We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fernie Stanford Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fernie Stanford Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fernie Stanford Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 229: English reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

Just past downtown Fernie and just before Fernie ski area this is perfectly placed if you are driving. Otherwise you can use the ski shuttle or hitch. Morning after I arrived, the shuttle bus pulled into the highway straight into an oncoming truck. Bus won! Rooms are fine. Roomy. Nice view of the River from one side. Mountains from other....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Your review seems to indicate that your last stay with us was in 2008. If this is the case, we invite you to visit us again on your next trip to Fernie to experience all the wonderful changes and improvements that have taken place here over the last 7 years. Hope to see you soon!

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We loved the pool, loved the rustic decor, and the unique touches. However, the fundamentals, like the mattresses, the bedding, and the shower etc, are just adequate. Definitely not the most comfy night sleep. To be fair, you get what you pay for and this time we chose a hotel for it's affordability. The staff was super friendly and helpful!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillybean238
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate the honest feedback, jellybean, and are glad to hear that our staff were here to help when you needed us. We are currently working to update a number of aspects of our resort and hope that your next visit will offer even better value for your dollar.

Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

We r loving it. Front desk was very welcoming. Our room is "in basement" as one person commented previously in the reviews but ALL pet rooms are on lowest floor and I sure wouldn't call it the basement. Very cozy, clean and kind of rustic decor. No air but window opens to a river view. We took our chairs n...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy M
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

It’s wonderful to hear about your experience, Cindy. We would love to have you and your family as guests again on your next visit to Fernie.

Missoula, Montana
Reviewed 4 July 2015

On the plus side the staff is great, and the pool and hot tubs are nice. However this is definately a budget hotel. no a/c in pet friendly rooms. excercise room has 2 treadmills and not much else. Definately needs updating.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank montanajosh
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Hi montanajosh, thank you for your feedback. As a riverside resort property, we offer much more than your average “budget hotel”, but are sorry to hear that your stay was less-than-exceptional. We are working to update a number of aspects of our property and hope that your next visit will be even better than the last.

Saskatchewan
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

We always drove by and wanted to stay, maybe it's because of the pool and water slide that you can see or the exterior that makes it look appealing but believe me not worth it:( sadly we paid over 230$ a night 27 of June for two days and we are so disappointed... Saddened really that they had no other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sweetmomsaskatchewan
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

It saddens us to hear about your experience, Sweetmomsaskatchewan. We are host to countless families whose opinion is just the opposite of yours: they love our modern aquatic facility and appreciate the value that we offer over other hotels in the area. The tone of your review makes us suspect something more might be going on here apart from the...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 27 June 2015

Too much chlorine in the pool. Eyes were red for 2 hours. Breakfast was horrible. Room needs upgrades. Understaffed at all times. Stay somewhere else. Staff tried to reedeem the services but will look for something else next time when we come to Fernie.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robert K
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Hi Robert, if you encounter a problem as serious as an overchlorinated pool, we suggest immediately bringing it to the attention of our staff. We maintain our aquatic facilities to the highest standards and, if this was indeed the case, it would be of great concern. We are sorry to hear that your stay didn’t meet with your expectations, and...

Canada
Reviewed 6 June 2015

We were en route from the prairies into BC and Fernie would be a lengthy drive for us...so a perfect overnight destination. We had been to Fernie previously staying at a less than stellar motel on a Xmas vacation...then at a marvelous home stay for a summer vacation. This time we were traveling with our dog, so needed a pet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mokinator10
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Hi Mokinator, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience at our resort—it really warms our hearts to hear about experiences like yours. It was our pleasure to have you and your family as guests, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Fernie.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 6 June 2015

The swimming pool and huge slide for this type of hotels were the main attraction for our kids. Room was very clean and nice, with one loft bed this was not the average hotel room. I'm not a big fan of East Indian cuisine, but the restaurant on site served very very good meals. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HariSeldon2
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Hi Hari, We’re so glad that your stay was thoroughly enjoyable—our pool never fails to be a huge hit with kids! We would love to host you and your family again on your next trip to Fernie.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 26 May 2015

This beautiful rustic style hotel is located in the beautiful Canadian Rockies near the ski resort of Fernie and when we stayed in May it was for the incredible price of $99 a night. This included breakfast and the children loved it as it has a waterslide swimming pool and outdoor hottubs. Fernie is a very small town and this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Captain_Rob_D
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Hi Rob, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a detailed review. It’s great to hear that everything was enjoyable and that you got good value for your dollar. Hope to see you and your family again soon!

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Reviewed 19 May 2015

When I began my search for a dog friendly hotel in Fernie I was expecting a low-quality motel. When I found that Stanford had a pet friendly floor and their rooms were only $99/night I thought it was too good to be true! But we pulled into this river front hotel and it was a nice hotel with a large...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alberta_Mountain_Gal
Stanford_Resorts, Manager at Fernie Stanford Resort, responded to this review

Greetings Alberta_Mountain_Gal! Indeed, we are proud to offer truly great value for resort-quality pet-friendly accommodation in Fernie—and we’re glad it made your visit that much sweeter! It would be our pleasure to host you and your family on your next visit to Fernie.

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
2.4 km away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
523 reviews
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
2.5 km away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fernie
119 reviews
2.9 km away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
264 reviews
2.7 km away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#10 of 22 in Fernie
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience luxury accommodations at Fernie's Premiere Family Resort. Nestled between the Rocky Mountains along the Elk River, this full service hotel boasts unparalleled views in every direction. Fernie Stanford Resort features a large indoor pool, 166’ waterslide, outdoor hot tubs, 24-hour fitness centre, spa, free high speed wireless internet, river and mountain view patios and an outdoor fire pit. This Fernie Resort also offers private meeting rooms and elegant banquet facilities, perfect for your next corporate event or retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fernie Stanford Resort

Address: 100 Riverside Way, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Price Range: $144 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fernie Stanford Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fernie Stanford Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernie Stanford Hotel Fernie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fernie Stanford Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“just don't!!!”
 of 5 bubbles TT562, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Has a restaurant but not good for family's. Not enough western food on the menu of kids.”
 of 5 bubbles MarleneH58, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Perfect for three guys. ”
 of 5 bubbles stuhart, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the BACK, the front faces a busy, noisy highway with lots of trucks.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidM465, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great hotel. But do not choose it for their included breakfast or the pool. Water is cold!!!”
 of 5 bubbles K5508QLnancyb, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5