We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oddfellows

Hotels.comUS$114*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$154*
US$114*
US$154*
US$114*
US$118*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Oddfellows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,087 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oddfellows
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,081: English reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Oddfellows a few times over the years and it's interesting to see how it's developed over time. One thing it has retained is its quirkiness and eye for detail. Rooms are all fresh and modern and worth staying in, food and drinks are all excellent. Clientele are very 'look at me', but that's true of all establishments similar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam148
Management response:

Dear Liam148, Thank you so much taking the time to review us and we are so pleased that you have visited us again and again! Thank you too for your compliments on our rooms and food and drink - we will pass these comments on to the team. Best wishes, The team at oddfellows

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Our booking for my husbands birthday party did not start well. We booked the date and paid a deposit. They booked the wrong date and lost the deposit. I was quite worried but then A lovely lady called Grace took charge of the booking and was really helpful.We arrived and the place was chaos-way too busy . We moved immediately...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane P
Management response:

Dear Jane P, Thank you for taking the time for letting us know about your experience and we are so pleased, despite some disappointments, that you would still recommend us. We will pass on your compliments to Grace and Olive, who we agree, are brilliant at their jobs. If you have the time, would you be able to call Paul...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016

well worth a trip. buzzing place, stylish and supercool as always. a must before and after a day at the races - we always stop by in June and enjoyed a lunch one year and an evening meal another with cocktails and bubbles!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nando1079
Management response:

Dear Nando1079, Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your visit. We love being referred to as buzzing, stylish and supercool! Look forward to seeing you again soon, The team at Oddfellows

south wales
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Just returned from another wonderful stay at Oddfellows in the Duplex Suite. Our suite was comfortable and had the biggest, deepest roll top bath. We sat outside in the secret garden, cosy under the heaters with the most delicious strawberry daiquiri cocktails. Fantastic quirky unique hotel. Can't wait to return for a third stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rustySouthWales
Management response:

Dear rustySouthWales, What a delightful review from a returning guest! Thank you! So glad you enjoyed the deepest roll top in town and that the heaters in the garden kept you toasty while the daiquiris kept you cool! We look forward to seeing you again soon, The team at Oddfellows

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We would recommend a stay at this lovely hotel. Our room was really nicely furnished, clean and comfortable, with a well stocked mini bar and a separate drawer of sweet and savoury treats . There were little fun, tasteful, quirky messages and touches in the hotel. We couldn't fault the staff, particularly Kimberley, Chef and Jack. Our dinner was well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petergbodington
Management response:

Dear peterbodington, Thank you for a lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We're glad you noticed the little fun touches around the hotel - our designers and our marketing team enjoy being playful in our communications! We will pass on your compliments to Kimberley, Jack and Curtis, our chef and we hope to see you...

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Have stayed here twice now and both times have been really impressed by the quality at the Oddfellows. We instantly felt welcome on arrival, the room was presented beautifully and the cocktails were amazing; I couldn't find one I fancied on the menu but the bar staff were more than willing to make me one I wanted. We will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stafford1993
Management response:

Dear Stafford1993, Thank you so much taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay with us - and that the cocktails were great - the team will be pleased to hear that! We look forward to seeing you for your third visit! With best wishes, The team at Oddfellows

Salford, UK
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Stayed here for one night (we had originally just booked afternoon tea but decided on the last minute to stay over). We had one of the attic rooms in the main building of the Hotel and it was lovely. Afternoon tea was great too and we also sampled a few G&Ts in the bar/garden. Hotel is lovely and quirky and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa2053
Management response:

Dear Lisa2053, How wonderful that you decided to stay over! And we're very glad that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed your afternoon tea and drinks. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for taking the time to review us - we really appreciate the feedback! With very best wishes The team at Oddfellows

Reviewed 5 December 2016

Oddfellows will appeal to the traveler bored with the dull monotone of the large chains. It is full of interesting touches and unusual extras. The whole hotel has a slightly mad-hatters tea party feel to it, but it still delivers on the basics. Its well located in the middle of town. Staff are good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Management response:

Dear David S Many thanks indeed for such a lovely review! We do try to offer an experience that isn't dull so we're so pleased that this is what you noted! We will pass on your kind comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon, With very best wishes The team at Oddfellows

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights for my Daughters Wedding. The service generally was excellent. The food was faultless and the decor was very interesting and querky. The room however was not fantastic. It was dim and difficult to see to get ready. The TV reception was poor and the wardrobe was dusty inside as was the towel rail in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
Management response:

Dear Peter T, Thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased to hear that you were delighted with your daughter's wedding - in terms of the service, food and decor. It seems however that you all experienced a few challenges with your rooms, particularly the hot water, which we are very sorry to hear. Would you be...

north wales
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Very hard to pick fault. Really nice place with attentive staff. We booked the duplex and although beautiful throughout we both felt that the bathroom door should be frosted top to bottom. The bathroom is the only place I expect privacy but dependant on where your other half is at the same time too much on show. Also when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen e
Management response:

Dear Stephen e, Thank you for your very kind review - and I will pass on your kind words to the team about the attentiveness you felt. We'll take your comments on board in regards to the bathroom door! Open plan bathrooms are not for everyone and in designing them it was a balance between making sure the room kept...

505 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (479)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (244)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
8.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,052 reviews
0.2 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
2,026 reviews
1.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Oddfellows chester
Oddfellows chester
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $154 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oddfellows staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Oddfellows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“St Marys Loft is perfection”
  • Room to en suite
  • Bedroom
  • Queen bed
  • 2 baths!
  • Room view
  • bliss
  • bliss
  • amazing!
Barbs25, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“We loved having a loft bedroom with king bed and living room on the first floor. Room #16”
lindseywineangel, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for the split level room with bath”
712paul, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The room with the circle bed”
liams964, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay so no comments on that aspect.”
rodm635, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$114* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$114
Booking.comUS$118
ElvolineUS$154
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates