We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort

Save
Share
100 Riverside Way, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M7 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
US$125
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Trip.com
Booking.com
travelup.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (82)
Dining (22)
Room & Suite (17)

About

#8 of 21 hotels in Fernie
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Experience cozy accommodations at Fernie's Premiere Family Resort. Nestled between the Rocky Mountains along the Elk River, this full service hotel boasts unparalleled views in every direction. Fernie Stanford Resort features a large indoor pool, 166’ water slide, outdoor hot tubs, 24-hour fitness center, spa, free high speed wireless internet, river and mountain view patios and an outdoor fire pit. This Fernie Resort also offers private meeting rooms and elegant banquet facilities, perfect for your next corporate event or retreat.Resort is pet friendly,please contact the Hotel for pet room availability ,Pet fee $25 per night per pet
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Skiing
Water park
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
360Reviews1Q+A82Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 138
  • 115
  • 56
  • 28
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
SandraJ wrote a review Jul. 2022
Edmonton, Canada23 contributions2 helpful votes
The loft bedroom was stifling hot and we were not able to cool it down and had a very terrible, restless night. … even though the a/c ran all night. The rooms were dated and in dire need of a fresh coat of paint. TV channel selection was very limited (even though they subscribed to Shaw) 😖… probably less than 20 channels, not even a whole “basic package” … and the tv was small … and the remote was not a “proper remote” and challenging to navigate the tv with. Also, the elevator was not working 😞 … which they were waiting for a repairman to travel from Calgary, but if you were not located on the main floor and couldn’t do stairs or your luggage was big and heavy … it was an issue and there was no one there to help you with it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Victoriantraveller5 wrote a review Jun. 2022
Victoria BC59 contributions26 helpful votes
Very nice hotel. Clean and quiet. Have a great restaurant on site. Laundry facilities were great to have after a week of hiking. Staff were efficient and room was comfortable. No complaints. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a even numbered room on the back side if you want quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GraemeKerryInverness8 wrote a review Mar. 2022
Inverness, United Kingdom35 contributions55 helpful votes
Enjoyed our stay, rooms very good and clean, beds very comfy, although a lack of servicing the rooms a little disappointing, hot tub and flume are great fun, breakfast very basic, no bar which is a bit strange,but I would stay again…………………..
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
James b wrote a review Sep. 2021
27 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed only one night, staff at check in was very helpful and quick. But hotel was good , room was very large two queen size beds. Had dinner in the hotel , excellent food, would stay again next time i am in Fernie,
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Responded Sep. 20, 2021
Hi James, Thanks so much for your review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to dine at our on-site restaurant. Hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Colin L wrote a review Sep. 2021
1 contribution
Normally I stay at a different hotel when I am in town for work meeting but I thought I would try something new. Walking in I was immediately hit with the strong smell of East Indian Cuisine from the hotel restaurant, which isn't a huge deal but just not my thing. Getting to my room, the door seemed to stick a little, which as I found out when I went to leave the room, it only stuck a little going in because the door was not fully closed. I am a big guy and it was everything I could do to get the door to open (room 115). I made sure the door was shut when I left for dinner, upon returning I had to literally throw a shoulder into the door to get it to open. If this was a elderly couple or a smaller individual this would be a serious fire hazard if something ever went sideways. The room in general was clean, but just seemed out dated and like someone started a bathroom reno and never finished, the walls around the shower were still in primer. Again not a huge deal but when you are paying big hotel chain prices, you don't expect a highway motel type room. Then to top it off there was little to no hot water when showering. When I brought these concerns up at check out, the was a zero F's given attitude from the person running the desk.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Responded Sep. 20, 2021
Hi Colin, We appreciate your feedback about your recent experience with us, and are extremely disappointed to hear about your interaction with the staff member at the front desk. While we can assure you this incident was out of the ordinary, we will certainly be bringing it up with our staff and working to improve some of the other aspects of your stay.
Read more
panneoleary wrote a review Sep. 2021
Oregon City, Oregon127 contributions44 helpful votes
Nice spot for a family stay. We didn’t use it, but there’s a swimming pool with a big water slide. There’s a small game room upstairs that they call an arcade, but it just has a few mini-foosball tables and some little toy dispenser games for very little kids. The rooms were nice and the bed extremely comfortable. It also had a fridge and microwave. A family of beavers live behind the hotel, so it’s fun to watch them in the evening. The hotel offers a free continental breakfast with the usual cereal and toast, but they also had “make your own “ waffle maker. Everyone of course wanted the waffles, but there was only one machine, so it took 20 minutes waiting on line to finally get one. Very annoying! They really need to get another machine. All in all the stay was good, but the room rate was a bit high.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Responded Sep. 14, 2021
We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate your feedback about the breakfast. Hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Bringonthesun wrote a review Jul. 2021
Kelowna57 contributions39 helpful votes
Kids loved the waterslide and pool area! Rooms were clean - bathrooms are very small and shower curtain had an odour, but towels and product were good!! All in all we would stay here again!! The tandoori restaurant was very good for supper, and nice to be able to walk down by the river or quick drive to Fernie resort!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Responded Jul. 26, 2021
Thanks for your kind review! We’re so glad you were able to enjoy the waterslide and had a chance to visit our on-site restaurant (it’s a favourite around here!). We’d love to host you again anytime you’re in Fernie.
Read more
Allison K wrote a review Jun. 2021
Calgary, Canada3 contributions5 helpful votes
We were booked in to stay 3 nights in a condo, we only lasted one night. The place is a dump. Stains all over the carpets. Old gross furniture. No air circulation. There are two ceiling fans, but one is so loose it looks like it’s going to fall out of the ceiling if you turn it on. The other one is useless.. set to the lowest setting, it doesn’t do anything. And you can’t change the setting because it’s too high up. The refrigerator runs so loud you can hear it through the whole unit. It kept me up 1/2 the night. The other 1/2 of the night I was kept awake by the 40 year old mattress that shakes like midway ride if you move so much as a baby toe. Lastly, the toilet in the main bathroom sounds like it’s going to explode every time you flush. But I guess that’s better than the other toilet, which doesn’t flush at all. The kids very much enjoyed the waterslide. The breakfast was decent. I don’t know about the rest of the hotel, only that the condos are privately owned and managed by the hotel. Stay far away from the condos. We will never go back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Responded Jun. 28, 2021
Hi Allison, Thank you for your honest review. The conditions you describe are unacceptable at our resort and we appreciate you bringing it to our attnetion! Next time, however, please let us know as soon as you see any issues like this--that way, we have a chance to remedy the problems and improve your stay right away. We will always do whatever we can to make things right with our guests :) We will look into these issues in your condo and ensure that this does not happen again in the future. We're glad your family had fun on the waterslide and enjoyed the breakfast. We hope you'll give us a chance again on your next visit to Fernie!
Read more
Rose wrote a review Feb. 2021
1 contribution
Very disappointed we are still waiting for our room to check in. It’s 6:15pm, check in was at 4pm. No words with how disappointed I am with this place. The poor front desk lady was super busy all by herself.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Responded Feb. 22, 2021
Hi Rose, We’re truly sorry to hear about the mix up with your recent stay and completely understand that you were frustrated by your delayed check in time. We can assure you that this experience was out of the ordinary, and we hope that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay with us.
Read more
Dave Melenchuk wrote a review Oct. 2020
5 contributions5 helpful votes
Check in staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was on the upper floor at the end of the hall therefore very quiet. The amenities were first class. The location was perfect for my early morning walk.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The very best views with the river on one side and looking toward the ski hill on the other side.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Responded Oct. 27, 2020
Hello Dave, Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review of our resort! We are so happy to hear that you felt taken care of during your stay and that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and room amenities. Come back and visit us again soon! All the best.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fernie stanford hotel fernie
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesFernie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort?
Nearby attractions include Fernie Alpine Resort (2.9 km), Mount Fernie Provincial Park (2.6 km), and Fernie Museum (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Big Bang Bagels, Yamagoya, and Himalayan Spice Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.