We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Heron House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Heron House
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
Parksville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Every once in awhile we go away with our friends for a total of 6 adults and 4 kids. We booked the Heron House well in advance. Upon arrival we discovered that the property is actually a hostel. The house we rented was not ready, beds unmade and "cleaning" still happening. There were personal effects everywhere and dirty toothbrushes, used... More 

Helpful?
Thank 35krista
linda i, Owner at Heron House, responded to this review

Oh my goodness !.. so sorry for the terrible time you had here this has go to be the worst review in my history . I sure wouldn't stay here !! only you do have some things not quite right .So for the record the room with the bathtub that did not work ,, I told you on arrival the... More 

London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We were visiting from the UK and had booked well in advance to stay in the Cedar room, described as 'a truly decadent experience' on the owner's website. But on arrival we were offered a choice of two rooms which I consider unfit for even budget accommodation (I can't see either passing a fire inspection). One was accessed by crawling... More 

Helpful?
Thank MJHLondon
linda i, Owner at Heron House, responded to this review

oops sorry women ,, the people that choose to have the breakfast and it is simple for 8 - includes coffee/ tea very good homemade toast /cereal .. but many choose to do their own - and if you have not told me the night before that this is the case I do not include this .Im sorry the bathroom... More 

1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Not quite the place to stop if your looking for a clean, romantic experience. If your a Kayaking enthusiast then this an "A" ok place to sleep. If the rooms were $20 - $30 dollars a night then it would make a great place for people wanting to see all that Quadra has to offer and then move on. Don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We stayed at Heron House in August 2015 for our anniversary. We had booked the boat house and were so excited and taken in by the adorable photos. When we arrived we were told that not only was the boat house unavailable but that it had been so for a year and that it was impossible that we had seen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela D
linda i, Owner at Heron House, responded to this review

Im sorry about the raill or lack of rail-it is a four foot drop which I didnt think was so very dangerous . Ive been reluctant to put one up because - one of the most annoying things for me is to be sitting on a deck chair and having to look through a deck rail so ,, this I... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We've stayed here a few times, and actually had our wedding here as well! The oceanfront is amazing - the view is stunning from the deck and from the suites. It's very quiet, I love her garden and her patio area. Some of the suites are definitely unique (in a good way), well equipped, etc. Linda was also very helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kdadoodle
Mill Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2016

There's nothing like a get away that takes you to the unique and quaint accommodations that Heron House offers. We loved staying in the "Tideline" where you can sleep and wake to the ocean right at your doorstep! The sound of the waves, the call of the eagle and the magical ambiance brings us back once more! Very private and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZimbabweMusicSociety
Comox Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We stayed two nights in the cottage and really enjoyed ourselves (have rebooked for August). Probably one of the more unique places we have stayed in a long time with rambling buildings, old floathouses and unique lofts on the property. Old style perennials coming up everywhere. So peaceful and Linda is absolutely great. Now not all the electronics were working... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arcosdad
Salima, Malawi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Stayed at Heron House in 2014, so this review is way past due. However, I promised it to Linda on departure. Not only was she the most generous host, she was also super helpful whenever needed. The place is clean, full of history and the view is simply unbeatable. My girlfriend and I got the bed on top of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2015

I was bicycling Vancouver Island and Quadra Island and spent 2 nights at the Heron Guest House. It was one of the major highlights of the trip. I would sit on one of the several balconies overlooking the water and read a book. And Linda make a good, strong pot of coffee each morning. As second generation owner, she has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayne L
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2015

We had a lovely 3 days in the cottage at Heron House. The cottage was neat and tidy, the bed comfortable, the kitchen fully stocked with dishes, pots and pans etc. and the view INCREDIBLE. The deck quickly became our favourite spot for morning coffee as we enjoyed the steady stream of boats, the many birds working for their lunch,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy L

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quadra Island hotels
0.0 km away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
88 reviews
0.0 km away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#1 of 9 in Quadra Island
195 reviews
0.0 km away
Heriot Bay Inn
Heriot Bay Inn
#5 of 9 in Quadra Island
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
376 reviews
0.0 km away
Gowlland Harbour Resort
Gowlland Harbour Resort
#2 of 9 in Quadra Island
113 reviews
0.0 km away
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
#4 of 9 in Quadra Island
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Heron House

Address: 646 Maple Road, British Columbia V0P 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Price Range: $99 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Heron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heron House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Heron House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nothing is worth the stay!”
 of 5 bubbles 35krista, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stick to the Main house.”
 of 5 bubbles Z4050FIstephena, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“View from the bed is even great!”
 of 5 bubbles Arcosdad, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Go for the Tideline room, great view of ocean and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles curlygayle, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“They each have their own flavor. What's yours?”
 of 5 bubbles morganw26, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay