We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
219 King St, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1Y1 Canada
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Destinia.com
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (17)

About

#8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Kingsbrae Arms in St. Andrews, New Brunswick, a resort town kissed by the Bay of Fundy in the North Atlantic. Explore a maritime culture. Indulge in the local food scene. Learn the language. Canada!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Tennis court
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private balcony
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French
152Reviews2Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 113
  • 13
  • 7
  • 13
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Al M wrote a review Jun. 17
1 contribution
Beautiful room. Great location right beside gardens and only a few blocks to downtown. Freshly baked croissants each morning along with delicious breakfast. Staff went out of their way to make our anniversary extra special.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Sylvia R wrote a review Nov. 2019
Munich, Germany8 contributions4 helpful votes
I am copying below my email to Pamela, the "manager", whom we saw exactly once: when we checked in, for less than ten minutes. She never responded despite several reminders I sent since. In summary: the owners (we understand they live in the US, hardly spend time at Kingsbrae Arms and are trying to sell it) fail their customers and staff alike, and even though the inn is lovely, one cannot enjoy it in lack of service, heat and a decent breakfast. The garden obviously has also been neglected , which is also a shame. Dear Pamela, I am referring to our telephone conversation on Thursday morning, during which I told you that we very much liked our room and had indeed slept very well, but also brought to your attention to what was not ok in our room (no soap – that was fixed the 2nd day, and empty containers for amenities in our bathroom where cotton balls, etc. obviously were meant to be - still empty on day 2), and described our awful breakfast experience: the serving dishes were filthy and/or empty (at 8 30!) – when replenished, the same dirty dish that had been dirty the day when you showed us around was used; there was a completely moldy plum on the fruit dish, which consisted of a grand total of 2 oranges, 2 apples and 5 overripe plums – and some cut up melon that looked awful; all the containers with almonds, cereal, etc. were dirty and all the fingerprints could not have come from the elderly couple who were the only people who had breakfast before us; the crumbs from the breakfast the day before were still on chairs and tables, and the entire buffet table was dusty; the so-called quiche was cold and sagging (at 8 30!). When I showed your chef the moldy plum he took it and said “oh yes”; when I mentioned that I was surprised there were no placemats and that I knew that what was wrapped around the silverware were napkins, but would use them as placemats he said “lots of our guests do that”. When I asked whether he could do something about the freezing temperature (15 C on my thermometer) he said “the heat is on”. The only place we could sit and not freeze was in the buffet room as the sun thankfully was shining in. After you promised that all of the above would change, you would do something to compensate us for the first day’s experience and we would see you in the afternoon, I trusted that our 2nd day would be much better. Never been so wrong. Not only did we never get to see you, even though we came looking a few times. When we returned in the afternoon, there were cleaning utensils (rags, vacuum cleaner) in the downstairs room, but we saw nobody. Breakfast yesterday morning was worse (the chef was off): the toast bread was frozen and had obviously been frozen AFTER it had turned stale, as it was barely edible; the quiche was the same as the day before and had obviously been microwaved; the few cherry tomatoes were shriveled up; ALL the jam packages were so old that the jam had turned so hard that you could hardly cut it (certainly would not want to eat it); the Philadelphia chees was not edible; the fruit offering was worse than the day before; most of the glass containers were as dirty as the day before – but at least the melon and the tomatoes were covered with cellophane, unlike the 1st day when everything was open. I will send a few photos (by separate mail as I have not been able to send this mail with attachments) as I am afraid you did not have a look yourself. While all of this is unacceptable, we really do not blame the staff, but management. The chef obviously can only put on the buffet what he is allowed to buy or make and the housekeeper cannot possibly keep everything clean all by herself. It is such a shame that such a beautiful property – which we chose because of your mention in 1000-Places-to-See and the pictures on your website – was such a disappointment. Needless to say, I still expect that Kingsbrae will reimburse us an equitable amount for the above shortcomings (to use a mild term). As I told you, I do not believe in complaining on the Internet but instead talk to management if something is wrong, but I certainly have no problem doing just that when there is no reaction to my effort to have these shortcomings rectified. Looking forward to your response I remain With kind regards Sylvia Reul
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay there - even though the rooms are really very nice
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry C, Owner at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Nov. 18, 2019
Dear Ms. Reul We are delighted you found our place beautiful and notwithstanding some of your comments, the peaceful and undisturbed nature of your late season stay. Best regards
Read more
375bonnief wrote a review Oct. 2019
Toronto41 contributions29 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights right at the end of the season and in fact were among the very last guests before the hotel closed for the year. While our room was spectacular with a patio, indoor seating area, fireplace and little kitchenette the breakfast was very minimalist. This may have been due to the imminent closure as it certainly did not measure up to the in room write up about the 'sumptuous' breakfasts. St Andrews is very small so everything is within walking distance but the Arms is right next door to the Kingsbrae Gardens. I imagine that at the height of season the overall experience might be different.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry C, Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Nov. 9, 2019
Dear 375bonnief, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at season's end. Best regards, Pamela
Read more
theirmom wrote a review Oct. 2019
1 contribution
We had a magnificent stay at the Kingsbrae Arms. This restored home is elegant without being precious, beautifully decorated and thoughtfully cared for. Our stay couldn’t have been better, and because we were at the very end of “the season” we almost had it to ourselves. (Just note that the town gets a bit empty starting in October!)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry C, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Oct. 13, 2019
Dear "theirmom123" We can't express our appreciation for your appreciation of the inn. While we do agree that the town starts to rest after a busy season and begins to get ready for the holidays to come, there is the added advantage of watching some of the most beautiful fall color in the area. While you almost had the place to yourselves, we who served you were very well aware of your presence. Thank you again, and may we suggest you try spring or summer for your next visit.
Read more
Judith D wrote a review Oct. 2019
297 contributions120 helpful votes
What a beautiful property! The architecture inside and out is stunning! The rooms are beautiful with high ceilings, lovely sitting areas, very large bathrooms with double sinks (Junior Suite), small porch and gorgeous views. The decorating is eclectic. Guessing the owners are decorators because their is quite the private collection and style. You definitely feel like your in a beautiful private home that has been well loved. We were warmly greeted at the front door and shown to our beautiful room. Our questions were all answered and we were given a map of the area with explanation. A tasty lemon pound cake added to the sweet treatment. Breakfast was delicious and the chef visited with us and answered our inquiries about the area. The gardens are so lovely and the Inn is situated right next to Kingsbrae Gardens which we will be visiting. This is a stunning property that shouldn’t be missed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Harry C, General Manager at Kingsbrae Arms
Responded Oct. 9, 2019
Dear Judith All of us thank you for your recognition. We would like to say that the owners are decorators, but alas, they are mere folks with not training except for the love of making things beautiful and making beautiful things. Your comments about our breakfast cheers us and tells us we have taken the right direction with our buffet variety and daily baking. Again, thank you for your comments about Kingsbrae Arms and about our beloved St. Andrews by-the-Sea. There is so much more to explore!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$179 - US$282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kingsbrae arms relais & chateaux hotel saint andrews, kingsbrae arms relais and chateaux
LOCATION
CanadaNew BrunswickSaint Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kingsbrae Arms
Which popular attractions are close to Kingsbrae Arms?
Nearby attractions include Kingsbrae Garden (0.03 km), Charlotte County Archives (0.4 km), and St. Andrews Blockhouse (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kingsbrae Arms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Kingsbrae Arms?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Kingsbrae Arms?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Kingsbrae Arms?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kingsbrae Arms?
Conveniently located restaurants include Braxton’s Restaurant & Bar, Niger Reef Tea House, and The Garden Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kingsbrae Arms?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kingsbrae Arms?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kingsbrae Arms?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Kingsbrae Arms offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.