The Waring House

The Waring House

395 Sandy Hook Road, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0 Canada
Broken Screen Doors
Traveller (189)
Room 11
Room & Suite (95)
Barley Room Pub Patio
Dining (36)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
Breakfast included
C$212
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#4 of 6 hotels in Picton
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Rural hospitality meets modern convenience in the heart of Ontario's newest wine and culinary hotspot, Prince Edward County. Choose from 49 rooms and suites in our historical buildings or our new luxurious lodges. Fine dining in Amelia's Garden, casual fare and live music in the Barley Room Pub. Recreational hands-on cooking classes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Sofa
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Business
Languages Spoken
English
691Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 209
  • 178
  • 127
  • 91
  • 86
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
GMurray wrote a review Sep 2021
Toronto, Canada137 contributions76 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Regularly visit Picton as my parents once lived here (now buried in Cherry Valley). We'd take them here for dinner - good food and service. Usually we stayed at B & B but with COVID could not get a B & B for one night as they did not want to do the extra cleaning. So after a full day at the Sand Dunes we were happy to retire to a quiet pleasant room with comfy beds, TV and 2 minute walk to dinner. Unfortunately as it is difficult for all restaurants to get staff, they had closed the restaurant for dinner but offered take out and we ate in the garden with its fountain and flower beds till the mosquitoes arrived. It was a mid-week stay. Next AM a lovely tasty breakfast of orange juice, tea or coffee, omelette and as I was GF a fruit bowl ( as out of GF bread so she promised a "surprise!") They gave my roomie one too. The lady in charge was friendly and doing her best with only one sever and herself. Too bad they were not serving on the patio but we could take our coffee out as two other guests did. It was very good value at $189 per night before tax as we got a senior's discount and the breakfast was free (included in the price). The nearby B & B's were $200 and $225. Waring House was full. We had booked two weeks ahead. Good value!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: most expensive rooms I believe are larger and in newer buildings.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Norah Rogers, Innkeeper at The Waring House
Responded Sep 20, 2021
I'm so glad you visited Waring House and enjoyed your stay Thank you for your very nice compliments. I'm sorry you couldn't enjoy our pub and dining room but we felt we just had to close to let our staff recharge. It has been a really challenging summer and having a day when we're closed means they can get two days off in a row. Hopefully, we won't have to continue this for long. Thank you for your understanding. I'm so glad you enjoyed the garden. Glad you found us good value and hope you'll visit again. Norah Rogers Innkeeper
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Superjessie12 wrote a review Oct 2020
Chatham, Canada15 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have always enjoyed the Barley Room Pub and the atmosphere was just as comfortable and enjoyable as always and the duo providing entertainment were very good. For the first time I was very disappointed in the meal. Ordered 2 piece buttermilk chicken and the 2 pieces were a wing and a back. Only a few bites of meat in total. With fries and tasteless coleslaw it certainly wasn’t worth $20
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waring House, General Manager at The Waring House
Responded Nov 18, 2020
Dear Superjessie12 Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your meal. The chicken entree is supposed to include selections - a thigh or a drumstick and a breast as well as a wing. I checked with the chef and if we were out of the other pieces, you should have at least received two wings and breast. So I do apologize. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Sincerely Norah Rogers, Innkeeper
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chrissel wrote a review Sep 2020
Toronto, Canada75 contributions134 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After reading all the negative reviewers, I have to say My mother and I stayed for one night and had an excellent stay from start to finish. The room was located in ‘the house next door’, and although very tiny, was very charming. Our room did not have a balcony, however before dinner at the onsite pub, we enjoyed a bottle of wine we had purchased on the outdoor veranda. We made our way over to the pub and had an excellent dinner while listening to live entertainment. The entertainer was behind a plastic shield. All servers wore masks. We were also required to put our mask back on when a server came near our table. Same thing next day at breakfast. Excellent Covid precautions in place. Speaking of breakfast, it was a nice surprise to find out it was included. My mother and I enjoyed the food immensely. There is nothing within walking distance of the Inn. However Picton is maybe a 7 minute drive.
All in all a great stay with FANTASTIC staff!
I think for anyone who complains, perhaps you shouldn’t be venturing out to Inns during Covid. We all need a bit more patience and understanding during these times.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waring House, General Manager at The Waring House
Responded Nov 18, 2020
Dear Chrissel Thank you so much for a fantastic and kind review. We really appreciate your effort to give this feedback. It means a lot to us as and it is so lovely for the staff to feel appreciated. as they are all really dedicated to service excellence and to the safety of our guests. Sincerely Norah Rogers, Innkeeper
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JennyRH wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our third time staying at The Waring House and I’m sad to say it will be the last. I understand that certain protocols are required during the Covid-19 era but when you’re paying $240 per night, we did not expect to be served breakfast on paper plates, with cold coffee and after waiting a really long time to even be greeted. Our coffee and water were served in real cups/glasses and silver cutlery, so why did we get a paper plate? What made it worse was that the breakfast was swimming in grease!
Overall, we understand that these are challenging times but if the service had changed to adapt then the rate needs to as well. Paying a premium rate and providing below-par standards makes for a bad experience. Otherwise, a little consistency and extra effort would be nice!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jonathan wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was very substandard. Our room had not been cleaned properly. This included dust on the headboard, hair in the shower, and grass, threads and other crud in clear view on the carpet in both the room and on the stairs leading to the second floor. The owner responded to our travelling companions in writing that the rooms were spotless and that some dust may have gathered in the 48 hours during which the room must remain empty after the last guest. Let me be clear: our room was not cleaned properly, nor were the common areas. The owner simply dismissed our complaints as not true! Our written reservation clearly indicated that we would have access to food from Amelia's restaurant, but only the pub was serving food. Our friends stayed in a room where the air conditioning had not been turned on prior to arrival, so they couldn't relax or sleep until very late that night. Then the owner wrote to them: "I did check your room after you checked out and it was cool." Incredible! Why not commit to turning on the air in advance if it's extremely hot next time? The owner also said many of the issues were due to covid, which has nothing to do with proper cleaning etc. It's one thing to encounter issues, but the lack of professionalism in the owner's handling of our concerns was unacceptable and does not bode well for this property being able to improve its customer experience. I would not recommend staying at this property despite some very good staff and service in the pub.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kristine B, Guest Services / Front Office at The Waring House
Responded Jul 24, 2020
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your visit with us. I apologize that our dinner package confirmation letter had not been updated to reflect that Amelia's Garden indoor dining was closed due to COVID legislations. The Letter was immediately corrected when your friend brought the oversight to our attention I care deeply about the quality of guest experience at The Waring House. Especially during COVID. The cleanliness of rooms is of paramount importance to me. That is the reason I inspected your rooms after your departure and reported my findings. We do have detailed cleaning and disinfecting protocols in place. The situation with COVID is a challenge and are doing our best to meet guest expectations. We have now heightened our room inspection procedures and ensure guest satisfaction. Again we are sorry you were disappointed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MissElleeBoo wrote a review Jul 2020
Brighton, Canada55 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to the Waring House today to see how they where handling the pandemic in a stage two situation. We were very impressed! They have a beautiful patio set up in the yard to the rear of the restaurant. There was a gentleman playing guitar on the deck which was so relaxing. Our server equipped us with masks as is their policy for when you are ordering or otherwise communicating with your server. This worked extremely well. They have separate individuals for removing tableware and we were assured the server would bring out our orders with clean hands. It was amazing to watch. This place has their act together. We are residents of Northumberland county and will definitely be back soon. Well done Waring House!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Norah Rogers, Owner at The Waring House
Responded Jul 7, 2020
Thank you so much for your visit to The Waring House and for taking the time to post this lovely review. We really appreciate that you noticed our efforts to create a safe experience for you. My husband and I as innkeepers are particularly proud of the conscientious job our staff are doing by following the protocols adopted to protect guests and staff alike. It is our hope that everyone can feel comfortable with the right safe-quards in place. Again , thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again. Norah Rogers, Innkeeper
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SnK wrote a review Jul 2022
Granbury, Texas166 contributions97 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
WARING HOUSE
Booked reservations on line & received confirmation showing dinner booked at 7pm, which is not available so called to change. No indication that no one can check in prior to 3pm regardless of room status.
Reception staff friendly but need more information on wineries & restaurants. Seem to be understaffed in evenings
Premium Suite (110) quite large and love the balcony but buggy & balusters need cleaning.. Furnishings dated but in fine shape, carpet needs to be replaced. Sheers in living room connected at leader so cannot open as designed. Screen broken so not useable. TV in living room not working & no staff on duty to correct (fixed next morning). Pillow top was very lumpy & uncomfortable so asked for it to be removed (done next morning). A/C works great & appreciated the large refrigerator.
Bath is about 13m2, shower is 1m2. Since it is fiberglass, would be fairly easy to replace with a larger unit. No rods for hand towels & inadequate for bath towels.
Pub service was fine & good selection of tap beers. Lacking attentiveness to cleaning bar top & entire space could use a extensive general clean including entry mats. Restaurant staff struggling at dinner & breakfast. Servers and assistants disorganized & we had to ask for flatware, water, napkins, etc. Need a buffet attendant from the kitchen as items ran out regularly. 2 staff at breakfast seems lean & were told that coffee cups were not clean due to not being able to use chemicals with the septic.
Sliders at entry to Heritage House have had bird droppings from arrival to departure.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Norah Rogers, Innkeeper at The Waring House
Responded Aug 6, 2022
Dear SnKTexas Hope you can see the underlying problem we, like many other businesses, are having this summer (even more than in the past two and a half years of the pandemic): we have much fewer staff than needed in all departments on this property. Those we have are doing an amazing job trying to make up for the deficiency. Often they are thrown into the front line before adequate training. This is not at all how we or they want things to be and we are all doing our best. I do find it a bit hard reading reviews to be criticized for a personal choice to create an inn which has many historic features as well as some amazing Canadiana on display. Yes, it is dated. And that is on purpose and appreciated by an overwhelming number of ourguests. I am glad you appreciated the beautiful solid wood Gibbard furniture with its amazing craftmanship- 8 coats of hand-applied finish on each piece created in the last days of operation of Canada's oldest furniture factory which was founded in 1834 and closed in2008. We are so fortunate to have been able to finish the lodges with this bit of beautiful history. I have noted your housekeeping observations and reviewed them with our housekeeping manager. Interestingly she showed me a list of directions she has had translated into a different language so she can communicate with some of her staff who have emigrated to Canada. She has a great team with some lovely young new Canadians . I do hope these comments are received in the way intended- not to make an excuse but to try to bring home to those who don't know the situation we in hospitality find ourselves in at present. As a corollary to that I must make the observation that I am certainly not in a position after 2.5 years of pandemic to replace our bathroom showers. All of that said I want to underline how wonderful our staff are and how much we appreciate them We also thank the thousands of satisfied customers we have served this summer and whenever open during the pandemic. We also thank people such as yourself who give us business and at the same time make observations and judgements and challenge us to keep growing and improving. I hope you will return some day when we are more ourselves.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heart transplant recipient wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this location a few days ago and not only was the property pristine and quaint but I have immunosuppression and was not able to dine inside with a crowd of people and the staff was willing to accommodate us either outside on a patio which was not yet staffed for the season or in a part of the formal dining room where were were alone from other patrons. I felt completely comfortable in these situations and the staff went out of their way to make me feel like I was completely safe. I commend them highly. I would go back there again and in fact we have decided to make this an annual trip. Food and live music were both excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah wrote a review Sep 2020
Burlington, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I will start by saying the room was nice. It has everything I like, a balcony, a fireplace, a nice sitting area. The bed however was not the most comfortable and it had a mattress cover that was constantly coming off at the corners, that was very annoying and made it difficult to sleep.
My biggest problem with this stay was the on site restaurant. I had done my research and the menu online looked great. I was looking forward to our dinner. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a grumpy staff member who said we have to wait for our table to be double sanitized, ok, no problem, but it took about 15 minutes to finally be seated. The table was covered with a mosquito netting, not all tables had this, and to be honest it kept bugs trapped in with us and I would have much rather no net. The menu we were given was different than what they advertise. It was garbage. I understand changes are made during these covid times but a website should be kept current. I decided on spaghetti and meatballs, and was still hopeful it would taste good. Unfortunately this was far worse than any pasta dish I have had before. There was a fair amount of water in the bottom of the dish, it was cold, nothing about it was appetizing. My husband had a Cajun chicken that was very bland, and also cold. This was the worst meal I have been served in a restaurant. The only bright spot was the live musician, thank goodness for that. I would stay here again, but never eat here again. I have heard great things from past guests and I suppose things are different when the cooking school is running. I do feel if you are going to let the quality slip this much during covid, it would be in your best interest to remain closed. It was quite evident no one we came across was happy to be working there. Indoor dining was not running, which I can understand, but in that case, try to make the exterior nice and inviting. There were no string lights or any ambiance (except the live music). I am a frequent traveler and try to experience fine dining at every opportunity. This was a great disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chloé H wrote a review Aug 2021
6 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I attended a micro wedding in August 2021 and I was very pleased with the overall experience. The grounds were beautiful. Excellent place for a small wedding and pictures afterwards. The couple stayed in the Cottage and though I did not stay in there overnight, the times I did spend there was great. The view was nice and the room itself was great. The room I stayed in was nice and clean. I stayed in room 9 in the House Next Door, which is their smallest room. I was warned ahead of time while booking it and was expecting it to be less than great, but it was perfectly fine. I had not intended on spending much time in there (just sleeping, showering and getting ready) so it was perfect for what I needed.
The food at the restaurant was delicious and the prices were fair for the portion sizes. I wish there would be a bit more in the charcuterie board, but the rest of the food was amazing both nights and the morning I ate there. The chocolate raspberry mousse cake is to die for.
The staff was great with Covid protocols. We had to sanitize and sign in at the restaurant. All staff members I came across were wearing masks properly and the restaurant was well set-up for distancing.
I was only able to stay one night due to them being all booked up the night before the wedding. I wish I would have been able to stay both nights.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms are not all accessible due to the historic flair of the buildings (ie no elevator, narrow...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Norah Rogers, Innkeeper at The Waring House
Responded Aug 15, 2021
Thank you for the very thoughtful review. It is fun for us to do the micro weddings - such happy occasions and low stress, at least on our end!. I'm so glad you enjoyed yourself and things were to your satisfaction. It sounds like you perhaps had a sparse charcuterie board for which I apologize. As I said in a previous review it sounds like we might have been low on supplies and I will stress with the servers to ensure a deficient plate does not get served. So glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you will return. Norah Rogers, Innkeeper
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judy C asked a question Aug 2018
Toronto, Canada43 contributions41 helpful votes
Do the rooms have hair dryers?
Answer from kathrynhart
Petersburg, Canada10 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes
Ross-Siobhan asked a question Nov 2014
Toronto132 contributions72 helpful votes
What will the fees and taxes amount to?
Diane wrote a tip Oct 2023
Montreal, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"For a truly wonderful experience, have breakfast somewhere else!"
Read full review
Carly H wrote a tip Sep 2023
28 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walk around the grounds, hit up the bar for live music and enjoy the friendly staff. Skip the overnight stay - rooms are dated and filthy."
Read full review
Ana W wrote a tip Aug 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent experience!"
Read full review
Rhea F wrote a tip Jul 2023
Toronto, Canada85 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"never stay at the Inn"
Read full review
Tony F wrote a tip Nov 2022
6 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Grab the top floor and at the end of the hallway .."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Picton area.
PRICE RANGE
C$168 - C$312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waring house hotel picton
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioPrince Edward CountyPicton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Waring House - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Waring House
Which popular attractions are close to The Waring House?
Nearby attractions include Mustang Drive-In (PEC) (5.3 km), The Local Store - PEC (6.0 km), and Escape Macaulay House! (4.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Waring House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Waring House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at The Waring House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Waring House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Waring House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Slickers, Acoustic Grill, and Slickers Ice Cream.
Does The Waring House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Waring House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting House of Falconer (3.0 km) and Base31 (2.8 km).
Is The Waring House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Picton HotelsPicton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PictonHotels near The Waring House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars