We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rock\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

631 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 551: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hostel, the area is well located, the atmosphere is fantastic with a big space to meet people. This place is just "overwhelming", my room (I was in a dormitory ) was clean and well organised. Beds were good and so comfy! the toilets were clean and the showers had an amazing water pressure and hot water (rare for some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank strade79
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

How to start reviewing this place? I don't even know if I should call it 'Place'... I stayed at the hostel for 3 weeks and it was horrible. They were too many receptionists in short shifts with makes hostel management a huge mess. I was asked once to pay the key deposit again during my booking because apparently I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexWilliamAbagnale
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a 4 bed dorm with friends. There were some positives: Great location, easy to find Free coffee and breakfast Comfy beds Hot, clean showers Warm rooms However, there were many negatives: The noise from the club is phenomenal, and whilst they do make it clear that the rooms will be noisy at weekends, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

finally decided to make a review on this hostel, i was there last year for a couple of days and have to say that it wasn't a nice experience. Staff was not polite at all tbh and wouldn´t take care of any issues like cleaning and dealing with customers. Bathrooms were filthy and usually no paper roll on them, beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nacho M
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Nacho, we don't know why you decided to write this awful review despite the fact that you never stayed here, but we are anyway really happy that now your nightmare is over.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Apart from an idiot member of staff with a beard clinking his keys like a jail warden, the Rock n Bowl Motel is a rocking great place to stay right in the centre of Bristol. Front reception people great, leave your bag till the end of the day, great, free breakfast great, sleeping quarters great, showers great, loos great, just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewedwards00
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, thank you for your review and for the nice words! Our janitor carries a lot of keys for the daily check we have to do, we hope the clinking wasn't too disturbing :) See you soon, Alfredo Esposito Hostel Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well... I can't say much about this place coz it's one of the best hostel in Europe, I just loved it. The staff is all kind and helpful. Maria the manager is this the best person in the earth. Hope u guys carry on with this great work. 5 stars. Wellington Regards

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rafgym
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Rafgym, thank you for taking time to write this exceptional review, we are glad you found the place and staff up to your expectations! We hope to see you soon, Alfredo Esposito Hostel Manager

Málaga
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The motel is really clean and big, with big areas for people who stay at the hotel. But I do not know if its because its size the wifi was terrible. Couldn´t use it. Also is really noisy during the night because below the motel there is a bowling. They asked you 10 pounds for deposit for the key and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarTorres
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi MarTorres, thank you for appreciating the cleanliness and the open space we have at the hostel. We do have completely private showers opposite to the corridor where the mixed are, we are sorry you didn't use it. We are happy that you liked our breakfast as well, our kitchen cleaning time are at 3 p.m. and 4 a.m. to...

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Really friendly staff, good kitchen facilities and lovely feather duvet, but noise from the club underneath was unbearable even with ear plugs. Also the cleaning products used in corridors and stair well gave me an asthma attack! Booked for 2 nights but after the first night on 2hours sleep I had to find another hotel. The hostel wouldn't refund my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, thank you for appreciating our staff and the quality of our bedding, and we are sorry if the noise from the bowling alley has been unbearable for you. The Lanes downstairs has always party going on over the weekend until 3 a.m. (and that's why many people come here), over the week this is the quietest place ever....

Rainbow Beach, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I have to commute to Bristol for work sometimes and staying here was an absolute breeze! I arrived in the late hours but checking in was not a problem at all. Friendly staff member at reception who quickly showed me to my destination (I was very sleepy). Beds are comfortable and toilets clean. Thank you Rock'n'Bowl!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethany G
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Bethany, thank you for your words, we are happy you liked our environment and service. See you soon, Alfredo Esposito Hostel Manager

Blaenau Gwent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I stay in a fair few hostels and this is right up there as a lovely, friendly, clean and economical one to stay in. The facilities are fantastic, location perfect and beds clean and comfy. Already recommending to my friends. ++++++++++

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crusaderfox
Rocknbowl, Manager at Rock'n'Bowl Motel, responded to this review

Hi Crusader, thanks for recommending us to your friends, this is the best things to read! See you soon, Alfredo Esposito Hostel Manager

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 37 in Bristol
1,079 reviews
0.7 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#5 of 37 in Bristol
3,251 reviews
0.6 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Bristol, Rock'n'Bowl features a 24-hour front desk, common areas with free Wi-Fi, flat TVs, a tennis table and a big courtyard. Guests benefit from several discounts at The Lanes, the on-site bowling alley and night club venue, with a special selection of beers, cocktails, a karaoke facilities, pool tables and the famous Ray's Pizza, made with daily fresh dough, buffalo mozzarella and imported Italian ingredients. A nice and healthy breakfast which includes locally roasted fresh coffee, tea, milk, jam, orange juice, toast and cereals, is included with each reservation. The on-site complex, the historical THE LANES, has club nights with many important bands and djs so please be aware that there will be noise disruption on Friday and Saturday nights in particular until about 03:00. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Address: 22 Nelson Street, Bristol BS1 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $23 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock'n'Bowl Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rock'n'Bowl Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock `n Bowl Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rock'n'Bowl Motel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Rock'n'Bowl Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the dormitory is the best”
 of 5 bubbles strade79, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Cheapest Bed sleep in the dorm”
 of 5 bubbles andrewedwards00, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bring top quality ear plugs if you're staying at the weekend”
 of 5 bubbles sarahmZ3914CA, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a small 4 bed mixed room 105, which is better for noise levels.”
 of 5 bubbles H2175NKalexh, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 106 on Friday and Saturday - situated above the bar”
 of 5 bubbles Aced_up, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay