We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Washington

Expedia.comUS$52*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Washington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

655 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 617: English reviews
Start your review of The Washington
 Click to rate
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I read all previous reviews but decided to book a weekend stay anyway and make up my own mind. The location was ideal for us and early check in for £5 was really good. We were able to park our motorbike free of charge in the hotel secure car park. All good so far. Staff were pleasant and accommodating at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pekul
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Pekul, I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and that you thought the bed was comfortable. However, I’m very sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. Our housekeeping team work extremely hard to make sure our guests are as comfortable as possible and as you mention, our rooms are currently undergoing...

Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So this was the first time I have stayed at The Washington and I would say my views are mixed. Firstly. Good location. There is a chargeable car park around the back but I chose to park on the street as its free between before 9 and after 5 if you can find a spot, which suited as I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pixiwhiteknuckles
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Pixiwhiteknuckles, I’m very glad that you were pleased by the service provided by our reception, housekeeping and breakfast teams. They all work extremely hard to ensure that all of our guests have comfortable and enjoyable stays with us. I also agree with you that we are in a good location, as we are very close to many areas of...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Book early... It's worth it.... the price was excellent.... great location for everything... very friendly... Love the Carwardines coffee in the room. ... Stayed twice already and will do so again whenever in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonwC5792XL
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear jonwC5792XL, Thanks for the lovely review! We love to see our guests coming back! I do agree with you, we are situated in a great location, so close to the city centre, Clifton Suspension Bridge, Clifton village etc. We are looking forward to see you again soon, Best regards, Patricia

United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 1 night as we were attending a wedding close by. We had a double room with a private bathroom. It seemed fairly clean, asides from a few rogue hairs in the shower and the carpet in the bedroom looking a bit grubby with a couple of stains on it. The decor in general and the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Laura F, Thank you for taking the time to review us- as a small, independent business we greatly appreciate all our guests feedback. I am very glad to hear that our staff made you feel at home and settled here. I will certainly be following up all the issues you mentioned with my housekeeping team who are responsible for...

Somers, NY
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went with 2 friends and each of us got single rooms. My room was a true 3.5 star experience, relatively clean but kind of dirty-looking (old, carpet not been steam cleaned for awhile, I had a feeling I would find a bug in or around the bed, but did not.) For me it was adequate and included a free...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura M
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Laura M, I am really sorry to hear what happened during your stay. However, I have addressed this to the relevant departments as this is not far from our usual standards. We are in the process of ongoing refurbishment: changing our room's carpets, bathroom linos and varnishing the furniture. We take very seriously our standard of cleaninless and can...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very friendly and lovely staff (reception and cafe) central hotel, the only shared bathroom was a down side for me and the walls are not sound proof, but overall clean, nice and I was impressed with staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 743monikav
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear 743monikav, I am so glad to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and were particularly struck by our amazing staff! They really do go over and above to give every one of our guests excellent customer service. I am sorry that you experienced some noise from the rooms around you when here, as we are...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I needed to spend a night in Bristol at very low cost as I save for my wedding, and I found the ideal spot in The Washington. My single room cost me 50eur, although I accepted having to share a bathroom. The room was compact but clean and well facilitated. The TV had a large range of channels, there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny M
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Johnny M, Thank you for leaving us a review and more with such a useful information about your stay!We do pride ours on being refreshingly different to large hotel chains! I am so glad to hear that our staff gave you an exceptionally warm welcome and that you found us to be ideally located for exploring the beautiful Clifton...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel could do with an update.decor and furnishings and ensuites. Beds very comfortable,staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good. Rooms too warm. Overall very pleasant stay. Would come back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank grainnef52
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear grainnef52, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. Our Guest House is a listed building, we do our best to update all the decoration as much as possible and we are under ongoing refurbishment. We are changing our carpets, re-painting rooms, updating bathrooms and much more, however we are trying to still keep the character of...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checking in was ok and the staff member was friendly enough however very little information was given, for example no mention was made as to where breakfast took place. So I asked, really this information should be given out. I was informed they had room where I could leave my bag and that was not the case. Needed to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 797Colin2013
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear 797Colin2013, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. I am aware reception team always gives directions to the breakfast room along with the breakfast times, as you checked in at 11 to leave your bags in your room perhaps this was miscommunicated. Reception is open 24 hours and they are always more than happy to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had no problems with this hotel. Was good value for money and the staff were nice. Good location for us also. The only thing about the hotel was the rooms could do with a bit of an update. Price also included breakfast which was good and not greasy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alastair B
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Alastair B, I do agree with you, our staff try to go above and beyond to make our guests stay pleasant and comfortable. And also agree with you that we benefit from a great location. Regarding our rooms, we are gradually updating our rooms however due to our high occupancy this is a fairly gradual process. We hope to...

172 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 km away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#34 of 37 in Bristol
648 reviews
0.8 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
416 reviews
0.5 km away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
507 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
0.1 km away
The Regency Bristol Hotel
The Regency Bristol Hotel
#36 of 52 in Bristol
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Washington

Address: 11-15 St. Pauls Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $82 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Washington staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
11 months ago
California Desert, California

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Washington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Aim to face the road, rear views are to the car park and delaperdated buildings and are very dull in the evening.”
Pixiwhiteknuckles, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Request a lower floor room if stairs are a problem, no lifts unfortunately.”
Q9993JUmatthewc, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“quiet floor”
SusieGAviemore, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for a double room, even if you are travelling alone.”
helenbowstead, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 49 has an interesting street view which I Enjoyed”
1961JeanG, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$52* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$52
Hotwire.comUS$52
Booking.comUS$52
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates