We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Taku Resort and Marina

616 Taku Rd., British Columbia V0P 1H0 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (114)
Room & Suite (51)
Pool & Beach (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 3 resorts in Quadra Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A magnificent seaside resort with a perfect blend of laidback ambience and luxurious comfort. Enjoy views from all suites and cabins. Our accommodations will meet your needs and budget and all have a full kitchen and balcony. Alternately, there are forested campsites or the excellent marina for you to stay. On-site, you can enjoy cookery courses, the hot tub, tennis, kayaking, basketball and bocce and more. Quadra Island also offers activities such as golf, hiking, art studios and much more. Our professional and attentive staff look forward to hosting you. The complete Discovery Island vacation experience awaits you at Taku Resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Beach
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
127Reviews3Q+A38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 93
  • 20
  • 9
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Bev C wrote a review Jul 2023
Courtenay15 contributions4 helpful votes
This is the 2nd time we have been to Taku, last summer 3 nights in the Upper Beach House, this year 3 nights in the Lower Beach house. AMAZING views, spectacular sunrises and everything about this place is over the top, far exceeds any expectations! Excellent service, friendly, patient and competent staff—-we have booked in again for next July, already looking forward to it!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
islandislander wrote a review Jul 2023
Vancouver Island, Canada88 contributions40 helpful votes
We love this place and have been here a few times now. The resort is perfect for a peaceful getaway, and is located right across from Rebecca Spit, so you can take a quick kayak over if you want, or continue kayaking around the bay and explore different areas. The grounds at Taku are very well maintained and the accommodations are very well kept and have everything you need. The people who work at the office are very friendly and welcoming Would definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
luv2travcal wrote a review Feb 2023
california69 contributions54 helpful votes
We had not been back to Taku in several years since we usually make last minute plans in the summer to visit Quadra and find that the rooms are fully booked. We were pleasantly surprised that we were able to get accommodations last June and the place was as wonderful as in our past visits. I think it was probably around 15 years ago when we made our first visit there and we had a chance for 3-4 other visits afterwards, but it has been some years since our last stay at Taku. Besides the dock being heavily damaged from winter storms, the place looked as beautiful as ever and the views are always incredible there. What really made our visit special were the employees at Taku who were always very friendly and helpful. The efficient resort manager Lynden still remembered us from all of the past visits and the new outgoing assistant manager Kelti was a great addition to the staff. We had an issue with the original accommodations that we reserved, but management was able to move us to a different unit. This is the best place to stay on the island. Taku is still paradise!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cathy S wrote a review Sep 2022
Victoria, Canada16 contributions21 helpful votes
Stayed here with family and friends in 2 bedroom terrace unit. Very spacious rooms simply but adequately furnished. Clean, and comfy beds. Each room has full ensuite with shower-over-bath, either side of sitting room so feels very private. Set in trees with a view of the water. Huge deck with bbq, accessible from every room. Spectacular setting across from Rebecca Spit, ideal for kayaking etc. Docks being rebuilt after previous storm but useable. No food available on site but 2 minutes drive to Heriot Bay Inn and walk to bakery. Well equipped kitchen. Would definitely stay here again and recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Make sure to arrive early for ferry—always busy in the summer.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bev C wrote a review Aug 2022
Courtenay15 contributions4 helpful votes
We have just spent the last 3 days at the Upper Beach House at Taku Resort. Awesome accommodation with all the amenities one could want. Gorgeous views, great location and easy access to other parts of the island. Very attentive staff, easy to contact and available to help if needed. We definitely hope to come back—thank you!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Wong, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Dear Beverly C. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review here. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Upper Beach House, you can't really beat those views. It was great having you and hope to see you back soon. If you want to come back next summer please be sure to call asap, this suite books out very quickly. Cheers, Liz Wong
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tourist80128 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Do not go to Taku Resort if you are a boater! The Marina is horrible, mostly torn apart and unusable-No power-yet they still charge $2 a foot for mooring there. The resort management should be ashame of themselves for calling it a Marina-it’s a dump!! Not to mention the breakwater “floats” are dangerous coming in and out.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Wong, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Dear Tourist80128, We're really sorry that we didn't take the time to explain to you that our marina is under construction. Unfortunately our docks sustained a lot of damage over the past few years from storms and we were unable to fix it in time for this summer season. Next summer we will have a new marina that will definitely meet and possibly exceed all of your expectations. Sincerely, Elizabeth Wong
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
A.W. wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We got to Quadra Island at least once a year and haven't stayed in the same place twice, but we will be returning to Taku!! We stayed in Cabin 5, which is the last of the row. Super quaint, lots of privacy, excellent views. They even set out bowls and treats for our dog! The bathroom had a soaker tub , though the water pressure is low so it took longer then normal to fill it. We loved that there wasn't a tv dominating the small space and spent hours reading or simply staring out the front windows. The kids loved the loft! The downstairs bed wasn't the most comfortable, I think the loft ones are newer but only singles. The front desk clerk was super friendly and we found a surprise LV 2 charger for our EV!!! This was our first long range trip in our EV and knew that there wasn't charging available on the island so didn't plan to do much sightseeing, so this was a wonderful surprise! We also had very strong wifi ( that seemed to be the biggest complaint in other reviews we read). This was a wonderful stay and we can't wait to be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Wong, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina
Responded Apr 28, 2022
Hi ladyvain, Thank you for leaving us this great review. I agree with you, I can get lost in the views as well. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Cabin 5 with your family and pup. Spring is a quiet time on Quadra but there's still so much you can do and all the Spring growth is stunning. We will definitely check the bed for comfort as a good sleep for our guests is important. I hope you found some great places to explore on Quadra in your charged car. And thank you for noticing the WiFi. It was a very frustrating aspect for our guests so we were happy to finally be able to improve the connection now that the island is able to offer us better service. This will also be our first summer where guests will have full cell service. We look forward to hosting you again. Cheers, Liz Wong
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
coral w wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
Nice little get away for a few days of solitude . Never disappointed by our stays at Taku and Quadra is a special place with so many little bays and coves to check out . The rooms at Taku are always clean and hosts always welcoming
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Wong, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina
Responded Apr 28, 2022
Dear Coral, Thank you for taking the time to leave this nice review. We're so pleased to hear that we are able to give you the same quality holiday every visit. If we ever get to chat, I'd love to hear about the special places you've found. There are always hidden gems on Quadra. Cheers, Liz Wong
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
qualicumgirl wrote a review Nov 2021
Qualicum Beach, Canada302 contributions142 helpful votes
Our family of adult children, under six years old grandsons, and a medium sized dog stayed in the Large Beachfront Cabin. It was snug for four adults and two kids, with an A Frame structure somewhat limiting floor space for sitting and a very steep ladder access to the loft with four beds. We appreciated the gas fireplace, but felt quite disappointed that the communal hot tub was closed, no doubt because of lingering COVID fears of management, which is completely COVID protocol compliant. But wow! The cabin has a lovely deck with BBQ, looking over a green lawn to a terrific stony beach was the best view ever. We loved star gazing from this beach. There is also an amazing dock perfect for crabbing and fishing at our time of year...swimming would be great in the summer. We enjoyed the otters and seals that hung out on the booms. In addition to playing on the dock (bring kids lifejackets) we enjoyed the cute play structure and big swing tire. Near the resort is a good grocery shopping and coffee shop and in a ten minutes walk there’s a charming dining room with pub. There’s also a fine flat walk on Rebecca Spit. We had a wonderful family game of soccer there. Then we went beachcombing. Yes! Quadra is an easy Gulf Island to visit from Vancouver Island, on one short ferry, and with many accessible beaches, hikes, and cultural sites. It is the best of West Coast living. And Taku takes full advantage of it all.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Wong, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina
Responded Feb 15, 2022
Dear qualicumgirl, Thanks for coming to Taku, it's great we were able to give you an escape that was easy to get to. We love your Qualicum sandy beach so it's nice to hear how much you love our rocky shore. It's also wonderful that you found the field at Rebecca Spit for soccer, it's a regular activity for some of our guests. Yes, unfortunately for a few COVID-19 reasons (more than I can cover in this reply) and limited staffing we've kept the hot tub closed. We are revisiting our hot tub set-up with the health inspector soon. We're hoping that regulations will change and we will be more comfortable opening it back up. It's wonderful you were able to take advantage of the dock. It is a great spot to try your hand at fishing, especially for the kids. We do have life jackets for children and adults, just come and ask us at the front desk. Star gazing from the dock will also never disappoint. The Beachfront Cabins are our most popular accommodation but yes, it would be tight for a group that size. Next time you could try putting overflow in Cabin 1 which is smaller or we do have a three bedroom Terrace Suite. Hopefully we see you again soon. Thank you for visiting us in November when it's not the most popular time to come but when there's still so much to do. We are always very happy to hear from our guests. Sincerely, Elizabeth Wong
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cathleen2016 wrote a review Jul 2021
Courtenay, British Columbia49 contributions57 helpful votes
We stayed in a 2 bedroom Terrace suite for 2 nights. The suite was very well appointed, beautifully decorated, clean and spacious. Just a short walk to the HBI for dinner was very convenient. The small deck was a great place to enjoy the view and the ocean traffic.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Wong, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina
Responded Jul 27, 2021
Dear Cathleen, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're so happy to hear you had a comfortable stay in one of our Terrace suites. It'a great to hear you went to the HBI for dinner, it's a quintessential Quadra Island destination I like to recommend. Hopefully you will visit again soon. Cheers, Elizabeth Wong
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Quadra Island area.
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaQuadra Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Taku Resort and Marina - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Quadra Island, British Columbia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Taku Resort and Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Taku Resort and Marina?
Nearby attractions include Rebecca Spit Marine Provincial Park (1.7 km), Quadra Island Farmers' Market & Bazaar (6.7 km), and Dick Murphy Park (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Taku Resort and Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
What food & drink options are available at Taku Resort and Marina?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Taku Resort and Marina?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Taku Resort and Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Anglers Dining, Riptide Marine Pub, and Cafe Aroma.
Are any cleaning services offered at Taku Resort and Marina?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Taku Resort and Marina?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Taku Resort and Marina have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Taku Resort and Marina accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.