Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

Pretty view from our room. My photo cuts out the six-story building on the left
Traveller (6733)
Panorama at the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios, Curio Collection by Hilton
360
Panoramas (25)
Pool & Beach (1821)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 all-inclusive in Mammee Bay
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Experience the adults-only, all-inclusive, luxury Jewel Dunn’s River Beach Resort and Spa, located just moments from spectacular Dunn’s River Falls, one of Jamaica’s must-see attractions. Offering 250 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites featuring breathtaking views of the sparkling Caribbean Sea, the lush Jamaican mountains or tropical gardens. Pamper yourself with concierge-service or completely indulge with a butler-serviced suite.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Free airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Swimup bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Bay View

Location

Mammee Bay Rd, Mammee Bay Jamaica
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
Sangster Intl Airport
79.4 km
See all flights
Norman Manley Airport
70.1 km
See all flights
7,160Reviews1,554Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,022
  • 1,963
  • 728
  • 284
  • 163
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Krysti F wrote a review Mar 2020
Kingston, Canada7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I took our first ever kid-free vacation after 13 years of marriage. This resort was perfect for us! So clean, comfortable and a wonderful environment to relax together in. The was no shortage of entertainment when we were feeling social and no shortage of fresh towels and lounge chairs on the beach when we were feeling lazy. The balance of sandy beach and lush vegetation made the ground of the resort fun to explore and the friendly cats that laze about in the sun are amenable to accepting little pats on the head as well.

The lay out of the property is set in a way that maximizes a natural ocean breeze through the open corridors, setting an enjoyable climate almost every where you go. Natural greenery for shade or umbrella coverage are never far away and the individual controls for AC in the rooms are easy use. Some days we did not even use AC, instead just opting to open the large airy windows in our room and enjoy the ocean breeze. Despite the lush natural greenery, I did not see a single mosquito anywhere in Jamaica. Other than butterflies and maybe one hornet, the resort truly feels like a magical little piece of paradise!

The spa is a lovely spot for a pedicure if like me you didn't have time to get one before the trip. The staff were always helpful and polite, we never felt rushed. There is an orientation each morning for newly arrived guests which is helpful for getting your bearings. A wonderful variety of dining options meant we were never bored with our food options. Every day was different, never repetitive. The staff were friendly and helpful every step of the way.

A special thank you to Sophia, who was there at check in and check out. She truly made us feel like valued guests. This is a resort we will definitely be returning to. Although we had never stayed with a Jewel branded resort before, we will make a point to return to this specific resort if we ever have another kid-free holiday.

Thank you Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa....you really are a jewel in Jamaica!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Dear krystif2019, Thank you for sharing your prestige opinion on our resort. Please know that we enjoyed hosting you as much as you enjoyed your stay. We are excited to know that you loved your stay at our resort and that you were pleased with your room and our service. Thank you for your kind comments on all our associates who made sure that your stay was a wonderful one, especially Sophia. She is indeed amazing! It was indeed a pleasure hosting you at our resort. Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent vacation! We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another beautiful stay in paradise! Best Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bethb wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Honestly couldn’t have been any better, from start to finish was extremely excellent we were never bored, Jamaica is filled with action and excitement. We did a variety of trips we were actually on the road everyday, we went blue hole, Dunn’s river falls,Chukka was crazy fun though was the best, better be prepared to get down and dirty the tubing and al was superb. The food at the restaurants was ok but we went to a outside restaurant by the name of scotchies one evening for dinner which was a few minutes from the hotel It was to die for they have the best jerk chicken, pork the rice was delicious that’s a must try. Property was small and very comfortable our rooms were properly taken care of everyday there was a different design left on our bed by the maid with towels. The staff were always smiling and helpful really want to highlight the best staff on property who made our trip really fun Cheeky from the entertainment team was always active,Uton,Gregory,mark-oneil,sherome,Tia and Danae these staff were exceptional but our favorite was really Cheeky he had the crowd going once he’s on the microphone. Fun experience though worth recommending.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 11, 2020
Dear Bethaniebr, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our resort. We are thrilled to know that you had an excellent time during your stay with us and that you were pleased with our amazing associates, Cheeky,Uton,Gregory,Mark-Oneil, Sherome,Tia and Danae. We will congratulate them on a job well done! Thank you for choosing to stay at Jewel Dunn's River Adult Beach Resort and Spa. We do look forward to your return in the near future for another lovely stay with us. Best Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Delanie M wrote a review Feb 2020
9 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our stay at Jewel Dunn’s River, even though we were one of the younger couples staying at the resort. We stayed for 7 days and enjoyed all of the daily events (aquacise and midday pool games were our favourite) We did the beach rendezvous package on Valentine’s Day and service was great. All of the food was delish and there were lots of different options....But we got pizza everyday for lunch because it was that yummy! They have a cute turtle/fishy pond and there was a hummingbird in his nest in that area too, it was very cool. It was also nice to see that they were always cleaning, if there were leaves in the pool they were gone quickly, if it rained they mopped as soon as it stopped, they even sweep the sand off of the tiled areas!

Our FAVOURITE part of our vacation was our bartender Cornell!! We would go to the jasper bar at nighttime and use the swim up bar so we could hang out in the hot tub and listen to his awesome music! He was always singing, dancing, and doing awesome tricks..He definitely made our stay. On our last night he was moved to another bar so that’s where we were hanging out, unfortunately no awesome music there, but no biggie..Still rad!

The only downside to this resort is the massage ladies. The same lady would walk around and ask you if you wanted a massage about 5-6 times a day....and there were at least 5 different massage therapists if not more doing the same thing.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Dear Delanie00, Thank you for sharing your review of our resort with us. We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful stay at our resort! We had a great time hosting you as well and are very pleased to know that you had a very relaxing experience with us. We truly appreciate all the kind comments on our associate, Cornell, as well as the overall service which you received. We will share your lovely comments with Cornell and congratulate him on a job well done. We note your feedback on the area you found unsatisfactory and will certainly share with our Management Team to be addressed. Thank you for making it Jewel Dunn's River Adult Beach Resort and Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
steve n wrote a review Feb 2020
Norton Shores, Michigan4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our fourth year in a row that we have been to Jewells Dunn’s River Falls Resort. The resort is beautiful and the employees are super, food is very good. But the management has made changes over the years that will probably make this the last visit. In previous visits the Concierge knew what to do and was very helpful, now they have a pleasant employee who will smile but do nothing and give you the look like (really you want me to do something).Contacted Concierge three times before arrival to request a room on the pool side of our building (Diamond). Arrived Friday 1/31 and was told our room was overlooking the resort next door. I told the Concierge that we would move when a pool-side room became available (received my first really look) was told a room would not be available until at least Monday at the earliest (3 days) I said that I would still move (received my second really look) was told to check back on Monday morning. On Saturday 12:30 pm I went to the front desk they knew nothing about room change request, apologized and said it could be done tomorrow (Sunday). At 10:00 AM we received a call that someone was being sent to get our luggage. The Porter did not know what room we would be going to and that we needed to check with the front desk after noon. Checked with Concierge she said she could not tell us until the move was complete. Went checked back at 1:00, 2:00, and 3:00 always same answer finally after getting upset we did get our room at 3:30. The resort advertises premium liquor which they did have the first three years. Now they call LTD Whiskey, Gordons Gin, Smirnoff Vodka and some rot gut Tequila premium not even close. But if you do want premium, they will sell you a bottle at twice the price and keep it at one bar for you. They have 7 bars so you will need to walk to your alcohol. Want a glass of Moscato you will have to buy a $7 bottle for $45. Want a nice steak $80 for two, want crab legs or lobster $30 each want a nice spot to watch the Super Bowl another $35 each. For an All Inclusive they are not. Other than employees who recognized us from previous years and gave us a very warm welcome there was no acknowledgement on being a returning guest. At check-in they asked if it was our first time. Previous years the management staff made a point of personally acknowledging that we were returning guests. Rooms also need updating things are looking worn. Elevator in Diamond building needs help (malfunctioned 3 times had to take Service elevator). Fire alarm also went off twice during the middle of the night (called front desk they apologized that it was system failure). This had me questioning the location of the fire extinguishers which I checked and found a few had not been inspected in a couple of years. Needless to say, we will be exploring other destinations in Jamaica.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Diamond Rooms with ocean view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Dear 52steve70, Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to learn of your negative experience at our resort as it is always our intention to exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your feedback with our Management Team. We can confirm that all of our extinguishers are current and that we do monthly inspections. Thank you once again for bringing your concerns to our attention. Kind Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony Z wrote a review Feb 2020
Easton, Pennsylvania1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On a positive note Judy, And bartenders Andrew and Jamar were wonderful most everyone else was just ok.

On the sad side... the dive shop cancelled last minute for our trip and still charged us even with numerous attempts and telling people to not charge us. Checkout took 30 minutes because of the extra charge and eventual credit.

The sink in our room leaked the whole stay. It took till the second full day there until we figured out the benefits of the Butler service. Still then only one Butler was helpful.

The food was just ok. The dinner on the pier was ok but served food not to everyone’s liking.

One day maid service never came and when complaining about it the only thing they would offer were items our room already came with and we already paid for. Not much of a sorry for the inconvenience.

The last day we were treated like we didn’t belong. When asking for mimosas we were told no even though we got them all week before. Not much of a thank you for staying here.

When plans change for entertainment the change was never communicated to anyone. We ended up waiting around for nothing to happen.

Overall a good Jamaica experience but will never go back here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 2, 2020
Dear trzedar, Thank you for your valued feedback on your stay at our resort. We are sad to hear of the unsatisfactory service you received throughout your duration with us. Please know that we will share your comments with our Management Team to be addressed. Your feedback is extremely important to us and will help us to improve. We appreciate your kind words on Judy, Andrew and Jamar. It is a delight to know that they provide you with exemplary service! We will share your commendations with them and congratulate them all on a job well done! We do hope that you will allow us to host you again in the future. Kind Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mr .Hustle wrote a review Jan 2020
Montreal, Canada354 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We just spent a week with another family here during the prime Christmas New Years holiday period . We payed a premium price to go that week. .

We had stayed here many years ago when Sandals owned the property

The property is beautiful , the beach is fabulous soft sand, calm water. .

The resort is nice but not exceptional. The vibe is missing and it lacked any pulse. Entertainment was disappointing and really low level at best in the evenings. Real lack of program direction. We all felt the general staff were nice and friendly but true management was lacking to oversee and guide the staff for guest experience .

The first day I spent 3 hours trying to get a beach towel. It was finally resolved but only after I made a ruckus at the front desk did someone from management finally show up . They did resolve it by delivering beach towels to my room for 5 of the 7 days. They just stopped but towels were available at the beach when they stopped .

There always seemed to be a little disconnect concerning being out of items like the cookies at the coffee bar or mint or mango at the regular bar. Sometimes even chicken at the snack bar . And the staff seemed unable to resolve like it was beyond them to take care of it. They just apologized but did nothing. Management is lacking here .

Food was acceptable but not 5 star and not as good as I remember from when it was a sandals. Food was a 3 out of 5

Specialty restaurants were ok but told us there was an allotment for our group so if we each wanted 2 orders of spring rolls each we could not all have ? Never saw this in an all inclusive. Go try a cruise to see how to treat a guest .

There was an issue on New Year’s Eve around 6 pm they started to work on a pump and closed the water to our rooms. We needed to shower before the gala evening and It took me 45 minutes to get it resolved and the manager was a little rude with me but resolved it . Not what I expect of a 5 star ..

It was enjoyable and most of the staff was friendly and warm. Coffee bar and the staff here was a highlight as well as the staff on the beach . It was quiet and relaxing.

No real shows at night that were worth seeing or any mixer events which I thought most all inclusive do to get the guests aquatinted . I would give it a 3 star but if management stepped Up their game it could be a 4 star

Summary a strong 3 star resort
Nice property and nice quiet beach
If you get a really good price then stay here if not go to the RIU or if you want a really low key quiet place but no 5 star resort
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Dear 940stevenz, Thank you for your recent visit to Jewel Dunn’s River Adult Beach Resort and Spa, and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your vacation experience. We are disheartened to learn of the unmet expectations in some aspects of your stay, and appreciate the insight which you have provided. We will analyze each and every point of your review to explore opportunities for improvement. We trust that you will consider giving us another opportunity in the future, and hope to provide a more enjoyable experience next time around. Kind Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill D wrote a review Feb 2020
Cincinnati, Ohio14 contributions24 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First it should be said the Jewel Dunns River had some of the best food we have experienced in the Caribbean. Second the service staff were also very nice, always smiling and ready to be helpful. The resort is kept pristine. The beach is small but very nice especially for the windward side of the island.
But it stops there. Housekeeping is substandard. Room was not cleaned until 4-5 in the afternoon. ( that's the time we returned to room for short nap and get ready for dinner)Also room was not restocked with shampoo etc. Had to ask for coffee creamer and more coffee for next day. One day after getting out of shower we realized there were no towels.
There was a bulb burned out in one of the lamps. We took the bulb out and put in on the desk hoping someone would take notice, however on checkout day it was in the same place as 6 days before. There was not a safe in our room. A couple we knew asked 5 days in row for a safe. The answer was always the same “ it will be there in an hour” They never got one.

The most disturbing issue is they cater to Cruise ships. Cruise passengers use this resort for day excursions. On those days it was impossible to get a chair at the beach or pool and the resort became very crowded.
Also be careful with transportation to and from the hotel. The transportation furnished by the hotel is "shared" which means with other hotels.. Multiple stops are made which increases the already long travel time.

As a travel agent we are always looking for resorts for our clients. Dunns River has same really nice attributes, however the negatives outweigh the Positive. We would not recommend the resort to our clients.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 6, 2020
Dear Bill D, We are truly sorry to learn of the disappointing experience you had at our resort! We aim to achieve 100 per cent guest satisfaction but clearly we did not attain this with you during your stay. Thank you for bringing your valued concerns to our attention. Please know that we will share your review with our Management Team to be addressed. Your feedback is extremely important to us and will assist us in improving. We do hope that you will allow us another opportunity of hosting you in the future. Kind Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmberNicole wrote a review Feb 2020
Topeka, Kansas13 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is approx a 2 hour drive from the Montego Bay airport (without stops). Highly recommend private transport to avoid stopping a dozen times to drop off other passengers. We stayed in the Emerald Lanai which is located very close to the pools, bars, beach and spa. The groundkeepers start there machines at about 8am right outside the rooms. It was very disruptive and impossible to sleep during. But I understand they have to keep the resort looking nice, which they do. The pools were very nice and fairly clean. The towel situation is interesting, if you have one of those microfiber towels that are easy to pack I would recommend you bring that. The food at most of the restaurants on property were good, not great. Except the Japanese place it was fantastic! We took the hobie Cats out 3x and had a great time! Try to avoid the people hanging out on the fence trying to sell you things. We bought our souvenirs from the people selling and allowed on the property. The beach massage with Indiera was absolutely amazing! The bartenders were friendly, fun and attentive. The entertainment was good too. Overall the resort was a bit run down, quaint, charming, fairly clean and the people were nice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear Ambo08, Thank you for choosing our resort as your vacation destination. Your patronage is truly appreciated. We note your concerns and thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We empathize with your challenges experienced and offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused as a result of the matters brought to us. We will be sure to share your valued comments with our Management Team to be addressed. It was again our privilege to host you, and we hope to be given another opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John Buchanan wrote a review Jan 2020
Mississauga, Canada11 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I spent Jan 15-22, 2020 with 5 other family members & friends. The hotel staff were very friendly, and I would characterize the food as ‘good’, as opposed to poor or gourmet. There were ample local food dishes provided at every meal. Our room was adequate, with the comment that the bathroom was ultra small. It was awkward to navigate it’s tiny space for us.
The property unfortunately only has a relatively narrow beach, just a couple hundred metres. The pool deck was large with ample lounge chairs. The Entertainment Director on the pool deck was very active and led a number of (loud) events through the day for those participating.
Our big issue with this resort was the noise made by the gardeners. Each day, they arrive early with their gas-powered motorized back-packs to blow away the leaves that fell in the night. The property is extensively treed, so the gardeners were on site for several hours daily amid the pool deck, beach chairs, and buffet areas. A less noisy solution would be for management to simply equip the gardeners with rakes; this would relieve the guests from hearing those very noisy machines when trying to relax end enjoy peace and quiet.
We will not return to the Jewel for this reason alone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 26, 2020
Dear John B, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our resort and consequently will not be returning. Here at Jewel Dunn's River, we aim to provide a wonderful experience for all of our guests and we are disheartened to hear that we did not meet this mark with you. We note your valued concerns on the noise. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention. We offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused you as a result of the matter brought to our attention. Please know that we will share your concerns with our Management Team to be addressed. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope that you will allow us to host you again in the future. Kind Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1Avanti wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When you have to pay extra big bucks for food items like Steak, Crab, Lobster, Red Snapper etc etc .
This is not all inclusive.! The Platinum restaurant requires dress slack, button shirt etc so I bring all this on vacation to Jamaica to find out it costs extra for some of the food :-(
The Staff are Fantastic,Very friendly and helpful. The beach is great if you know what to expect. The waves crash/ break farther out so the water was not ruff coming into shore.
The beach is about 100 yds. This not a beach we’re you can walk for a long stroll.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KemishaGordon, Manager at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Dear 1Avanti, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We note your concerns and thank you for bringing the issues to our attention. We will pass on your valued comments to our Management Team to be addressed. We hope that we will be given the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort in the future. Kind Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fred639 asked a question Nov 2021
Saint Peters, Missouri
Is topless allowed for the lady's?
Eandiver355 asked a question Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Does the resort offer free transportation to and from airport?
Answer from Eandiver355
1 contribution1 helpful vote
So its not open? I talked to reservation department the other day for Feb 26-March 5. They were ready to take my money. I know Sandals does because I stayed at Ochi Rios this past March
Iris asked a question Mar 2021
Holbrook, New York
I want to know when is it going to open?
25davem wrote a tip Jun 2020
Midland, Canada160 contributions67 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ocean view is nice"
Read full review
gatordoodle wrote a tip Mar 2020
Ruskin, Florida15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask to not be put near the elevator and an ocean view is worth it!"
Read full review
Bev B. wrote a tip Mar 2020
St. Paul, MN12 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had an ocean view room (not ocean front) but since we had transferred from another resort we were totally fine."
Read full review
StellaStLucia wrote a tip Mar 2020
Boulder, Colorado1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No bad place in the House, but if you need two beds be sure to book in the Garden buildings."
Read full review
Pasde13 wrote a tip Mar 2020
Midland, Canada37 contributions104 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Even numbered rooms have views (full or partial) of the ocean - diamond building is next door to the large RIU resort."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mammee Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
C$956 - C$1,179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the jewel dunn`s river beach resort and spa, the jewel dunn`s river beach hotel ocho rios
LOCATION
CaribbeanJamaicaSaint Ann ParishMammee Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
250
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Kool Jamaica Tours (7.3 km), Konoko Falls & Park (7.1 km), and Dunn's River Falls and Park (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bamboo Blu, Juici-Beef Patties, and Miss T's Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Mammee Bay HotelsMammee Bay Hotel Deals
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars