to get ready for the holidays to come, there is the added advantage of watching some of the most beautiful fall color in the area. While you almost had the place to yourselves, we who served you were very well aware of your presence. Thank you again, and may we suggest you try spring or summer for your next visit.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$457 - US$542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kingsbrae arms relais & chateaux hotel saint andrews, kingsbrae arms relais and chateaux
LOCATION
CanadaNew BrunswickSaint Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kingsbrae Arms
Which popular attractions are close to Kingsbrae Arms?
Nearby attractions include Kingsbrae Garden (0.03 km), Charlotte County Archives (0.4 km), and St. Andrews Blockhouse (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kingsbrae Arms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Kingsbrae Arms?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Kingsbrae Arms?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Kingsbrae Arms?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kingsbrae Arms?
Conveniently located restaurants include Honeybeans Coffee, Tea and Treats, Niger Reef Tea House, and Braxton’s Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kingsbrae Arms?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kingsbrae Arms?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kingsbrae Arms?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Kingsbrae Arms offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.