We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Taboo Muskoka Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Taboo Muskoka Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Taboo Muskoka Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 415: English reviews
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Hotel location , facilities and food are amazing - very undersold on website. the food is great across all outlets - the heated pool is perfect with kids and the lake area has all the facilities you need with a big beach and a lot of support from water sport staff. Staff around resort are mostly students who panic at...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Leena K
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

LeenaK, That you for taking the time to post about our "amazing" hotel location, facilities and food. We are really sorry that you were disappointed by some of our younger or seasonal summer staff and experienced some Sunday waits. Please know that guest care and effective recruitment are key priorities for us and that your feedback plays a part in...

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Very impressed as I parked in the check in spot and was greeted by a cleaning person who welcomed me and opened the door. Check in was seamless as front desk staff was extremely efficient. Nice newly decorated rooms with fireplace, outside balcony and with fabulous view. Extremely clean and well keep rooms. Bar is well equipped with many good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gavin K
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

GavinK, Thank you for encouraging other TripAdvisor readers looking at Taboo Muskoka, "You must give it a try." Pleased to read you were "very impressed" from arrival and that your check-in was "seamless." The whole arrival experience is so important to the start of your stay and something our team has been focussing on. Also happy you enjoyed our Lobby...

toronto
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed at Taboo for a family getaway for a few days. The room/resort is very modern, clean, and elegant. Nice little beach and pools to enjoy. The service was very good. We requested an early check-in in advance, and though the resort was sold-out from the night before, our rooms were ready as soon as we arrived around noon...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bliss24
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

bliss24 Thanks for taking the time to post for other TripAdvisor readers and share the "very good service" you enjoyed at Taboo Muskoka resort. Pleased to read we were able to accommodate your early check-in request and take care of those Housekeeping asks promptly. While we are famous for our Lake Muskoka location, Taboo is also a great option for...

toronto
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here last night in a king select terrace room that overlooked the parking area. We tried to stay 2 nights but it was sold out. The room was newly renovated and it had a very comfortable bed. They didn't tell us when we checked in that it was an accessible room. Not a big deal but it would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrownandGinger
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

CrownandGinger Thanks so much for sharing your detailed Taboo Muskoka review, including the Taboo golf course recap with us and TripAdvisor readers. We also appreciate anyone whose username alludes to a fine cocktail :-) Wanted to let you know we're looking at adding an extra table/ surface for toiletries for anyone who does end up booked in accommodation with an...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have a time-share cottage at Taboo and it is wonderful. I have been coming up for a decade now and the resort always has excellent customer service. Wide range of activities for all ages and good food, my favourite being the outdoor seating above the ski school (Boathouse restaurant). It's a wonderful place to come with a family of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emdipiere
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

Hello emsagzz, as a fractional owner within the chalet (condominium) portion of our property, we especially appreciate you taking the time to share your "wonderful" long-term feedback with other potential Taboo Muskoka resort guests. Thanks for noting Taboo's "excellent service" and a "wide range of activities." We look forward to welcoming you - and other fans of Lake Muskoka -...

Reviewed 22 August 2014

My husband and I are staying at Taboo for our anniversary this evening, and while we love the room and the view, we are quite disappointed at the resort overall. For $400/night our expectations were much higher. Looking out of our room there are beer bottles and pizza boxes littered along the bottom, there are stains on the carpet throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aceshadow
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

Hello AceShadow and thank you for sharing your Taboo Muskoka review. The tidiness misses you noted are unfortunate and have been addressed in detail with our team. We are sorry to have disappointed you and have reached out to you directly on TripAdvisor to see what we can do to encourage you to consider us for a re-visit. About your...

London UK
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We arrived here having checked out early from the resort we had originally booked, which had proved very disappointing. The check in process was chaotic and it took 45 minutes for our bags to be delivered to our room, but from that point on everything was great. Our 2 bedroom Platinum suite was fantastic, with a deck overlooking the lake...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bunny2LondonUK
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

bunny2LondonUK, Thank you very much for trying Taboo Muskoka when you're other hotel choice did not work out. Our apology for the confusion on arrival! However, very glad "from that point on everything was great." If you do cross the pond again, please do try the Owl Prowl or another of our night hikes, a unique and very Canadian experience...

Tsawwassen, Canada
Reviewed 14 August 2014

At the prices they charge, I would think the rooms could be better cared for. I am still at the resort now and have reported the grungy bathroom. Looks like a shower in a Super 8!! Yuck! They say that they have been so busy they did not have time to fix things up - that is a bit lame...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim B
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

Hello Jim B and thank you for taking the time to also post during your stay while you are still our guest at Taboo Muskoka. Wanted to make sure you were aware that was our Executive Housekeeper who personally came to the room yesterday and met you to address the shower. While it certainly doesn't excuse a small grout problem...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Taboo Resort. We only stayed for one night, but were very happy with our experience here. We were upgraded to a room with a view of Lake Muskoka, and our room was spacious, well-equipped and had some nice upscale touches. The location is fantastic, sitting right on the edge of the lake with lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eyetotelescope
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

Hello eyetotelescope. Thanks very much for reviewing Taboo Muskoka for other TripAdvisor readers. Very glad you felt "welcomed from the minute you arrived." We do also strive to create that balance between modern and classic Muskoka so we truly appreciate you noticing it. With a username like yours we do hope you might return to us sometime and try an...

Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a top notch resort . The staff are friendly and helpful. Best of all the food is extraordinary. Taboo Golf course is challenging with the nuances of a fairly modern professional type course design. The Sands is a nine hole course which is is lovely and mature with many challenges. I preferred this course but I am a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevlac9
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

trevalac9, we really appreciate you taking the time to post and dub us "top notch" for other TripAdvisor readers. Glad you were able to play both our top-rated Taboo giolf course and our 9-hole Stanley Thompson course, The Sands as well, which is great for families and recreational golfers. We've also passed your review on to our "friendly and helpful"...

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
5.2 km away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
31.1 km away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
27.0 km away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
32.7 km away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
163 reviews
8.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Bracebridge
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Taboo Muskoka Resort is located right on beautiful Lake Muskoka, only 90 minutes north of Toronto. A year-round retreat, Taboo is known for its personalized service, sleek modern accommodations and championship golf. This Muskoka gem is an ideal place to relax and have fun while enjoying dozens of activities ranging from tennis and golf to hiking and biking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taboo Muskoka Resort

Address: 1209 Muskoka Beach Rd | RR 1, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Price Range: $150 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taboo Muskoka Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Taboo Muskoka Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Taboo
Taboo Hotel Gravenhurst
Taboo Resort Gravenhurst
Taboo Muskoka Resort Gravenhurst, Muskoka District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Taboo Muskoka Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Taboo Muskoka Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake view rooms are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles LynneKnowlts, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 433 - lake view with an L-shaped balcony. Beautiful views.”
 of 5 bubbles Fluff533, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lake view rooms on third and fourth floor give great views.”
 of 5 bubbles guglil, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Recommend Lake view rooms on third or fourth floor”
 of 5 bubbles amink155, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“4th floor, corner room, looking out into lake Muskoka is beautiful. I think it was Rm 433”
 of 5 bubbles 57Priscilla, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay