Bayshore Inn & Spa

111 Waterton Ave, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0 Canada
Traveller (237)
Room & Suite (94)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#7 of 8 hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Bayshore Inn & Spa is the only Lakefront hotel in Waterton. Our Rustic Lodge just completed a renovation with new furniture, 50' TV's , beds, bedding, art & drapes . We boast the highest rated restaurants in the park, the Lakeside Chophouse, Thirsty Bear Kitchen + Bar. and the Red Rock Trattoria. We also have a Starbucks on property and the Serenity Spa! Most all our renovated rooms and suites are lakefront with balconies steps from the water. We Waterton's premier property with the best location, located right on Main St. in the heart of the village.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Hiking
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Billiards
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Nightclub / DJ
Children's television networks
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
24-hour security
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
625Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 182
  • 208
  • 135
  • 54
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lillian2611 wrote a review Sep 2020
Calgary, Canada17 contributions13 helpful votes
We chose the hotel because I worked at the front desk 35 years ago and I wanted to relive some of my youth, I suppose. I certainly knew how old the hotel was but was encouraged by the news that the hotel was undergoing renovations.
I requested a lake view room and, like another reviewer, got the marina side. If you get a chance to request something more towards the middle of the hotel, I’d recommend it.
The room could not have been cleaner. I was definitely impressed by that. I did not believe it to be renovated because its furnishings are so ordinary and uninspired, but since reading some of the owner’s responses I acknowledge I may have been wrong about that. If so, it’s all the more reason to be disappointed in how much we paid, even if there aren’t many options in Waterton.
The room has an ordinary tub and shower in a relatively small bathroom. There are no remarkable amenities - not even bottled water. I have stayed in similar hotels but because the rooms only cost between $60-$80 my expectations were far lower.
It’s a somewhat noisy hotel because of its construction (it was noisy 35 years ago, too), but it wasn’t as bad during our Tuesday night stay as I feared it might be. That was a plus.

I think it’s great that the owner is so responsive on Trip Advisor and I wish the team the best of luck.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shameer Sueman, Owner at Bayshore Inn & Spa
Responded Jun 24, 2021
I am glad you got a chance to relive your time back in Waterton! I'm not sure you can stay in any Canadian National Park right on the lake for $60! Comparing us to anything less wouldn't be fair. We are a seasonal hotel (only open for 5 months) and with soaring Parks fees and land rent costs we can barley make it at the rates we charge. I am sorry you found our new furniture ordinary and uninspired...i'll pass that along to the designer! We advertise our rooms as lakefront and just do not have enough rooms to differentiate between both sides of the lake. Some guests prefer to look out onto the marina and the prince of wales and some on the other side , i guess it is a matter of preference. The bottle of water is a good idea and i think that is something we could do for future guests! I hope you get a chance to visit again as if you look around we do have the nicest rooms in the village!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nanalott wrote a review Sep 2021
Regina, Canada129 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
We spent two nights in this motel( not hotel) in the first week in September. We had two room as we where here with anther couple.
The rooms are generous and clean with large well equipped bathrooms. We had two nice comfortable beds( two queens each room) with a nice selection of pillows. The rooms where main level and lake front with handicap accessible features as requested. Each room had a tiny deck as well. Parking was good and the hotel was busy. It was very quiet and the exterior was also well maintained with huge flower baskets being well cared for. I’m not sure what the Spa title refers to these features where not evident.
We enjoyed our time here although for the very high cost of the stay per night there was no tables in the room or in the lobby indeed anyplace on the grounds that we could sit and play cards at! The rooms where big enough for a small table but there wasn’t one and one was not offered. This limited our enjoyment of this stay together.
The hotel insisted on an additional 150.00 damage deposit on top of a 300.00 per night charge which seemed unnecessary to two retired couples visiting a quiet park, but this was returned on check out.
In closing I would say you are largely limited in hotel options in the park a detail I would say that is not lost to the man that owns most of the town.
Would we return Yes but we would stay a short distance outside the park and come in for the day. The lake and vistas are truly wonderful and worth the drive to enjoy! Oh too bad that you also now have to pay to go into the park! But still it is worth the travel as there are many lovely natural treats tucked away in the park even for the older crowd!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The town is open for a small window (May to October) but in September the student staff is gone...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChinookHorse wrote a review May 2022
Canada66 contributions29 helpful votes
This is indeed a motel, not a hotel, as it has been for over 50 years. The room is large and upgrades are as advertised, but are of average quality. Check-in was quick and efficient, but it would be nice if one could check in at 3 instead of 4 pm. The deck looks over a busy downtown restaurant and parking lot with partial mountain views facing west. The room is not very soundproof, but if you like street life, late night noisy revellers exiting the bar and loud cars departing into the wee hours, it may be entertaining. The room above seemed to be let out to a worker toiling away at work that required regular sessions of walking back and forth all night night with breaks for music in between. It’s a noisy location overall, even with the street blocked off to traffic.

The pet-friendly room is found up a long flight of open metal stairs with a “slippery when wet” sign and it was raining the day we arrived. The room location is unusual compared to most rooms I have stayed in for far less cost. Typically pet friendly rooms are on the ground floor with access closest to a quick exit to a discrete walking area. This room seemed a punishment for bringing a pet. The room choice was non-negotiable on booking and the pet charge is more than normal. Our pet slept well, but we did not. Waterton has changed a lot over the years and is still worth a visit, but there are better options for accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Park visitation is increasingly intensive in numbers and in high demand in the summertime. Make...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shameer Sueman, Owner at Bayshore Inn & Spa
Responded May 29, 2022
We are so sorry you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Unfortunately we do put all our pet rooms overlooking the village and there is street noise. The rest of the hotel is very quiet and Lakefront. We put pet rooms on one end of the hotel where there is no rooms under or above them so that other guests are not disturbed by barking as that has been a big issue for us in the past. We would love to get rooms ready earlier but with the staffing situation plaguing the country , we just do not have the man power to guarantee that however most days we can accommodate early check ins as we have a solid housekeeping crew. We hope you give us another try as all the hotels are seasonal and the Bayshore the one of the nicest and one of the only ones to be refurbished in the park. Thank you for the review!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura E wrote a review Aug 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina8 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
Excellent location. Everyone at the checkin desk was extremely knowledgeable about activities/restaurants in the area and were very helpful. Beautiful views of the lake and great walking area. Would defintely recommend or visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie E wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
This is a resort that cares enough about their clientele to upgrade all their rooms, paying attention to details. Located on the shores of beautiful Waterton Lakes, a stroll outside the room was just what the soul needed to regenerate. Excellent food! A romantic getaway, I'm sure you will agree. Treat yourself!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Lake front rooms have beautiful views and are quieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joyce V wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I booked this hotel based on pictures and description online which stated it was fully renovated and soundproof and we had paid an extra $100 per night to have lake view. if this hotel is renovated they need to rethink who they paid to complete the renovations . It is nothing like the pictures online the rooms are small and very loud all you hear is dogs barking, people talking and the door to outside has a big gap on the bottom for all the cool air to come through and since we booked through booking.com we had no choice but to stay both nights or still pay for both......
