We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa

Save
Share
1014 Highway 17, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0 Canada
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (96)
Room & Suite (47)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

#1 of 14 in Wawa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Award Winning Motel & Chalets. Free Wifi, Premium HD Satellite with Free Movie Channels, Free HBO, Commercial Free Music & more. Beautiful 3 Bedroom Chalets & 2 Bedroom Cottage with wrap around decks, BBQs & Propane.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
291Reviews18Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 236
  • 49
  • 3
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Roanne M wrote a review Sep. 2021
11 contributions
Dont waste your $$ definite change in ownership Bathroom very unclean, sheets, no pillow cases, coffee pot still had stale coffee leftover- guess i could have warmed it up! Smelled! Is there not a negative circle i can give?! We arrived at 8 and were lucky enough to get a room at the White Fang! That place was super super clean!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Maureen Hutchinson-Parker, Owner at Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa
Responded Sep. 22, 2021
I'm pleased to say that you did not stay at our motel. There has not been an ownership change here. We've been here for over 2 Decades, and are incredibly proud of our spotless accommodations & 5 Star Rating. You have most definitely confused our name with another Motel in Wawa. (It happens a lot.) Double check the photo of the Motel Room on this listing. That photo is what our rooms look like, and know that our Motel is located on the other side of Wawa, 12 Kms away from the White Fang. Thank you in advance for putting your review on the correct Wawa Motel.
Read more
wfss wrote a review Aug. 2021
North Bay, Canada39 contributions23 helpful votes
Stayed in the 2 bedroom chalet and loved it. Full kitchen, bath, 2 bedrooms, living room, TV, very comfortable beds...a great home away from home. Wonderful to stay for a few days to enjoy Wawa and the variety of wildlife that likes to visit the motel--chipmunks, squirrels, rabbit, a year-old bear, plus a lynx. Rare to see the lynx! Maureen and John their guests feel most welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The motel rooms are wonderfully decorated, and the chalet was excellent.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Elena P wrote a review Aug. 2020
Richmond Hill, Canada34 contributions5 helpful votes
I booked one night based on reviews and I made the right decision. From the moment we entered the room we were happy to be there. There is a note to make you smile at every turn, the rooms are very clean and well equipped. Owners are always fast to respond and extremely nice, the only regret we have is that we were not able to meet them in person. Thank you guys and we hope that you will be there for many, many years to come so we can return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Dennis K wrote a review Aug. 2020
Toronto, Canada25 contributions1 helpful vote
Based on reviews, we booked two nights at this motel and were not disappointed. The owners Maureen and John have been managing the motel and chalets for twenty one years. The room was spotless and we made use of the BBQ on the back deck. We have no hesitation in recommending this motel to anyone passing through Wawa and commend Maureen and John for their customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
HowardSamuelBlock wrote a review Jul. 2020
Toronto, Canada7 contributions4 helpful votes
Comfortable, well equipped, and most important in a time of Covid, perfectly clean, in fact immaculate. We stayed here twice in the last two weeks on a trip from Toronto to Edmonton and return. Do not be put off my the motels modest exterior. This is a safe and lovely place. Perfect for fussy international travellers like ourselves. Howard and Julia Toronto
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Dan R wrote a review Jun. 2020
1 contribution
My wife and son and I stayed for one night while passing through on a summer road trip. We stayed in the motel room section so never got a chance to see the chalets. The motel room however, blew us away completely. It was spotless (a must in this time of COVID) and VERY welcoming. The beds were very comfortable and the amenities were great. We mostly liked the little personal touches around the room ... especially the humorous “helpful hint” signs which are everywhere and the framed photos of local wildlife, each with its own name. We will definitely stay there again the next time we pass through Wawa.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
D D wrote a review Oct. 2019
Ouray, Colorado111 contributions20 helpful votes
They were so accommodating and obviously put their life into this placea Maureen is a perfect hostess, and made us feel at home and gave us tips about some local things to do. One of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed at as well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ray J wrote a review Oct. 2019
Edina, Minnesota7 contributions2 helpful votes
I am currently driving the 'circle tour' with one other person. I am not familiar with the towns along Lake Superior and tried to find a good hotel in the area. I selected the Northern Lights based on location and the fact that it received favorable reviews. Frankly, I was a little worried as the hotel is right off the highway and quite unassuming and motel style. I like nice hotels and my expectations were that the hotel would be just OK. But I enjoyed this hotel and completely recommend it. The front desk service was efficient and the room was comfortable and very clean with all kinds of miscellaneous amenities (cribbage board, cards, coffee, tea, band-aids, sewing kit, etc). The TV was nice and worked great with hundreds of satellite channels. Wawa was a great location for us just north of Lake Superior Provincial Park.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I stayed in room 20. Very roomy.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
seescokid wrote a review Aug. 2019
Grand Rapids, Michigan1454 contributions139 helpful votes
+1
Wife and I stayed here tonight August 28, 2019. Maureen just loves keeping this place the cleanest motel my wife said she ever saw. Talk to Maureen for quite a while probably the best host we've met. She loves her motel and is like terrific person the only possible negative is the highway noise right in front with the trucks but you get used to it other than that I would stay again ever in the area $134 complete Cdn
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Spring C wrote a review Aug. 2019
Port Colborne, Canada57 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
We had a lovely stay at the Northern Lights Motel. We made an online reservation the night before and were greeted by name when checking in. We were also given a detailed map highlighting areas of interest for our travels the next day. The room was pleasant, nicely decorated with flat screen tv, satellite with detailed instructions, wifi (which is always great when traveling), fridge and microwave, even plates and cutlery! The bed was comfortable, the bathroom had so many helpful items that most places wouldn’t even consider providing... band aids, Q-tips, cotton balls, ear plugs! (Didn’t need them then but would have come in handy the following night!!) Nice bathtub, which normally I wouldn’t utilize but back was sore and it was very clean and a good size for relaxing with a glass of wine (real wine glasses provided as well, not the plastic wrapped, plastic cups that you find in most places). If we are ever in the area again we will definitely plan to stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
northern lights hotel wawa, northern lights motel and breakfast, northern lights hotel breakfast, northern lights motel breakfast
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioNortheastern OntarioWawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa
Which popular attractions are close to Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa?
Nearby attractions include Scenic High Falls (7.6 km), Wawa Goose Statue (6.2 km), and Young's General Store (6.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and express check-in and check-out.
Is parking available at Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Viking Restaurant & Tavern, Embassy Restaurant, and North of 17 Restaurant.