We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

851 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin Cambridge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 837: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very helpful and friendly staff but our studio room in the attic was extremely warm and with only two small windows overlooking the roof space it was hard to get cool without using the noisy aircon. If returning would certainly request a non attic room!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This boutique-type hotel is gorgeous and the staff are great. Our room was called Madfish (apparently George Clooney slept in there once!) and we couldn't fault it. The bath and the shower was in the lounge area and the shower was the most amazing one I've ever been in! Breakfast was ok but nothing amazing. Ate in the bistro attached...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The whole stay was a little underwhelming to be honest, the hotel is a a little unusual from the reception in a side room to the bar underground. To access the lift without any stairs you have to go out on to the street and enter the bistro entrance which is a little bizarre. The bedrooms were pleasant enough, nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nikki f
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear nikki f, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. The design of the hotel really does offer the best that it can considering that it is five historic townhouse that have been joined together, but I do appreciate that due to this...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the hotel had much of the character typical of the HdV range, the dinner proposition was frustrating and disappointing! We booked and paid for the deal on line. At this point tried to book a table only to find the only available time was 1730hrs. This was unacceptable since a guest due to join us didn't finish work until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colinstephens777
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear colinstephens777, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and I am sorry that you found the booking of a dinner table frustrating. Our Bistro can be very busy and as with any restaurant, tables move and change all of the time, I am glad that eventually you were able to get a table for dinner....

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for one Sunday evening an booked dinner in the Bistro. A warm welcome, efficient valet parking and quick check in. The room was warm, comfortable and quite but in need of a bit of updating (particularly the shower which was spraying water out from every direction)! That said, the Bistro was excellent. The service was great and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Charlie H, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Great to hear such positive comments about our wonderful team and please be assured we will replace the shower head and push for more changes. Thanks again Paul.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been staying at the Du Vin hotels for years and when my husband was alive we always chose a Du Vin hotel if there was one where we were due to stay - so on a recent planned visit to Cambridge to visit family I automatically chose the Du Vin. I chose a superior room and as I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ydavidson2
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear ydavidson2, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. It is always a pleasure to hear that the team have enhanced a guest's stay with us. Thanks again and see you again soon, Paul.

Reviewed 21 February 2017

I stayed last night, and the boiler was broken in the hotel, so there was no hot water. These things happen, but what shouldn't happen is the complete lack of an apology from the receptionist when i checked out in the morning. I was hoping not only for an apology but also perhaps a gesture - ie. a complimentary breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oldhand666
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Oldhand666, Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for our boiler failure. At all times our customer experience and happiness is the focus of our team which is why immediately after we realised that our boilers had failed this was clearly communicated to our guests via a letter to all bedrooms as it was during the...

North Walsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Having spent what I consider a large sum of money I was expecting a degree of luxury. Sadly disappointed in our so called superior room. The lighting was appalling, unable to apply makeup or my husband be able to shave. Unable to read by bedside lamp. Outside the hotel under our window was a noisy air conditioning unit which could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marisdeparis
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear marisdeparis, Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you felt we were not worth the money. As a city centre hotel in a compact historical city it is true that our rooms do not offer the best views, however this is made up for by our fantastic and convenient location. The hotel is due some bedroom refurbishment...

London
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I stayed for 2 nights for business. On the first night, I really wanted to room service. The menu didn’t quite take my fancy, so I ordered in a Deliveroo which was very promptly brought to my room. The staff throughout were very welcoming and helpful, both in the hotel and Bistro where I ate both my breakfasts and dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl_n_Cas
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear Karl_n_Cas, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and found the team to be welcoming and helpful. See you again soon, Paul.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at HdV Cambridge on at least 10 occasions, and many of the other hotels in the group. I now think of it rather as my favourite suit from 10 years ago; worn, slightly faded and there are much tidier, neater options. Unlike other reviewers, I cannot fault the staff, who have always been courteous and helpful, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tradingnation
Will T, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Dear tradingnation, Thank you for your review following your stay with us. Great to hear your comments on the team at the hotel, the bedrooms are due for upgrading soon and this should address the points raised. Best Regards Paul.

171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,190 reviews
0.5 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,623 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
396 reviews
0.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.4 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $250 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin Cambridge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Cambridge
over a year ago
Houston, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin Cambridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose a room that does no tface the street”
 of 5 bubbles BrennaBee, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are travelling with pets, get a room right by the terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles letusflourish, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles ydavidson2, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room without steps if you would find them difficult.”
 of 5 bubbles LizPin, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the top floor are very quiet”
  • Fantastic roll top bath!
  • View from room facing rear of property
 of 5 bubbles harrigriff, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5