We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,812 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,767: English reviews
South West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Noisy generators so poor night sleep. No invoice prepared for quick check out. Dirty dining room eg food stuff from night before on floor. Porridge so watery it could be drunk. No marmalade. Butter like bricks. Generally poor attention to detail. Will not be staying again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jules762
Mark M, Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry we did not deliver on our usual expectations. Your comments have been noted to allow us to review the mentioned areas.

Troon, Scotland
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past, and always found it to be good. Tonight I am afraid they have done nothing but disappoint, and I have only been here for 30 minutes. I am a gold le club member, and normally don't bother about the advantages that brings. I just like the standard I get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HOneo
Mark M, Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All feedback is used to review how we can improve.

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

This brilliantly located historic city centre hotel has been totally refurbished and is just lovely. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The parking is very convenient and affordable. The rooms are big and comfortable. And the breakfasts are fantastic for quality and quantity. Top notch bacon and sausages. Delicious scrambled eggs. Lovely fresh bread. etc etc. Everything is within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liz k
Mark M, Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're are glad you had a great stay

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

When I first arrived the staff at the front desk were great, very friendly. I had booked a single room and it was rather small - felt a bit boxy particularly for the price. The room was quite stuffy so I opened the window but the smell was wafting into the room from the kitchen so I had to close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SayItHowItIs1997
Mark M, Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry that you did not have a great nights sleep. Thank you for your comments about the staff.

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on Sunday night and stupidly left a bunch of keys in room 420. They fell behind the bedside table, possibly under the bed, and forgot to pick them up the next morning! Contacted the hotel (many times) and eventually was told housekeeping hadn't found anything, so more than likely still there! If anyone happens to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel8610
Mark M, Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

The hotel was very nice overall, and we had a lovely weekend away. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean. The pool and spa was also very nice. The only slight issue was the car park as it was quite tight, but we felt good value for money and somewhere secure to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonymous u
Mark M, Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning

UK
Reviewed 15 February 2016

I want to start by saying a big thank-you to all of the staff at the Mercure Grand Hotel who made our stay so wonderful. It was my husband's birthday on February 13 so I decided to surprise him with a night away. I chose Bristol as we had tickets to a comedy club. The show was second rate, unfortunately,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brettingham
Mark M, Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Hello. Many thanks for your review. We are Glad the staff were able to ensure you had a great stay. Look forward to you returning soon.

Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Chose this hotel literally because we wanted a pool and jacuzzi the next morning. When we went down the next morning we were told we couldn't use either until after 12:00 which was too late because we had to checkout by then. Upon checking out we had to pay an additional 10 pound for breakfast because we had it delivered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
Mark M, Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry things were not to our usual standard. Regarding the room charge we certainly do not set out to deceive, we have a room service charge like most hotels. All feedback is used to review and improve.

Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Note to all: book with these guys directly they are always as competitive on price as any third party. We booked with AMOMA for 2 nights, and when we turned up the booking had not gone through and they didn't actually have any availability for the second night! The staff that dealt with us were calm, professional and apologetic despite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JusiC
Mark M, Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Many thanks for your review, We are happy we were able to fix your problem and glad you enjoyed the food. Thank you for your comments about the restaurant staff.

West Sussex
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Hotel in a good location with parking on site. You can easily walk all over the city from here and for advise and suggestions go to Paul in reception, very helpful and full of local Information. We used the gym, quite small but had all the equipment we needed. Take your own pillow, like so many hotels this one has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroline0312
Mark M, Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Hello , Many thanks for your review. Hope to see you again

712 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (259)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (82)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (372)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Deluxe King Suite (38)
Viewed
King Suite (87)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (36)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.9 km away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.5 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,410 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel is a magnificent Victorian building in the heart of Bristol, close to the city's Temple Meads railway station. The Grand Hotel is an elegant, convenient base from which to explore Bristol's rich history. Local attractions include Brunel's engineering masterpieces, the ancient cathedral, and one of the region's finest shopping malls. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Address: Broad Street, Bristol BS1 2EL, England (Formerly The Grand Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $117 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand, Bristol Hotel Bristol
Thistle Hotel Bristol
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#9 Family Hotel in Bristol
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back of hotel would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles kjd57, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles GrahamS245, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Dont park in the car park”
 of 5 bubbles honourwilliams, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms have been refurbished with a Bristol decor in mind.”
 of 5 bubbles Ncozens3, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't book here”
 of 5 bubbles Kkelly2013, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5