We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grove Barn Cambridgeshire

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 103: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros; brilliant location, comfy bed, friendly owner, nice choice for breakfast Cons; Wifi not great, check in not until 5pm I arrived at 3.30pm as my office didin't let me know check in wasn't until 5pm, I decided to go and work in a local Tesco until 5pm. Once I arrived and explained this to Joanne the owner she said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L1220
Joanne H, Owner at Grove Barn Cambridgeshire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it was very kind. Sorry about the early shower person, unfortunately things always sound louder when it's very quiet, which it is here... The unstable wifi comes with the area unfortunately. most of the time there is good service but streaming from netflix takes up a lot of bandwidth and when you are not the...

Portishead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautifully furnished rooms in a lovely rural setting but not too far from Ely and Cambridge. Nice garden to sit in watching the sun go down. Excellent breakfast cooked to order and served in a truly unique setting, up stairs in a converted barn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IainBalf
Joanne H, Owner at Grove Barn Cambridgeshire, responded to this review

Thank you Iain. I hope you are well Regards Joanne

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

This was our second visit and I'm sure we'll be back again. Rooms are comfortable, quiet and spotlessly clean and breakfast is freshly cooked and delicious. It's a good spot for a visit to Cambridge or Ely although you do need a car. What's not to like?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamsin W
Joanne H, Owner at Grove Barn Cambridgeshire, responded to this review

Hi Tamsin Thank you. It's always lovely to hear that my guests have had a good stay. Makes it all worthwhile! See you soon I hope... Regards Joanne

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I stayed for two nights at the Grove Barn. It was clean, well-manage with plenty of room and quiet. Good shower. Good internet connection. Joanne was very helpful on where to go for dinner, etc. There is a fabulous restaurant 5 minutes walk away. I liked her outdoor garden area to sit and enjoy the autumn weather. I'd stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EllenG630
Joanne H, Owner at Grove Barn Cambridgeshire, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I try hard to give my guests a good experience and it is great when I receive comments such as yours. Regards Joanne

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Had reason to stop in the Ely area due to work commitments and found this delightful guest house. Super location,nice and quiet,superb rooms,lovely breakfast, and lovely landlady Johanne. recommended anytime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coneyfrank
Joanne H, Owner at Grove Barn Cambridgeshire, responded to this review

Hi Frank Thanks a lot for your kind words. I hope to see you again very soon... Work has now begun in 'your' room, so well on the way to that much wanted bigger en-suite! See you soon Joanne

Bristol
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Don't book the loft room unless you are less than 5ft tall. The sloping ceiling makes it impossible to stand up in the bathroom. Rural location very restful. Not too far from Ely or Cambridge. Bedroom fittings good, but beware of sloping ceiling in the night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudgePeter
Joanne H, Owner at Grove Barn Cambridgeshire, responded to this review

Good afternoon, thank you for your comments. As of this weekend the loft room if closed for refurbishment which will include a dormer window, this will double the size of the bathroom and it will no longer have a sloping ceiling. I can quite see this room as being the most popular as when it is finished it will be...

Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in the Grove room. It was clean and Joanne provides lots of added extras (umbrella, torch, DVD 's). The breakfast was excellent and was of a high quality. The poached eggs were delicious and cooked to perfection. It is rural so you need a car but I wouldn't have to think twice about staying here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k s
Joanne H, Owner at Grove Barn Cambridgeshire, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, I know that you don't have to do it unless you want to which makes it more special. Regards. Joanne

Colchester
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Staying the night at Grove Barn was as very special part of a weekend away exploring Ely.We were made very welcome when we arrived and the room and its facilities was excellent. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and set us up for the day ahead. We will certainly return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davecR9249VI
Cheshire
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We stayed at Grove Barns for 1 night around mid September. The B&B is located in a peaceful location a short drive from the centre of Ely. We had the Grove Room, which is an end room and was very quiet. We were also able to park our car just outside the room which was very handy. There is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderersCheshire
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We booked this very last minute and had a good welcome, despite Joanne needing to be somewhere else. She even booked us a table at the busy local pub (The Anchor). Our room was immaculate and the breakfast amazing and unhurried. She even cooked my kippers without the normal advance warning. Thoroughly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise L

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
10.8 km away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 4 in Ely
553 reviews
11.1 km away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ely
456 reviews
9.4 km away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 4 in Ely
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
29 reviews
11.4 km away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#7 of 34 in Ely
174 reviews
2.0 km away
The Three Pickerels
The Three Pickerels
#14 of 34 in Ely
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Grove Barn Cambridgeshire

Address: Bury Lane | Sutton Gault, Ely CB6 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Price Range: $138 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove Barn Cambridgeshire 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Grove Barn Cambridgeshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire Ely, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grove Barn Cambridgeshire staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Grove Barn Cambridgeshire staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The B&B is outside of Ely by 10 minutes. It's off a main A road.”
 of 5 bubbles EllenG630, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the loft room.”
 of 5 bubbles JudgePeter, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all facilities are good”
 of 5 bubbles joyced647, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great, the loft room possibly not too great if you're really tall.”
 of 5 bubbles Ladycarbonne, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Orchard Room has easy level access and a parking space close by.”
 of 5 bubbles Houndstone, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay