We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avon Gorge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avon Gorge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avon Gorge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 849: English reviews
Nr Tunbridge Wells
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

The Avon Gorge hotel is Ideally located about 5 minute walk to Clifton Village and the Clifton Suspension Bridge. Limited free parking is available at the rear of the hotel. We stayed for one night and will definitely stay again. The staff were helpful and friendly. We had a large standard twin room and there are double rooms with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LBJNrTunbridgeWells
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LBJNrTunbridgeWells Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Avon Gorge hotel. Its great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay, and that you found the staff to be helpful. I will be sure to pass on all your positive comments and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind...

Reviewed 5 January 2016

The hotel itself is quite spacious - we had a huge double room overlooking the avon gorge, the facilities were great in the room, although the only criticism about the room was that i had to wedge the complimentary notepad into the edge of the sash window to stop it from banging on the side of the frame as it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yoyo237
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your feedback Yoyo237. We are saddened to hear that you were unable to fully enjoy your experience with us at The Avon Gorge Hotel. Please accept our apologies concerning any difficulties you may have had during your stay. Your comments regarding the hotel bar and front desk have been passed on to our Senior...

Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

I bought a ticket for the New Years eve party at the bar attached to the hotel. It stated that there was a hot buffet from 8-10pm. We arrived shortly after 8 and there was a large que for the buffet so we decided to get a drink and wait for it to go down. At 9pm I went back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie T
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Ellie T. We apologise if you found the New Year's Eve Party in our White Lion Bar to be below the standards you had expected and your feedback has been passed on to the Food and Beverage Management. Kind regards, William McCulloch Reception Supervisor

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016

'With a view like that, why bother' seems to be the motto of the hotel. The view is magnificent and I'm sure it's jolly marvellous to enjoy the terrace in the summer. Unfortunately the rest of the hotel doesn't live up to it. The largest frustration of the weekend was the party below our bedroom that went on beyond midnight....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miles L
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Miles L, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found the views so spectacular and made the most of the iconic scenery during your visit. It is our policy to try our utmost to allocate guests who are not involved with any party bookings...

bristol
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel once before on New Year's Eve and had a brilliant time then so we thought we would do it again this New Year's Eve Everything was great from start to finish a great twin room with a balcony and very nice views (room 34 ) Breakfast in the morning was just what we needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorraine j
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am sorry to hear about the small problem you had when you arrived, but its great to see that the issue was resolved quickly and you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you again....

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed NYE as a last minute decision. Had a free upgrade to a double room as they were guaranteed it wouldn't sell at that point. Friendly and helpful staff. Reception area stunning. Room was well presented - bourbons with the complimentary tea :) bathroom perfect , iron in room and bed very comfortable. Great location and perfect view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Laura for the great feedback . We are glad to hear you that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade. I will be sure to pass on all your positive comments and feedback about the staff. We wish you a Happy New Year and hope you visit again in the near future. Kind...

Bodmin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Fabulous relaxing stay over Christmas. Friendly and helpful staff, lovely room with balcony giving stupendous views of the bridge and surrounding areas of Bristol. Meals were excellent especially the boxing Day lunch in the Bridge cafe which was great value. Nice touches like a stocking on Christmas morning stuffed with goodies and also a complimentary bottle of Prosecco for my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard C, Thank you ever so much for such a positive review of our hotel. We are absolutely delighted to hear you enjoyed your Christmas with us and your kind words have been passed on to the team. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future and we wish you and your family all the best...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Arrived 10.30 am, confusion over booking so room unavailable before leaving for a wedding. Staff unhelpful. Returned at 01.30 still not able to show us which room we were in until after 2am. Gorge view was one brick wall and a glimpse of the bridge if you stood on a chair. Would not recommend

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shelley C
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shelley C, We are disappointed to hear you did not have a positive experience whilst staying with us. The Hotel offers guests a check-out time of 12pm and check-in anytime from 2pm onwards. We will always try our best to allow guests to access their rooms if they are available before the stated 2pm check-in. Unfortunately on weekends this...

Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

We had a good time and the food was very good but at £45 a head, and £9.50 a glass of wine it should be. The disco was stuck in an 80s time warp, it was s shame there wasn't a bit more variety with up to date hits. The casino was fun if you could edge your way into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paramores
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Paramores. We are glad to hear you had a good time at our Christmas Party function. Your recommendations have been passed on. We wish you a Happy New Year and hope you visit again in the near future. Kind regards William McCulloch

Reviewed 15 December 2015

A friendly and relaxed atmosphere, and very quiet. A lovely room, very well equipped and great that they made the dog so welcome, and great walks just a step away. The resturant was good with very friendly service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celia T
TheAvonGorge, Front Office Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you had such a relaxing experience with us Celia T and delighted you found our staff so friendly. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, William McCulloch

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (221)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
487 reviews
0.4 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
407 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
2.0 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
3,422 reviews
1.3 km away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country.This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunels Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the countrys finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, its just on your door step. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Address: Sion Hill | Clifton Avon, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $146 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avon Gorge Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Avon Gorge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You are paying for the views only, not the customer service”
 of 5 bubbles jackielambert105, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Definitely Avon Gorge Views”
 of 5 bubbles CAT2312, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The views over the Gorge are the ones to go for”
 of 5 bubbles HorseyEmma, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“great views over gorge, street views not bad and quiet at night. Renovated old style hotel, comfortable and service and food excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles beutifulbabe, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra and you can get a room with a view of the avon rive and suspension bridge.”
 of 5 bubbles johntarr16, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5