We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capilano River RV Park

295 Tomahawk Ave, West Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 1C5 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (75)
Pool & Beach (2)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 campsite in West Vancouver
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry
210Reviews3Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 81
  • 53
  • 14
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Marie Y wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Front staff were very attentive for both the campsite, as well as off site. Site was clean, tidy and a good location, easily accessible to downtown Vancouver whilst leaving your motorhome parked up.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hannah H wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
The front staff are AWFUL. Do not come here if you don’t have too. They act as if you are bothering them, so so rude. They need to replace the staff with friendlier people who know how to do their job properly . Sites are cramped and no privacy .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager , General Manager at Capilano River RV Park
Responded Oct 16, 2023
Dear Guest, We are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience with our RV Park. We do strive to provide excellent customer service and on this occasion it sounds as if we missed the mark. We will do our best to learn from this and do better in the future. Our sites are tight due to the age of our park. It was constructed before the days of slid outs. We hope you will give us another try on your next trip through beautiful Vancouver. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maxine H wrote a review Aug 2023
Tamworth, United Kingdom18 contributions3 helpful votes
The staff are really helpful and knowledgeable at this RV site and they do an excellent job at keeping the site clean. They are very good at their job. However, please be aware that this site is more of a car park with showers/toilets than a campsite. Admittedly, we visited in August which was most likely one of the busiest months but the place was rammed with not an inch of space between the RV's. There wasn't a green patch of grass to be seen. The site is well located for trips into central Vancouver but very pricey - 70 dollars a night for our small camper van with 15 amp hook up. I wouldn't use it again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Too rammed with endless RV's to enjoy the experience.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager , General Manager at Capilano River RV Park
Responded Oct 16, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our RV Park. We do strive to provide excellent customer service and keep our location clean. Our park was constructed in the mid 80s so sites can be on tighter side dependent on the size of your unit and it's pull outs. We hope you will give us another try on your next trip through beautiful Vancouver. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Melanie L wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
WOULD GIVE 0 STARS IF THAT WAS A POSSIBILITY! Sites are ridiculously small. Could not extend our awning without being on our neighbors site. Bathrooms are disgusting - dirty day and night. Our trailer had an attempted break in a site with apparent security 24/7. The front office staff didn't seem to care about it. Had to call a mobile locksmith to open up our trailer. Will NEVER, EVER come back here AND will not recommend to any of our friends ever!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager , General Manager at Capilano River RV Park
Responded Oct 16, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our campground. It sounds as if we missed the mark on your stay and for that I apologize. We try to make every guest feel at home when staying with us. We do clean the bathrooms regularly between 8am and 10pm. I am sorry to hear about the damage to your trailer door. Always good to lock your doors. We rarely have issues, but they do happen from time to time as we are a city camp site. We have taken steps to improve park security. In September we extended high fencing completely around the park, limiting access to our secured front entrance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Coop wrote a review Jun 2023
10 contributions
I cant say much of anything good about this campground and this comes from a very experienced camper. Sites are ridiculously tight and literally on top of one another. Could not even extend awning. Many seasonal campers who use this as their home and there is "stuff" everywhere on their site. Pool looked nice and laundry looked fine so there's a plus. Office front desk seemed like we were bothering them while checking in. Could not connect to sewer unless I wanted to back motorhome 10 feet into the rear of site landscape bushes. I don't write negative reviews, but felt should share reality with others as it seemed online to be a good choice, however we were quite disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Keep looking for a better RV campground
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager , General Manager at Capilano River RV Park
Responded Oct 16, 2023
Dear Guest, We are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience with our RV Park. We do strive to provide excellent customer service and on this occasion it sounds as if we missed the mark. As for your concern around the sewer connection, if there was an issue with the site, we would have been happy to assist you if you. We will do our best to learn from this and do better in the future. We hope you will give us another try on your next trip through beautiful Vancouver. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie M wrote a review Jul 2022
Lac La Biche, Canada43 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Yes the sites are small - wouldn’t expect anything different at the base of the Lions Gate Bridge in North Vancouver. All employee interactions were helpful and friendly, full service(30 amp) site worked as it should and employees seen cleaning daily. We spent a total of 5 nights here. Laundry facility was excellent, while we didn’t use the pool many were enjoying it. Walking distance to Park Royal for those forgotten items. We enjoyed our stay here and its location to the Vancouver attractions. Believe it was priced reasonably given the location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book early. CAA get 10% off.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager , General Manager at Capilano River RV Park
Responded Sep 12, 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for the kind review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip through Vancouver. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adventurecurls wrote a review Jul 2022
Rietberg, Germany268 contributions142 helpful votes
In the first place we thought of camping on a wrecking yard between two old not in used caravans. But it turned out that there are people living in it. One of the permanent camptet seemed very nice and explained a lot things to us for gave us some tips on places and things to do while on the road. Basically on this campground there is one motorhome next to the other with no private space. The people at the reception didn’t bother much in explaining much to a different traveller how and where to catch a bus to downtown. They’d to figure that out themselves. Even when I tagged in asking to get something sorted, I didn’t receive the help I needed. Anyway, we could do our washing there. 3 CAD each for washing and drying. It was immense busy around dinner time. Almost impossible to get hold of a washing machine. Same with the dryer. I believe the codes written on the sheet, we got while checking in are placed at the wrong spot. The one for the laundry are actually for the rest and bathrooms and the other way around. Getting a drink at the vending machine doesn’t work. Minimum amount is 5 CAD. I only needed one which costs 1.40 CAD. There is a pool we didn’t use as time was short and a hot tub. Free Wifi but the reception is absolutely bad unless you sit in the laundry.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Difficult to do the washing around 6pm
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager , General Manager at Capilano River RV Park
Responded Sep 12, 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to review us online. It sounds as though we may have failed to meet your expectations and that saddens us. We hope you will give us another shot on your next trip through Vancouver. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Denise B wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
They are not very organized. One hand doesn’t know what the other is doing. They locked the bathrooms at midnight till 6 am. Tenters and car campers are SOL. But only one night, you get to guess which night and good luck finding a bush. They didn’t care about the distress it cased. The office staff said it didn’t happen. Then night security said they had to because of homeless persons. Even with a code lock on the door. Camp sights are very tight and smaller than they use to be. Not all have a picnic table. Nice location for visiting Vancouver.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager , General Manager at Capilano River RV Park
Responded Jul 11, 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to review our RV Park. The only building that is locked overnight is the lounge. The north washrooms are open 24/7 365. We would never leave our guests without an option to go to the bathroom. We apologize if this was not communicated to you properly. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tee wrote a review Nov 2021
Vancouver, Canada11 contributions12 helpful votes
1 star for the fact that I was camping. Sites are TINY, $53/night for partial hookup without water! Washrooms were clean, hot tub was the highlight, except for Kirsten (sp) front gate staff are UNWELCOMING and NONCHALANT with their customers. Might be decent for 1 night stay if passing through the city but I would stay home if that’s the only place available.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager , General Manager at Capilano River RV Park
Responded Feb 4, 2022
Dear Guest, We are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience with our RV Park. We do strive to provide excellent customer service and on this occasion it sounds as if we missed the mark. We will do our best to learn from this and do better in the future. We hope you will give us another try on your next trip through beautiful Vancouver. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wilfred D wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
We echo other visitors who stay there only because there is no other choice. For the price we paid, we really can expect better facilities. We stayed at one of the 15 amp sites next to the river, the afternoon shade was welcome, but the sites are small and some have very dilapidated, some even broken, camping tables. Our electric breaker kept tripping for no reason, the only draw was lights and a small fridge, way less than 15 amps. Kept happening until we plugged in at the neighbouring site. Washrooms were not particularly clean, didn't seem to get cleaned every day. There is a code to enter the washrooms, but the doors were wide open every time we used the facilities. There is only one location for over 200 campsites, obviously they are heavily used and should be serviced more frequently. There is a free but useless wi-fi option. For the price, I don't think it is unreasonable to expect an included and workable wi-fi service. Overall, we are not picky campers and I often see unfairly low ratings because of a minor flaw, but this was a rather mixed experience and we will try any other possible options before we stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager , General Manager at Capilano River RV Park
Responded Aug 9, 2021
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to review our campground online. Sounds like on this occasion we really missed the mark and for that my apologies. I would like to point out that we employ two cleaners who work really hard from 8am all the way to 9:30pm and cleanliness is one area we have really never had a complaint. Also there are a second set of much bigger washrooms in the north portion of the campground. Regardless it sounds like you had some issues with your stay and again our goal is for everyone to leave happy. We hope you will give us another shot on your next trip through Vancouver. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the West Vancouver area.
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaWest Vancouver
NUMBER OF ROOMS
208
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Capilano River RV Park - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Capilano River RV Park
Which popular attractions are close to Capilano River RV Park?
Nearby attractions include Ambleside Park (1.0 km), Park Royal Shopping Centre (0.6 km), and The Village Taphouse (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Capilano River RV Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a hot tub.
What are some restaurants close to Capilano River RV Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trattoria Park Royal, The Village Taphouse, and Cactus Club Cafe Park Royal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Capilano River RV Park?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Capilano River RV Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Capilano River RV Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Yaletown (5.6 km), Engine 374 Pavilion (5.7 km), and Gaoler's Mews (4.9 km).
Is Capilano River RV Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.