We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The June Motel

Save
Share
12351 Loyalist Pky Rr #4, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0 Canada
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (154)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (9)

About

#9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
We are new owners of the old Sportsman Motel in Picton. We've completely renovated and re-branded the property to be a hip, boutique motel in Prince Edward County. Rooms are bright and lively with hand-made bohemian touches. All rooms come with a full or mini wine bar.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Clothes rack
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
260Reviews5Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 164
  • 60
  • 27
  • 8
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tmcdee wrote a review Dec. 2020
Toronto, Canada105 contributions56 helpful votes
We took a mini vacation and travelled to PEC for a couple of nights during COVID. I was very happy with their protocols, including contact free check-in. Instead of coffee makers in the room, they partnered with a local coffee shop to provide free drinks which was nice. Our room was very large with a seated area and two beds in separate rooms. Well thought out counter top and large drawers rather than a dresser. Small balcony with chairs overlooking the lake would be nice in the summer. No indoor bar service at the moment, but a fire pit and lounge chairs/couches with grateful blankets. Also have a smoking/picnic area up the hill behind the hotel which I can see would be handy for take-out, picnics, or just chilling in the hammocks. Lovely bath products, available for purchase.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Bible, General Manager at The June Motel
Responded 5 days ago
Hi there, Thank you for the kind review! I'm so glad that our new protocols introduced in 2020 we well received. It was a tough year but we were so happy to provide a safe escape for travellers! We'll be reopening our indoor lobby bar and I hope we get to host you again sometime soon so you can experience all that The June has to offer! Cheers, Your friends at The June
Read more
lynnj823 wrote a review Oct. 2020
Toronto, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
I have been trying to come for YEARS with GF's, booked a stay by myself to have a mini solo vacation while working remotely. Firstly, the location was fantastic. I loved running along the road with lake sights each day. Very clean, comfortable bed. Contactless check-in served my paranoia self well. TY! My expectations were high however and felt like the marketing was a little bit smoke in mirrors. The beautiful wallpaper in all the photos was 1/3 of the room. (Room 3 ) The rest of the room reminded me of every unexciting motel I ever stayed in. Having spent 3 days, I wish there were sheers on windows for privacy. Being on ground floor you either have it open for all to see or closed and really feeling dark and stuck. Because I was alone, a deadbolt lock would have been appreciated as added security. I enjoyed my time away but it did not meet expectations from the marketing perceived and the price I paid.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a second floor so you can have your curtains open more
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Bible, General Manager at The June Motel
Responded Oct. 28, 2020
Hi Lynn, Thank you for your review and feedback! I'm glad we were able to make you feel comfortable during your stay though I'm sorry that the design of our rooms didn't meet your expectations. We do have plans to add sheers to the rooms so I hope we get to see you back here, next time with a little additional privacy! Cheers, The June
Read more
Laura J wrote a review Oct. 2020
Niagara Falls, Canada5 contributions
This motel is so cute and the decor is so unique. The staff were very friendly, we felt very safe during our stay during the pandemic, very little contact with staff everything was via text! Checking in and out was easy, room was very clean. Would definitely recommend this motel for a girl’s weekend or couples getaway. I will definitely be returning!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Bible, General Manager at The June Motel
Responded Oct. 22, 2020
Hi Laura, Appreciate the sweet review and recommendation! I'm so happy that our contactless communications kept you at ease during your stay. We really miss getting to spend time with our guests face to face though, so I hope that when you return you get to hang out with us in our Lobby Bar! Hope to see you back here real soon regardless! Cheers, The June
Read more
Jev wrote a review Sep. 2020
1 contribution
This motel while being cute and trendy had a few flaws. The rooms are pretty tiny and the walls are thin.. I woke up several times due to people walking upstairs. The double beds are tiny and the mattresses are kind of hard.. woke up feeling a bit sore as did my friend. One morning we woke up and opened the door to a septic truck and it smelled awful outside. There was no lobby access or nespresso machine in the room because of covid. That being said the bonfire setup and the bathroom decor was cute. The marketing of the motel is amazing but for the price the experience could have been much better... the downsides for me were the beds and the septic truck smell.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Bible, General Manager at The June Motel
Responded Oct. 1, 2020
Hi there, I'm sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us this year. As a small business, we appreciate feedback and always take it to heart. If you wouldn't mind emailing us the room that you stayed in so we can take a look at the mattresses that would be greatly appreciated! I also apologise that you didn't have the chance to stay with us when our lobby is open and coffee is available in-room. We've had to make very difficult decisions this year during the pandemic in order to prioritise health & safety. I'm glad that you were able to experience our patio, and I hope you were able to take advantage of our partnership with Beacon Bike + Brew by grabbing some complimentary coffee during your stay! Cheers, The June
Read more
Kendra wrote a review Sep. 2020
12 contributions1 helpful vote
If youre looking for a cute spot with for a couple with instagrammable opportunities then this is a great place. For a group of 4 girls, especially during covid 19, this is definitely not the place. It is a bit overrated and marketed very well on social media. Starting with the price, it is way too expensive for what is not provided during covid. They should be altering their prices in half for half the services. To begin, an unpersonalized check in/check out. Which is convenient if you appeal to texting but we would have liked to ask questions in person. The lobby/lobby bar was completely closed and not available due to covid 19. I thought that was a big part of the aesthetic of the hotel which was unavailable. The back area looked nice but we didnt use it. Room On a positive, the rooms were cutely decorated and the soaps and stuff they provided were very high end and nice. However the floors were sunken in in room 1 and the walls were paper thin. For 4 adult women they gave us 2 DOUBLE beds. They were comfy and linen was nice but for the price and to say you accommodate 4 people.. it’s more like 2 adults and 2 children. I think they should invest in making the couch a pull out because it was a tight squeeze. They arent servicing your room at all during your stay so you have to text them for new towels and stuff which they did bring in a timely manner. They arent providing breakfast or even COFFEE at all at the hotel. You have to drive into downtown picton to get a free coffee. They did provide us with 4 wine cans in the fridge which was thoughtful. The fireplace area is open but suuuper small, for a group of 4 it was hard to ever find a spot at the fire because of distancing rules. You arent allowed your own snacks or drinks so we just left after a short time. Location It is perched on a hill overlooking the water - the second floor looked like better views but it was beautiful. Unfortunately you cant walk down to the water because its private property. It is very far from wineries - you do need to hire a driver or DD if you are going. Its close to picton about 5 mins.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Bible, General Manager at The June Motel
Responded Oct. 1, 2020
Hi there, I'm sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us this year. As a small business, we appreciate feedback and always take it to heart. We've had to make some very difficult decisions this year during the pandemic in order to prioritise health & safety. Part of this included a temporary closure of our Lobby Bar and removing coffee machines from the rooms. I do understand that this is not the experience that we're all used to, but we are greatly limited in what we can continue to provide while still also ensuring that the safety of our staff and guests is prioritised. We've also continued to keep our rates, which are typical for a popular tourist destination, in line with other local accommodations. We have renovations planned for the winter months which will address some of your concerns within your room and I'd love it if you would choose to stay with us again, hopefully in a newly renovated room! You should definitely check out our Bohemian Forest if you do make it back. It's absolutely stunning during sunsets! Cheers, The June
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sportsman Motel
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioPrince Edward CountyPicton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The June Motel
Which popular attractions are close to The June Motel?
Nearby attractions include Lake on the Mountain (5.1 km), Escape Macaulay House! (2.6 km), and The Prince Edward County T-shirt Company (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The June Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The June Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The June Motel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The June Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The June Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blumen Garden Bistro, Slickers Ice Cream, and Merrill House.
Are there any historical sites close to The June Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting House of Falconer (3.3 km).
Is The June Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.