We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Gonville Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,515: English reviews
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had one night at the Gonville and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is beautiful inside and has been attentively decorated. Our rooms were nice, with lovely comfy beds. The welcome on arrival was warm and attentive. The bar was nice for our pre-dinner drink and the addition of a three piece trio was enjoyable. Dinner at Cotto was superb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilz_12
Jessheim, Norway
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As I am closing in on my 100th night here at The Gonville, a review is well overdue. I am by no means a frequenter here at Tripadvisor, but having spent close to 500 nights at hotels since 2012, I have seen a broad spectrum of what hotels around the world has to offer. And The Gonville is a clear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinmeland
Louisville, Colorado
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I travel to Cambridge on business regularly. The Gonville is my favorite hotel. It is centrally located and its an easy walk to the train station. Their rooms are comfortable and clean. The bathroom is small but the shower has a rain showerhead and the towel warmer is great. They have a wide variety of cooked and continental breakfast choices....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S S
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've been coming to Cambridge for work for over 4 years and I often stay at the Gonville Hotel. I've watched the transformation of the hotel from a simply "proximate location" to a hotel with nice amenities and good food. The new bar and restaurant are at home in Cambridge and offer a very reasonable alternative to venturing out in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I drive to Cambridge often for my work and have stayed in many of the hotels over the years. The Gonville is my favourite. For me, the major benefits are the reasonable-sized, free self-park car park*, the central location (which means once parked, you don't really need to drive to visit any of the pubs, restaurants or sights in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank theflyingfish
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two different types of room. One lamp in one room blinks. Switch in another room is not straight. Difficult to find power near bed. Room feels cold. No toothbrush in bathroom. Odd to have hair dryer under desk without a mirror when using it. Got burnt omelette for breakfast. No iron. Good location and wifi. Reception is small and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eidin
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear eidin, Thank you for your recent review, I am sorry that you felt we are not a four star hotel due to the issues you had during your recent stay with us. If we had known that the lamp in your room was blinking we would have gladly replaced this for you and if you were still not happy...

San Francisco
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a solid 3.5 place- 5 star staff service, but the walls are so thin you can hear everyone walking down the hall and the neighbor coughing in their room. This is clearly a business oriented clientele so you don't have to worry about extraordinary noise but there should be *some* soundproofing! Also, beds need an upgrade- they are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chefcfp
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chefcfp Thank you for your recent review, I was pleased to see that you found the service from the team to be 5 star, however disappointed that your room lacked the boutique feel we have elsewhere throughout the hotel. I’m pleased to tell you that we are in the process of updating a number of rooms to ensure the...

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I needed to do some research at Cambridge University. Thankful for the beautiful breakfast every morning. One can choose items from the continental buffet and in addition then order a hot breakfast from the menu. The dining area is situated under a room-wide skylight. The weather was dreadful while there, so I really enjoyed coming down in the morning to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SLWS5775
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SLWS5775, Thank you so much for your recent review, we are delighted you felt cared for by the team and had a pleasant stay with us, nothing gives us more pleasure than to know this - thank you. With regards to the beautiful Bentley S1 you saw outside, this is in fact our courtesy car for our hotel guests...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We all decided to meet up somewhere for a friend's surprise birthday. It was arranged to meet up at the Gonville. I thought it was a little pricey at £166 for the night but the friendly staff, from the bar team to the restaurant team and from the reception team to the maids, more than made it worth every penny....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leggyboy11
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay quite regularly at the Gonville and cannot praise them enough for the accommodation and the friendliness of the staff. The buffet breakfast is extensive, rooms are modern and clean and there is good onsite parking, although I gather that there is going to be a charge made for this in the future. A very good place to stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant C

358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Classic Double 116 (24)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Superior Garden View 232 (20)
Viewed
Superior Park View 114 (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,145 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.2 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.6 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,089 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $210 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gonville Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Hailey, Idaho
10 months ago
1 month ago
6 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Gonville Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to stay up on the third floor away from the elevator”
 of 5 bubbles SLWS5775, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“131 is newly decorated”
 of 5 bubbles PaulGill_12, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“215 is a great room.”
 of 5 bubbles honey017, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“our room was at the back on the second floor and we never heard anything we could have been the only guests”
 of 5 bubbles 429stefanieg, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Superior rooms are spacious and well equipped.”
 of 5 bubbles F9556UPelizabeths, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5