JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

1050 Paignton House Road Muskoka Lakes, Minett, Muskoka Lakes, Ontario P0B 1G0 Canada
Nice atrium lobby, efficient and friendly check in
Traveller (1057)
Room & Suite (323)
Indoor Pool area
Pool & Beach (145)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 2 hotels in Minett
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Plan your visit to JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa for a truly unforgettable experience. Step into our hotel to discover limitless luxury, scenic views of Lake Rosseau, and convenient access to various Muskoka's celebrated outdoor activities. Enjoy luxury hotel rooms and suites, award-winning on-site restaurants, a signature spa, a 24-hour fitness center, and a year-round indoor/outdoor swimming pool. The newly-renovated lobby and restaurants, over 13,000 square feet of contemporary event venues, and experienced planning and catering teams make this an ideal choice for your business event, wedding, or social event. The hotel's location is in the heart of Muskoka's pristine natural beauty and near well-known attractions. Luxury abounds at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Personal trainer
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Bicycles available
Boating
Canoeing
Game room
Hiking
Ski rentals
Ski school
Water sport equipment rentals
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Patio
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Pedicure
Steam room
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Hindi
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

1050 Paignton House Road Muskoka Lakes, Minett, Muskoka Lakes, Ontario P0B 1G0 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 42 out of 100
42
Toronto Pearson Intl Airport
165.8 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,754 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa boasts a location celebrated for its breathtaking views and family-friendly environment, although service shortfalls have led some guests to reconsider their stay. While the hotel's cleanliness generally garners positive remarks, the value proposition has come under fire, with complaints of excessive prices for food and activities. Accommodations are spacious and include kitchenettes, yet some find the decor dated and not reflective of the cost. Service quality fluctuates, receiving both accolades and criticism, particularly during peak periods. The atmosphere is a mix of rustic charm and occasional drabness, and while the amenities are appreciated, issues with their availability and upkeep have been noted.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Rustic
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Limited

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,754Review42Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 839
  • 425
  • 246
  • 127
  • 117
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
547sandra12 wrote a review Jul 2020
Toronto, Canada8 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I understand the protocols in place during this time can be challenging especially for a hotel that is as large as the JW Marriott, however I think there is room for improvement. At this time there is no housekeeping allowed, all garbage or used towels are required to be left outside the door. I am fine with that, it is the environment we are living now, however garbage left outside your door for a full day without pickup with every other guest doing the same is unacceptable. This is a 5 star hotel, there should not be garbage left in the hallways for a full day. The patio is the only restaurant open, with views of Lake Rousseau are beautiful, however the sofas cushions need to be replaced, they are either stain with dropped food or grey with mould. Come on JW Marriott you are a luxury brand, charging at this time 500-600 a night for a room, you mean to say you can’t replace cushion covers? Especially it’s the main eating restaurant of the hotel. Then main pool is open however I did not see anyone spraying down used sun lounges with disinfectant or a tag to say the lounge had been sterilized, I think that is a bit lax. On the positive side we found all the staff friendly and accommodating, always saying hello to you in the hallways and welling to help, and this I found the strongest selling point for the JW Marriott Is the employees who work here. I don’t mind doing my own housekeeping, however the price of the room should reflect this, or try to do little extra for the guest, for example not charging the full resort fee of $49 a night, because not all facilities of the resort are available due to present restrictions.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert X wrote a review Aug 2020
Toronto, Canada26 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Since oversea travel is no longer a smart option, we ended up staying at JW Marriot in Muskoka for our honeymoon. The resort had graciously given up a bottom of Champaign and a box of chocolate strawberry to celebrate this special occasion. We loved it.

The resort is big and has multiple pools and restaurants, all of which were open during our stay. Most guests respected social distancing and wore masks while inside. It made us feel comfortable staying there as well. The beach was also nice and the hotel provided beach chairs and cabanas although you will have to be there early to occupy these as it gets busy throughout the day. At the beach, the resort also offered water activities for free such as kayaks, stand up paddle board and canoe. You can also hop in the lake to cool down.

Room was nice and spacious. We had a forest view balcony room on the 2nd level. The view was average but the room was comfortable. King sized bed with french door to the bathroom. There was also a small electric stove, fridge and microwave for those that want to save a few bucks from eating on the resort which can add up quickly. Especially considering there are no other food options available in close proximity to the resort. We ate both on resort restaurants and snacks that we brought.

The only ding to our stay was that there were gummy bears left behind our couch and some crumbs by the fridge when we first checked in presumably from the previous guests. I had shown the hotel staff a picture of it and subsequently called room service (total 3 attempts) to get it cleaned, but no luck. Those gummy stubbornly stayed with us until we checked out. This does raise some concerns regarding Covid cleaning which we thought the hotel rooms would be thoroughly cleaned each time The bathtub also didn't work but the hotel had fixed on the same day that we raised it.

Overall amazing stay nonetheless.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leah Leslie, Sales at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Responded Sep 1, 2020
Robert X, thank you so much for posting your detailed review, and for choosing to visit the resort this summer. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. I am sorry to hear about the gummy bears and this feedback has been shared with the resort leadership team for coaching and action. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Meaghan Dineen wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada22 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I just spent family day long weekend at JW, and it was everything we needed. The resort highlight is absolutely the staff. Everyone we encountered seemed to go the extra mile to make our stay special. Right away, Kayla at reception upgraded us to a suite (perhaps due to it being our anniversary?) and was warm and helpful in advising of the different activities we could partake in. This was our first staff interaction and it set the note for the rest of the weekend.

Room:
The fireplace suite with kitchen was perfect and thoughtfully laid out. The resort recently underwent a reno and you can tell they really thought through the guest experience. The bathroom has multiple doors blocking off the sinks from toilet, then a door to separate the shower and bathtub. If you’re on a family or friend weekend away, I have to imagine this layout would be perfect as someone can be in the shower while others still have access to the rest of the bathroom without jeopardizing privacy.

Dining:
Make reservations! We had dinner at Chophouse (the steakhouse) one night, and Teca (Italian) the other. Chophouse is fantastic - our porterhouse was cooked perfectly, and Brendan was really great. I’ve noted all of his perfect wine recos, and we really appreciated his knowledgeable, but approachable demeanour.

Teca was hard to get into, and the service we received from Naveen was amazing (Anna the hostess helped us secure a reservation, and was incredibly warm during both of our dining experiences!!). Unfortunately the food is something we should note as it would prevent us from dining there again. Our ceaser salad was good, dessert was delicious, but the carbonara and the lamb linguine were not. I hate to say it, but they were bad. In both cases the pasta was way overcooked, and the carbonara was swimming in a broken oily/buttery sauce. In both cases the quality of food was something you’d expect from a family friendly chain restaurant, not from this hotel. This was a minor shortfall in an otherwise incredible weekend. I’m sure management can course correct the food quality.

Amenities:
Snowshoeing was the highlight of our weekend and an absolute must do. Spending time in the serene surroundings by the lake and in the trees was beautiful, and a breath of fresh air away from Toronto. The indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub was incredible. One other note to management is to put some more lounge chairs inside as they’re quickly snatched up. The games around the resort are also super fun, and seeing all the cute little kids skating is adorable. There are a tremendous amount of activities for kids.

Thank you for a great weekend! We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SarahRuthTauro, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 22, 2020
MeaghanDineen thank you for choosing to holiday with us this winter and for sharing such an amazing review. The team is very grateful for your compliments. We strive to deliver mindful experiences and intentional service to all our guests. Your comments about the food at Teca and the extra lounge chairs has been shared with the leadership team. We appreciate all your feedback as it helps us improve the JW service to all future guests. We hope to welcome you back to Muskoka soon for another memorable vacation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Witness2000 wrote a review Oct 2020
Toronto, Canada107 contributions52 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all, this is not a JW Marriott in terms of physical quality or service. It is really more like a good-quality Renaissance or Sheraton.

However, what I found most disappointing was that the hotel was not following reasonable Covid-protocols and using the situation as an excuse to cut service levels.

My room was not properly cleaned when I arrived. The housekeeping manager was apologetic and quickly recleaned the room. When I asked one of the attendants for the disinfectant wipes (part of the Marriott-global standards), she didn’t understand and looked at me like I asked for a live chicken.

Without notifying or giving any options, they did not provide daily cleaning service (as of July) even for a four night stay in a suite, and ask guests to leave their garbage outside the door. So, when you walk down the hallways there are garbage bags everywhere.

They also offer a limited room service menu, which is odd because they should be encouraging guests to eat in their rooms due to Covid and limited space in the outlets. When I asked if I could order from one of the restaurants, I had to basically beg to get them to agree. The food from Teca was good; the food from room service was average.

Other annoyances were smaller—the loud exhaust fan that distracts from the otherwise nice beach, having to fill out a waiver form every day to use the water sports (why not just once?), shuttle service was hit or miss, and lack of attention on landscaping.

On the plus side, the location is nice, the hotel offers lake views from some rooms, and the surrounding area is beautiful.

In fairness, after I complained at checkout, they gave me a $100 discount. That was a reasonable gesture, but I still left the hotel wishing I stayed in an AirBnb, which would have been cheaper and offered a nearly comparable quality level.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leah Leslie, Sales at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Responded Oct 14, 2020
Witness2000, I am sorry that your experience was not what it could have been when you stayed with us in July. Three months ago, we were not permitted to provide daily housekeeping service, as a Marriott measure to protect our guests and our staff. It was not an excuse, but a realistic measure designed to address the circumstances at the time. Our team was adapting to a constantly changing environment. I am puzzled by the reference to an exhaust fan at the beach...? Things are much different now, daily tidy service is provided, restaurants are open, and I would encourage you to return for a visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mcmug2002 wrote a review Nov 2020
Burlington, Canada135 contributions98 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to JW for a fall family weekend getaway in November. The hotel has implemented COVID measures (hand sanitizer, revised cleaning protocol, social distancing) and we felt that most guests are respecting the guidelines.

Location is excellent. Beautiful views from hotel lobby. Our room has a balcony but it was facing the "wrong" side (looking towards the road). While it was too cold for any water sports (kayak, SUP, etc), we did take advantage of the heated pool and also some hiking and biking around the area. Generally the resort was kept clean and in order.

Dinner reservations was a must at all the restaurants on site. It was a warm weekend so it got busy pretty quickly, and we were only able to get an 8.30pm slot. Overall it was a good stay, but also slightly on the pricey side (especially for on-site meals). As a Titanium member we got $75 credit for breakfast each day...which we had to top off by $20-30 per day to get a la carte for family of 4 at the restaurant. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful...but it does feel like a resort with busy turnover.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Tauro, Marketing at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Responded Nov 17, 2020
Thank you for choosing our resort in Muskoka for your family getaway mcmug2002. We are all very happy that you enjoyed a luxurious vacation and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
luvtravelling_13 wrote a review Aug 2020
Ottawa, Canada53 contributions59 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here before but was disappointed in my recent stay, I felt that the JW standards were lacking. I called the front desk about a dozen times in the first 24 hours looking for things that should have been in the room.
Not enough dishes/flatware in the room.
Cot that I was charged an extra $30 for was not in the room.
Linens for the sofa bed not in the room (over an hour for them to be delivered before son could go to bed)
No extra garbage bags
No dishwasher soap, requested it &was given liquid dish soap

Ice machines were unavailable, we waited 40 minutes the first day for ice and the second day I finally called back after an hour to have it sent up. Each time we called there was a long wait for items.

We chose to a Marriott based on the "commitment to cleanliness" and were disappointed about this as well. We found crumbs in a cupboard from the previous guests and discarded band aids around the pool. There was a mousetrap in our cupboard where a child could access it. When we mentioned the debris to the pool staff she thanked us and continued to fold towels. The band aids were still there an hour later.

While David at the front desk was very professional, most staff seemed to be very young and not conscientious.

I did call the front desk to express my disappointment and the clerk was apologetic and cited the pandemic as the cause of the disruption. I also emailed Shiva Subramaniyan at the suggestion of the concierge and, after a week, was not even acknowledged.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leah Leslie, Sales at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 13, 2020
LuvTravelling_13, thank you for posting a detailed review. Your feedback is valued and I am sorry to learn that the experience you had here was not what it should have been. A resort leader will certainly be in touch to discuss the points you have mentioned. Again, I am sorry that your vacation was marred by delays and lack of attention to detail. I hope that you will return so that we can demonstrate the level of service our team strives to deliver.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie C wrote a review Jun 2020
Toronto, Canada20 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I just returned from a week here. I was a bit hesitant to stay at a hotel with all that's going on but, my stay here has reassured me. Check in was done in the driveway as we pulled up. Jack checked us in and he was GREAT! Our room wasn't quite ready and he was able to upgrade us to one with a balcony given the vacancy level.

All staff were masked and actively cleaning throughout our stay. The ice machines were not in use because they were too high touch (smart) so bags of ice were available at the bar for in room.

Assigned seating in the pool area and all guests being mindful of the distancing and mask use made it a different but, enjoyable and relaxing stay.

The canoes, life jackets and paddle boards are all sanitized after use and were great fun.

Will be back! Can't beat the view!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
steven r wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nothing about this hotel—the numerous public health violations, inadequate accommodations, insufficient and poorly trained staff—justify the close to $1100/night price tag for a hotel room that is less impressive and smaller than one found next to Pearson Airport.

It was my desire and intent to resolve my concerns directly with the hotel. Mr. Mitchell, director of rooms, is not responding to my emails. I was assured by staff that he would be in contact with me. As I have not heard from him despite numerous emails, I have been compelled to make note of my grievances in this forum.

1. The health and safety of guests should be a hotel’s first priority, especially in a pandemic. I witnessed numerous and serious contraventions of the Reopening Ontario Act. There is no excuse for not complying with public health measures. I observed people walking around the lobby and other common areas with no masks, contrary to provisions in O. Reg 364/20, made under the Reopening Ontario Act. There is no justification for this, especially after I brought it to the attention of staff (after bringing it to their attention, I saw staff interact with a woman without a mask for 10 minutes before she brought her 10 rowdy friends (also mostly unmasked and one holding a bottle of booze in their hand) into the restaurant to be seated.

2. When we arrived, the temperature in the room was about 25 Celsius despite having been pre-set at 18.5 Celsius. We called down to the front desk and someone from the engineering department came up and falsely assured us everything was working fine. Hours later, the temperature was essentially unchanged. We were advised to open the balcony door (that didn’t have a screen) and windows. This is not satisfactory when paying $1100/night. After almost a dozen phone calls, we were finally offered another room and had to repack and unpack at around 1:00am. We were exhausted the next day. This should have been dealt with gracefully and hours prior. Simply unacceptable.

3. Basic housekeeping functions are not available. I should be able to get proper housekeeping service when paying about $1100/night for a very small and basic room. One day I had to call down three times to request full housekeeping service. Even after three calls, this was still not provided.

4. My previous stay at the hotel was equally unsatisfactory, so much so that I was given a gift certificate effective September onwards (nevertheless the opportunity arose to get away prior to September and I (foolishly) accepted the hotel’s assurances that things would be better). I experienced many of the same issues then that I did this past weekend, including multiple violations under the Reopening Ontario Act and inadequate service. A hotel needs to respect and protect guests’ health and safety, and this hotel falls short. There were also the remnants of a dead mouse on the balcony, something which the front desk never apologized for when I called down.

I spent about $8000 (including food/beverage expenditures for two) for four nights. It was a truly disappointing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leah Leslie, Sales at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 28, 2021
stevenrH6041OM, I am sorry to hear that your experience was not what it should have been. Thank you for the feedback; I trust that your subsequent conversation with a member of our leadership team has helped to bring some of your concerns to resolution and that you will return in future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
522margeryk wrote a review Jul 2020
10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a bit skeptical about a hotel visit during Covid but the hotel was very thorough and took precautions and to ensure the safety of hotel guests. The rooms were thoroughly clean with a safety sticker on each cupboard in the kitchenette. That let us know that no one. had touched the inside of the cupboard after they were cleaned. While there is no housekeeping service during this time, the hotel went out of their way to meet the guests needs by just calling the front desk to refresh all housekeeping supplies. They were usually able to accommodate within 15 minutes. All the staff, both indoors and outside wore masks at all times, despite the hear and probably discomfort to themselves. The pools are restricted in terms of numbers of guests and never once felt crowded. Most guests seemed to spend their days down at the lake. Be aware that in order to get a Cabana, you need to be out there by 7:30am but some of them do free up during the day. They are serving lunch around both pools which is a treat. There were sanitizing stations conveniently located throughout the hotel, both inside and outside. The outdoor dining patio was available every evening with proper social distancing. The food was very good (wings, shrimp and salmon). I would like to go out of my way to mention the outstanding service provided to us by Larson and, of course, the great GM. Everyone was kind, approachable and very responsive. We will return this summer as a result of this wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tiddles wrote a review Aug 2020
Uxbridge, Canada1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at JW Marriott's all over the world (for much less money then this one), and came to expect a lot from the brand.

This hotel is a timeshare property and should not be branded JW Marriott. From the poor service through to the worn out bed sheets, mediocre landscaping, pool full of bugs, confused looking staff. The flowerpots by the lake full of weeds, beside the lineup wait for few old sunbleached kayaks at the beach included in the mandatory $50.00/night surcharge to your room for the use of them.

Food was okay, but certainly not worth the ultra premium prices.

The service was on par with a rundown roadside motel, except for the luggage service, that was great - this was the only thing they had figured out..

No ice machines, they deliver it - but expect to wait and call several times to plead with the hard to reach front desk to push them to please deliver, you'll get it eventually..

Our room was missing many essentials which took until the next day to remedy.

We will not stay at the JW Rosseau again.

Further - the "Commitment to Clean", as advertised on marriott.com was not evident at this property. No disinfecting wipes, no sanitizing stations at the elevators, etc.

If the Marriott has corporate auditors, they really should look into this property.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leah Leslie, Sales at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Responded Sep 6, 2020
mrtiddles, thank you for your comments. It is good to know that you found the luggage service to be great but I am sorry to learn that some elements of your stay did not measure up. Just to clarify a few points in your review, the resort is not a timeshare property and although guest ice machines were not permitted for several months, they are now available. Also there are hand sanitizing stations at every elevator and throughout the resort with a sign above each one that says "Sanitize Hands Here". I Hope you will return so you can experience the level of service our team aims to deliver.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Lee May N
Toronto, Canada15 contributions
I was at the hotel a month ago, April 30th weekend. We went waist deep in the water back then, it was a hot weekend. Muskoka chairs and chaise lounge chairs were available along the beach. The hotel provides pool towels and robes making travel in swimsuits much more comfortable. Pack flip-flops. We enjoyed our time by the pool on brand-new chaise lounge chairs recently unboxed. These fresh chaise lounge chairs are the best of any Muskoka resort! The loungers have a pneumatic lift and wheels making adjustments easy. Umbrellas are new also. Rental bikes were nicer than I'd expect a rental bike to be. You will find marked trails off the main road to the west of the resort. Beautiful vista to be seen. I can highly recommend the professionalism of Sahajj in Lakes and Cottages restaurants. He went out of his way to accommodate us in our meal. He also made a lovely Martini topped off with egg white foam and edible flowers. It was truly an enjoyable weekend. I can't wait to return in August. Have a fantastic time.
Lizz5 asked a question Aug 2021
Toronto, Canada6 contributions8 helpful votes
Is there a beach?
Answer from Sarah R. Tauro
Muskoka Lakes, Canada1 helpful vote
Yes the resort has 2 private beaches open in summer.
Krisha A asked a question May 2021
Milton, Canada12 contributions2 helpful votes
Will the pool be open in June with the covid restrictions currently in place?
Tamara M wrote a tip Jan 2024
Nobleton, Canada83 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Most amenities and restaurants were closed during the weeknight (Thursday night ) when we went"
Read full review
Sherpa817590 wrote a tip Jan 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Busy in summer"
Read full review
jennifer c wrote a tip Dec 2023
Barrie, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Shop around!!!"
Read full review
Pioneer51307812978 wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"This hotel needs to make sure that everyone is treated equally. There should be area where people can still enjoy the evening when events."
Read full review
DWGermany wrote a tip Sep 2023
Düsseldorf, Germany205 contributions107 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose lakeside view and a balcony"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Minett area.
PRICE RANGE
C$493 - C$751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the rosseau, a jw marriott hotel minett, the rosseau, a jw marriott resort and spa, jw marriott rosseau, jw marriott minett
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioMuskoka DistrictMuskoka LakesMinett
NUMBER OF ROOMS
221
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include The Port Carling Wall (7.0 km), Muskoka Lakes Museum (7.3 km), and Crossfit Muskoka (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sherwood Inn, York & Mason, and JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka - Muskoka Chophouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Hindi.
All Minett HotelsMinett Hotel DealsHotels near JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars