We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground

Save
Share
246 Riverbend Rd, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2N2 Canada
Hotels.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (63)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)

About

#4 of 9 Specialty lodging in Qualicum Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
130Reviews4Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 20
  • 6
  • 8
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Cheryl M wrote a review Jul. 2022
1 contribution
We stayed in suite 3 from July 1-July 4, 2022. When we arrived, the dishes were dirty and put back in the cupboard that way. The toilet ran all night so we notified staff the next day. When we returned that evening, the toilet wasn’t running but it would not flush. We notified staff who sent the manager and her husband to check it out. The manager’s husband told us he adjusted it but could see that it needed a new part, which he could not get until the next day. We asked what we should do and the manager flippantly replied that we could use a jug of water to flush. She went on to say that she had travelled the world and had experienced much worse. No apology was offered for our inconvenience. We found the manager’s conduct to be rude and unprofessional. The next afternoon when we returned, the new part had been installed, but there was water all over the bathroom floor. We discovered that it was leaking at the base of the toilet tank. We mopped up the water with towels and placed a jug under the tank. We left it this way until we checked out the next day as we could not deal with the manager again. In short, we do not recommend this accommodation to anyone until they have a change in management. We had a staff member apologise to us for the manager’s conduct but never received any apology or offer of compensation from the manager for our inconvenience. It appears to be a very poorly managed facility.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Isabel M wrote a review Apr. 2021
Beaumont, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
We recently spent two weeks at Cedar Grove, staying in the Spirit Cabin. From making our reservation, to check in, to our stay there - everything went without a hitch. My communication with Helen prior to our arrival was always positive. She was very informative as to what to expect, and of course, always friendly and helpful. The cabin, when we arrived, was spotless and given the circumstances we're all living in at the moment, this was a great relief to find it so clean and sanitized. As we were there for two weeks, we also had a mid-stay clean, which again was done to the highest standards. The cabin was towards the front of the property, but we have to say, the noise of the other campers vehicles coming and going, was definitely not an issue.Helen and Harvey were always available with any questions we needed answering and always had a smile on their faces. We would definitely stay there again, our experience was so great. We look forward to next time!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cedar Grove, General Manager at Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground
Responded Apr. 29, 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's so nice to hear you were pleased with the cabin, the cleaning staff, and our managers! We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex R wrote a review Sep. 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My family was there for the Labor Day weekend, and it was horrible! There was one group that was extremely loud, drunk by 2pm, and smoking pot A LOT!!!!!!! We were trying to set up our campsite, and my young children kept complaining to my husband and I about the “ funny smell”. We finally had enough and went into the office to tell the manager. The lady behind the counter was very apologetic, saying she would talk to the manager about it. I was outside the office when I heard the manager tell the staff that “ too bad, they have to suck it up. It’s a campground.” We have been to other campgrounds, and have not had this problem. We walked around the campground, and found that it didn’t matter where you went in the campground, there was pot smoking everywhere, especially in the longer stay. We will not be coming back, would NOT recommend this place to anyone. This is not a family campsite. There is too much pot smoking, drinking and garbage laying everywhere. The managers are rude and don’t take care of families that are there to relax. We had a hard time getting a refund for the weekend as we did not want to stay, the manager was unco-operative about the refund. Very unprofessional !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Dean B wrote a review Jul. 2020
1 contribution
We travel quite frequently and often are happy with our stays. Two issues with this place 1) the cabin not as per photos as it is actually a 4plex motel. Suite itself is nice. 2) we travel with a small dog and the pet fee (which we accept to pay) is $25+tax per night. Very steep for this place as I pay less for high end hotels. Talk to manager about our disappointment and nothing was resolved
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Quail River, General Manager at Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground
Responded Jul. 15, 2020
