We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fernie Stanford Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fernie Stanford Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 229: English reviews
Start your review of Fernie Stanford Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are saddened by the attempt to promote as a luxurious location without making improvements and provide decent service. Our room was dingy, bedding needs to be replaced, our check-in was delayed, continental breakfast is minimal. Disappointing for the price. There are plenty of hotels in Fernie with mountain views and hopefully less run down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crystal d
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second stay at the Stanford Resort in the past year, first visit was back in August. We stayed in a jacuzzi suite, which faces the river and beautiful views. Everything was fantastic, no complaints at all! We will be back =)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlars23
Calgary, Alberta
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Fernie Stanford Resort was friendly & clean. The only thing that would make us reluctant to return breakfast was disappointing. Specifically, the only real option for protein other than milk was hard boiled eggs. Also, coffee was watery.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulhartzheim
Keswick, ON
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Stanford Inn at the beginning and ending of our vacation. For the first 2 nights, we were upgraded to a Jacuzzi Suite! I would pay extra for this suite in the future! Being on the top floor meant that we were above the noise.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cindy_laurin
West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

In Fernie on business and thought I would try this place out. Very rustic - rooms are clean but you feel that hey are 10 + years old. Loved the Indian Restaurant - had a great dinner. Breakfast (free) was nicely done!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 974christopherp
Golden, British Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were ok; old but clean and perfectly adequate; nice shower and toiletries. The heat was either blowing hot or cold air so it got super hot then cooled down and you got thirsty at night because it was so dry with blowing air. There was a good fridge and microwave in the room. The kids enjoyed the slide, pool,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank helmmet
Stanford_Resorts, General Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Hi Helmmet, most of our guests consider our resort to be an exceptional value based on the location, onsite amenities and level of service that we offer. We're sorry that you don't feel that way. But we are happy to know that you had a mostly enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on the breakfast. Hope you will...

Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was good, clean, good hot tub and pool Continental breakfast. Great restaurant, great staff, parking a little tight for bigger trucks. Close to ski hill. Pro shop was good. Overall excellent stay!!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonnyboy875
Stanford_Resorts, General Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Great to hear! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you here again soon for another ski vacation!

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here over Family Day weekend to visit our close friend who lives in Fernie, was blown away by the hotel and service over all! So accommodating and friendly and the place was spick and span! 5 minutes away from the ski hill was a huge bonus and if that wasn't enough the in house restaurant is out of this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charcoalcatzz
Stanford_Resorts, General Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience! It’s great to know that you enjoyed your trip and appreciated so many aspects of our resort. Hope to see you again!

Calgary
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not a great experience. The rooms we rented were very over priced, all the furnishings and appliances were run down, some were even broken and it was not clean or stocked appropriately. We did complain to management and we were met with a hostile attitude and also accused of not taking care of the space properly. I would never recommend...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TT562
Stanford_Resorts, General Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

It’s important to provide some background here: We didn’t hear any complaint from you during your stay. Instead, you waited until after you left the resort to file a complaint by email. If you had let us know about any of these issues at the time, we would have done everything within our power to make you comfortable and happy....

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were in bad need of renovations. Beds extremely uncomfortable. The staff was amazing though. We had a hockey tournament in Sparwood so very far away. The continental breakfast was disorganization and to close together.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlene H
Stanford_Resorts, General Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Hi Marlene, We’re glad we could we could provide a warm welcome, but are sorry to hear that a few things weren’t up to par. We’re in the process of updating many aspects of our rooms. Regarding the breakfast, we appreciate your feedback and will most certainly take it into consideration. Hope you and your team with stay with us...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
2.4 km away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
523 reviews
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
2.5 km away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
119 reviews
2.9 km away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
264 reviews
2.7 km away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience luxury accommodations at Fernie's Premiere Family Resort. Nestled between the Rocky Mountains along the Elk River, this full service hotel boasts unparalleled views in every direction. Fernie Stanford Resort features a large indoor pool, 166’ waterslide, outdoor hot tubs, 24-hour fitness centre, spa, free high speed wireless internet, river and mountain view patios and an outdoor fire pit. This Fernie Resort also offers private meeting rooms and elegant banquet facilities, perfect for your next corporate event or retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fernie Stanford Resort

Address: 100 Riverside Way, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Price Range: $144 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fernie Stanford Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fernie Stanford Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernie Stanford Hotel Fernie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fernie Stanford Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“just don't!!!”
 of 5 bubbles TT562, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Has a restaurant but not good for family's. Not enough western food on the menu of kids.”
 of 5 bubbles MarleneH58, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Perfect for three guys. ”
 of 5 bubbles stuhart, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the BACK, the front faces a busy, noisy highway with lots of trucks.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidM465, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great hotel. But do not choose it for their included breakfast or the pool. Water is cold!!!”
 of 5 bubbles K5508QLnancyb, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5