We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort

Save
Share
1000 Sookepoint Pl #48b, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1L8 Canada
Priceline
StayForLong
Booking.com
eDreams
Vio.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (142)
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 17 Specialty lodging in Sooke
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
This premium resort is surrounded by nature – perched cliffside above the Pacific Ocean and hugged by the forested lands of the point. Each luxury suite offers breathtaking and undisturbed Pacific ocean views with marine life viewing opportunities almost daily. An ideal home base for any traveler, each beautifully fully-equipped 1, 2 & 3 bedroom cottage offers gourmet kitchens, private bedrooms, washer/dryer, and a wall of glass windows that open to undisturbed and breathtaking views. Studio Suites are also available with stunning views, kitchenette, living area, and small deck overlooking the ocean.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Safe
Clothes rack
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Romantic
102Reviews8Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 10
  • 11
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Megan K wrote a review Jan. 2023
2 helpful votes
Stayed in the Studio Unit (44A) for three nights on a solo visit. The views from the unit are truly spectacular and, pleasantly surprising, given the economical nightly price, which I assume is due to the ongoing construction in other phases. Unit is clean, quiet, and functional, and has cool stone stairs access. The location is remote, via a wonderful, winding tree lined road. I brought everything I needed to make great dinners in the kitchenette. I tailored my meals to the appliances the kitchen had to offer, and was able to cook in a gourmet way. The website photos are very reflective of what you get. It was interesting to find out that there is only One Studio unit in the resort, so if you book the studio, you will get Unit 44A. The only drawback is that the resort continues to be under construction despite the original units now being almost 8 years old, so hopefully things are on a road to being finalized for what the resort was planned to be. I do recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Katie Wallace, Marketing at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you very much Megan for your wonderful and detailed review! We really appreciate it as it gives other potential guests a good impression of what to expect when staying at our Resort. The Resort will be under development for a few more years as the developer has some great plans. Future amenities currently planned include a whale research centre, waterfront dock, sports facility, shops, restaurants, pool and more! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon. Cheers, Katie Wallace Director of Sales & Marketing
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael wrote a review Jan. 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
We spent 3 nights at the resort.The unit was spacious and well maintained. Our room had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a gourmet kitchen that we utilized as the location is quite remote and no restaurant on sight.The views from the room are absolutely beyond words.We spent our final day at the resort sitting on the deck relaxing in the spring like weather enjoying the views in early January.It was a magical 3 days and we look forward to returning in the not so distant future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Aylesworth, Marketing at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi vegasbaby6969, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are honoured that you chose our resort for your honeymoon and are thrilled to hear that you that you experience was amazing. It is always so nice to receive such positive comments. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort. Warm regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trudy c wrote a review Dec. 2022
vancouver, Canada1 contribution
+1
Such a beautiful location! The cottages all face on the ocean. The unit was clean, super comfortable and bright. Trixie in the office was friendly and professional. We got a map for our walk, but we didn't find that park entrance. No problem though, lots of stunning nature around! The location is isolated, so bring everything you need. It's the perfect location to hunker down, relax and enjoy the view. It's about a 40 minute drive to Sooke town and lots of restaurants and supplies are there. Further up the hwy are incredible beaches! Not to be missed
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Highway work is ongoing, the signage for Gillespie Rd is hard to see
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Aylesworth, Marketing at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded Dec. 9, 2022
Hi 617trudyc, Thank you for taking the time to provide a rating, your opinion is valued greatly and it helps us maintain an excellent standard of service to our guests. We will be sure to share your exceptional comments with Christie at Guest Services. Warm regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ksainty wrote a review Dec. 2022
Vancouver, Canada16 contributions6 helpful votes
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. The resort is definitely off the beaten track. But we knew that going in and brought most of our food. Could not believe the views. Stunning. And the suite (2 bedroom) was incredibly well appointed. Everything felt new and was in excellent working order. We really lacked for nothing. We decided it was a great place for a girl’s getaway or a couples retreat. Could not recommend it more highly. Checkin was easy. They met my needs for a reasonably accessible suite due to my mobility issues. Book here. You won’t be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Aylesworth, Marketing at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded Dec. 7, 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are truly honoured that you chose SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort for your getaway and thrilled to see that you had an outstanding stay. It is always so nice to receive such positive comments on our service and resort. Best regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SebYXY wrote a review Nov. 2022
