We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pine Cone Camping

Exit 198 TCH P.O. Box. 4852, Penobsquis, Sussex, New Brunswick E4E 5L9 Canada

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 2 campsites in Sussex
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
32Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 5
  • 1
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Shelley M wrote a review Aug 2023
Fredericton, Canada2 contributions
+1
My daughter and I took my 5 grandchildren to Pine Cone Campground for a 3 days 3 night trip we rented one of their campers.I would recommend this Campground to anyone who wants friendly,efficient staff and a great experience. We enjoyed the pools and playground very much .Nice clean areas and friendly next door campers .Campers was roomy with a nice big covered deck. Wonderful experience would definitely go back again. GOOD PRICE for this place
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Great experience
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Paul G wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Pinecone used to be a decent place to camp prior to newish management. I think her name is Lori. Zero personality, zero management skill. Ignorant and rude. The WiFi is non existent, the bathrooms are a disgrace. Kids are unruly. When security comes around you are constantly told to be quiet. Last time I checked I payed to camp and have fun! Nobody was being loud and it was definitely nowhere near quiet time. Instead kids ran around that park screaming and hollering uncontrollably. Most things are tolerated but this Lori girl ruined it for us. I don’t recommend this park.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lori Cleveland, General Manager at Pine Cone Camping
Responded Sep 7, 2023
Hi Paul G. I'm terribly sorry for the unpleasant experience you had here in our park. I clearly recall our interaction and you were very upset that you couldn't get free Wi-Fi at your site. As I explained at the time, because of the many beautiful trees in our park, some sites have very limited Wi-Fi. We encourage kids and adults to enjoy our park at only at quiet time we enforce this due to the many families with young children. We apologize for your unpleasant experience and would love to welcome you back for a second try.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kimberly L wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
On the website, it states that the WIFI is working and one of the amenities that the campground offers.. this is not true. The WIFI doesnt work at all. The only way to get the wifi is if you go “hangout” at the main office near the road, but its still not a strong signal. I have also noticed that there are clicks in the campground. Some people think that they are better than others and wont even say hi to anyone. There are also double standards at this campground. We have visited and in the rules, it states that there is only to have 1 car per site, but yet, some sites have 2 cars and nothing is done about it. When contacted the office, they say they will come have a look but dont actually do. We had our kids with is when we were there and there are people that have no consideration at all. There was loud music at all times during the day, when the campers were not at their site and could hear it without windows closed and the A/C on. Then at night, it went on past quiet times. When i called security, nothing was done. The next day, the music continued, and when i called again, the owner came by and told me that it was not loud at all. The security at night is awful. They always seems to go and hangout at certain sites, but when a complaint came in, they turned their nose and did nothing about it. I have to say, not having a canteen is not acceptable. When you need something, ex: time of the month.. theres nothing there, there no bread, milk, eggs, etc… those are essential items that can be used to make a meal and there is a lack of it. And prices are ridiculous for certain things. Lets talk about the bathrooms. The bathrooms behind the main pool are a disgrace. There is no handicap access, so when my grandmother comes, makes it very hard for her. There is also no room to sit down and have the door closed because they are very small. its very outdated, not clean, and water is cold, there is no hot water. With Covid being here, the rules at the pool states and posted, 10 people in pool area only but its bit enforced at all. There were more than 10 people in that area at a time and nothing was said. When people tried to get xplornet in the park because there is no wifi, the company told them that the owner doesnt want them in there at all, which means they cannot have their own internet which is ridiculous. Lets talk about the kids. Where do i start… Im all for kids being kids, but, when they have no respect for your stuff and keep running through occupied campsites, its a little much. When we talk to the parents, nothing gets done. When we talk to the owners, they send out a message to everyone but nothing happens. I have heard people getting fat shamed with my own ears and saw it happen.. but whats the use of complaining… kids laugh at people having hard times getting up because of mobile issues… and when you complain to the office, they just tell you, if you dont like it, you can leave and we will replace you. And last but not least, management dont seem to care about problems or complaints that they receive. They only care about $$$. I will never recommend this campground to anyone that has kids.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CSGaudet wrote a review Sep 2018
Thunder Bay, Canada45 contributions7 helpful votes
We spent half a week visiting parents at this campground. My sister also took advantage of their rental option and rented an RV for her family, while we shared my parents. The park was very nice to walk around in and people were all very friendly. The only thing that wasn’t awesome was the garbage drop off location but it was a long weekend so someone would likely be getting to it on the following Tuesday. Their were also cows at an adjacent farm to go look at in addition to the swimming pools, ring toss, and basketball courts - lots to do. We played washer toss and had a few beers and lots of great campfires. Highly recommend this campground!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alan B wrote a review Jul 2018
46 contributions19 helpful votes
We stayed for one night in a space that was very, very close to neighbors all around (like a matter of a few meters close). Our site had many pieces of small trash, fresh gum, bottle caps and other small trash all throughout. We had absolutely no privacy. The neighbors were all seasonal campers who were ready to party on a Friday night. They did, playing music until late at night. We found the seasonal campers to all be pretty friendly, but this place was not for us, who wanted to go to bed early and not have the rest of the camp ground watching everything were doing. The WiFi (clearly advertised as a feature) was nonexistent for us. Our neighbors laughed when we asked them how to access it. They said "You'll be better off using your own hotspot." Compared to the many other more spacious, cleaner and meticulously managed campgrounds we stayed in around NE Canada, this ranks at the bottom for us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Amy20015 wrote a review Jun 2016
Saint John, Canada32 contributions13 helpful votes
We have traveled for the last 3 years and just love this park. There is always something going on for the kids. There are 2 pools, play ground, canteen. The Staff are so friendly and always willing to help with what ever your needs. They have just updated one of the bathroom buildings and it is fantastic. We can't wait to spend more time there this summer.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
NovaScotiagirl-21 wrote a review Jul 2014
Riverview, Canada384 contributions161 helpful votes
Pinecone is a specialized campgrounds for trailers only, especially geared to seasonal camping. We are seasonal campers there. The pros of staying at the campground, Week-end activities, bingo, movies, dances , all organized by the seasonal campers. Great job. They give back to the campground. There are new chairs at the pool, which were donated from the 50/50 money. Paved streets, great for kids biking, walking etc. Two nice pools, although the unseated pool is a bit cold. Lots of trees on the sites. 3 way sites - no tank dumping. Wifi Friendly campers. The cons No tents allowed. The rules are not enforced. It is loud at night. Lots of noise. People and the trucks from Potash. If your AC is off, you'll hear it. Canteen is under stocked, and poorly ran. It needs more. We are often banned from having campfires, but other nearby campgrounds are not. Seems more of a management decision. Lots of people everywhere, the pool on the weekend is over crowded. No solution to that. If you have a trailer and kids , and aren't bothered by noise and crowds, this is a great spot.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TansRFading wrote a review May 2013
Saint John, Canada34 contributions33 helpful votes
It's a nice enough campground catering to seasonal campers. The lots are small and there's no security to enforce the rules, such as no bikes after dark, quiet time (midnight!), one vehicle per lot and motorized scooters, to name a few. While the parents are having a party at night with the music cranked up, the kids are roaming the streets...Complaints on the noise are routinely reported to the owners to no avail. I feel bad for the hardtops and hybrids with babies/young kids trying to sleep. Ask about Palm Tree Lane and stay away from it of you can. The trees have overgrown and have reduced the size of some lots. The campground was buiIt when trailers were 20 - 25 feet at the most. I routinely see motor homes being sent to lots better suited for hardtops. You may want to check your lot before you sign up. And to make it worse, some seasonals have built huge decks and park partially on the street. You'll probably need to get people to move their vehicles to back into your lot. With mostly seasonal campers and a reported long waiting list(?), they don't see the need to spend money making improvements or doing preventative maintenance. There's no cable connection and satellite can be a challenge given the trees. Wireless is limited to the office so you'll need to bring your laptop and sit on the park bench outside the office to get WiFi service. The electrical service is 25 Amps when most newer trailers have 50 Amp breakers, so you need to be careful not to overload the service. It's in bad shape, with direct buried cables that are over 30 years old, so it's common to have lots with no power as reported by others. There's 2 pools, but only one is heated, and they're only open for the July long weekend. The cleanliness of the washrooms is passable, with the facilities in rough shape. We only go because of the location and the fact we have friends there. If you're from out of province and looking for more than an overnight stay, there's a lot of better campgrounds elsewhere...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
barb l wrote a review Sep 2012
miramichi1 contribution20 helpful votes
Stayed here many times in the past but we feel now there is very little security and for a family campground. Where has the quiet time gone. Terrible with the loud music and believe it or not karaoke. Still going on very very loudly at 0220 hours. Children awake and upset along with the parents....not impressed even a little bit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PatDianne wrote a review Sep 2012
Oromocto, Canada1 contribution16 helpful votes
What a bad experience we had at this place. Overcrowded, noisy, small lots, no control at all, parties untill 03:00 am. Lots of kids with no supervision. The owners don't care about their clients. Just the money. The road are so narrow, they should be one-way but the owners wouldn't enforce it anyway The don't have the slightiest idea of what is quality/control. They just want your money. That place is a free-for-all. You can have loud music, scream all night nobody will stop you. Lots of party poeple, drunk like hell, Bad enough to make you think to sell your trailer !!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sussex area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
pine cone camping hotel sussex
LOCATION
CanadaNew BrunswickSussex
NUMBER OF ROOMS
250
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Pine Cone Camping - Reviews & Photos (Sussex, New Brunswick) - Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pine Cone Camping
Which popular attractions are close to Pine Cone Camping?
Nearby attractions include Sussex Murals (2.7 km), 8th Hussars Regimental Museum (1.4 km), and Sussex Adventure Mini-golf (1.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pine Cone Camping?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, kids activities, and babysitting.
What are some restaurants close to Pine Cone Camping?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taste and See Restaurant, JJ's Diner, and Knocks Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pine Cone Camping?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Pine Cone Camping?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.