Sandman Hotel Quesnel

Sandman Hotel Quesnel

Traveller (78)
One of the views from Hill Forest Service Road
Room & Suite (62)
Sandman Hotel Quesnel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#6 of 15 hotels in Quesnel
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Sandman Hotel Quesnel offers guests the perfect combination of comfort and convenience. Modern essentials like high-speed Internet, a business centre and meeting facility ensure that business travelers can work with ease. Additionally, amenities like a pool and whirlpool allow you to unwind and relax. Whether you're on business or are looking for a leisurely stay, Sandman Hotel Quesnel is a fabulous choice.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Restaurant
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:Make Summer Memories | Save Up To 40%

Location

940 Chew Rd, Quesnel, British Columbia V2J 6R8 Canada
228Reviews2Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 64
  • 62
  • 34
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kristin D wrote a review Aug 2020
Fairview, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights while we were waiting to meet family and take a trip to barkerville. We arrived to our hotel and it took a long time to check in as there was a big line up and the poor girl at the front desk was working alone. It was a long 8 hour day of traveling and very hot. We finally got into our room and the A/C wasn’t working. We called to ask about it and the front desk lady offered to come up and have a look. We tried multiple things but couldn’t get it to work so she was going to switch us rooms. She didn’t have another room available so it took about an hour to get everything done which was frustrating. She felt terrible for making us wait so long so she upgraded our room to a suite. We got up to the new room and the keys didn’t work. So back downstairs we went to wait in a line up for new keys. Finally got into the new room and checked it out. The front desk lady was sweet enough to go up before us and turn the AC on.
We checked out the room and found there was hair in the tub and the pullout sofa was full of food which was pretty gross. I let the front desk lady know and she felt horrible so she gave us a decent discount on our room.
I will say the lady at the front desk was wonderful and working her butt off trying to do everything on her own and did a wonderful job of correcting other people’s mistakes. She deserves a raise! Housekeeping definitely needs to start cleaning rooms properly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SueH-bear wrote a review Jun 2022
Victoria, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is extremely rundown. We could only book one night as the Rocky Mountaineer guests take up the hotel 2 nights a week. The bathroom had cracked tiles. Pool was inoperable. Very disappointing as we had such a positive experience at the Sandman in Terrace. Hotel needs a complete remodel. Our Super 8 in Quesnel was better shape and less expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline S, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Quesnel
Responded Jun 29, 2022
Thank you Sue for your review. We always appreciate the time our guest take to let us know where we can do better. And we are indeed, 'vintage'. Fingers crossed for a future renovation. Our pool maintenance project, as well as others, has been in the planning stages for quite some time. So when the Contractor became available, we jumped at the chance to have the work done. At the same time we also posted the dates on our website. Post pandemic we are now able to step up our maintenance program and hope that on your next stay in Quesnel, you will notice some small improvements. Until then, Stay Safe.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
N s wrote a review Mar 2020
Victoria, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is right next to the highway. While the noise is not loud, the traffic on the main road in front can be heard all night if you are a light sleeper.
The room had an odd smell, like greasy hair, so I think the room was reasonably clean on the surface, but probably needs a deep clean.
Decently fixtured and equipped, although the TV went blank regularly for a few seconds.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patti G wrote a review Feb 2024
Calgary, Canada
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Super friendly service right from the check in. Even though they are dealing with a huge renovation, everyone was so helpful. The Manager, Brent even stopped to checked in on us!

It will be terrific to see the completed new rooms.

Definitely will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brent T, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Quesnel
Responded Feb 12, 2024
Hello PattiG. Thank you for the amazing review of our property. I am glad to hear that my staff offered friendly service, we all take a lot of pride in our chosen careers. I was more than happy to check in on you and was glad to hear you were enjoying your stay with us. I am so excited to offer our renovated rooms and we are getting more back each and every day. I do hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, General Manager-Brent
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike B wrote a review Jun 2022
Lancaster, California, United States
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were recently on the Rocky Mountaineer train trip when my husband started not feeling well. We arrived at the Sandman Hotel with our tour group and immediately tested him to see if he had Covid, which he did. The two managers of this hotel were absolutely fantastic! We had to quarantine in our room for at least five days according to the rules at that time. Jacquelyn, one of the managers, contacted us the following morning to see how she could help us. She had a maid bring us extra towels, toilet paper, coffee and coffee cups, etc., so we wouldn't have to ask for them. They put them outside of our door, knocked on the door and went quickly back to the elevator so they wouldn't be near our germs. It was wonderful having Denny's Restaurant in the same building. We ordered room service from them for our breakfasts and dinners every day. They dropped off the food outside our door, knocked on the door and walked quickly away, too. Even though my husband had Covid, I feel very blessed to have had it happen when we were at this hotel. The staff went out of their way to help us in our time of need. Our room had a sitting room with a sofa, chair, coffee table, television and TV stand as well as a bedroom with a computer table and chair, additional television and TV stand. The two rooms were separated by a bathroom and kitchenette. It worked out wonderfully. I could stay in the bedroom side while my husband stayed in the sitting room side during the day, so we could stay separated most of the time. I wore a mask the whole time and I never did get Covid. There was a Walmart nearby, so I was able to place a delivery order for things like masks, disinfectant wipes, etc. I highly recommend this hotel. They went above and beyond to help us out. Thank you, Jacquelyn and Summer, from the bottom of my heart!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline S, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Quesnel
Responded Jun 29, 2022
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, despite the circumstance and we are pleased to hear to arrived home safely. Take care both of you and we hope to see you another time in Quesnel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barb M wrote a review Sep 2021
Penticton, Canada
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It is hard to believe this is a Sandman. Rundown, unkept and not clean. I can not think of one good thing to say about this place. We needed more towels and were told they were short of towels, seemed to be a problem to get extra towels. I am so very disappointed with this Sandman, have stayed at several Sandmans and will never stay at this one again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rash wrote a review Jan 2021
red deer
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a corporate king room. The bathroom fan was dirty, the window track hasn't been cleaned if ever The air conditioner was horribly dirty as well glad I didn't need it. The light fixtures had bugs in them. My one year old now has a rash after using their playpen with one of those spare blankets they provide. There was a lot of dust and the second tv barely worked. In these times of Covid 19 is this acceptable?? The pull out couch was unsleepable but they usually are. There were spots on the walls... believe me with a one year old starting to walk you notice everything.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Cuthbertson, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Quesnel
Responded Feb 4, 2021
Hi Rasheller, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We clearly did not meet your expectations and we would like to take this opportunity to learn from our mistakes. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience. I can be reached at gm_quesnel@sandmanca. Warm regards, Andrew Cuthbertson General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bandg202 wrote a review Jul 2020
Vernon, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed at this hotel multiple times in the past but not in the last 5 years. What a change! Maintenance and cleanliness are sadly lacking. Virtually everything is in need of an overhaul! Although the hotel is non-smoking, our room had obviously been smoked in recently; the hotel was unable to switch rooms for us but did attempt a deodorizing spray. In addition, a previous guest had urinated out the window and residue/odour was all over the sill. No adjustment to bill! Until major renovations and deep cleaning take place, we will not be returning here. On a positive note, it was a very quiet and comfortable sleep!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
r0bertmckenzie wrote a review Sep 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Room given was on the fourth floor and we had a small dog. Poor room amenities. Had to get on our hands and knees to open the fridge. NO CLOSET. Hotel locality was good. I would not recommend this facility to anyone who travels with their pet and has to rely on the reservations.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cdngirl67 wrote a review Jul 2022
Ottawa, Ontario
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here as part of a Rocky Mountaineer vacation. First, The staff at this hotel were very welcoming and helpful, unfortunately, the hotel is in desperate need of an update. The lamp didn’t work, the air conditioner was iffy and the light in the doorway to the room continued to blink on and off (so we just turned it off). Tiles in the bathroom were cracked and there was what looked like mold in the bathroom. On the plus side, It is located right next to Walmart, so if you need supplies/groceries for your trip, you can pick them up there. I would not stay here again (until it gets a much needed upgrade).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqueline S, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Quesnel
Responded Aug 1, 2022
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate the time our guests take to let us know where we can do better. We are rather, 'vintage' so fingers crossed for a future renovation. In the meantime, in a post pandemic era we have started some 'upgrades'. It's been so hot in Quesnel and our little AC units have been working overtime to match the unusually warm temperature during this Heat Warning, much like the rest of the Province. Great to hear our Staff with Welcoming.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Wandering6
106 contributions98 helpful votes
YEs there is a suite with one private bedroom, main room has hide a bed.
Audrey C asked a question May 2015
Fort St. John, Canada20 contributions5 helpful votes
Do the rooms come with a fridge or a microwave? And if there is no fridge, will it cost extra?
Answer from Summer O
Quesnel, Canada
Hello Audrey, we do have rooms that come with a fridge and microwave. when booking your room with us please inform us that you require one and we would be more then happy to provide one for you. Thank you for considering the Sandman Hotel Quesnel.
Dan A wrote a tip Sep 2023
Kamloops, Canada15 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book somewhere else."
Read full review
Lawrence R wrote a tip Sep 2023
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom17 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good parking "
Read full review
Charles B wrote a tip Aug 2023
Saint Simons Island, Georgia79 contributions37 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel until renovations are finished. It's a mess right now."
Read full review
Angela P wrote a tip Apr 2023
Fort St. John, Canada25 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere. Else if u are looking for a well maintained cleaned room. Bottom line is this hotel needs a deep clean or a Reno. "
Read full review
Nancy H wrote a tip Aug 2022
33 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Close to shopping and restaurants"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Quesnel area.
PRICE RANGE
C$157 - C$214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sandman hotel quesnel
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaCaribooQuesnel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
106
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sandman Hotel Quesnel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sandman Hotel Quesnel
What are some of the property amenities at Sandman Hotel Quesnel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sandman Hotel Quesnel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sandman Hotel Quesnel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandman Hotel Quesnel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandman Hotel Quesnel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Himalayan Kitchen, Frieda's Pizza, and Tim Hortons.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sandman Hotel Quesnel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Sandman Hotel Quesnel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sandman Hotel Quesnel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Is Sandman Hotel Quesnel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Quesnel HotelsQuesnel Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in QuesnelHotels near Sandman Hotel Quesnel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars