We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grouse and Claret

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grouse and Claret
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grouse and Claret
See the most recent reviews
Showing 377: English reviews
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

My partner and myself stayed at the caravan site behind the grouse and claret last weekend. It was the first time we had been away in our new motor home and wanted a site that had electric hook up, showers and toilets. The site was in a lovely position at the side of the river Derwent. We found it quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ltsb650
Matthew D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with. Management Team Grouse and Claret

Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

What a charming bed and breakfast within a pub. Rooms clean, larger than average, really fresh smelling and bright. Bed was super comfy and had a wonderful nights sleep. Room 3 The food in the restaurant was delicious I had salmon salad with giant couscous. Highly recommended. Staff are friendly and very helpful, it's rare you are offered to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalee A
Matthew D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Great news we are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and we really look forward to seeing you again Thank you Matt Deans Manager

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

May 2016 Just got back from a pleasant couple of days at the Grouse and Claret in our Campervan. Lovely clean/ well maintained site. Well spaced and staff were very helpful, Good clean free showers/ toilets/dish washing facilities Thank you so much. I will certainly be recommending to my friends

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simone1479
Matthew D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with. Do checkout our Facebook page for promos that you might be interested in. Management Team Grouse and Claret

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at The Grouse and Claret Caravan Site for Mayday bank holiday. At around £27 a night I expected a lovely site with great amenities......what an over expectation!!!! Some of the pitches are very narrow with not enough room to keep your car next to your van, therefore having to park in the very busy pub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola K
Matthew D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay on our caravan site. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our team.

Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Similar to the one star review from the Shepshed visitor. Sit where you like and no drinks order taken for a while. I asked for no onion rings guess what arrived 30mins later. Still its popular particularly with oldies and visitors to the tacky Peak Village shopping centre. Food wasnt that good my burger had terrible salad with it. Hand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigtallnick
Matthew D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your visit was not up to par. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned staff. I would also like inform you that hand dryer has been fixed. Management Team Grouse and Claret

Shepshed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2016

The striking feature of this visit was the lack of interest from the staff. Starting with "sit where you like" and ending with no "goodbye, hope you enjoyed your meal" as we walked past the 2 staff by the entrance (well, that would have interrupted their conversation wouldn't it?) The waitress who took the order simply stood by our table...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve W
Matthew D, General Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have sent your feedback to the personnel concerned. I apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Please let me know if you want to discuss this personally. Management Team Grouse and Claret

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016

We were very well look after. When we turn up we didn't really have enough room for the two children. However manager on duty, I think his name was George, provided an additional room at no cost without us having to ask. The location was ideal halfway between Bakewell and Matlock so easy to get out and about. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heathersloan6
Matthew D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Very basic, tired and not cheap. We were greeted by a waiter at the bar who informed us the room was ready but the shower was broken and unavailable; he did not offer to find us another room, offer a discount or even apologise - he just waited for us to say ok thats fine. When we actually said that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMA7243
Matthew D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our housekeeping management. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We really enjoyed our stay. The pub downstairs is very friendly and popular with diners, but we didn't hear any noise upstairs. The rooms are spacious with high ceilings, with very comfortable beds. The breakfast was lovely. All staff very friendly, helpful and efficient and keen to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. Good standard pub food at reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank boughd
Matthew D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area again soon, don't hesitate to call us.

Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

This is a pub with an attached caravan park, so can and does get very noisy and busy. The room (no8) we were given was clean comfortable and had all the usual amenities - however we had two hairdryers has one had broken and a replacement kettle left on the side as the main one wasn't working and a bedside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
Matthew D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay overall. However, I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your.

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
0.4 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
4.9 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
363 reviews
4.7 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
158 reviews
8.5 km away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
343 reviews
9.1 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
18th-Century Restaurant/Public House with 8 beautifully appointed double en-suite bedrooms. Situated just 1 minutes drive outside the Peak District National Park we are well situated for all local amenities including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, and the towns of Matlock and Bakewell. Nestled to the rear of the Pub, alongside the the River Derwent we also have 29 hard standing pitches with electric-hook-up to accommodate Touring Caravans and Motor homes and a separate Tent field, facilities here include Hot Showers, Toilets, Chemical Toilet disposal and Washing Up facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grouse and Claret

Address: Bakewell Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Price Range: $119 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grouse and Claret 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Grouse and Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse And Claret Hotel Rowsley
Grouse And Claret Rowsley, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grouse and Claret staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Grouse and Claret staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Traditional Hotel Restaurant with modern facilities & good standard of décor. Menu offers a selection of good honest & hearty food.”
 of 5 bubbles V7885LNjohnn, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't Camp”
 of 5 bubbles DerbyshireBikerbabe, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms we have stayed in 7 & 8 both overlook the backyard!”
 of 5 bubbles kingman49, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is seperate from the others so nice and quiet :)”
 of 5 bubbles 622harrietg, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay over night so unable to comment.”
 of 5 bubbles 276sylviam, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5