Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre

Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre

895 Gibsons Way, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V0 Canada
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (21)
Swimming pool
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#2 of 2 small hotels in Gibsons
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre located on British Columbia’s Sunshine Coast is the perfect place for your accommodations. A combination of comfort and great facilities means you won’t find a nicer place to stay on the Sunshine Coast in the Gibsons area.Sightseeing, a business trip, or just getting away: your time on the Sunshine Coast is important to us. At The Cedars Inn we pride ourselves on our friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms, and full-service hotel facilities. Our Gibsons hotel is conveniently located just minutes from everything to see and do in historic Gibsons.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
100Reviews0Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 31
  • 20
  • 14
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MyleHigh wrote a review Sep 2020
Calgary, Canada
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
That describes the staff and rooms

Staff:
Upon check in, I asked for the receipt because I was waking up early for the ferry and didnt want to be bothered coming in. The lady said she couldnt because her "end of day" wasnt yet done buy assured me she would email it to me before the end of the night. I even specifically asked about if someone would be in the office in the morning in case she didnt send the email. She said it was staffed 24 hours.

Wrong.
She didnt email to me and when I went to the lobby to get my receipt in the morning, no one was there. A note was on the door, with two phone numbers to call, but no one answered either. A gentleman called me back twenty minutes after I left and said he would have my receipt emailed to me. 2 hours later, Iit wasn't. I called and spoke to a lady. I waited with her on the line until I finally saw the email arrive in my inbox.

Unacceptable and this couldve been easily avoided.

Now for the rooms: Take a look at the pics. It's outdated. The bed was WAY harder than I like but I honestly slept ok. That might have been the utter exhaustion from walking down and up School Street. Tough to say.

There's a weird attempt of crown molding on the walls using 1980s style baseboards. It's really telling and should be the cover image of this place.

The "art" in the room is just two of the exact same picture.

There's a chair/table area at the bottom of the sit gets completely ignored, you've lost my business.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Macooney wrote a review Aug 2021
Prince Albert, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The Cedars Inn looks like an absolute nightmare dump from the outside. The pictures on Trivago are somewhat deceiving.

Rooms all have a seal on the door stating they’ve been cleaned and sanitized. Room was pretty clean but not well vacuumed, fridge doesn’t get very cold. A/C works well. Carpet in hallways is grossly dirty looking. Outdoor decks have lattice so you can see your neighbours clearly so couldn’t use. Bathroom fixtures are old. Cigarette burns on some of the furniture. Our room had 2 queen size beds. Sat on the extra bed and felt a lump. Opened the bedding and there was a corkscrew between top and bottom sheet!! Took the corkscrew to the front desk and advised where it was found. The guy insisted it must have fallen out of the cleaner’s pocket while the bed was being changed. I call B.S. He reluctantly said sorry. No reparations offered at all. Acted like we were being ridiculous.

Didn’t look at or go to the pool. This is a sacked out older hotel. If we were returning to Gibsons would not stay in this rather depressing place. Do not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Info The Cedars, Owner at Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Responded Aug 18, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand that some of our exterior is in need of an upgrade and those renovations begin in the fall. These exterior renovations had been delayed due to the slowdown of suppliers during Covid, but we look forward to showing off our refreshed look in the spring. Our west coast salty air can be quite hard on buildings here and its time for a make-over! We did take the time to talk with our housekeeping staff about the corkscrew, and it did indeed fall from a front pocket when the bed was being made. We apologize for that mistake. To be clear, the linens and the room were changed and cleaned well by our housekeeping staff, and we are proud of the work they do. Sometimes minor errors will happen on exceptionally busy days, but they would never miss changing the linens on a bed. We are very sure of that. If you do find yourself on the Sunshine Coast again, we do hope you give us a second chance to show you our updated look and allow us to prove our dedication to cleanliness and our enthusiasm for hospitality!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
colin s wrote a review Sep 2021
Vancouver, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It was not at all what we expected. This room was more like a $100 a night room. Not $294. It had a very odd smell that was attempted to be covered up by a lot of febreze or other room deodorizer. There were a lot of stains on the carpet and chips in the paint job, the light fixtures are very old fashioned and one of the knobs, that turns the light on and off, was broken off of the bedside lamp. The mirror in the bathroom has chips all around the edges and there are chips in the sink and tub paint as well. The main door looks like someone had tried to kick it in at one point It was dented and didn't shut properly. The bed was very hard and sagged in the middle. The one good thing was the TV was a good size.
This motel is very dated and is more like a roadside motel than how it was advertised. There was also a lot of foot traffic at night people laughing and shouting outside the door. It woke me up on two separate occasions in the middle of the night.
We double checked the price on Expedia and the rooms were going for $90 at that time. I thought there may be a fee that is returned afterwards for a room or pet deposit, but it seems looking at the receipt that is not the case. This hotel needs a big upgrade and some serious renovation work done to charge this price. We stayed in many hotels on our week vacation and they were all around the same price. This was far below our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Info The Cedars, Owner at Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Responded Sep 25, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel Colin. First, we would like to apologize for your stay not meeting your expectations. We are replacing many of the items you brought up as we renovate this fall. We are a family owned business and this last 18 months of covid delayed this makeover until this fall. We would love to see you back here next spring so we can offer you the hospitality we pride ourselves in providing. We did want to note that our price on Expedia was actually what you paid. Expedia shows ads for the lowest price of the year to get people to click on their site, which is the price you viewed. Our pricing is actually slightly lower than any of our fellow hotels in this area of the Sunshine Coast.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
puckstopshere wrote a review Nov 2020
Edmonton, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the misfortune of spending a week here, as it was the hotel work booked me in. The bed was clean and comfortable, but that is were it ends. The carpet was dirty, mold on ceiling of bathroom, burners on kitchenette were unusable. I set my small lunch cooler on the table and the top fell off. I called the front desk to let them know that the table was broken, the response was, "I will make a note", No one fixed it while I was there. Drunken people fighting in the parking lot until all hours. Not a place for families
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve D wrote a review Mar 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Decent place to rest your head, close to the ferry and well priced (non pet friendly room). Stayed here Sunday night, efficient check-in, clean room, thanks for the free breakfast, wasn't expecting that and it was a nice surprise!
The only con I'd say and I didn't get a pet friendly room is that your pet fee is very expensive! I stayed in Sechelt the night before at a nicer place and the fee was $20 vs $35. It's an example of management gauging guests. 1/4 of your nightly fee for a pet fee doesn't make sense for your market.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Info The Cedars, Owner at Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Responded Mar 25, 2022
Thank you for your review Steve! We are happy to see you enjoyed your time here at the Cedars Inn. Our guests do enjoy their free breakfast at Timmy's! We did want to point out that the pet fee is not a nightly charge here. If a guest with a pet stays for a week, it is just the one-time cleaning fee of $35. We will take your input into consideration while we evaluate this fee going forward. Thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tyler R wrote a review Oct 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Had an employee staying there for work, well tried to have him stay there. Made the reservation and in the reservation form told them to charge the card on file that we used for the reservation. Got a call asking when we might be checking in I told them the employee would be showing after 4pm and they where surprised it wasn’t me checking in. So I explained to them that it was an employee of our company and that to charge the card we sent for the reservation. Ok no problem right we’ll not the case. They want a credit card authorization form not an issue tell them to send it and I will fill it out and send it back. They don’t send it I try calling and can not get the front desk or reservations. So the evening rolls around and my guy calls me asks what’s going on so I tell him. They finally send the credit card authorization form I fill it out asap with adobe. Send that in well it’s all good right, nope. I need to send a picture of the credit card front and back and a picture of my id front and back. Okay fine take the pictures and send them away. All good right thinking what could be next. Like do you want my first born child. We are talking one guy for two nights. Oh well my employee gets told from the hotel employee that we have cancelled the reservation now because the signature on the id doesn’t perfectly match your electronic signature on the form. Your joking right. You have got to be joking me. I have used electronic signatures for everything. I have used it multiple times for mortgages, credit apps, and credit card authorization forms. So I called the hotel got through and told them okay I will sign it by hand and send it back and I get told nope to late reservation has been cancelled. So they have now cancelled the reservation and sent the guy off to a ferry terminal that he was lucky enough to catch the last ferry back to the lower mainland. Hmm sounds like I will just air bnb.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JoeKannuck72 wrote a review Dec 2022
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There is no reason that this place should be called a 3-star hotel. I hate leaving bad reviews but I was so annoyed when I left. I thought I was booking a different hotel down the street but I was doing it over the phone with my wife so we miscommunicated. What a mistake. The place is really run down. It was all open air in the hallways; the doors to the courtyard were always open so it was freezing until I managed to get in the room. It was just kind of dank and uncomfortable and the courtyard seemed cold and institutional. The room was really dated and in poor repair. Half of the light switches didn't do anything. The fan was so loud that I didn't want to keep it on, but it didn't seem to do anything. The bathroom ceiling was stained and peeling. The bathroom counter was falling off the wall. The old carpet was stained. There were stains and dents all over the wall in the entrance. I wondered if they had done any updates since the 1980s. The first night was kind of whatever. Then I came back on the second afternoon and there was no hot water. I tried again later - same thing. In the morning, still no hot water. I tried to call the front desk but the phone didn't work so I had to call from my cell. They said they had left a note in the room to tell me that the boiler was broken and would not be fixed for the foreseeable future. Nope - no note. They were very apologetic and said they would give me 20% off the nights I had stayed but I didn't see that on my bill. I had to move to another hotel for my third night in town. Hotels need to provide two things at the very least: a comfortable place to sleep, and a place to bathe. Ultimately, this place offered neither.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: You get either a view of the street or the parking lot.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew B wrote a review Dec 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I wish I could say even comment on my stay but I cant! The manager Diana was absolutely terrible to deal with. I admittedly booked the wrong date for my stay, I was trying to book for late December and accidentally booked for THE DAY IT CURRENTLY WAS. Keeping in mind this was at 4pm, they called me at 6pm to ask if I was coming and I said "im sorry I live in Kelowna and meant to book for a month from now, not today." They wanted to charge my card until I said I would call my credit card company. They finally agreed to move my date to late December, but with a catch that I can't cancel like other patrons because I made a mistake on my booking? When our basketball tournament got cancelled last minute I called 40 hours in advance to cancel but they refused. I am now being charged for 2 rooms when I am not even in town. I have never dealt with such poor management from a hotel in my life. I have brought multiple groups of 12+ high school basketball teams to stay at Cedars Inn but will never book there again. As a local who grew up in Gibsons from birth-19 years of age, I can't stress how bad this customer service was. Thanks for the $300 bill!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mel Espadilla, Revenue Management at Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Responded Jun 28, 2023
We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience dealing with our management team onsite. Our mission is to provide excellent guest experiences, so we are sorry to have let you down. We have taken your feedback and discussed it seriously with the management team, and we will strive to make improvements accordingly. We would like to invite you again to see the many upgrades and changes to our hotel and personnel. You can also get in touch with me directly to discuss your future bookings and we can correct the mistakes that happened.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mrtravellingman wrote a review Oct 2021
Castlegar, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Well no elevator to second floor enter through a dingy hallway that I cannot imagine at night. Room as far as we could be down the hall.
Hotel is old and smelly. When I went back to front desk and said I didn’t want the room I was told absolutely no refund and all I did was walk up to the room and back. The ( I assume he was the manager) was pretty non caring We left and found another place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Info The Cedars, Owner at Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Responded Nov 3, 2021
We are sorry you feel this way about your few moments you spent at our hotel. You checked in and returned to the front desk to state you could not stay on the 2nd floor, due to the stairs. We immediately, and happily, offered you a free upgrade to one of our more expensive rooms on the ground floor to accommodate your needs. You refused this offer and demanded to cancel your reservation without penalty. We advised that we cannot cancel a reservation where we have provided the accommodations asked of us on the day of the reservation without taking payment. You angrily and very menacingly shouted obscenities at our front desk staff, who are simply following the same guidelines every hotel in Canada follows. Hotels require at least 24 notice to cancel a reservation without penalty. That is standard operating procedure in the Canadian hotel industry. The front desk staff did not deserve this harassment for simply doing their jobs and we ask that you find accommodations elsewhere when you stay in Gibsons.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John M wrote a review Jul 2021
Cowichan Bay, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great value, Clean rooms, Honest staff . The pool area was a very nice place to relax after work during the summer, and the sana was very nice when I stayed there in the Winter. Has all the amenitys at a great value and I liked it when I had to check out a day early and got a full refund without any hassle great honest service!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Info The Cedars, Owner at Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Responded Aug 18, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are glad you got a chance to enjoy our pool, hot tub and sauna. It's a great place to spend a hot summer's day! We try and keep the cost of our hotel fair for the area and, being a family owned business, we appreciate our customers and are enthused by their enjoyment of our hospitality and and the beautiful coast we call home! We hope to see you back here soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
JoeKannuck72 wrote a tip Dec 2022
Crowsnest Pass, Canada165 contributions31 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"You get either a view of the street or the parking lot."
Read full review
Boogalie wrote a tip Aug 2021
Manitoba379 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early. "
Read full review
RGlenn88 wrote a tip Oct 2020
Medicine Hat, Canada196 contributions71 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a different hotel."
Read full review
littlevic676 wrote a tip Aug 2019
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are great, plus, you're on the Sunshine Coast, the outdoors await."
Read full review
Len M wrote a tip Sep 2017
Bonnyville7 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Third floor was great"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gibsons area.
PRICE RANGE
C$201 - C$237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaSunshine CoastGibsons
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre?
Nearby attractions include Sunshine Coast Olive Oil Co. (1.1 km), Sunshine Coast Museum and Archives (1.0 km), and Sa Boothroyd Gallery (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Black Bean Cafe, The Pink House Bistro, and Mike's Place.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Gibsons.
Are pets allowed at Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Gibsons HotelsGibsons Hotel DealsHotels near Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars