We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Albatross Hotel

114 Trans Canada Hwy P.O. Box 450, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1P8 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (31)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 motels in Gander
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Albatross Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Gander, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, and Albatross Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

In addition, guests can enjoy a lounge during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While visiting Gander, you may want to try some fish and chips at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Rosie's Restaurant and Bakery, Thingamajiggers, or Lilly's Landing Family Restaurant.

Should time allow, North Atlantic Aviation Museum, Silent Witnesses Memorial, and Gander Heritage Memorial Park are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Gander!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
147Reviews2Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 42
  • 56
  • 23
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
AWESOMECornerbrook wrote a review Jan 2024
Corner brook20 contributions4 helpful votes
Our room was dirty. Stain on our sheets!!! Absolutely disgusting. I told the staff and was told to speak to manager on monday. They did have someone change our sheets however no apology or compensation provided. I emailed the manager on monday. I was offerred a free night stay in the future. I will not stay in this hotel again! Hallways were dirty and really needed to be vacuumed. We have stayed at much cleaner hotels in this area. Absolutely disgusting!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else in gander!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Trail27509064488 wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
We smelt smoke in the hallway we brought it forward to the worker at the front desk they didn’t give the person a smoking fee or even bother saying anything to them all about them smoking this hotel is supposed to be smoke free.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Albatross Hotel
Responded Jun 21, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all the feedback we receive. Our Hotel is 100% smoke fee and if someone violates this rule, additional cleaning charges are applied.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
paulandcolleen wrote a review Jan 2023
Pasadena, Canada42 contributions14 helpful votes
Worst hotel. Kids running up and down the hallways for a full hr, called front desk, she thought this was funny, actually laughed & said they may be at this for hrs yet! 1 hr later, kids still the same. Staff do not pride themselves on Customer Service. Checked in yesterday, rms are dated. Family of 3, only 2 towels. Pillows are not hotel quality, very flat. We won't be rebooting here in the future
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Comfort Inn is right next door, Quality Inn is 450 meters away. Have stayed at these in the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Albatross Hotel
Responded Mar 23, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations with your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us as a valued guest. We will be using your feedback to make improvements, so that we can provide exceptional experiences for our guests. Should you need additional support, please do not hesitate to reach out to us. We hope for an opportunity to properly host you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Keon14 wrote a review Sep 2022
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada343 contributions117 helpful votes
Hotel is at best, just ok. To pay $171 for one night is a bit much especially for this type of hotel- it is outdated and not worth the price. Major issue was line ups. Check in was at 4pm but we lined up and tried to get checked in at 3:30 pm but were told to come back in a half hour. We came back at 4:10 and got back in line again to check in but were told we would have to wait 10 mins for the room to be ready. Half an hour later , still waiting in the lobby, we got a room. At the time there were maybe 20 other people waiting to check in. For the majority of this time there was only one girl checking in customers- the poor girl. Breakfast the next next morning, we faced another lineup- 15 mins before getting a table. Owners of this hotel need to get their act together. If you have a busy hotel, get the required personnel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Albatross Hotel
Responded Sep 16, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback. Unfortunately like many sectors across the country during the pandemic, the hospitality industry in Newfoundland and Labrador has struggled with the ability to recruit new employees. Despite our best efforts, it has been extremely challenging to maintain ideal staffing levels. This is not a complaint that we are custom to receiving but with a busy fall season, there have been at times slightly longer wait times. Our employees have done an excellent job despite these challenges and we are very fortunate to have such a dedicated and hardworking team. We are very sorry you were not completely satisfied during your recent stay. Rest assured these types of situations are the exception rather than the rule and we hope moving forward we will be back to our normal staffing levels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan S wrote a review Aug 2022
Welland, Canada47 contributions31 helpful votes
This is a old smelly dirty hotel. We had to walk past the men’s room to get to our hotel room and it smelled of urine and the rug in all the halls were very dirty. We stayed in a room with 2 double beds and one bed had a tilt so your feet were higher than your head and It was also tilted to the side so I had to tuck a pillow behind my back so I wouldn’t roll out. The room was clean but there was no microwave or fridge. It was dog friendly which is why we stayed there. They made me wait to check out so a maid could look at our room in case the dog damaged it. I have never had a hotel do that before. We arrived early as check in is at 4. The front desk didn’t check to see if the room was ready she just said come back after 4. For 171 dollars I expected a bit more. No free breakfast either.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lots of parking. Rooms in front are a bit noisier due to the highway.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Albatross Hotel
Responded Aug 31, 2022
We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied during your recent visit with us. We are aware of the condition of the carpet by the men’s bathroom and it is scheduled to be replaced soon. Our check-in time is standard at all hotels, 4 pm. On your reservation, we see that you checked in at 3:11 pm. Breakfast was not included in the rate you booked, however, we do offer an excellent breakfast special exclusive for hotel guests. If you book through steelehotels.com our website special does include a complimentary breakfast. We understand that you asked for a pet-friendly room, we did have other rooms available on the night you stayed with us and would have gladly moved you should we have known you were having issues with the bed in your room. I apologize this response has been delayed as the room you stayed in was occupied since your departure and our Manager was not able to get in a do an inspection until today. She could not detect the issue you referenced and we have not received any other complaints about the beds in that room from the multiple guests who have stayed there since you departed. We see you booked through booking.com and on that site and everything we have to offer in our rooms/hotel is listed. Microwaves and mini-fridges are not in our rooms. We do have mini-fridges available at the guest’s request. On the pet policy that you signed at check-in, it states that the room would be inspected upon check out. This inspection is to protect both guests and the hotel. We would never want you to be wrongfully charged for damages. At the Albatross we appreciate any feedback from guests and thank you for your comments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sweetad wrote a review Jun 2022
Oakville, Canada26 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed here 2 nights. The room was very tired and needs a total makeover. Room had an odour so kept fan on and window open. We asked for a fridge but didn’t receive one. The staff was amazing! Trina went above and beyond to tell us the story Re 9/11. The restaurant was soo good (stir fry) and Sierra was a very cute, friendly server.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Albatross Hotel
Responded Jul 8, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all the feedback we receive. Very glad to hear that you were impressed with our employees. We are very fortunate to have such a great team! If your travels ever bring you back to Gander we hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steph wrote a review Aug 2021
Conception Bay South, Canada7 contributions
The staff was friendly, and breakfast at the restaurant was good. The room itself was clean. The floors in the hallway seemed like they needed to be vacuum though, almost like salt on the stairs. I’m also not sure about every room, but our room had no mini fridge or microwave. I wasn’t surprised by the microwave part but thankfully we had a cooler in the car. We were able to refill the ice from the ice machine but it was a definite disadvantage not having somewhere to place items that need to stay cool. Anyone without a cooler would be out of luck for anything that needs to be kept cold. Overall, it was good for the night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Our room had no mini fridge so I would suggest having a cooler if you want to have items in your...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Albatross Hotel
Responded Oct 15, 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We greatly appreciate all the feedback we receive both good and bad. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible and your comments are important to us. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
andrewlcook wrote a review Jul 2021
st. john's, NL32 contributions9 helpful votes
Don't stay here... Period... Hotel smelled, the whole building was worn out and room was as well. Room was probably as clean as you could make it but that doesn't say much. I would say the service was friendly and they were doing the best with what they had to offer. How an owner could have this and JAG featured on the same website I don't know. Makes me wonder about the hotel quality of JAG as well. My advice, stay somewhere else in gander that's not owned by Steele Hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Albatross Hotel
Responded Jul 22, 2021
We are very sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied during your recent stay. We appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests both good and bad. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible and listen to all comments to help us continually improve our operations. Thank you for your positive remarks regarding your interaction with our employees. We have a great team here and are very proud of the customer service we provide. Our building does have a lot of history in the Town of Gander and we continue to reinvest in the property to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. The most recent renovations including new carpeting and wallpaper. In regards to smell, no other issues have been brought to our attention by guests. After you raised your concern our management team investigated and found no noticeable odours anywhere in our building. On occasion, aromas from a neighbouring restaurant may be slightly detected in certain parts of the property which may have been the case during your stay. If you desire feel free to reach out to our Manager Treena Bursey at 1-800-563-4900 or tbursey@steelehotels so we can discuss your concerns during your stay in more detail.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amanda S wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
The Albatross is always a wonderful example of smart, professional and considerate service. We come back for the people. From the front desk agents, maintenance staff and restaurant servers, there’s always a smile and helping hand. During COVID-19, the staff and procedures were truly excellent and made us feel safe and cared for. Great work! We have been staying here for years, as we live regionally and come to Gander for a variety of appointments. Always clean and comfortable. As a special point of note - Kathy at reception is the epitome of professional hospitality. She never forgets us, and always takes the extra touch to check in with the whole family, dogs and children included. Pauline in the restaurant is a hard-working professional, with great anticipation of your needs and charming sincerity. Thank you always to all the staff for doing such great work. We can see you all love what you do, and hope you are properly compensated for your hard work and skill.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Albatross Hotel
Responded Apr 23, 2021
Thank you Amanda for such a lovely review. We really appreciate it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DDS wrote a review Nov 2019
Newfoundland, Canada8 contributions3 helpful votes
From the outside, the location seems tired. It was my only option on a wknd where everything else was booked. As I entered, I felt comfy and the staff was helpful. Room was well appointed and comfy as well. Cleaning staff great as well and had everything I needed. Would definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cory Abbott, Marketing at Albatross Hotel
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We greatly appreciate the feedback. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gander area.
PRICE RANGE
C$123 - C$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNewfoundland and LabradorNewfoundlandGander
NUMBER OF ROOMS
89
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Albatross Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Albatross Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Albatross Hotel?
Nearby attractions include North Atlantic Aviation Museum (0.2 km), Silent Witnesses Memorial (0.5 km), and Thomas Howe Demonstration Forest (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Albatross Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Albatross Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Albatross Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Albatross Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jumping Bean, Jungle Jim's, and Lilly's Landing Family Restaurant.
Is Albatross Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Gander.
Are pets allowed at Albatross Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Albatross Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.