Whitehorse, Canada24 contributions3 helpful votes
It was our 3rd time visiting and we love it! great location, amazing sunsets, beautiful apartments and stunning views! customer service was top-notch as well. thanks for a great stay! I am sure that we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Aylesworth, Marketing at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded Nov. 28, 2022
Hi SebYXY, Thank you for this thoughtful review. We are delighted to have welcomed you to SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort and are pleased that you enjoyed such a wonderful time. We strive to provide each of our guests with a memorable vacation experience, and it sounds as though we were able to do just that. Best regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zofia A wrote a review Nov. 2022
1 contribution
This beautiful piece of paradise is absolutely breath taking!! Words cannot describe how incredible it is. I highly recommend staying here. We saw a whale a bunch of sea lions and seals right from our living room/ kitchen window. I can’t wait to come back in the summer
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: When you come in the colder months I do recommend bringing slippers if your unit doesn’t have...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Aylesworth, Marketing at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded Nov. 28, 2022
Hi Zofia A, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're thrilled that you were able to experience a myriad of marine life during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort. Best Regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Celine D wrote a review Nov. 2022
Vancouver Island, Canada18 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in Studia 44A , the view is amazing , spectacular sunsets and sunrises, even a whale sighting. The room was very clean and has everything you need. Withiin 10 minutes, there is a fabulous trail to walk along the coast or down to the water. A very quiet stay. This is our 4th time staying in this studio and we will be back
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Aylesworth, Marketing at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded Nov. 18, 2022
Hi 383celined, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to have had the opportunity to have welcomed you back to SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort. Warm regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leah W wrote a review Nov. 2022
2 contributions
The views are BAR NONE the best views you will get on the island. I just love it here and couldn’t recommend it more highly. A beautiful groomed trail of East Sooke Park is within 10min walking distance - with even more trails a short drive away. The quiet and solitude make this my favorite place to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Aylesworth, Marketing at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded Nov. 16, 2022
WOW, 358leahwm - we love the way that you describe your experience. We hope that you had a great time exploring all that East Sooke Regional Park has to offer before coming back to enjoy the solace of your cottage suite. Warm regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CMKEdmontonABCanada wrote a review Nov. 2022
Edmonton AB Canada7 contributions2 helpful votes
We were in 51C with our dog for 2 nights.. couldn’t ask for a better mini vacation. the views are incredible, we were blessed with a humpback whale circling in front of our window both days, seals and bald eagle. THe accommodations are spectacular, very comfortable bed, everything you could possibly want for kitchenware etc. We will return, this place is very special and once the construction phase has passed will be a world class resort,
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you have mobility issues request a room without stairs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Aylesworth, Marketing at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded Nov. 14, 2022
Hi CMYEdmontonABCanada, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the seaside views and look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you back to SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort. Warm regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary Jo F wrote a review Oct. 2022
Victoria, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
3 BDRM/50B-3 of my friends and I shared this suite. We had lots of room and the views are "second to none". The place was very clean and modern. We saw lots of humpback whales, sea lions, eagles and sea otters right off our deck. The front-end girl, Kristie, is a gem. She is very efficient and friendly and made sure we had everything we needed AND with a smile. Can't wait to go back!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The best views are everywhere.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Aylesworth, Marketing at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded Oct. 25, 2022
Hi maryjof353 WOW - thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our General Manager so that Christie can be recognized for her great work. We look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you to SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort. Warm regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$182 - US$286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandVictoria Capital Regional DistrictSooke
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Sooke, British Columbia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Which popular attractions are close to SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Nearby attractions include East Sooke Regional Park (7.7 km), French Beach Provincial Park (4.3 km), and Whiffin Spit (2.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Is parking available at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Route 14 Sooke, West Coast Grill, and The Stick In The Mud Coffee House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.