We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Rodney Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Rodney Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Rodney Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We stayed in a room on the top floor. The room was very comfortable, great bed and nice and quiet up there. Breakfast was superb, a good choice and the cooked option was first class. As a travelling musician the stay was too short but the staff were so friendly and welcoming that I will certainly be considering The Rodney...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank namaquamusic
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear namaquamusic, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that the Rodney was able to offer you everything you needed. I’m sure you must see a lot of hotels on your travels, so such lovely feedback is really appreciated. My team are always thrilled when guests enjoy their stay so thank you...

Leics
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We arrived early on a Friday evening and there was no parking. We were visiting friends in Clifton so they moved their car and we parked outside their house not good for parking at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful all though the girl on the breakfast in the mornings didn't seem to happy. Our room was ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire20Leics
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire20Leics, Thank you for taking the time to review the Rodney, I hope you had a pleasant Christmas and New Year. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our location in Clifton Village suited your needs. I apologise that we didn’t have any parking spaces directly outside the hotel when you arrived....

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Really nice hotel with very friendly staff and great prices. Great location to explore Clifton village, suspension bridge and easy access into city. Would thoroughly recommend. Breakfast is plentifully and top notch and free wifi. Pubs close a little too early for me but there a loads of high quality drinking emporiums and the city is not far away for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris M, Thank you very much for your kind review, we work hard on providing our guests with a comfortable home away from home experience, so it is always nice to read when a guest has enjoyed their stay. As you mentioned, Clifton Village is an ideal base for any visit to Bristol and with an abundance of pubs,...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is well situated and front staff are great. The room is small and the toilet is disgusting. The rooms leak when there is rain. The breakfast isn't great either. I do not recommend you staying here. Certainly not going back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leobelfast
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear leobelfast I hope you have had a relaxing and enjoyable festive period. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I have been unable to trace exactly which room you stayed in and would really appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in person about your experience. We have, over the past year...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016

My 1st stay at the Rodney hotel for an overnight to enjoy the local restaurants and pubs in Clifton all of which are within walking distance. What a find. I shall be returning. Pleasant friendly staff, lovely roon and a great breakfast before departure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank normansquire
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear normansquire, I hope you have had a lovely Christmas and a happy new year! Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your feedback and I am so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us and that the Rodney suited your needs so perfectly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rodney...

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Hotel was ideal for an overnight business stay, close to restaurants and bars and in a good location. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive. Rooms aren't ultra modern but they are comfortable. I would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannnt1989
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hannnt1989, Thank you for taking the time to review the Rodney, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in a great location for getting a quick taste of Bristol with out having the venture too far from the Hotel and especially at this time of year, Clifton Village certainly looks beautiful. We look...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent location- nice part of Bristol, with plenty of cute restaurants and cafes Lovely staff- friendly and ready to help Room not so good- as if I was in a student accommodation. Paint peeling off, slightly mouldy bathroom, tired decor make the room feel dirty. Walls are thin, could hear upstairs and next room talking. Definitely not 'luxury' as described...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joyce C, I am so pleased to read that you found our location suited your needs and you enjoyed all that Clifton Village had to offer. My team have all been at the hotel for some time, and are all passionate about the service they proved and trying to ensure every guest has the best possible stay with us....

Reviewed 6 December 2016

This is a really lovely hotel in Clifton, near the university and Botanic Gardens. The hotel is very well presented and the rooms are nice and modern. There was a fully stocked (paid for) mini bar and also complimentary fruit and stacks of tea and coffee (including loose leaf tea and filter coffee!) in the rooms. The new toiletries in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alana T
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alana T, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found that our location fitted your needs as well as being a peaceful over night stop. I have to admit that I have never been to the Botanic Gardens but this has reminded me that I must! I am glad you liked...

Southampton
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Having read some of the earlier reviews (after my husband had already booked!) I had been a little concerned about what to expect but I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. We found the room (24) to be clean and comfortable, there wasn't a lot of additional space but this wasn't an issue for us as we were only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachel1982
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rachel1982 I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent with us at the Rodney and in your precious state were comfortable and slept well. We do always try to keen wedding parties to an intimate size so that our other guests aren’t disturbed and I’m glad you found that to be the case. The Village has so many lovely...

London
Reviewed 13 November 2016

This is a very nice-looking hotel - a lovely building and a great location. The one odd thing was that the room was very cold in the night - usually I find hotel rooms tend to be overheated, but I actually woke up because it was cold. It had a feel of a hotel that could be so much better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katelilybee
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katelilybee, Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am so pleased you like our location. It is hard not to fall in love with the Georgian architecture in Bristol I think, and we are so lucky to be on the beautiful terrace that we are. I am terribly sorry that you were cold during the night,...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
482 reviews
0.4 km away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#24 of 37 in Bristol
859 reviews
0.9 km away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#30 of 37 in Bristol
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Washington
The Washington
#28 of 37 in Bristol
616 reviews
0.7 km away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 37 in Bristol
601 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rodney Hotel is located in the idyllic Clifton Village in Bristol. An elegant and charming hotel with stylish and comfortable room and excellent service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rodney Hotel

Address: 4 Rodney Place | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $93 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rodney Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rodney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodney Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rodney Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Rodney Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If possible get a room on the back which might be quieter?”
 of 5 bubbles cjpvision, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the rear...we will be next time.”
 of 5 bubbles gravesend58, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor at the back is quietest”
 of 5 bubbles namaquamusic, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms very good, free wi-fi...perhaps get there early as parking is limited”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid a higher floor if less mobile as lots of stairs and no lift!”
 of 5 bubbles rachel1982, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5