We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sinbad's Hotel and Suites

133 Bennett Dr, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1X3 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 6 hotels in Gander
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sinbad's Hotel & Suites has been newly renovated and we are now a 4 star hotel. We are 100% air-conditioned located in downtown Gander and only minutes away from the Airport and shopping center.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English
239Reviews2Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 34
  • 79
  • 74
  • 35
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ace060182 wrote a review Oct 2023
15 contributions
Good location close to the small mall in town, otherwise it's very old with much needed renovations. I stayed on the 3rd floor which was very far from the elevator. The hall ways had a strong smell of body odor and the carpets are 1980s, the room was cold upon entry and the wall ac/heater didn't have a auto shut off and was hard to control the temperature, very ugly carpet and curtains in the room. Bed was half decent but could use better pillows. If I ever need to travel to Gander again I would choose a different place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Responded Oct 26, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We appreciate all the comments we receive from guests both good and bad. It is through these comments that we can improve to give the best guest experience that we can. We apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent visit. Our property has undergone extensive renovations to our lobby in recent years and ongoing renovations are continually taking place. Your feedback has been shared with our management team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
paulandcolleen wrote a review Aug 2023
Pasadena, Canada42 contributions14 helpful votes
We arrived on Aug 19th for 2 nights, and my parents were with us. The check-in was perfect, our room was ready by 3, they had a bus arriving at the same time but we weren't rushed. They 2 ladies were very pleasant & welcoming. The restaurant wasn't open due to staff being sick. (Being short staffed is common in NL this yr) She did recommend some restaurants close by, and she did inform us that breakfast would be going ahead. They were really short staffed on Sunday, but breakfast was awesome on both days. Staff was so pleasant & friendly. Our room overall was good. We had a very nice washroom, but an high rise toilet would be good. The carpet was a little dated. And the 2 chairs in the room weren't great. Now the beds! Oh, they were so comfy, I didn't want to get up! Would have liked to have seen a few more disability parking spots out front. Overall, it was a great stay. I will definitely stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you have walking disability let them know this when you book to get a room that's so far away...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Responded Oct 26, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Coors-Man1974 wrote a review Aug 2023
Coors-Man197418 contributions
I made my reservation well in advance knowing hotels in Gander are busy with the showing of Come From Away (that I took my elderly Mom to see), but it still got messed up. The lady couldn't find my reservation, when she did she said oh you have a pet, there are no pet friendly rooms available. I explained to her that I had the confirmation number and that I had made the reservation a couple of months in advance, drove 2 hours etc etc. I dont need to see your reservation number was her reply, as well as a couple of other things, and the tone she used wasn't very "customer friendly" but rather rude My Mom later commented to me about her "rudeness" when we were outside. We stayed on the first floor where the carpet was old, worn, and very dirty looking. The restaurant was not open for supper, so we had to go elsewhere. It did open in the morning, and the "eyeopener" that I ordered was good except for the scrambled eggs, which tasted like trash. The front desk messed up my receipt, charging me a wrong rate for a different room as well. I wouldn't stay here again, and the only reason for 2 out of 5 is because the beds/pillows were very comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Responded Oct 26, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We appreciate all the comments we receive from guests both good and bad. It is through these comments that we can improve to give the best guest experience that we can. We apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent visit. Your feedback has been shared with our management team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ralph1948 wrote a review Jul 2023
Nashville, Tennessee160 contributions47 helpful votes
We stayed here two nights in July, and were a little disappointed. The Hotel was dated and at times we noticed a slight smell. There was a large bus crowd there, but this was not a problem. The room was a little small, but there was a refrigerator. There was a tub shower combination, but no walk-in shower which would’ve been nice. The food in the restaurant was good. The breakfast was included, but was limited to three items. We substituted a small fruit bowl one morning and it had just a few items of fruit and the charge was $4.50 extra, which was exorbitant for what we got. I would recommend sticking to the three items that were included with no substitutions.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stick to the three items of the menu for breakfast that were free and included. Did not order any...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Responded Aug 18, 2023
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We greatly appreciate the feedback. Very glad to hear that overall your stay with us was enjoyable.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul_Phelan wrote a review Jul 2023
Vancouver, Canada594 contributions145 helpful votes
I really enjoyed this Hotel, the had Absolutely Huge rooms with a great king sized bed that was super comfortable, my partner and I had great sleeps, however you can hear the people above and to the side of you in other rooms. Also the carpet really needs to be changed out. One thing I would like to see also added would be a fan in the bathroom. The breakfast service was dreadful, it wasn't the servers fault they are just completely understaffed, bad management decisions I believe. The Hotel is situated near the airport and right off the main highway being a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Responded Aug 18, 2023
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Very sorry for the delays experienced with your breakfast. This summer we have greatly been impacted by staffing shortages in our dining room. Hopefully, if your travels bring you back to Gander we may see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ann K wrote a review Jul 2023
25 contributions5 helpful votes
Not in the most appealing area, and looks more like the edge of an industrial estate/run down retail shopping area. This hotel has supposedly been upgraded – the foyer, bar and restaurant look reasonable, but the bedrooms are dated. Interacted with different staff here and all were very friendly, helpful and courteous. We opted to dine out, but had a reasonable breakfast in the restaurant. We’re pleased we’d only a one night stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Responded Aug 18, 2023
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. So glad to hear your stay with us was pleasant. Hopefully, if your travels bring you back to Gander we might see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Debi C wrote a review Jul 2023
3 contributions
This was the dirtiest hotel I have ever experienced. The halls had the same dirty dishes laying on the floors for the two nights I stayed. Our breakfast always arrived cold, even the coffee in thermal pots. They also do not clean your room, make your beds or change your towels each day. The fan in the bathroom didn’t work and had mildly fuzz hanging out of it. The staff couldn’t care less.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Responded Aug 18, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We appreciate all the comments we receive from guests both good and bad. It is through these comments that we can improve to give the best guest experience that we can. We apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent visit. Your feedback has been shared with our management team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BluePointer wrote a review Jul 2023
Ontario, Canada4728 contributions301 helpful votes
+1
I'd give this hotel a 3+ because it had most of the things that we expect when travelling. Plus, if you are not on a tour as we were, you are able to access the nearby conveniences, as the hotel is within a reasonable walking distance to most everything - the Mall, Timmies, Shoppers, McD's, restaurants and Dollarama. Our room was clean and large, but didn't have much of a view - another building beside, and the windows did not open. We had lovely, comfortable beds, a small fridge, desk, chest of drawers, an 'ok' television, an extra chair, coffee maker, iron and board, and ice bucket. The bathroom looked newly renovated with a 5 ft. shower unit (no tub), soft water and good toiletries. We enjoyed the fact that the room had two luggage racks - why haven't other hotels thought of that? This being a seniors' tour, we hope hotels also see benefit in using a second glow light or night light in the bathroom - the main light was perfect for daytime use, but rather bright for night time. We had a water bottle and a candy gift on arrival in our room, which was a very nice welcome On one of our nights, we had a delicious roast beef dinner with yorkshire pudding.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Responded Aug 16, 2023
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Very happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. Hopefully, if your travels bring you back to Gander we might see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mary B wrote a review Jul 2023
Port Perry, Canada1 contribution
The service was terrible in the Mystic restaurant the first night. Arrived at 6:30pm and order wasn’t taken until 7:10pm. Our food order didn’t go into the kitchen until 7:45pm. Our food arrived at 8pm. The food quality was average One meal came out cold. The manager was called and was somewhat apologetic and when asked about the time it takes to be served we were told to expect one hour. The day we arrived we and went to our room the temperature was 84 degrees and the heater was on in the bathroom. A new unit A/C needed to be installed. After returning the next day from some adventures our beds had not been made and new towels had not been replaced.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Responded Aug 18, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, We are very sorry to hear your dining experience at Mystic did not meet your expectations. This summer we have experienced an ongoing issue with staff shortages in our dining room and due to this guests have experienced some delays. This is an issue we are continuing to work on but has been very challenging. We hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lambheather wrote a review Jul 2023
Vancouver, Canada81 contributions8 helpful votes
Room was clean and comfortable. However, there was garbage and soiled towels in the hallway overnight. We were promised breakfast at 7am in a separate room but some in our tour didn’t get served until 7:45. Hot breakfasts arrived cold and the cold breakfasts were so tiny. Staff were pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Responded Aug 18, 2023
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all the feedback we receive from guests. Very sorry we didn't exceed your expectations during your recent visit. This summer we have experienced considerable staff shortages in our dining which has caused some delays. We apologize your breakfast was late in arriving. Glad to hear you found your room clean and comfortable. Hopefully, your travels find you back in Gander again someday and you can visit us when staffing shortages are not a concern.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gander area.
PRICE RANGE
C$136 - C$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sinbad`s hotel gander
LOCATION
CanadaNewfoundland and LabradorNewfoundlandGander
NUMBER OF ROOMS
107
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sinbad's Hotel and Suites - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Sinbad's Hotel and Suites?
Nearby attractions include North Atlantic Aviation Museum (1.2 km), Silent Witnesses Memorial (0.7 km), and Thomas Howe Demonstration Forest (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sinbad's Hotel and Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Gander Bread Box and Cafe, Jumping Bean, and Jungle Jim's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Sinbad's Hotel and Suites located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Gander.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sinbad's Hotel and Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sinbad's Hotel and Suites offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.