We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Save
Share
596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0 Canada
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Booking.com
US$173
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-11-23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$173
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-11-22
eDreams
US$173
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-11-23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1332)
360
Panoramas (53)
Room & Suite (806)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21-01-21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Updated 21-01-21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 11 hotels in Ucluelet
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Set in Nature, Designed for Comfort. Vancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Oceanfront Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year! Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with gas fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Currents, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired cocktails and light snacks by the fire at Big Beach Bar & Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
2000Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,088
  • 506
  • 226
  • 105
  • 75
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LYNDSEY P wrote a review Sep. 21
Campbell River, Canada54 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
If you're debating on where to stay in Ucluelet.. look no further! My husband and I stayed for 2 nights this last weekend and it was perfect! The views were amazing, from the room and the restaurant. The room was immaculate, the bed comfortable and equipped with any extra pillows, blankets you might need. All kitchen supplies were there, top of the line appliances and toiletries supplied. I would recommend this resort to anyone. Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Request a top floor is staying in a "trail view" room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Adele Larkin, General Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Lyndsey, Thank you so much for your great review, we truly appreciate your support and business. We look forward to having you return in the future. Adele
Read more
MegsBC wrote a review Sep. 2020
Comox, Canada6 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This resort is phenomenal! Clean, great Covid measures and gorgeous views! A huge shout out to Black Rock for delivering an incredible resort that definitely didn’t disappoint. We had a wonderful breakfast at currents restaurant (on property), and enjoyed exploring the area (wild pacific trail). In the past, we’ve stayed in Tofino, but lately it seems so busy. Ucluelet seems to have a more mellow vibe.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Adele Larkin, General Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Responded Oct. 2, 2020
MegsBC, We are so pleased you enjoyed the resort and your time in Ucluelet. All the best, Adele
Read more
Traveling-Queenster wrote a review Sep. 10
Port Moody, Canada13 contributions1 helpful vote
From the moment you walk into the large welcoming reception area you are treated as someone special. As this wasn't our first time we were pleasantly surprised by all the improvements that have been made over the last difficult year. From the Big Beach Lounge and Currents restaurants with their excellent views and now plexi-glass partition screens between the tables to all the eco friendly supplies in the suites, such as dish soap, laundry sheets, and the shampoo, conditioner and soap dispensers. The staff and management are eager to please and work hard to make a stay fantastic. Super clean, great food, and big smiles!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view suite
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Eric G wrote a review Aug. 2021
Mission, Canada1 contribution3 helpful votes
Went to black rock resort for a short honeymoon stay at start of august Location of resort and food were very good Booked room and was told about construction on hwy 4 , very nice of them to tell us that there would be significant traffic delays. Specifically asked if there would be any other things that would impact our stay as we were coming for our honeymoon and we wanted it to be perfect.was told No Upon our arrival it became apparent that there was a six unit building being built next door to our unit . The resort even had a laminated note apologizing for the construction and encouraged people to contact guest services if the construction was problematic. On the second day of our stay , the neighbours lit a portable hibachi charcoal barbecue and filled our unit full of smoke . Called that in to the front desk and they promptly had barbecue extinguished At the end of our stay we wrote a email to a staff member named "Adele" This is where our trip to Black Rock resort took a turn for the worse Told Adele that we were not very happy that we were not informed about the construction and jackhammering that occurred next to our unit as we had specifically asked if there would be anything that would impact our stay I also mentioned the barbecue and smoke in our unit being so bad that we had to leave our unit until the smoke cleared Her response was that the smoke couldn't have been to bad as the smoke alarm didn't go off and that she was going to go to the unit and burn some toast to see if that would trigger the alarm She mentioned in her email response that the construction next door was a situation out of her control Not true I suggest that they inform people of the construction or simply do not rent out units that are impacted Making someone feel like they are lying about excessive smoke in the unit left a very unsatisfactory impression on this writer Adele , you could do better
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lara Kemps, Owner at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Eric G- While we appreciate all reviews as they give us the opportunity to grow in our jobs, some reviews are just hurtful. Our Management and our team give 110 percent in our jobs. When we correspond with a guest, our correspondence is genuine. We chose to work in this Industry because we truly care about the guest experience. I apologize that you thought we could of done better well...we try our best every day. Eric, you could of been kinder
Read more
MacroLens wrote a review Aug. 2021
Victoria, Canada2 contributions
We started our stay at this resort situated on the black rocks of the coast of Ucluelet, in awe of the view in our room on the 3rd floor of the main building over looking the ocean (picture attached). Words cannot do justice to the view and the continual immersion in nature we felt with the massive windows inviting the view of the ocean, sky (including starry nights) and coast into our room. We could also hear the continual movement of the water and waves in this room, which was clean, comfortable and designed to "blend in" with nature all around us. We stayed for three nights and after having breakfast at Currents, the restaurant in the hotel, we went back every morning. The salmon skillet was an "OMG" dish from the first bite. We also dined there once in the evening, equally great and every seat in the dining room overlooks the ocean where we kept our eyes peeled for whales while we ate! I cannot say enough about the staff, every single staff member we interacted with was sincerely friendly and really cared about our stay and attention to detail, from check in to the staff at the restaurant. Not only are they well trained, but they are obviously hiring people who are true "people people". The energy of this place was so positive, made even more positive because its dog friendly! We didn't have ours with us for this trip but we sure enjoyed saying hello to everyone else's, dogs have a way of connecting people wherever they are! Finally, on a short walk away from the hotel along the ocean I discovered a sign about a ship wreck, looked up and there was the remnants of one of the ships that went down in the "Graveyard of the Pacific". Wow, a piece of history right there on the rocks (now getting covered with trees and brush but still very visible)! We also enjoyed a trip to the spa after a morning of hiking and doing yoga on Wickaninnish Beach! It was also amazing and so relaxing and rejuvenating. We also felt safe, COVID protocols were in place and staff and guests were compliant. This was a trip of a lifetime to this beautiful resort in this stunningly beautiful area. Could not have been a better stay. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Being on the third floor gave us a great view of the ocean and coast. I think all of the rooms...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$192 - US$326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
black rock oceanfront hotel ucluelet, black rock oceanfront ucluelet
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictBarkley SoundUcluelet
NUMBER OF ROOMS
133
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Nearby attractions include Wild Pacific Trail (0.8 km), Ucluelet Aquarium (1.0 km), and Florencia Bay (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pluvio restaurant, Heartwood Kitchen, and Jigger's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Black Rock Oceanfront Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Does Black Rock Oceanfront Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.