We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Waring House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Waring House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Waring House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We stayed in "The House Next Door" and found the common area had a strong cleaning products smell. Once we opened the door to our room, our noses were assaulted with an even stronger musty smell. I was afraid to unpack my dress for the family wedding, in case the odour permeated my clothing! Our bedding and towels felt damp,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank captainjudy2
Ingersoll, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

At first the package deal looks great. Unfortunately, the accommodation and restaurants don't communicate. They tell you what's included in the package and then you go for breakfast and the menu isn't available. It's only a buffet. Seating is not near enough for the size of accommodations. Each meal sitting we struggled to get a spot to eat. Once having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BradBurton
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 August 2015

First the good: We had a delicious dinner. Best lamb my wife has had in a very long time. Wait staff were incredibly friendly and made us feel at home. Our room in the Quaker house was very clean but we felt the cost of the stay was excessive given the fact our room overlooked a parking lot. Breakfast buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vernfern
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We have family in Picton and have visited the Waring House on several occasions over the years - sometimes just for a meal - other times for a weekend stay. We were attending a family event for the weekend of August 14th to 16th and chose to stay at the Waring House. It was a very pleasant stay. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pamela233
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Front desk staff were pleasant. We arrived about 45 minutes early so our room wasn't ready yet. That was ok, so we went over to the pub for a drink. We are irish so we chose the Waring House specifically because it had a pub. The pub did not disappoint. It had all the charm and authenticity of a true...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank MaxCat77
Reviewed 4 August 2015

My hubby and I were in the county to do some wine tasting and decided to stay at the Waring House after seeing it and hearing some good reports about it. We stayed in the "House Next Door" which seemed to be one of the older buildings (perhaps this is what happens when you book at the last minute and...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Denise B
Arnprior, Canada
Reviewed 2 August 2015

The Chef must have had the night off when we dined at Amelia's Garden on Thursday July 30 2015. Not only did my lactose intolerant husband get served dessert with cream surrounding it, my meal was so overcooked, that I sent back half my order uneaten. If the waitress had been at all attentive she would have noticed this oversight...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Laurie D
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at The Waring House, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory dining experience. There seems to have been an unacceptable breakdown in communication. Your server should have been aware and accommodating of husband's allergy. It's not our policy to ignore our guests requests. Please accept our apologies. You should not have been treated that way. We've referred your case to the innkeepers.

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Pretty good selection from their menu I had a great pasta dish and my lodgings were comfortable, Will come back next time I'm in PIcton, If you have never been to Picton its full of charming little shops, B&B's and eateries which can be expensive or reasonably priced you have to search out the places that will meet your budget.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Isabella f
Burlington
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We stayed In a Premium Room with a King Bed in the Heritage Lodge. The room was very clean, was spacious, and had a patio with hot tub. Our package included dinner (appetizer, main course and dessert) on one of the days and breakfast both days in Amelia's Garden restaurant. We enjoyed dinner so much the first night that we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bob And Brenda P
Reviewed 26 July 2015

The Waring House has a new chef, Nick Loshak. It was a surprise as I had not had a meal prepared by Chef Loshak in 10 years. And what a meal, farm and lake to table cooking by a wonderful chef. Several local wines on the list were not available, which was a shame as the Grange unoaked Chard was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
3.7 km away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
95 reviews
27.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
9.7 km away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
71 reviews
8.9 km away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
13.5 km away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rural hospitality meets modern convenience in the heart of Ontario's newest wine and culinary hotspot, Prince Edward County. Choose from 49 rooms and suites in our historical buildings or our new luxurious lodges. Fine dining in Amelia's Garden, casual fare and live music in the Barley Room Pub. Recreational hands-on cooking classes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waring House

Address: 395 Sandy Hook Road, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Price Range: $152 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waring House 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waring House Hotel Picton
The Waring House Picton, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Waring House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Waring House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room in one of the newer buildings.”
ForeignPlaces, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you have a couple ask for fireplace and large tub”
AllanBeautifulPlace, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 11 - king bed and Jacuzzi tub for 2 people a must.”
mrscolnik, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in one of the newer outer buildings and it was fine. No elevator which did not matter to us but may to others.”
LyndaTen, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms accessible for handicapped people. Let them know. Book well ahead to guarantee a better choice.”
524jimg, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5