Not at all what we expected very disappointed won’t be back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shameer Sueman, Owner at Bayshore Inn & Spa
Responded Sep 4, 2020
I am so sorry you had a bad experience however you are making some exaggerated and false claims and that is not fair. We state we have renovated rooms, that is true. All the furniture in all guest rooms is under 30 days old including art & lighting! The carpets were put in last year, we are in the process of new wall coverings and paint, i am not sure if your room had completed the paint and wall coverings, if it did not i am truly sorry. We do not state anywhere we are sound proof, we actually state everywhere that we are a rustic lodge as the hotel is over 60 years old. The price difference between a Lakefront room and a non lakefront room in the peak season is $50 not $100, you can check that on our website where it is cheaper to book rooms. The pictures online at booking.com are still our old rooms with old furniture and carpets. We did not want to post new images until all the rooms had completed the renovation so it would not look the same on booking.com, it is better. I am so sorry if there was a dog barking next door, if you had called the front desk we would have had that handled for you. We never want any of our guests to come to this beautiful park and be disappointed with their stay however during these trying times for businesses when we are working so hard to provide a quality product it is not fair to exaggerate just because you are upset, be fair and give an accurate description as that is what we strive to do with our product. If you feel i have been unfair with my response please feel free to contact me and i will be more than happy to compensate you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EssexGrl wrote a review Aug 2020
Okotoks, Canada28 contributions14 helpful votes
Bayshore is comfortable, clean and has all the amenities (except a pool, not that you need it of course) that you would expect from this type of hotel. I have no complaints about our room at all (2nd floor), which had 2 queen beds and a large balcony overlooking the lake - beautiful view.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and spent a lot of time cleaning, not only the rooms and other areas, but the outside too.
Waterton is a small town and pretty much most thiongs are walkable, but the location of this hotel, literally 20ft from the lake shore is what gives it the edge over other accommodation in the town, especially the famous Prince Of Wales hotel, which frankly, when we went up the hill to look at the outside of it and the view from the hill of the lake, looked like a tired 3 star 'had its day' property.
Bayshore own the neighbouring Lakeside Chophouse, the Spa and The Thirsty Bear. I don't think, in this current climate, the Spa was open and we didn't try The Thirsty Bear, but we did have an evening meal in the Chophouse, which was on the pricier side, but was excellent. All-in-all a great 3 day getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
patchdriver wrote a review Jun 2021
Estevan, Canada57 contributions42 helpful votes
Several years ago, we stayed at the Bayshore which we would rate as excellent at that time. This time, May 30-31 was much less pleasing. We realized that Covid limited the hotel's offerings so that was not a problem. When we checked in on May 30, the front desk said they need a $150 deposit on our credit card, in addition to the the agreed room rate. Surprise!! Nowhere in either our verbal communication when we booked, or in the very nice confirmation letter was this additional deposit mentioned. It took 5 days to get back $149.04 from our credit card company.
Secondly, maintenance in the room was exceptionally poor. I went to pull the drape closed in the evening and the entire drapery rod fell on my head. The rod was just sitting, unsecured, on top of the brackets. Upon closer inspection, there was no way to secure it into the bracket because the two brackets were installed upside down. This meant the securing screw could not be used because there was not enough room between it and the ceiling to get a screwdriver into it. Obviously, this problem had existed for sometime and must have been reported but nothing was done by management.
Beware closing the drapes!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shameer Sueman, Owner at Bayshore Inn & Spa
Responded Jun 24, 2021
Thank you for visiting us again! I am sorry for the credit card confusion. When a guest checks into any hotel in the world they give a credit card. Every hotel takes a pre authorization transaction for the amount of the rooms plus $150 for incidentals . It is not a charge but a hold of funds to make sure you can cover the cost of the room and incidentals. Upon check out the charge for the room is placed and the balance of the hold released. How long it takes to release is up to your bank. I am sorry if this was not properly explained to you. The new drapes were installed 30 days ago and the one in your room seems to not have been installed correctly. I will have maintenance check all the rooms to be safe! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LeemYYC wrote a review Jul 2020
Calgary, AB18 contributions19 helpful votes
Location is the best offering for this hotel. Room was spacious and lake view balcony is a pleasant feature. Rooms are spacious with two comfortable, supportive queen beds and superior linen. Bathroom is modern and clean, standard 5 piece with a full size tub. Service was alright, could be improved.
We stayed 2 nights, Thursday and Friday, reserving about 10 days ahead with ease. Coffee station brewed single cup at a time served as hot water dsipenser. Had an issues with the TV remote, which could not be fixed. Price is high for the age & ammenities offered. The town is a high demand area with a limited choices and season.
Suggestions for improvement: include a microwave oven, or a kettle. Coffee station dispensed hot water has coffee taste, less than ideal for brewing tea. Bathroom could use ventilation fan (window present, but does not open). Front desk staff can be moreresponsive to customer requests and comments.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
beeginger63 wrote a review Jul 2021
edmonton79 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
We had visited Waterton before but stayed outside of town in a b&b. This time we wanted a complete rest post covid so chose bayshore as it is on the waters edge and it did not disappoint.
The lake front room had 2x queen beds and was large and airy, great bathroom and shower. Beds were comfy. Fridge was welcome and a sml freezer space. Ground floor balcony was to die for. We also had grass in front of the balcony that we spread out onto and the lakeside right in front felt like our own private space. There was AC although it was wall mounted and made some it didn't matter as it certainly churned out the welcomed cold air. We don't drink coffee but the coffee maker also could be used.to make tea. The hair dryer was sml.but powerful.and the iron was also sml.but mighty even on my linen clothes. Staff were awesome we only had to ask and they dropped off towels and we got other things like tissue and toilet roll from reception. They do not currently clean while you are there because of covid but we asked for it to be vacuumed because of all the tree blossoms being blown in and they were happy to oblige, garbage we just left out side our door.
We saw lots of deer in town, and we're amazed and lucky to have a blk bear swim down the lake and come out right in front of our unit just 30ft away. Wow
Is it cheap no, is it value for money? Because of the location absolutely. No other places in the town has the location or the outdoor space unless you were camping.
We would come back in a heart 💓
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from heyjudei2019
Medford, New Jersey
Upstairs mountain view room good or pay for lakeside?
Answer from skevans
Vancouver29 contributions45 helpful votes
Sorry- this response may be too late for you- but I would definitely stay in Banff- Calgary is just another big city. Have not stayed at the Glacier Park Lodge but the Bayshore Inn's location can't be beat. Rooms are dated but clean and safe. Central to the village.
ClaireSampson asked a question May 2017
Cambridge, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Does anyone know the check in time? Can't find it on the website!
Answer from Calgal86
Mount Pearl, Canada12 contributions4 helpful votes
4 pm most hotels are this time.
pallavi49 asked a question Feb 2016
Atlanta, Georgia4 contributions3 helpful votes
Is breakfast included?
Answer from ahurtinalbertan
Crossfield, Canada122 contributions25 helpful votes
No, but there's a restaurant so they can take more of your money ;)
Leree K wrote a tip Sep 2022
1 contribution
"Look in the rooms before you commit to the high prices."
Read full review
geo54 wrote a tip Sep 2022
Winnipeg, Canada129 contributions35 helpful votes
"For a better Lakefront view ask for a room greater than 244. The wing of 144 and 244 gave fewer trees blocking the view."
Read full review
PhilKirkham wrote a tip Aug 2022
Warfield, United Kingdom77 contributions82 helpful votes
"Book somewhere else"
Read full review
ChinookHorse wrote a tip May 2022
Canada66 contributions29 helpful votes
"Park visitation is increasingly intensive in numbers and in high demand in the summertime. Make reservations well in advance."
Read full review
Nanalott wrote a tip Sep 2021
Regina, Canada129 contributions22 helpful votes
"The town is open for a small window (May to October) but in September the student staff is gone and the restaurant waits increase. Windy!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Waterton Lakes National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
C$282 - C$581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bayshore hotel waterton lakes national park, bayshore inn resort and spa, bayshore hotel alberta
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesWaterton Lakes National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Bayshore Inn & Spa - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bayshore Inn & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Bayshore Inn & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Upper Waterton Lake (0.6 km), Bear's Hump (0.9 km), and Cameron Falls (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bayshore Inn & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Bayshore Inn & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bayshore Inn & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bayshore Inn & Spa?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bayshore Inn & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wieners of Waterton, Thirsty Bear Kitchen + Bar, and Red Rock Trattoria.
Are there any historical sites close to Bayshore Inn & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting First Oil Well In Western Canada National Historic Site (6.3 km).
Does Bayshore Inn & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Bayshore Inn & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.