Hi Dean, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. To address your first issue, when you booked through Trivago it took you directly to the Expedia website (we only work with Expedia). On the Expedia website you selected and booked a "Motel Suite", not a Cabin. As for the second issue, our Expedia page clearly states "Pets not allowed.". We understand that some people miss that when booking and show up to check-in with pets. Instead of turning people away, we offer a pet charge of $25.00+tax per night which your wife accepted to pay without complaint. When you checked-in you signed a contract that clearly states pets are not allowed in the suites and cabins and you did not let us know until at least an hour after check-in that you had a dog with you. The pet charge is per night as the longer the pet is in the suite, the more dander and allergens accumulate. We as a small business do not have the same resources as these high-end hotels to clean the furniture and keep the room allergen free for future guests. Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us as we do try our best to provide a nice stay for all our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris wrote a review Jul. 2020
Nanaimo, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
After reading recent reviews about the management, I was nervous to stay here, but the new managers Helen and Harvey were very welcoming and helpful. They seemed genuine and I had no problems with noise complaints. The river swimming area is great, and the beach is only 5 minutes away. Some of the sites are right on the edge of the river and give great views all evening. There's even an arcade with awesome pinball machines.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Quail River, General Manager at Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground
Responded Sep. 5, 2020
Thank you for the kind review. We hope you can stay with us again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happy Camper wrote a review Sep. 2019
1 contribution5 helpful votes
Stayed at this place only long enough to see how misrepresented this place really is. First off your greeted by some dark haired lady ( she says she’s the manager ) that has such a rude attitude and doesn’t seem to care if your there or not. Then you get to your tiny campsite with people packed in here like sardines in a can. Then to have some manager guy coming over with bigger attitude telling you to keep it down at 5pm when all my family was doing was having dinner at our picnic table. We had no music or anything on. I said to him I think it’s the whole place packed like this and the highway noise that’s so loud that’s bothering him. And yes the highway is right beside the campsite and all you can here is traffic and oh the motorbikes. Steady all day long. Then after dinner I took the kids to the what they call a playground and there’s their sani dump right where my kids were playing and the busy highway with not even some sort of barrier or fence. They have these old garage sale looking toys scattered around is such deplorable conditions and they expect our kids to enjoy this?? So we decided to walk down to the river and again compared to the pictures they post on line this is not what you get. You have to walk in between the stuffed in there campers on a tiny walkway to get to the beach area, which you can tell someone just brought in a truck load of sand and was just left there with no effort in trying to make it look presentable. Then all the trees and debris all over. Wouldn’t take that much effort to tidy that up. With all the noice and having managers coming up to my family complaining to keep it down for absolutely no reason, we decided to leave and of course was not given a refund. We were only there for a few hours and the lady manger with her aggressive attitude just repeated over and over no refunds no refunds. I did read many bad reviews recently and the management replying over and over that this is a family campsite. If you want a family campsite and especially for how much you charge, then put the high profits your making into the campsite and facility’s and make it more family friendly. Believe me folks save your money and go elsewhere. And from now on I will believe what many others are posting about this place. Cause I’m sure this post with get the same reply from the managers as they have posted on many others that have complained and they reply saying it’s a family campground. Well here’s my reply to that THIS IS NOT A FAMILY FRIENDLY CAMPGROUND OR ANY OTHER KIND OF RELAXING PLACE.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Nomad61662762343 wrote a review Sep. 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Wonderful family campground. Lots of activities for the kids to keep busy. The river is great for swimming or kayaking. Plenty of hiking trails nearby. Also some very good restaurants nearby. Will definitely be returning. next season.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Will_the_Manager, Front Office Manager at Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground
Responded Sep. 16, 2019
Thanks for your review. We strive to please all our customers. Hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Big Rig Taz wrote a review Sep. 2019
Nanaimo, Canada9 contributions5 helpful votes
This is an Update from my previous review. Stayed at the place in the long-term section since September 2018, And right from the start there was drama with the managers and fellow campers. The managers Barb and Gary are a complete joke and have absolutely no clue how to run and manage a respectable campsite. They have no people skills and in the turn of a hat if they disagree with something or you complain, they are screaming at you and making accusations just to get rid of you and will NOT refund any of your money. Then they head to Mexico during the off-season (for 6 months) And leave whoever to run the place, and believe me the maintenance or any kind of cleaning is completely forgotten. The highway noise alone is so loud that you can’t even hear yourself think during the day with steady traffic. It’s not very clean and the maintenance is usually not done by a professional, so be careful. If anything does happen believe me they will blame you and kick you out and won’t refund your money either. The river is not kept up and there’s trees and stumps that flow down river that gets stuck all through the what they call the swimming hole. They have an old rotting mobile home that they use for an arcade. You can smell the rotting wood and the lack of cleanliness of the walls and windows. It’s just as obvious in the bathrooms and showers with the old rotting wood and lack of cleanliness. The old used toys for their playground sit on an old cement pad right beside the Sani dump and most of the kids toys stay out all year thru the winter and are never cleaned. A few of the other long term visitors are heavy hard drug user and they have had to hire security to watch the place because of some of the guests they let stay in the campsite and there was vandalism and theft going on. Don’t Waste Your Money Here, There is so many better places to stay for less money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Will_the_Manager, Front Office Manager at Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground
Responded Sep. 12, 2019
There are times when customers are asked to leave when they do not want to stay with the rules of the campground but by there own rules. When it disrupts others staying at the campground then they are asked to live. We are a family campground and have many, many families returning year after year. It is not our responsbility to look after the river as we do not have any ownership of it. Anyone can use the river not just our customers. When people are asked to leave from their own actions not being of our standards, they can become spiteful. We believe that is what this review is all about. Don't take this review to serious as it is only payback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trent_h7744 wrote a review Sep. 2019
Vancouver Island, Canada79 contributions64 helpful votes
Booked a site for our truck and trailer (19'). When we showed up and pay for our site they said, without prior notice that they moved us. We requested that site so we could be closer to our friends. They put us into another site further away from our friends. As we entered the campsite our originally booked site wouldn't have fit 2 small tents let alone our truck and trailer. Pretty confused as to why they would have booked us into that site to begin with? Anyway we barely got into our site that they assigned us. First night there we were told to turn our music off at literally 10:02 pm (10pm quiet time). Our music was far from loud considering we were not even loud enough to drown out the noises from other children running around, cars and trucks still coming and going, dogs barking non stop, and other peoples music. Never been told that we've even been loud before. We respect other and we realize that people are out for a good time and have never complained also. They completely killed the vibe of a quiet site in a very loud and busy campground. NOT IMPRESSED! They apparently just finished moving their sani-dump to a new location and could not have been more ridiculous. The sani-dump port was almost as high out of the ground as our trailer sani hookup which makes it impossible to dump your grey and black water as the flow needs to climb. Then to make things worse they put a log directly in front of the sani port. I guess to protect the port from being run over? Clearly the new owners are in need of help with some minor changes and relations with campers. That all being said, we will not be jammed into an over crowded campground, or be interrogated, and for that we will never be back. Enjoy the circus sideshow.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Find a different more respected campground.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Dalton C wrote a review Aug. 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
place has gone to sh*t, we have camped here for a decade usually on groups of up to 6 families. we are all cancelling our other booked spots. constantly harassing us, running our licence plates via walk talkie to who knows ,fake loud complaints ( we asked the neighbors) the only campground ever that we have been told we are too loud. No paper towel in the washrooms, lots of widow makers up in the trees. The property is ok, the people running it must have been picked on in school............
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Will_the_Manager, Front Office Manager at Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground
Responded Aug. 9, 2019
Sorry that you did not have a good experience. All that is expected of you is being respectful of the other families in the campground. Yes, paper towel does run out once in awhile. Neighbours did not want it known that they were the complaintants. Enjoying your camping wherever it is.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandQualicum Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
180
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Qualicum Beach, British Columbia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground
Which popular attractions are close to Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground?
Nearby attractions include Little Qualicum Falls Provincial Park (7.1 km), Milner Gardens & Woodland (5.3 km), and Old Country Market - Goats on Roof (7.8 km).
Is parking available at Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro 694, Black Bird Schnitzel Haus, and Final Approach Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Milner Gardens & Woodland (5.3 km).