Woodstone Manor

Woodstone Manor

743 Georgeson Bay Rd, British Columbia V0N 1P0 Canada
Traveller (28)
Complimentary breakfast for our guests
Dining (14)
Ground floor king suite with patio and pastoral view.
Room & Suite (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 special hotel in Galiano Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set on 9 acres of private forest land, Woodstone Manor is a magical place to enjoy a romantic getaway. With only 12 rooms, it’s the perfect size for an intimate wedding or to gather with family and friends for a celebration. It’s also ideal for group or corporate retreats.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Walk-in shower
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
1.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English

Location

743 Georgeson Bay Rd, British Columbia V0N 1P0 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 38 out of 100
38
Vancouver Intl Airport
36.5 km
See all flights
Victoria Intl Airport
27.1 km
See all flights
65Reviews0Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 7
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lena K wrote a review Sep 2021
Vancouver, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a night at the end of July for a birthday celebration and really loved it.

We had been to the Woodstone around 25 years ago under previous ownership, and the new owners have done a beautiful job of refurbishing and improving to a high standard.
We had a King room on the top floor, and it had was beautifully decorated and very quaint. The intent is clearly that guests have a peaceful getaway, so televisions are not part of the standard room furniture. This was actually a really nice change. For travellers who want to still stream their favourite shows, the wifi connection was really strong (inside the inn - but not outside).
The bathroom amenities were top quality, and nice plush bathrobes were a great luxury in the room. The mini-fridge was a good size, and very useful for chilling any pre or post dinner beverages.
There isn't coffee in the room, but there is a lovely coffee station on the main floor that has a Keurig and tea/hot chocolate available anytime.

Breakfast was included with the stay, and was a lovely continental breakfast (with eggs) as well as a beautiful fruit platter, and yogurt, coffee and juice. The dining room is extremely elegant, and the patio beautiful and an option for dinner and breakfast as well. The patio has a lovely fireplace feature which was very welcoming in the evening.
It was an easy, short walk down the road to the grocery store which was handy for picking up any snacks and sundries. The store also has a liquor outlet.

Dinner was excellent and the service was very friendly. Staff were a little run off their feet given the sudden influx of summer travellers this year, but it didn't impact our experience at all.

We hope to be back again someday.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Main floor rooms have patios; top floor rooms don't
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vancouver02 wrote a review Aug 2020
Vancouver, B.C.
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at The Woodstone! The staff had contacted me the day before arrival to ask our arrival time. When I explained that it was the very early ferry, they remarked "no problem", your room will be ready and for a very nominal charge we would be happy to serve you breakfast!" What a treat to be able to check in soooo early with a yummy cooked breakfast offered! Roxy and Stefan, the owners, were so welcoming and showed us around their beautiful inn. Our king room had an amazing view overlooking the horse and farmland. GORGEOUS! Room was spacious and wonderful bathroom. Small patio to enjoy a glass of wine on. If requested, daily room service is offered. Restaurant was not fully operational due to COVID but it did serve dinner Thursday-Sunday. We had one dinner at the manor and it was very nice. Continental breakfast offered everyday and it was included in the room cost... it was simple but very adequate. I must not forget the cozy outdoor fireplace on the communal patio and s'mores offered in the evening! A beautiful way to end the day! You do need a car on the island in order to explore the beautiful hikes/walks. We would highly recommend staying at The Woodstone if you are visiting Galiano!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: DO spend the extra to book a room on ground floor overlooking the pasture. Small patio to enjoy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bisondotcom wrote a review Jan 2023
Vancouver, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely stay in the August. The Woodstone is located a very short drive from the Ferry, close to a couple of food trucks and small grocery stores. Roxie was very helpful when we called ahead of time to tell her about our son's bad pet allergy--she called another guest booked in a pet-free room and asked if they would switch rooms with us, which they kindly accommodated. Rooms are fair sized, well maintained and clean. We had a beautiful view of the valley. Nice common area/games room to relax and hang out. We liked it so much that we booked again in the fall and again had another wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zulu wrote a review Sep 2020
British Columbia, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is a small boutique hotel with a restaurant. The setting is stunningly beautiful as is the hotel property and the dining room. Sadly, the food served is beyond awful. Three of us went for lunch recently. There was no soup so two of us opted for salad and one for a goat cheese pakora. The “salads” were a handful of nasty, chewy bitter greens thrown onto a plate with a hunk of badly undercooked chicken. No dressing, no flavour. Inedible. The third person said her goat cheese pakora was all batter. The fries that came with her meal had clearly been fried another time - maybe even another week- long ago - and reheated. Dry and tasteless. One of us has chickens, so at least the food wasn’t a complete waste but it’s not fun to put nearly $75 worth of lunch (the place isn’t cheap) into a box to feed chickens. To make it worse, when the server asked us how our meals were and we responded with “awful”, she wandered away without any response. It was pretty clear to her none of us had eaten much of the stuff on our plates. There are limited dining options on this island. I don’t think that this means an expensive restaurant can shove garbage at their guests. I had an awful meal there last year and swore I would never go back. However, the options here are small and it is a lovely place so we thought to give it another chance. Big mistake. We were lured by the online menu which bears little resemblance to the actual menu. The crab bisque we came for was nowhere to be found. Strongly recommended as a place to stay but eat somewhere else
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roxanne Orlitzky, Owner at Woodstone Manor
Responded Oct 4, 2020
I am sincerely distressed reading your review. As the owner of the Woodstone, I care deeply that all our guests and diners have a wonderful experience. I am quite confused how your lunch could have gone so wrong not only as to the food but also the service. All staff know that our main objective is to have happy guests and diners and that they are authorized to do what it takes to answer any and all complaints. I have spoken to your server and she was honestly unaware of your dissatisfaction. I'm not sure how this was not communicated to her but I do assure you that had she'd known, she would have made things right for you. As you know, we are part of a very small community and our reputation means a great deal to us, on and off Galiano Island. As to the food, Chef sources his greens locally and I can only assume that the fresh mix was possibly weighted too much towards strong-flavoured greens if you found them bitter. Our dressing is housemade and I'm sorry that you didn't like it. Badly undercooked chicken is a very serious matter, which Chef would have definitely rectified immediately had he known. Following your comments, we have replaced our goat cheese pakora with a wrap. The fries are always cooked fresh but perhaps they were overcooked and, if that's the case, should not have been served. Regarding the posted menu, you are absolutely correct that it did not reflect what we were serving. We checked our website and unfortunately the updated menu had not been posted when you went online. Having expectations that are not met is disappointing and we understand that. We will endeavor to make sure that all our information is as up-to-date as much as possible. As mentioned in our response to the email you sent us directly, we hope you give our restaurant one more chance and allow us to make amends.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
liz o wrote a review Aug 2020
West Vancouver, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well, it feels like a castle in the cedars overlooking the pastures with content rescue horses and a happy llama as scenery. Although we lived on Galiano full time a few years ago, we were unprepared for the luxury here at the end of the winding road flanked by big Galiano daisies. George the butler (four legged) was the first to greet us and our duck toller exuberantly but before he could properly show us around, Roxy and Anita were on hand to finish off the tour.
Room was lovely, patio was quiet and private and outdoor furniture made on Galiano by Evelyn and her hubbie added to the comfort all around. Libraries on both floors, 24 hour coffee and tea stations, magnificent dining room, spectacular dinner, wonderful showers, walks through the woods, friendliness, professionalism and happiness abound. The staff are very accommodating and it is perfectly clear they adore the guests and cherish the ambience as well.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We were in a pet-friendly room on the forest side and it was wonderful.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbi C wrote a review Jun 2021
West Vancouver, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently had the opportunity to visit the Woodstone Manor for a wonderful dinner. We were anchored on our boats in Montague Harbour and our friends had arranged for the proprietor to pick us up to dine in their restaurant. The property is stunning and the outstanding meal did not disappoint either. Best of all we were treated to a lovely tour of the island on the way back to our boats by our hostess, Roxy. Truly memorable and we will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricia wrote a review Sep 2022
Stann Creek, Belize
3.0 of 5 bubbles
There are staffs in here that are trying real hard to give guests good experience. The place is grand. We were given a room less glamoros than the price we paid for. We were cycling and exhausted. Just took the room and slept and checked out
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Don M wrote a review Sep 2022
Cobble Hill, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very elegant house with nicely appointed rooms and restaurant. We were there in July of 2022 when there were staff shortages as the result of the Covid pandemic and the restaurant was closed during our time there, except for the breakfasts. The breakfasts were first rate. We were there to tour Galiano Island and we found Woodstone to be the perfect place to retreat to after a long day of driving and hiking. The owners/management were most accommodating and provided useful tips as to where to go and what to see.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
julianhemming1 wrote a review May 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Woodstone Manor is characterful and a relaxing place to stay on Galiano Island. A very friendly and hard working team who make a perfect stay. The food was excellent and the staff were willing to share their experiences of island living and recommendations of places to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elle M wrote a review Jun 2022
Toronto, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stumbled upon this property and was quite impressed with food and rooms. Rooms are immaculate and staff super attentive. True B&B experience … owner is most engaging and quick to share her favourite spots on Galiano Island to eat and visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
22KHW wrote a tip May 2024
Port Moody, Canada3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early!"
Read full review
Joanna W wrote a tip Jul 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have a dog definitely book one of ground floor rooms with a patio. "
Read full review
Clarissa S wrote a tip Jul 2023
Penticton, Canada10 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No pool instead lovely trails"
Read full review
Lena K wrote a tip Sep 2021
Vancouver, Canada17 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Main floor rooms have patios; top floor rooms don't"
Read full review
Eric wrote a tip Feb 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ground floor rooms have great patios"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Galiano Island area.
PRICE RANGE
C$334 - C$411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaGaliano Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Woodstone Manor - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Woodstone Manor
Which popular attractions are close to Woodstone Manor?
Nearby attractions include Japanese Garden (6.0 km), Montague Harbour Marine Provincial Park (3.8 km), and Active Pass Lighthouse (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Woodstone Manor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Woodstone Manor?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Woodstone Manor?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Woodstone Manor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Woodstone Manor?
Conveniently located restaurants include pilgrimme, Babes in the Woods, and Sunny mayne bakery.
Is Woodstone Manor located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Galiano Island.
Are pets allowed at Woodstone Manor?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Woodstone Manor accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Galiano Island HotelsGaliano Island Hotel DealsHotels near Woodstone Manor
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars