We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oddfellows

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Oddfellows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

987 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 982: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Super relaxing hotel in centre of Chester. Modern, arty decor with a super outdoor garden space a little too damp and nippy to use during our visit but very interesting. Friendly staff who could not have been more helpful. Lovely big room with"open plan" shower area and every amenity for a relaxing stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Val C
Merrivale, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

No point complaining about a hotel if you have no intention of ever going back, that's my motto! Well I would like to go back here, so hopefully feedback is acted upon as this place could be great with a little work in my opinion. My husband and I visited Oddfellows for a one night escape. The room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lappleby2016
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We've just booked into oddfellowschester and what a welcome! The receptionist was delightful, helpful and very professional. The hotel is quirky and decorated beautifully throughout. Extremely clean and no expense has been spared. It's like a tardis which opens up into a labyrinth of secret rooms. The secret garden is a hidden gem in such an old city; a wonderfully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Management response:

Dear Linda M, Wow! What a lovely review you have taken the time to give us- it has made the team here very pleased indeed. Lovely that you had such a great experience and that you enjoyed the quirky decoration throughout and enjoyed the time spent in the garden and your room. I hope the dinner and cocktails were just...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Purely rating this as poor the restaurant service was appalling. From being seated it took 20 mins for our drink orders to be taken and 40 mins for staff to even take our food order. We actually had to ask if we could order! Then the food took ages too. They also missed out parts of the order. What is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
Management response:

Dear Debbie E, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us - all feedback is so important to us as a business in the hope that we can keep on improving our service. We are so sorry you had a disappointing experience in our restaurant - in regards to the wait that you had and we agree...

Cannock
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room was lovely, food in restaurant was great (but expensive)... but disappointed to find that takeaway breakfast included but to have a full English would cost an additional £20 each!!!! As far as we were concerned, we had booked bed and breakfast and paid handsomely for doing so (I'm sure it probably said somewhere in the small print but even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NAT_GRT1
Management response:

Dear NAT_GRT1, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Firstly we are so pleased that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant and that you thought the room was lovely. Thank you too for your thoughts regarding the cost of breakfast. We have taken your feedback and other guest's feedback into consideration on this since your visit...

wrose,bradford
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in the apartment. 2 double bed rooms. Really spacious, clean, comfortable and cosy. Parking outside the door. Breakfast and evening meal at the hotel, 3 minutes walk away. Great food. Lovely garden, but could do to turn on the heaters at night. Would I stay again? Yes. Without a doubt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jojo T
Management response:

Dear Jojo T, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us at our apartments. We're so glad you found them really spacious, clean, comfortable and cosy! We're pleased you enjoyed the food during your stay and will pass on your comments regarding the heaters in the gardens at night to the team....

Leigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

All i can say is that this place i a very querky place with round beds in some rooms and balconies in other rooms , the beer garden that you look down on from most of the rooms is a sort of adventure fairytale setting . anyone who stays here will stay in a very individual hotel indeed. i am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petbart
Management response:

Dear petbart, How brilliant that you were part of the refurbishment team and then you enjoyed a visit with us. Thanks for your comments regarding our interiors - we love your description 'fairytale setting'! Do let us know if you come back again soon, Best wishes The team at Oddfellows

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is such a cute quirky boutique hotel finished to such a high standard , the staff are extremely helpful and welcoming, you cannot fault it . The location is ideal , right in the heart of Chester and with discounted rates in the car park nearby it would be the ideal choice to stay when visiting Chester

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey-ford
Management response:

Dear Tracey-ford, Thank you for taking the time to review us and for letting us know that you were pleased by our team's welcome! We hope to see you again soon, The team at Oddfellows

Bangor
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for drinks and loved it - both the decor and the atmosphere was spot on - certainly will be back for some afternoon tea or an overnight stay! The outside ski bar was excellent and warm enough to sit out even in december

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L J
Management response:

Dear L J, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit! We will certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future for an overnight stay or afternoon tea. So pleased to hear that you were kept warm and toasty by the fires and heaters in our outdoor pop-up ski bar...

Cheshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location We had seen the rooms online before we booked so we chose a room we liked the look of and it did not dissapoint. The only downside to tthe room was the wardrobe size if you are staying a week you would struggle!! Great bar and atmosphere We had a pre set menu as it was for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy P
Management response:

Dear Jeremy P, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback - it is so useful for us! We're so pleased that you liked the room and we will definitely take into consideration your comments about wardrobe size and longer stays for the future. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the bar, your party and breakfast -...

476 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (416)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (222)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
8.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,909 reviews
0.3 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
586 reviews
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,504 reviews
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Oddfellows chester
Oddfellows chester
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $152 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oddfellows staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Oddfellows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“any i the annexe”
 of 5 bubbles petbart, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose online”
 of 5 bubbles JP3004, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Apartment 2”
 of 5 bubbles oweng814, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“apartment four was good.”
 of 5 bubbles andrewrM7099DT, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“avoid rooms overlooking the courtyard mid summer, it looks like it could be popular and lively”
 of 5 bubbles Y7890ZZdavids, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay