Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages

Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages

1874 Peninsula Rd PO Box 496, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0 Canada
Traveller (22)
Guesthouse Living Room
Room & Suite (25)
View from Room (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 8 guest houses in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages is located in Ucluelet, British Columbia, a small town on the Westcoast of Vancouver Island. The property is very centrally located and walking distance to all amenities and beaches. There are several property types to choose from depending on group size to allow for each guest's needs. They all have their own private bathrooms and cooking facilities including a deck with a bbq, free parking and wifi. Surfs Inn accommodations are comfortable and clean. The best retreat after hiking, surfing, relaxing and exploring!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bicycle rental
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Private check-in / check-out
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern

Location

1874 Peninsula Rd PO Box 496, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0 Canada
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 84 out of 100
84
Tofino-Long Beach Airport
22.1 km
See all flights
Alberni Valley Regional Airport
61.7 km
See all flights
99Reviews1Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 56
  • 35
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
F Parisien wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would disagree with one of the comments read previously - pictures of Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages are not accurate ... the place is even nicer than that. We had a perfect stay at the Elephant Cottage - the cottage are just the right size for our family of 4, it's well furnished and it's in the middle of the rainforest. We spent the evening on the back balcony, just listening to the noise of the forest. It's "downtown" but at the same time really quiet. Beds were really comfortable - and the staff is nice and helpful. Would go back there anytime!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary Ellen V wrote a review Jun 2018
Chilliwack, Canada60 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable two bedroom cabin with bunk beds in second room. Second room has its own shower. Only drawback is that the cabin is very small and while a family of two adults and three little ones could sleep here you would find it very crowded. We stayed here with three adults and found it somewhat cramped but certainly okay for three or four nights. Wonderful views of rainforest out all of the back windows and there is a door from the master bedroom to the outside. Early in the morning you can expect Deer to walk through to the back of the forest. Lovely couple who run this place. They were even accommodating enough to provide umbrellas. Great coffee supplied for morning. Expect rustic and you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark W wrote a review Jun 2015
Chamonix, France11 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the surfs in cedar loft for two nights. It has been fitted out really nicely with wood from the estate and you almost feel you are staying in a tree house. Comfortable beds, with everything you need. The cabins sleep 4 but the bed is in the living area and the other bed is up a steep ladder to a platform overlooking. Really lovely setting in the trees. Barbecue and miniature kitchen provided.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claudia S. wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I looked at photos and reviews for this place and thought it would be an exceptional place to stay. We stayed at their Casa Surf cottage. We were a couple and a mother and son, so the three rooms seemed perfect for us. We were a bit surprised when we arrived and discovered that photos can be misleading. Some of the walls of the place were scratched and looked like they needed another coat of paint, there was a big hole in the closet, all windows in the place were dirty, the mattresses were cheap and uncomfortable, the sheets smelled like someone had already slept in them, the pillows also smelled and when you took the covers off they were yellow with use. The place has the potential to be spectacular, but the details missing really cheapen it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
colin1957 wrote a review Sep 2019
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom255 contributions78 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Reading the many accolades for this property, we thought we would be moving in to some sort of paradise. I would agree with the rustic charm, ideal setting and some good equipment provided. We stayed in Elephant Cottage.
However, the place was barely big enough for four people, there was little room to store clothing, our friends disliked the bunk beds as being claustrophobic, also needing to manufacture their own window blind.
The living space was really uncomfortable, no matter where you sat.
The kitchen was cramped with no preparation space and seating was difficult for four people to sit together.
A word of caution, one of our party fell on the front veranda when we arrived- the wood can be slippery due to the moist environment!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rose.l L wrote a review Aug 2016
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay away!! Worst experience ever! Hostel bedroom for 4 people is too small, top deck is very close to the ceiling and hit my head, lenins and matresses were old and stinky, no towels and there's no enough tissue paper. Shared 1 bathroom with other guests so its constantly busy. Check the bed if there's bedbugs.
Kiwi cottage is even worst (this cottage is a duplex). If you're age 30 and under, stay away cause apparently it is restricted to have fun in this place. Too many restrictions not written on their website, staff keeps popping up in the cabin to complain and add more restrictions (and we were not even loud!)
Stay is cheap but restrictions are unreasonable. We were told we were allowed to cook but then staff called to demand extra cleaning fee cause there were too many of us! (Mind you, we used our own utensils) Apparently kitchen is for decoration only.
If you want to have fun, invest on a cabin were you and your friends can enjoy the place. Cut our stay from 2 nights to 1 night.
It would have been nice if the owner were clear and specific about their policy and restrictions prior to booking.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from littlebray, Owner at Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages
Responded Aug 9, 2016
Hi Rose, I am writing this to clarify all your untruths and exaggerations before I have this taken off of TripAdvisor. First of all you were a group of 10+ people that had rented to separate places. I will start with the inn. The mattresses are new as of this June and towels are at the front desk all you have to do is ask. As for the bedbug comment that is just a low blow as we do not and you know that. Now for Kiwi cottage and all your other points. It is attached to the owners house which is not uncommon in a tourist town. Yes they did come out as all 10+dogs were all running around with drones etc in a quiet neighborhood. The max people are 5 in the Kiwi cottage. Plus and it is well stated on our website that no pets are allowed in our accommodations or there will be a cleaning fee. That was stated to you. Although we didn't charge you and you actually left the place a disgrace. You did stay the 2 nights...which is just another lie. I think you should check the policies and restrictions on our website before you lie and slander my company.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The3Stewarts wrote a review Aug 2014
Aldershot, United Kingdom59 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So. Are you wondering is it worth driving to the West side of Vancouver Island? Just arrive in Ucluelet, Ukee! check in and get shown to the Cedar Loft Suites. The 6 of us, 2 families of 3 had the 2 ajoining cottages. The kids loved the loft arrangement sleeping. Great place to stay, get some meat from the supermarket, cold beers from the local liquor store and have a bar b q on the provided equipment. So glad we booked this
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from littlebray, Owner at Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages
Responded Aug 11, 2014
Thank you for your review for us!! Yes kids love the lofts ;)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laulaupip wrote a review Sep 2013
bristol36 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I know they have a few properties so this is just our experience of Hummingbird cottage - we didn't like it at all, and we would have changed if we were staying longer (we only stayed 2 nights).

This cottage is set in someone's backyard!!

Not a secluded part of town or anywhere secluded, as we were lead to believe!!!
The man in the 'main house' cut the grass as soon as we arrived - which was annoying and made us feel weird.

The cottage is ok, but there is an instruction sheet saying we have to do our dishes and remove the sheets from the bed. Ok, but a bit weird? I have never had to do this before!!!

There is no tv - not a big deal. The internet was slow. There were no SCREENS on the windows (what is it with no screens at holiday cabins?) so to get any fresh air in, the 1 or 2 windows that actually opened did not have a screen. Most of the windows did not open.

Also we were accosted by the lady in the house when she thought she saw my husband smoking INSIDE - he had walked to the cottage, put it out in an ashtray and came inside. She came running in the back door saying the whole place is non-smoking. We didn't know what she was talking about - he only smoked outside. It was VERY WEIRD and made us feel like they were spying on us all the time. She even asked him 'Are you sure you don't have a cigarette behind your back?' because he was standing with one arm behind him.

In conclusion, it did not feel like a secluded holiday cottage with any privacy. Maybe their other cottages are properly private, but this one was not.

We only picked this one because there was a BBQ available, but then when we went to use it last night the BBQ lighter was nowhere to be found, and the one on the BBQ didn't work. So that was pretty annoying.

Also the check in time was 4pm, and check out time was 9-10:30. So it was annoying to have to hang around ucluelet (since we were kicked out of our cottage in Tofino at 10 am as well) until 4pm. I don't understand these late check in times???
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't stay in Hummingbird Cottage - the other ones sound much better.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from littlebray, Manager at Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages
Responded Feb 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Hummingbird Cottage. This is a property that we manage and therefore take full responsibility for. It is unfortunate that you were made to feel like this during your stay. We have passed this feedback on to the owners of the cottage who live in the other building on site here. We do regret that you were disturbed by the mowing and interactions with the owners which from your perspective were less than tactful. We have asked that they approach us directly to deal with any suspected breaches in conduct (such as their suspicions that you were smoking inside). We sincerely hope that this doesn't detract from any plans to return to the west coast of Vancouver Island in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ironjet wrote a review Dec 2017
163 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For a hostel that only had one other guy staying and he said it had been empty all week you would think the price would be a little lower. The room was nice with good sheets for a hostel. The kitchen was clean and had everything you need to cook. Good place to stay on the cheap side as everything else in town was higher.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil P wrote a review Sep 2017
15 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed the Kiwi Cottage. The cottage was clean, well equipped and very well located away from the main road but still in easy reach (on foot) of the town, beaches etc. Our only disappointment was the polyester sheets - quite uncomfortable on the warm nights we had there. Check-in was friendly (thanks Anna), and the cottage was perfect. If ever we were to go to Ucluelet again, we would definitely stay here, and can highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
anastacia d asked a question Jul 2016
1 contribution
Hi, Can i Salmon fish near by?
Canada20 contributions8 helpful votes
Yes, you can.
Stellerbanana1 wrote a tip Aug 2019
Edmonton4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Mini forest getaway in the city"
Read full review
ria3896 wrote a tip Mar 2017
Campbell River, . B.C.112 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"These are dorm rooms all bunk beds, one room, has one bed."
Read full review
PaniBaBurnaby_Canada wrote a tip Apr 2015
Burnaby, Canada34 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cottage is perfect for family or a group of friend's"
Read full review
MerelynBH wrote a tip Dec 2014
Oakville, Canada7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a cottage!"
Read full review
ScottNJo12 wrote a tip Oct 2014
Denver, Colorado35 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The suite nearest the lodge had an outdoor light at night that lit up our friends' suite - almost too bright to sleep per the husband. The 2 bedroom cottage looked great and we may have enjoyed sharing that cabin better than the suites. The loft bed is pretty high up a narrow ladder - not for small children or seniors for certain ;^)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ucluelet area.
PRICE RANGE
C$273 - C$610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictBarkley SoundUcluelet
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Ucluelet Aquarium (0.5 km), Cedar House Gallery - Huu Mees Ma As (0.5 km), and Reflecting Spirit Gallery (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Surfs Inn Guesthouse & Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pluvio restaurant, Heartwood Kitchen, and Jigger's.
All Ucluelet HotelsUcluelet Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ucluelet
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars