We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 73: English reviews
Salta, Argentina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel has seen better days in the early 70' but the up side of it are the extra large rooms! Good TV and coffee machine in the bedroom I have noticed that rooms booked thru sites like expedia are on the oldest building and you have to walk long ways.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank argiequeen
TropicalInn, Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you, yes the room are very large! Our hotel has 165 rooms, unfortunately it is quite a walk to some of them. Glad you enjoyed your stay!!

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel only because our sons team had booked here to stay. I wasn't expecting much considering the reviews online. And we didn't get much. Hotel lobby has been redone to give the illusion of an upgraded hotel. Do not be fooled. Our room was worn, cigarette burns on the blankets, filthy bathroom, dirty worn carpet. Drapes had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrsgriswald2013
TropicalInn, Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

So sorry your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been. I believe we had discussed this extensively when you were here as well. Your room was in the tower part of our hotel which had been closed due to the economy. Some of the items in your room were definitely over looked by our staff when we...

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Non smoking room smelled like smoke. Was dark and bathroom not the best Everything was very dated as well. Only plus was kids liked the pool and water slide Lots of better options in lloydminster I would suspect. Would not recommend despite the price point.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave V
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response and so glad your children enjoyed the pool and slides! I am unsure of why the smoke smell? We are in the process of receiving our new case goods and lighting for our west wing rooms. I do hope you stop back next time you are in the area and give us another try to better...

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We didn't have a choice. We were up in Lloyd for lacrosse provincials and were told we had to book at this hotel. When I first booked I inquired about prices for the tournament vs regular prices. They put up the cost of the rooms for the teams (for some reason which the person on the phone didn't know why)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon L
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for email! Yes lobby and the breakfast room have just been renovated, and we are working our way into the rooms. I'm not sure what went on with the elevator but we had our contract company come and check it out. Unfortunately, the pool had sustained some damages Saturday morning from some of our younger guests causing us to...

Clermont, Florida
Reviewed 23 January 2016

the room was nice and clean. there is a nice hot breakfast in the morning. my room was on the front side of the building, so there was a lot of light coming into the windows. Make sure you understand just where your room is and it might be a good walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladybiker4life
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your comments! Our property is quite large and some of the rooms are a bit of a distance from the front desk, but close to the pool area. We are very glad you enjoyed your breakfast. Thank-you again!!

Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

Pretty decent hotel, if you don't mind a maze. Took me a while to find my room. The hallways smelled badly, but the rooms smelled good. The breakfast was good although I would recommend they had sausages there instead of balogna. The pool and the slides were great. The whole hotel seemed not very new but the rooms were comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon D
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your room and the pool swim area. We are a very large hotel with 165 rooms, getting to some of the rooms may seem like a maze. Just to correct you, we offer three types of meat for our hot breakfast..bacon, sausage, or ham. Thank-you for your response and very happy you enjoyed your stay...

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 16 November 2015

This hotel used to be one of the nicer places to stay in Lloydminster and now I would not recommend to anyone! The hotel is in desperate need of a facelift in every area, in every way, including the staff members. The lobby seems not too bad upon arrival, just old, but the hallways and rooms, and all other common...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynFC
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for commenting on your recent stay at our hotel. I do apologize that your expectations were not met! Having read your comments, we will be making some positive changes. We will be implementing new hours in the pool/fitness area to open at 8 am on the weekends. Our continental breakfast room will now be open until 10 am on...

Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 20 September 2015

check in was o.k., but desk failed to point out where room was located and distance to walk for seniors was long. We found the room clean, but noisy with doors slamming and kids running and hollering late into the evening. We went to the Tony Roma's dinning area to eat, and found the food o.k., but the service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Good Morning and thank-you for your response. We have a very large property and it does require a bit of a walk to some of the rooms. I apologize on behalf of our staff for booking your room so far from the common areas. We will now incorporate your concerns as a senior into our training manual. Thank-you for that!...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

It looks old and one might think it a bit run down from the inside but as soon as I walked in I changed my attitude. They have obviously taken the time for needed upgrades and I found it clean and bright. Someone had mentioned "it's like a maze" but if you follow the directions given by the friendly staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TARiNFerguson
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again! Thanx so much!!

Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

Good hotel and well priced. Clean. Helpful staff. Great onsite restaurant. Well located 2 water slides, hot tub and pool. A little dated but great value. Walk out entrance for convenience. Breakfast was decent and free. Close to the mall. Id stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantel813
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank-you for your response. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again! Thanx so much!!

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lloydminster hotels
3.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Meridian Hotel
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Lloydminster
2.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lloydminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lloydminster
60 reviews
1.7 km away
Super 8 Lloydminster
Super 8 Lloydminster
#7 of 14 in Lloydminster
224 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Hotel & Suites - Lloydminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tropical Inn is Lloydminsters largest full service hotel hosting 165 rooms. We have two large waterslides, pool, jacuzzi, sauna and ecercise room in the water park. For dining we have Tony Roma's and Bennigan's Irish pub. Our hot buffet breakfast is perfect for starting the day. We also have a cold beer and liquor venue on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 5621 44 St | Alberta, Lloydminster, Alberta T9V 0B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Lloydminster
Price Range: $101 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Lloydminster
Tropical Inn Hotel And Conference Centre Lloydminster, Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Amisk ab
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms with street views”
 of 5 bubbles argiequeen, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There probably isn't a good room”
 of 5 bubbles LynFC, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else if you have a choice”
 of 5 bubbles jimj265, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I'm away from home most of the year so it's a roll of the dice many times. Not disappointed with the Tropical Inn on either visit for 2014.”
 of 5 bubbles Joby1956, 1 Jan 2015 | Read review
“I don't know about the tower, I was on the East part (lower) and we slept like babies! Tower is having direct access to the pool, though, and hot tub. We had to walk through and by Tony Roma. Depend on your taste.”
 of 5 bubbles ysabelr2014, 17 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay