We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Waring House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Waring House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Waring House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We were located in one on the lodges, I think it was the Quakers and we had a great room with a huge balcony and stunning views. The breakfast which was included was fab, I would highly recommend the pancakes. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alice w
Picton, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Currently a guest and cant understand what the foss is all about Lets start by the positive...the food is rather good,presentation & taste, easily getting a 7 on my scale (of 10) But the service....OMG...they need to teach their staff to smile and bring them to understand that the customer should be #1 and the reason why they are there....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bella C
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review

We're very sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations. Please understand that our dining room staff work very hard and usually give our customers a first-rate experience. We do apologize for the shortcomings in service during your visit. We'll review your feedback with the dining room staff. The memo is admittedly an awkward solution to...

Canada
Reviewed 23 July 2015

The room is nice, check-in was easy. No hair dryer in room, the amenities are a bit scarce and the tv choices are slim (after a day of visiting wineries, this could be important). The restaurant was disappointing - three of the wines we ordered on the list were not available (local "county" wines for which area is famous for,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cynthia C
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear that you were generally pleased with the room. All of our rooms are equipped with hair dryers, so I'm not sure how that would have broken down. We're very sorry to hear that your experience in our restaurant failed to live up to your expectation. The menu in the dining room has just been changed and...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

The decor was nice and the grand piano was a lovely touch. The waitress was incompetent unfortunately, and made the kitchen look bad. They completely botched my food allergy issues (brought me scallops in soy sauce that was not gluten free, brought me risotto smothered in cheese and when I sent it back, brought me overcooked fish in a puddle...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lisa W
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review

We're so terribly sorry to hear about the difficulties you had with your meal. We try to be as accommodating as possible when our guests has food allergies or sensitivities. It seems, from what you've said, that on this particular occasion, we didn't live up to the proper standard. Please accept our apologies. We'll investigate what might have caused this...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the Waring House with my wife for the weekend. We stayed in the Heritage house, one of 8 buildings on the property. We decided to splurge and get the room with the private outdoor jacuzzi. Only two rooms in the two floor building have the personal two person sized jacuzzi. It was the right choice for us. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip T
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review

We're very glad to hear that you made such good use of your jacuzzi tub. We're sorry to hear that you found the noise problematic. We hope that you'll come visit us again. I'm sure you'd find the upstairs room more to your liking. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 9 July 2015

My husband and I spent 2 nights in a premium room at the Waring House. The room was very large with a comfortable bed, a shower and a soaking tub. We also had a balcony with 2 chairs but the weather was not nice enough for us to use them. The breakfasts were excellent. We really enjoyed the pancakes and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Micheline D
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Milady and I spent a couple of nights at Waring House over the Canada Day holiday. We chose the two-night "Just For Fun" package which includes two breakfasts and one dinner. It was delightful. We were charmed from the moment we arrived. Waring House isn't just one building; there are 10 buildings on the property, including a restaurant, pub, accommodations,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Morgan F
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 July 2015

i went to the waring house over the weekend; it was a girl's getaway but it ended up raining a bit over the weekend so we stayed in the room more than expected. The room was nice enough but it was pretty dated and everything smelt musky or moldy - perhaps it was all the rain. One of the biggest...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Dharsha
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that your stay with us didn't live up to your expectations. We regret that we had to do the work on the roof, it was critical that it be done, though the timing was quite unfortunate.

Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We visited the Waring House's pub last time in the area, but this time we stayed in one of their rooms for two nights while visiting Prince Edward County for a self-guided wine tour. You have two options of rooms, there are a few in the old original house, over the pub and restaurant, and they have built two modern...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Art H
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We stayed in the main house and it was very quaint. The floors were very uneven and the overall impression was that it was a bit worn. The bedspreads were old and stained but the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good and the Sunday brunch was very good and well worth the $7.00 upgrade from the buffet. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Regishill

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
3.7 km away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
95 reviews
27.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
9.7 km away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
71 reviews
8.9 km away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
13.5 km away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rural hospitality meets modern convenience in the heart of Ontario's newest wine and culinary hotspot, Prince Edward County. Choose from 49 rooms and suites in our historical buildings or our new luxurious lodges. Fine dining in Amelia's Garden, casual fare and live music in the Barley Room Pub. Recreational hands-on cooking classes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waring House

Address: 395 Sandy Hook Road, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Price Range: $153 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waring House 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Waring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waring House Hotel Picton
The Waring House Picton, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Waring House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Waring House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room in one of the newer buildings.”
ForeignPlaces, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you have a couple ask for fireplace and large tub”
AllanBeautifulPlace, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 11 - king bed and Jacuzzi tub for 2 people a must.”
mrscolnik, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in one of the newer outer buildings and it was fine. No elevator which did not matter to us but may to others.”
LyndaTen, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms accessible for handicapped people. Let them know. Book well ahead to guarantee a better choice.”
524jimg, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5