We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was basically everything I would expect for the price. Lovely, clean, very basic. I love the paintings on the walls and the staff were all very friendly. If you are used to Hostels, you will be very happy here :)

Helpful?
Thank t2haines
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Difficult to find because have different name on the door. You do check in on the small part of the bar, then you need to go out to the street to enter in the hostel. Many of the lockers in the room are broken,

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea287872387
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. Our hostel is located above our bar & the entrance is in our courtyard but once in the reception the rooms are all upstairs. The lockers in the rooms was an idea that unfortunately hasn't worked out but we are constantly trying to improve our storage systems. Hopefully if you return we will have a smart... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Stayed at the full moon one Saturday and won't be making this mistake twice. The hstel is dirty rooms look unclean, dirty plates in the kitchens food on work surfaces. Arrived to a party going on in my room and my bed was the bar. The noise from the bar outside is deafining the whole building vibrates. Arguably I did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachelle G
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Our hostel is undoubtedly a party hostel at the weekends & our guests usually chose to stay because of our party atmosphere & central & artistic location. We are better suited to backpackers exploring what Bristol has to offer. More 

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Okehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2016

10 of us ladies stayed for 2 nights. We had our own 10 bed dorm so at least we were all together!! We had a fantastic time. The room was amazingly spacious for 10 of us. The room was very clean and art work on the walls were wonderful! The staff were very friendly and helpful. We didnt use common... More 

Helpful?
Thank sheenalou23
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sheenalou23, Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It's our pleasure to have you all stop by and we would more than welcome you to return any time you should wish. Hope to see you again! The Full Moon Team More 

1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2016

I was really surprised when I walked into our room, I wasn't expecting to see beautiful murals all over the walls. The room was spacious and clean and felt really homely. The staff were super friendly and even helped us carry our bags upstairs. The overall atmosphere was welcoming and I liked having a lively bar downstairs.

Helpful?
Thank Helyn G
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Helyn, Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Very glad that you appreciate the artwork and that you feel the atmosphere of our hostel was more than satisfactory, particularly as this is something that our team put so much effort into ensuring this is the case. Would be brilliant to see you at the Full Moon Backpackers again!... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2016

This is an amazing, unique hostel with each room decorated by a different artist. Our room decor featured cheerfully colored Ladybirds and Dragonflies (Room B). I was fortunate to see one of the artists, Helyn Gulley, complete her wall mural near the kitchen. The kitchen was clean and well-supplied with dishes and cookware. The room was well heated and quiet,... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynndchildress
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Lynndchildress, Hugely appreciate your feedback and kind appreciation of our establishment! Very happy to hear that it was a productive stay with us and that you enjoyed the artwork. We would more than welcome you to return any time you wish. Look forward to seeing you again! Thanks, The Full Moon Team More 

Gatton, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights with my friend to explore Bristol. We stayed in the girls dorm room up stairs. Bathrooms were clean and good showers. Only negative would be the mattress, I slept in the duvet as the springs were very prominent. But we had a good night out downstairs, and the staff were nice. Good location as its... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aimée R
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Aimee, Thanks for kindly leaving us some feedback in regards to our hostel, we really appreciate it! Sorry to hear about the mattresses, fortunately earlier this month the entire hostel has been fitted with brand new mattresses for our guests to sleep on. Really happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere and unique night life experience which we are offer!... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I was shock about the treatment we received from receptionist. He looked angry although our smiles and he did not any effort to be kind towards us. Also, we had go to withdraw money because they don't accept cards. When we came back from party we sat outside to eat sth and the guy came to us and started messing... More 

Helpful?
Thank lanseyalbert
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

The bar here is good but that's about it. This is a very basic hostel. Beds were terribly uncomfortable and the bathrooms are awful. Drippy showers with nowhere to put your stuff. The paintwork in the rooms is fun though. I wouldn't stay here again unless they chuck out those springy mattresses and get some new ones.

Helpful?
Thank Lillypher
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Lillypher, Naturally we are very disappointed to hear that you did not feel your stay at our hostel was not up to your expectations. Our team take pride on trying to meet all guest requirements and strive to provide a comfortable, safe and clean space in which to stay. All guest feedback is of course greatly appreciated in ensuring... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Clean and easy facilities. Comfortable beds. Staff are welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful. But yeah, ear plugs on the weekend are crucial for sleep. The music had me dancing in bed so I got up and out of bed and joined the party! The bar downstairs is a fantastic joint

Helpful?
Thank ToZaW
Full M, Manager at Full Moon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi ToZaW, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Weekends at the Full Moon are certainly guaranteed to be lively and our team always try our very best to ensure that the experience is as enjoyable as possible for each of our guests. We more than welcome you to come... More 

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
1.2 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#5 of 36 in Bristol
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 36 in Bristol
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An Eco-Friendly Backpacker Hotel situated in the heart of Bristol's lively cultural district Stokescroft, just 10 minutes walking distance from the City Centre. We are right in the heart of Stokescroft, Bristol's famous bohemian quarter. Nearby there is a host of amazing graffiti and street art, including pieces by world-renowned artists such as Banksy. There are also many great alternative cafes, bars, pubs and clubs to be found in the area. We have: -Private, Twin & Dorm Rooms -Shared Toilet & Shower facilities -Self-catering Kitchen (with communal food shelf) -Free Tea & Coffee -Free WI-FI -Free use of Computer -Guest Common Room and TV Lounge -Laundry Facilities -Luggage Storage -24 Hour Access -The Full Moon: Pub/Restaurant with Pool table and DJ Booth -The Attic Bar: Live Music Venue (Fridays/Saturdays) -Woodfired Pizza Oven (Fridays/Saturdays) -Shisha Bar -Large Courtyard/Outdoor Seating Area A gentle reminder to all our future guests - we are in a very vibrant area and have a popular and busy bar downstairs, especially over weekends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Address: Stokes Croft | 1 North Street, Bristol BS1 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $28 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Full Moon Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Backpackers Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Full Moon Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request the botanical garden room!”
 of 5 bubbles t2haines, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ok if you want to party otherwise you'd have to be drunk to sleep here. Noise terrible”
 of 5 bubbles Unhappy181, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the weekends are bound to be noisy, so be prepared.”
 of 5 bubbles 963naomil, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“room a on the courtyard but not if you like quit”
 of 5 bubbles RoadGirl1986, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“amazing rooms, perfect location, brilliant staff, vibrant night life, great facilities”
 of 5 bubbles iraroscia, 3 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay